Lambie kicks Sharks to victory
2 Mar 2013
The Sharks proved the more physical to edge the Stormers at Kings Park.
The hosts beat the Stormers 12 – 6 after the match was scoreless at half time.
The match was hyped to be great viewing pleasure, but what followed was a disappointing show of what South African rugby has become. Four penalties beat two penalties as neither team looked close to getting over the tryline.
The first half was an error strewn kicking match in which both flyhalves attempted to gain the upper hand with clever kicks into space, but neither succeeded in putting their flyers away. Gio Aplon had the best opportunity of the half, but coughed up a cross kick, that could have been a five pointer had he held on.
After no points in the opening fourty, the second half got off to a flying start as Lambie and Pietersen exchanged penalties in first five minutes after the break. Another penalty each kept the game even, before the Stormers conceded another two for Lambie to extend the lead to six.
All the cliché’s will be thrown around this week, ‘battle of attrition’ and ‘clash of the titans’, and yes it was, but the distinct lack of try scoring opportunities and creativity from both sides will be worrying.
Man of the match Jean Deysel was immense for the Sharks, pilfering numerous balls at the breakdown and being a strong runner in the loose. The Sharks loose forwards will be happy to have matched the Stormers’ trio, both physically and with some good runs.
The Stormers battled at the lineouts, the set piece they were expected to dominate, and with the Sharks having the upper hand at scrum time, the home side got the better of the set pieces.
Many will feel a draw would have been the fairest result as neither team really deserved to win the match more than the other.
Conditions were difficult because of humidity but more was rightfully expected of the match because of the class of player on both sides.
By Richard Ferguson

1,135 Comments
Pages: « 1 … 13 14 15 16 17 [18] 19 20 21 22 23 » Show All
3 Mar 2013, 15:24 pm
@Hurricane-847:
Taken from a quote of a Dusky. Pathetic racist little coward…. and no one said anyting but when Poppa did its all hell break loose….. are all you guys the same?
3 Mar 2013, 15:26 pm
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-849:
dopnt be an idiot. Your first post was about Bakkies manhandling a kiwi….. we dont care, Troll. Bakkies is filth
3 Mar 2013, 15:26 pm
@Liewe Luiperd-845: I dont care, thats the point… I sleep easy at night…
@Hurricane-847: thats just “banter” hurri, we as visitors to this site shouldnt get upset when our hosts treat us like that… we probably deserved it..
see, even Liewe hasnt mentioned how disgusting that is, but reverse it and imagine me saying it about Saffas and half the blog would be calling me all sorts of things..
3 Mar 2013, 15:27 pm
@Hurricane-847:
if it makes you feel any better your Pakeha women are ugly too
i’m kidding
i’m kidding
3 Mar 2013, 15:27 pm
Anyway enjoy yourselves, i am out of here….Dusky can kiss my a$$, fuknidiot
3 Mar 2013, 15:28 pm
@Jeraldjay-821: Good ref.
my internet’s acting up
i’ll come back later
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-849: no its not bakkies, they were talking about something that happened this weekend, you got your back up and referred back to hore, an incident in november last year
4 months ago
“its a new day”
lol seriously, this is boring..
3 Mar 2013, 15:29 pm
Hello all
1st things first
Congratulations Shark supporters. Nothing really to say about the match, horrible to watch and not a nice result for me.
2nd
A somewhat irritated congratulations to the Bulls.
I thought they would smash the Force, but honestly, if it wasn’t for Japhta they would have, and should have lost.
Bakkies, don’t EVER talk about cheating this or that here, your team was saved by just that.
I suppose the powers that be thought Bulls v Force is a walk in the park game and a nice one for Japhta to make his SR debut in.
The Force messed those plans up and he had to pull an rabbit out of the hat to save the home side.
What’s even worse is the fact he managed to give them the ball after the hooter so that they could secure a bonus point try, and worse than that, deny the Force a bonus point loss.
Lastly, see it’s business as usual with insults and fights, but not even going to bother reading the old posts, ignorance is bliss
3 Mar 2013, 15:31 pm
@nortierd-858:
Hi Norti….bye Norti
3 Mar 2013, 15:31 pm
@Hurricane-851:
it was rugby related you doos
then you and the other kiwi doos made remarks about filthy play and i responded
@the curse-857:
it was rugby related
why is this so hard for you to understand
3 Mar 2013, 15:32 pm
@Hurricane-859:
Hi and bye Hurri.
Your side has dropped me twice in a row now
Speak to them please, I am seriously unhappy with them
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-836:
You’re being too obtuse to see the point and I will not enter into an interminable titfortat with you. I did not dispute that it can be done but have missed my point by a country mile. How many grown mature men do you really believe would go to such lengths. We know you will but I believe very few others would.
