Lambie kicks Sharks to victory

The Sharks proved the more physical to edge the Stormers at Kings Park.

The hosts beat the Stormers 12 – 6 after the match was scoreless at half time.

The match was hyped to be great viewing pleasure, but what followed was a disappointing show of what South African rugby has become. Four penalties beat two penalties as neither team looked close to getting over the tryline.

The first half was an error strewn kicking match in which both flyhalves attempted to gain the upper hand with clever kicks into space, but neither succeeded in putting their flyers away. Gio Aplon had the best opportunity of the half, but coughed up a cross kick, that could have been a five pointer had he held on.

After no points in the opening fourty, the second half got off to a flying start as Lambie and Pietersen exchanged penalties in first five minutes after the break. Another penalty each kept the game even, before the Stormers conceded another two for Lambie to extend the lead to six.

All the cliché’s will be thrown around this week, ‘battle of attrition’ and ‘clash of the titans’, and yes it was, but the distinct lack of try scoring opportunities and creativity from both sides will be worrying.

Man of the match Jean Deysel was immense for the Sharks, pilfering numerous balls at the breakdown and being a strong runner in the loose. The Sharks loose forwards will be happy to have matched the Stormers’ trio, both physically and with some good runs.

The Stormers battled at the lineouts, the set piece they were expected to dominate, and with the Sharks having the upper hand at scrum time, the home side got the better of the set pieces.

Many will feel a draw would have been the fairest result as neither team really deserved to win the match more than the other.

Conditions were difficult because of humidity but more was rightfully expected of the match because of the class of player on both sides.

By Richard Ferguson

1,135 Comments

Pages: « 113 14 15 16 17 18 19 [20] 21 22 23 » Show All

• 951.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game-947:

HG good on you for supporting your boys but you are way off the mark with your assessment, the Sharks are poor this season and will get comfortably beaten by the top NZ sides home or away.

• 952.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@nortierd-944: All is not lost Nortie… The funny thing is – this eminently unbiased supporter believes that the Stormers will beat the Chiefs this weekend… Albeit by 3-6 points and probably just one try scored to the probable 2 by the Chiefs… Yet next week’s win will no doubt be welcomed…

Just remember that when your team does win – it does not mean they are suddenly the “best team in Super Rugby”… That accolade will go to the Sharks when they lift the trophy aloft at the end of it all… (and by that I do not mean the Conference Title bullshittt either)

BOOM! :wink:

• 953.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@CharlesM-949: Favourites no longer Charlie… :lol:

• 954.nortierd: Reply to this comment

@NZINCHINA-946:
    Very possible, but not quite so convinced.
    This will be the first game the Chiefs play a side NOT willing to play their game.
    Stormers might lose, but the Chiefs will find it much harder running through them.
    @the curse-948:
    They didn’t meet last year, so it will be a nice match up.

• 955.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@NZINCHINA-950: No I am not… And wtf the f.ck do you know about rugger proper beyond the mindless AB adulation…

Farkall thats what…

I actually reckon you dont really even follow an NZ franchise team… :lol:

• 956.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

@nortierd-953:

Sure no disrespect to your team but the coaches at the Chiefs have that side absolutely humming and unless you completely shut them down up front which I don’t believe you will containing them late in the second half is going to be a nightmare.

• 957.nortierd: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game-951:
    For your sake I hope the Sharks do win the conference trophy.
    It is obviously a huge bugbear for those who haven’t had it yet :-)
    It is a just reward for consistency through 20 odd weeks, although I don’t like the conference system and the 5th and 6 th team getting in by default.
    I preferred the Super 12 or even 14 to be honest.

• 958.the curse: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game-951: lol the team thats choked more times in a final then the ABs at WCs.

more fizzle then boom every month of sundays..

@nortierd-953: yeah, shame they didnt last year… anyways, time for this fat maori security guard to turn in for the night

cheers Nortie, Pedi, China..

Vinny, if you see this, apologies for some of my comments earlier, enjoy

Charles, hi and bye boet..

e noho ra..

HG – meh..

• 959.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game-954:

My teams doing just fine, the Sharks have been poor so far.

• 960.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

@the curse-957:

Cheers mate

• 961.CharlesM: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game-952: Thanks HG – so any win for the Stormers will be a bonus!!

