Stubborn Stormers will stumble
5 Mar 2013
MARK KEOHANE argues the Stormers problem is a defensive coaching mindset and not a lack of options in their pack.
Among the more astute and analytical rugby writers in the country is the Cape Argus’s Zelim Nel, who outside of being a fine fellow, is also a rugby coach.
He writes very differently to most who report on the game because he is more a coach who writes than a writer who coaches. I am always interested in Nel’s take on a match and he is good value. Do yourself a favour and get the Argus for his analytical pieces.
Nel, though, feels much of the Stormers try-scoring woes stems from vulnerability among the pack. He lamented an indifferent lineout that has lost its potency in the enforced absence of Eben Etzebeth and he wrote of the Stormers being an inferior collective when it comes to the pack presence.
The Stormers, in their two defeats, have struggled at the set phases. In Pretoria the lineout and scrum were poor and individually the players were second best in the collisions. In Durban the lineout was better but the players were again shaded in the collisions and the pack, in the scrum, were decidedly second best.
But I disagree with Nel that the primary reason the Stormers backs don’t function fluently is because of a poor pack effort. I think it has more to do with the predetermined plan that is all about defence and then thinks about attack.
The Sharks forwards are among the strongest in the tournament and there will be many packs the Stormers will dominate and yet I still can’t see them maximising scoring opportunities. I base this assessment on their tournament history in the last three years.
The mindset of head coach Allister Coetzee is too defensively orientated and the Stormers play with no risk and rely on defence to win matches. It has been a proven formula over a three year period in which they have won 80 percent of their league matches, but they’ve bombed in play-off matches when asked to show more than a defensive mindset.
Super Rugby is not Test rugby. Super Rugby requires more imagination than just making tackles.
The Stormers certainly have the players with the necessary attacking skill and where I disagree with Nel is that the pack is good enough. There have been occasions in the last three years when the Stormers have taken a more attacking approach into a game and scored tries but it has naturally resulted in them leaking more tries. One such occasion was against the Cheetahs and immediately there was criticism of their defence, and within a week the side reverted to type.
A side that places a premium on attack is going to be vulnerable to conceding more tries, but a side that only relies on defence can rarely sustain the defensive effort over a six month period.
Western Province, in the Currie Cup, played with more balance in attack and defence, but the quality of opposition was inferior the best sides in Super Rugby. What has impressed me about the Blues is the attack is not compromised by a desire to defend. It is possible to do both.
Coetzee and his predecessor Rassie Erasmus have restored credibility to Stormers rugby and they are no longer the soft touch or the show ponies of a decade ago, but there is a difference to fixing a side and turning them into champions. The Stormers are no longer the pretty boys of South African rugby, but they are now the most boring side in the tournament, the most predictable and the most pedestrian on attack.
There are fantastic individuals and the quality of player makes for a squad among the top five in the tournament. But the conservative mindset is doing the players a disservice. Watching the Stormers play is like watching Heyneke Meyer’s Boks on the end of year tour. Or like watching white paint dry on a white wall.
It doesn’t make for pleasant viewing and while Meyer will always be able to convince many that Test rugby is a different beast and that it is only about the result, Super Rugby requires a more liberal approach in which no team can win every weekend, so a win at all defensive costs mindset isn’t a winning formula on the field. It won’t seduce supporters either or fool them.
The Stormers will win the majority of their home matches and they will be miserly on defence away from home, but never in the last three years have I ever felt this was a team that would prove masters in the play-offs and I think it has to do with the approach of a coaching staff who play not to lose instead of playing to win with substance and style.
The Stormers are a side that won’t easily finish outside the top six but they are also a side that doesn’t inspire visions of winning the tournament and frankly, outside of 1999 when they played magnificent rugby and I thought they would win, I’ve never been convinced of them as champions.
They are a good side but to win this tournament you have to be very good, in attack and on defence.

463 Comments
Pages: [1] 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 » Show All
5 Mar 2013, 10:01 am
Stubborn Stormers will stumble http://t.co/fVpS9eN9Di via @sharethis Stormers remain the great under achievers in SA Super Rugby
5 Mar 2013, 10:03 am
I’m picking the Chiefs to make it 0 from 3 for the Stormers after this weekend.
5 Mar 2013, 10:06 am
The players the Stormers rely on having become ‘part of that mindset’ if you like.
It wouldn’t be as simple as a change of mind. Stormers will eventually need somewhat of an overhaul.