Back to the point now so please focus. A claim was made that the Stormers fans outnumber all other fans by 2:1. It is also claimed the Stormers fans are the evil ones who start all the fighting. Given those claims all polls would be skewed in favor of Stormers results. No matter how little or much manipulation occurred simply because there should be twice the numbers of Stormers fans to all other fans. You would need a concerted organized campaign to overcome those numbers. Which clearly does not happen as results often favor the Sharks or Bulls.
So your choices are A) either the numbers of Stormers fans are exaggerated or B) the Stormers fans are not the one eyed devious group who would manipulate such polls and cause all the trouble.
At least one of both of those claims has to be false otherwise the evil, manipulative one eyed Stormers fans would use their numbers and devious nature to ensure that every poll reflected a favorable Stormers result.
Spend as much time seeking verifiable facts as you do pursuing fanciful conspiracy theories and you could find yourself heading to Damascus. And before you try to re-fry another red herring, yes i understand these polls are hardly scientific and leave plenty of room for error but they are a more credible indication that a hatefilled opinion. Why do you not counter with more accurate numbers then instead of another conspiracy theory?
Liewefok !!!!! Take a deep breath, remove fingers from the keyboard and holster your weapons gents.
I am quite capable of killing this thread by posting a whole lot of animal rights information and boring you neanderthal knuckle draggers with my up coming court date date and blahblahblah, and the authoroties blahblahblah what fuckwits they are blahblahblah.
Rather just blame everything on the Stormers and all will be well in the world
3 Mar 2013, 15:33 pm
@the curse-848: curse go and have tug and get rid of some that frustration pal. You have become tiresome due your inability to see anyone else opinion other than your own! i dont intend spending the rest of my day justifying myself and the truth to you! make of it as you wish, i dont give a continental because like i said this is boring. You really should consider sticking to you own blogs or don’t they listen to your diatribe either? Nice meeting you and good luck for the season champ!
3 Mar 2013, 15:33 pm
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-860:
TROLL…TROLL…TROLL and your Bulls team cheats….TROLL
3 Mar 2013, 15:34 pm
@nortierd-858: nice one, bad game for both and we were lucky, could have gone either way!
3 Mar 2013, 15:34 pm
@nortierd-858: @nortierd-858: kia ora Nortie
I am racing you to the bottom of the superbru pile
I am actually trying your trick of making my picks today, how did that go for you?
the tourny is not won in March, lots of rugby still..
3 Mar 2013, 15:35 pm
@nortierd-858:
hello Nortie,
i wasn’t happy with some aspects of the officiating across the board really.
Bulls were still the better side over the full 80 so i wont say they dont deserve the points.
i would imagine it easily pales in comparison to what the Kiwi officials are doing, just look at the scores..?..
@nortierd-861:
I will mate.
ok
i’ll be back later
internet sucks
3 Mar 2013, 15:36 pm
@Treehugger-863:
Congrats on your team Tree
Can’t believe I made a scene at Sun City that they switch from Football to rugby
Lots of people in the pub angry with me, but at half time I thought if I wanted to see a nil nil score I could have let them keep it on soccer
3 Mar 2013, 15:36 pm
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-868:
“i would imagine it easily pales in comparison to what the Kiwi officials are doing, just look at the scores”
The key word here i imagine…. so everyone imagine like Bakkies does…..trollylolly
3 Mar 2013, 15:39 pm
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-860: “its a new day” , but youre stuck on something that happened last year.. is it because you no longer watch super rugby so had no new NZ cheating to spout about? shame you didnt see the cheating in the bulls game huh?
@Vinny Petrol-864: that was nice and polite vinny, you sure have set the example, I may have to try and be more like you..
a simple apology, which you gave everyone else, but strangely not me, and we probalby would have talked rugby… say Kia ora to your maori mate for me, but do it before you show him your post, maybe he’ll see the funny side to it..
3 Mar 2013, 15:40 pm
Stella van Biljon
How humans are not physically created to eat meat
When you look at the comparison between herbivores and humans, we compare much more closely to herbivores than meat eating animals. Humans are clearly not designed to digest and ingest meat.
Meat-eaters: have claws
Herbivores: no claws
Humans: no claws
Meat-eaters: have no skin pores and perspire through the tongue
Herbivores: perspire through skin pores
Humans: perspire through skin pores
Meat-eaters: have sharp front teeth for tearing, with no flat molar teeth for grinding
Herbivores: no sharp front teeth, but flat rear molars for grinding
Humans: no sharp front teeth, but flat rear molars for grinding
Meat-eaters: have intestinal tract that is only 3 times their body length so that rapidly decaying meat can pass through quickly
Herbivores: have intestinal tract 10-12 times their body length.
Humans: have intestinal tract 10-12 times their body length.