• 962.nortierd: Reply to this comment

@NZINCHINA-955:
    They are playing fantastic rugby, and watching them is a pleasure, but they are a confidence side, and who knows, if they manage to be kept out they might start doubting themselves and their attack?
    The Stormers have all to play for this weekend and the Chiefs might target one win for their SA tour.
    My head says Chiefs by virtue of current form, but I have a feeling the Stormers will really be up for this one.

• 963.nortierd: Reply to this comment

@the curse-957:
    Enjoy the morning/ evening or afternoon
    @CharlesM-960:
    Hi Charles.
    We really need the boys to pull finger from here on in, couple of tough home games against some very potent NZ teams, not an easy ask, but I think they will surprise on Saturday

• 964.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@nortierd-956: Fark, even if the Sharks get the conference title, I am sure they would be more than happy giving it back to you okes – because it seems you chaps are probably the only bunch of supporters in the entire of Super Rugby where this blaady thing actually counts…

The only thing that will count is that trophy for the Sharks… This year is probably their greatest opportunity for a long time…

And so far so good… Like the Saders, the Sharks normally dont have a good start… The best opportunity for teams to beat them is right at the beginning… But not this year it seems… I would love to know when last the Sharks actually won their opening two matches in Super Rugby… A long time back, if ever even?

• 965.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

@nortierd-961:

It should be a cracker, I’m out – cheers.

• 966.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@CharlesM-960: See 951… All is not lost Charlie…

• 967.CharlesM: Reply to this comment

@nortierd-962: Nortie we’ll have to at some stage! I’ll be there and will hopefully bring some luck to the team (lol).
    If we lose this one (and it is very likely) we are in deeper trouble than we think we are (if that makes sense)

• 968.nortierd: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game-963:
    They have a nice draw for a change, it helps a lot and then the confidence kicks in.
    We can’t be held accountable for the fact that our side was the more consistent SA during the league phase, blame your team for that. :-)
    This year it might be the Sharks who gets a reward with a home semi or playoff game, but then it’s all up to them.

• 969.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@the curse-957: Cheers Poops, you poor dumbfck SOB :wink:

• 970.nortierd: Reply to this comment

@NZINCHINA-964:
    @CharlesM-966:
    I hope you do :-)
    I understand precisely what you are saying, I’m also very worried.
    The last thing on earth we want is for them to end 13th.
    Dusky is bad enough on a good day, imagine if that prediction of his comes true
    :-D
    The shame will be too much to bear

• 971.Vinny Petrol: Reply to this comment

@the curse-940: hey we agree on something else! Lol!

• 972.TooMuchRugby: Reply to this comment

Let’s face it. The Stormers have violated the spirit of rugby that once existed in the Western Cape. Their dull unimaginitive brand of rugby is a product of their fear of failure instilled by a coach who is obviously concentrating on limiting mistakes and not allowing players to tap into their talents.

Maybe the Kings will play a better style of rugby……….even if the might not win.

• 973.Vinny Petrol: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game-968: HG let’s not get ahead of ourselves, sure we had a win but hey things change weekly in this comp and upsets happens for a variety of reasons. The stormers will be up against it this weekend methinks but at home one never knows especially since the chiefs have to travel. We need to improve our attack vastly before we can compete for the ultimate honors. A win this week was a step in the right direction but the job is far from finished IMHO. We just need to get it together against the kings this weekend!

• 974.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@nortierd-967: Consistency does not mean “deserve to win” Nortie…

Remember that…

And never forget it, as I havent since 2007, when Sharks were most consistent in Super Rugby yet did not win…

Heck if any side deserved to win – it was the Sharks that year… But they didnt…

• 975.ET.: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game-968:

I told you 10 days ago you would have many opportunities to rub their noses in faecal matter.
    So enjoy every moment, as these Capie cowards (pinkpiggies most of them) confirm their lack of having any honour by their embarrassing absence.

Confirm for these ‘ fokkers’ who in SA rugby have I ever referred to as the General.

• 976.nortierd: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game-973:
    Never said deserved to win HG
    Im saying that a side who tops the league was consistent and deserves a reward in the form of a home semi ( the trophy is not our idea )
    What happens during the semi is open and we were very disappointing in that regard so far.

• 977.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@Vinny Petrol-972: Nothing wrong with our attack Vinny… You should know that, especially at this stage of the comp. However, our D has had issues for a while… But by account of yesterday this seems to be well and truly fixed up…

I do hyperbole well with the best of them but last year when fools were calling for Jimmy Stonehouse as Plum’s replacement, I reckon I was the only realistic fool who still reckoned the Sharks were going to make the playoffs…

This year I am being real about the Sharks chances of winning this damn comp… This is probably their best chance since 2007, if not even better.

I base this on their best start in years, the fact that 4 excellent players still have to come back into the squad – Alberts, Daniel, Bismarck and Butch, and the fact that their fixture list is the best they have had in years…

Yesterday was a litmus test that they passed with flying colours, the real litmus test will be when they face the Saders… They win there and I shityounot – bet your house on the Sharks being Super Rugby Champs 2013… :wink:

• 978.Vinny Petrol: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game-976: don’t disagree however I am very conscious of the fact that have potential and living up to it can be two very different entities in reality. Nothing wrong with our attack but we need to know how and when to use it and not be drawn into the oppositions game plan.

• 979.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@ET.-974: Howzit ET… I see you lately been terrorizing the fools who forget who they dealing with…

Yep, I got to admit that you were the one who labelled Lambie as the General when he was first starting out in 2010 already…

They just hate it when we are right :wink:

Fark me, they reckon their attempts at insults are lean and mean – but go back a few years and then you see truly lean and mean, directed at one another… I actually reckon we mellowed a bit…

But now and again “die hond blaf nie”… It bites, as you showed the other day :lol:

• 980.Vinny Petrol: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game-976: have to ask, with everything at his disposal this year including fortune with the fixture list, would it be fair to say plum should be replaced if he doesn’t achieve anything?

• 981.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@Vinny Petrol-977: Yep… Agree with you there…

But I am telling you now, and it may make you and many other Sharkies cringe – because we are so used to the brainfart and chokes when it really counts – this Sharks team, players and coaches all, is a special one…

One of our best ever in Super Rugby, and could actually turn out to be the very best…

• 982.Vinny Petrol: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game-980: hoping you are right buddy. Just don’t like getting too cocky seen it before on this very website and hate the taste of humble pie! Tastes like it was made in Cape Town!

• 983.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@Vinny Petrol-979: Nope… Because we will achieve something at the very least…

And nope, because Plum is a Shark through and through, a coach in the Tradition of Ian Mac himself – the players will run through brick walls for him…

And when Ian Mac didn’t achieve anything in certain seasons it was sacrilege to even think of replacing him…

But even if you wanted to replace Plum – who would you replace him with… And dont say Jimmy Stonehouse or Hawies Fourie or somesuch that some brainfarting Sharks “fans” are wont to say, if you want to be taken seriously cuzzie.

• 984.ET.: Reply to this comment

Straight from the Sydenham boys of SoulFire fame are some consoling words of understanding and hope for the vanquished hypocrites, despicable cowards(almost all from the northern suburbs) of “refugee” City :

Into each life a little rain must fall
    Every day can’t be Sunday
    Every smile isn’t a smile of happiness
    And every tear that is shed is not a tear of joy
    I liked to take a little time
    To dedicate these words to everyone
    Who constantly never win the big one
    Especially those who have loved ones, now threatened

Fail, blame, wail, groan, moan b itch for days and days and then you will need to repeat it more often than not for such are the days of the lives of the despised cowards.

• 985.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@Vinny Petrol-981: Excellent :lol: And here’s hoping that my nervousness, and hope for glory masquerading as co.cky optimism proves correct…

“Once more into the breech…”

• 986.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@ET.-983: Farkenhell… :lol:

That dog in the corner thats down… kick it.

Hahahahahahahaha

ET about to start World War III on Keo…

Gonna go get me a beer and some Chips to come back and enjoy this if it continues any further…

• 987.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food: Reply to this comment

@NZINCHINA-950: Thank you……. Any other team that wins on penalties is a disgrace to rugga. When the Sharks do it, it’s ‘genius’ :)

All the Saffa teams are weak at this stage – the end.