Meat-eaters: have strong hydrochloric acid in stomach to digest meat
Herbivores: have stomach acid that is 20 times weaker than that of a meat-eater
Humans: have stomach acid that is 20 times weaker than that of a meat-eater
Meat-eaters: salivary glands in mouth not needed to pre-digest grains and fruits.
Herbivores: well-developed salivary glands which are necessary to pre-digest grains and fruits
Humans: well-developed salivary glands, which are necessary to pre-digest, grains and fruits
Meat-eaters: have acid saliva with no enzyme ptyalin to pre-digest grains
Herbivores: have alkaline saliva with ptyalin to pre-digest grains
Humans: have alkaline saliva with ptyalin to pre-digest grains
Based on a chart by A.D. Andrews, Fit Food for Men, (Chicago: American Hygiene Society, 1970)
3 Mar 2013, 15:41 pm
@Vinny Petrol-866:
At
Yes, not a very nice match to watch from a spectator point of view.
Worried about how we will cope with the Chiefs and their attack
.@the curse-867:
Welcome to my world Pops
It’s lonely down at the bottom
Got 4 right this week, and one with the exact score, yet still managed to drop further.
Bulls sucked and if Sharks managed one try I would have been smiling, even an extra penalty would have been good.
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-868:
Don’t compare apples with pears
SA and Aus rugby doesn’t come close to what the Kiwi’s are playing.
Country mile difference.
You’ll see on Sunday and we will see on Saturday
3 Mar 2013, 15:42 pm
BudYza
You are continuing to labour under a misapprehension, in the process making a fool of yourself.
Please refer to my previous post #838 (reproduced for your convenience below):
BudYza
BIG DIFFERENCE between the number of people who take the trouble to create an account, log in and regularly contribute to this site (the majority of whom happen to be Stormers supporters) and those who do not but can still vote on the poll without logging in or even having an account (perhaps more reflective of the wider SA opinion).
There’s the hole in your argument.
Word wakker boetie you risk being thought of as a little dof or perhaps that ship has already sailed for you.
3 Mar 2013, 15:44 pm
871@Norty….huzzit….you made a scene?
good for you, can’t imagine it though, ja wasn’t the most entertaining game and could have gone either way I think.
3 Mar 2013, 15:44 pm
@nortierd-875: seems the nicer saffas are there mate, you bring the braai and I’ll sit with the bulls fans and grab our beers ok?
dont worry, Ive tipped the chiefs this weekend, so your team has a real chance…
I think I got about the same, but no bonus points for margins… still, superbru isnt won in March lol
3 Mar 2013, 15:45 pm
The more things change….the more they stay the same
(Round here at least……….)
Treehuggers snippets of info make far better reading than the wailing re: cheating
Dunno if BOOMbox HG has been on today, but I did congratulate the guppies last night old fella.
Saying it again in case you didn’t see it, ans want to accuse me of being a loser in the Skop/Tyrone mould
Waking up this morning, and watching a ‘alleged highlights’ of various games….I stick to my guns. We are still flapping and treading water, whilst the Kiwis walk on it….
Don’t really care who agrees and who doesn’t – thems the facts.
3 Mar 2013, 15:45 pm
Oh that Stella name at the top is not my name if any are thinking I know who you are, just a bad copy and paste from me.
3 Mar 2013, 15:46 pm
@Liewe Luiperd-838:
Not at all. Those numbers are the only ones available on this site and give a better indication than any theory. You can’t produce numbers of people who ‘only read’ any more than you can guess their affiliations. Logic would suggest the percentages of non posting readers would be similar for every team so your ‘point’ falls flat. As I said to the other poster why don’t you counter with verifiable facts instead of theories and conspiracies. The numbers of the polls may not be the most reliable but they are the only figures readily available. So instead of the bluster and huff you offer go and do your research and come back with verifiable, quotable numbers instead of wishful thinking. As disputable as those numbers may be they trump biased opinion every day of the week. When you come back with verifiable numbers I will respond to you. Until then you’re not worth the time.
3 Mar 2013, 15:47 pm
Huzzit Ruckles
3 Mar 2013, 15:48 pm
@Treehugger-877:

One TV set and it was on Supersport 3
Bunch of Englishmen watching soccer, and that won’t do.
If ever I go to London, I will accept that if I enter a pub there, I will probably have to watch soccer.
But this is SA, so they must accept that Sharks v Stormers is of National Interest, so sorry for them
Enjoyed watching a match without commentary for a change, silence beats Andy Capp in any case
3 Mar 2013, 15:48 pm
@nortierd-875: I’m dreading the Kiwi/Saffa match ups at this stage. Except the Bulls/Blues encounter
That I am looking forward to…in a ‘haul out the popcorn and pull up a chair’ way
Chiefs vs Stormers……well….ummmmmmmmmmmmmmmm.
Coetzee makes no changes – our sh y te gets real: simple.