• 988.ET.: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game-978:

They cannot even decently give and they most certainly cannot take anything such is their lack of moral fibre. Jellyfish have infinitely more spine than that sorrow, crying lot of cretins.

Do they know and understand what lies ahead of them when they are confronted at Newlands, no less, by the thousands of CapeChiefs who will own their playing ground and terrorise them to easy flowing tears and anger?

• 989.Vinny Petrol: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game-982: I don’t question Plums loyalty at all but he lacks the spark that Ian Mac had, that Xfactor as a coach sometimes I reckon. We cant be nearly boys forever on the back of loyalty. Stonehouse would be madness. If I had to replace himself only person that comes to mind at the moment is Mallet. I know I will get knocked for that one but he is about the only one who thinks outside the box. Truth is I would rather have Plum than Alistair Coetzee, he is the start of the Stormers problems, even before their tight five!

• 990.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@ET.-987: Eish, and that will be a sad day in H.ell otherwise known as Newlands Rudby Stadium :wink:

• 991.ET.: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game-985:

Come you know the swine wont show their heads from those trenches, except for that one wilted and washed-up FOOL on the Cape HILL

• 992.ryecatcher: Reply to this comment

@nortierd-953: When younger I used to get so excited by a game that chair would end up 10M from where I originally
    was sitting.
    The turgid **** dished up yesterday really put me off the game I used
    to love .
    Enjoy your weekend.Catch some baddies
    Yesd I know Herr General.Treacly sweet

• 993.ryecatcher: Reply to this comment

@TooMuchRugby-971: And have to agree
    with this

• 994.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@Vinny Petrol-988: Plum is understated in Public but strues Bob I reckon you ask some players and they will tell you whether he has spark on the training pitch or behind closed doors like the changeroom at half time…

And Plum is one imposing mofo to meet in person too – no wilting violet there, but a more genuine, honest b.ugger will be hard to find too…

Ian Mac was and is a Sharks legend – our very own Lombardi, but Plum has taken the reigns, is comfortable and now confident steering the Sharks chariot, and I wouldnt be surprised if he turns into the Sharks very own Belichick, especially if he makes the breakthrough this year with the Double…

Mallet would probably be the only replacement with enough stature to have the staying power with the Sharks…

Ruffle a few feathers and rumble a few G&Ts for sure though…

• 995.nama1: Reply to this comment

Has the Shark wankfest stop yet? :lol:

Congrats once again on your win.

One thing though, if this Shark team is our “best chance” of bringing the S15 title to SA, the our rugby is in deep kak.

• 996.ryecatcher: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game-945: Agree on Herbst

• 997.ET.: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game-989:

But they get that for they have earned that by trying to fool no one but themselves as they concoct terms like ‘verligte’ to deceive others when in reality they are worse than those they deceitfully call ‘verkrampte’ to merely put themselves in a better light.
    Now as you have so often pointed out they want to be seen as “liberal”?

Who with respect cannot despise such horrid ‘humans’?

I despise no bunch of people more than such untrustworthy deceivers as that group .

Does it not still ring in the ears how they gloated after the now worthless Currie Cup win(brass now instead of gold) and how they told all their 20 year olds would dominate for such a long time(on what they base that I do not follow) and win it all in 2013?

• 998.nortierd: Reply to this comment

@ryecatcher-992:
    Hi Rye
    Congrats with your teams win yesterday.
    Sharks are sitting pretty after 2 weeks

• 999.Vinny Petrol: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game-993: agreed re Plum, nice salt of the earth bugger and true to Natal however one can’t back a losing horse forever no matter how good the pedigree and how nicely it runs………

• 1000.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@ET.-990: Yeah… I think you might be right… Considering it was a local derby and especially involving the Stormers – this Keo thread is decidedly quiet even though it is fast approaching the 4 figure mark…

Yep… Farken yellow bellied little Brokebacks… I reckon they dancing around the Maypole singing Ring a Rosie, Pockets of Posies, slinging their Pink feather Boas with vengeance and kicking the collective Rubber Ducky at Camps Bay just about now…

All talking about how suddenly sh.yte SA rugby is now, yet a couple of weeks back the same Maypole dancers were swearing blind that at least 3 SA teams would make the playoffs :lol:

Pages: « 113 14 15 16 17 18 19 [20] 21 22 23 » Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.