3 Mar 2013, 15:50 pm
@the curse-878:

The Keo pool is fun, but one of my others is a money pool, and coming last or second last gets you a fine for being an idiot
Got to get a move up the ladder there.
Braai sounds nice, having a beer with you, even better
3 Mar 2013, 15:51 pm
@BudYza-881: quite frankly, that’s a major cop out of a response
You’re in too deep now to admit you’re wrong
Haha.
3 Mar 2013, 15:52 pm
883@Norti….love it lol….hope you did it with authority and intimidate thecrap out of them.
3 Mar 2013, 15:52 pm
@the curse-873:Curse my buddy will see the funny side of it because he knows me……unlike you! He knows I said what I said more for effect that it being my personal views. You see I was his first friend in SA when he arrived here knowing no-one and he was quite close to our family until my mom died and i moved to jhb.
you really need to see past your inherent perceptions of people pal. life is a two way street, so you sow , so shall you reap, do unto others as you wish would be done unto you. kia ora.
3 Mar 2013, 15:53 pm
@nortierd-885: perhaps if you offer TR a share of the prize money he will give you an assist?
most on here would think you crazy for braaing and sharing a beer with me mate… would be an honour truly.
3 Mar 2013, 15:54 pm
@nortierd-885: wish there was more of that sentiment on this blog…….but then again not sure it would be quite as much fun to read!
3 Mar 2013, 15:55 pm
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-884:
Hi there
We actually have one more point than what I expected
Chiefs going to be difficult
AC is part of the problem, but sheez, everyone knows it’s humid in Durb’s this time of the competition.
Well, everyone except our players who kept dropping the ball while on attack.
Plum almost saved us by substituting Grizzlie Adams aka Jannie DuP when he did.
To sum up, we were so poor, even Bressler looked good at times
3 Mar 2013, 15:55 pm
Oi ! Norty….did you not even at least read my post to stop the fighting about humans not being corpse munchers, braai indeed
I suppose it could be a vegetarian braai with Fry’s
asking to much ? Think so
3 Mar 2013, 15:58 pm
@858 Nortierd : perhaps I missed Jaftha’s transgressions cos the match struggled to keep my attention. What did he do to warrant your rant
3 Mar 2013, 16:00 pm
@the curse-889:
Ha ha
TR is still top dog.
Good on him, not an easy thing to do.
We have a mountain to climb, but as you say, the comp isn’t won in March.
Honor would be mine, you bring the meat, ours is full of donkey and kangaroo apparently
@Vinny Petrol-890:
That’s true
Variety is the spice of life here
We have them all
3 Mar 2013, 16:01 pm
@Liewe Luiperd-886:
The only cowardly cop out is yours because you know you can’t produce facts to support your conspiracy theory. You are too stupid, lazy, illogical and easily confused to find any facts or figures to counter my points and so rely on bluster. Shame you obviously are as mentally-undeveloped as you sound. Your contrived and forced HAHA doesn’t disguise your idiocy. Go get your facts then we’ll talk. I won’t hold my breath.
3 Mar 2013, 16:01 pm
@Vinny Petrol-888: well, I dont know you, so excuse me for taking offence… you dont really know me either, like many here proclaim they do, but you were willing to have a dig… as you stated, what you sow you reap.. you sowed a comment that if you said it to any maori you didnt know, they would take offence… now Im the bad guy because I did exactly that? Im confused…..do you always say that type of thing to people you dont know?
as I pointed out, I was having a laugh throughout, but it seems my reputation precedes me and I am just hating on saffas, I could never ever be just mucking around..
anyways, all the best for your season too… best to scroll past my posts from now on though, my perceptions of people are somewhat warped… imagine a strangers comments about my culture getting me riled up
3 Mar 2013, 16:02 pm
@867 The Curse : I honestly don’t understand the fascination with superbru. How much rugby acumen is required to be able to accurately predict who will win and by what margin? It doesn’t player knowledge or appreciation of player stats… I stand to be corrected
3 Mar 2013, 16:05 pm
@Treehugger-892:
Ha ha
Looking at what is supposedly in our meat, your option sounds good.
@papaown-893:
Pappa
Maybe I shouldn’t have ranted, but watching the match I truly felt the Force deserved it, they played above themselves.
Then with 10 to go and 7 behind one could see his influence.
They got pinged every opportunity, got a final warning which led to the truck/ trailer or maul try.
Then after the hooter free kick to Bulls that got them the bonus point.
Maybe I was biased while watching and perhaps he had a good game, but even though I had the Bulls to win by plenty, I thought the Force deserved to win on the day.
3 Mar 2013, 16:06 pm
@Treehugger-882: Grats on your team.
Hows things in the greenpeace world? Your furry critters all doing ok? Sorted out that bastardo of a neighbour?
Pages: « 1 … 13 14 15 16 17 [18] 19 20 21 22 23 » Show All