5 Mar 2013, 10:11 am
stubborn stormers will surely stumble
5 Mar 2013, 10:12 am
@hendrikp-2:
The question I find interesting is whether a tight defense by default necessitates a less effective attack?
Does a more attacking mindset automatically translate into a weaker defense or can both be accommodated with equal effectiveness?
5 Mar 2013, 10:20 am
@Tacitus-4:
the aswer to that is yes it does, if the Chiefs state from last year are a useful indicator.
the probelm with using NZ teams statistics however is the extent of cheating which goes unnaccounted for in the stats with regards the way they both defend and attack.
5 Mar 2013, 10:20 am
I cannot begin to describe the frustration I have watching the Stormers…. …..All that backline talent absolutely wasted.
For the first time in years I am not going to a game at Newlands this weekend.
With AC and that defensive mindset what is the point? To watch the Kiwis play all the rugby?
No….i am done till I see a fundamantal change in the Stormers attitude.
5 Mar 2013, 10:25 am
@Tacitus-4:
The Chiefs have managed to achieve that balance.
5 Mar 2013, 10:26 am
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-5:
terrilbe english:
the aswer to that is yes it does, if the Chiefs stats from last year are a useful indicator.
the problem with using statistics from NZ teams however is the extent of cheating which goes unaccounted for in the stats with regard to the way they both defend and attack.
5 Mar 2013, 10:29 am
@grant10-6: Grant, guess that means more time for you to show off the speedo at CLIFTON??
5 Mar 2013, 10:30 am
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-5: Oh shut up.
You’re so boring and stupid… Unless you really are just trolling? Cause then you’re stupid troll.
@grant10-6: Have to say I’m in the same boat.
My Uncle gave me his season tickets the whole of last year because he hated the games. Thought he was going to have a heart attack every time we kicked an up and under.
5 Mar 2013, 10:32 am
RT @mark_keohane: Stubborn Stormers will stumble http://t.co/fVpS9eN9Di via @sharethis Stormers remain the great under achievers in SA S …
5 Mar 2013, 10:33 am
@grant10-6: Agree Grant. Swop Fleck and get Spencer in. Then, in the offseason, poach hawies fourie. Coetzee doesn;’t know how to enforce or implement the change, that’s why the stormers aren’t changing. The other aspect you have to consider is that the skill level of the backline players aren’t good enough. Spatial awareness, the ability to pass effectively, let alone distribute. Most importantly, the fear of making a mistake is crippling.
Will keep saying this. The biggest weakness in the stormers is AC.
5 Mar 2013, 10:36 am
I wouldnt be too worried if I was a Stormers fan.
The Sharks were in this exact predicament last year with 2 away losses on the trot and injuries to a few big names. It didnt concern me at the time.
What did concern me was when we went on tour and lost a game to the Tahs that we should have won and then got drilled by the Hurricanes. Thats the first time I thought our season was over.
This is a long season and there is still so much that can happen.
5 Mar 2013, 10:37 am
@Tacitus-4: Look at the Chiefs, they are at present the perfect team. Balanced on all areas.
The problem with the Stormers is the problem the whole of SA has except the Cheetas, the primary attack channel is the 1st reciever. Our SH’s are terrible at verrying their play and our coaches have huge weakenesses in key areas.
Drotske – Defence
Plumstead – Consistancy/ BMT
AC – Attack/ BMT
Bulls – Team selection (J Potgieter WTF?)
Kings – Who knows….
5 Mar 2013, 10:38 am
Keo, it took you 3 years to see , some Capies still don’t see , AC is killing the game , but we are happy to win , now suddenly the Strompies are losing , now the same game of last 3 years is no good.
5 Mar 2013, 10:40 am
@pompies2-11: That biggest weakness coached them to tehir 1st Currie Cup win in a decade and the number 1 spot in last years SR?
Your argument is flawed.
5 Mar 2013, 10:45 am
@goodstuff-13: excellent point. was thinking the same thing saturday. that the percentage of scrumhalf to flyhalf passes is something like 40%. that mean 60% of the time, the scrumhalf is either using the ball himself or passing to the forwards. The rationale will obviously be to build momentum. This is stupid, considering the tightest defense is close to the ruck.
If you increase the number of times the scrumhalf passes to the flyhalf, you automatically alter the angle of attack and you split that strong fringe defense. In doing so, you create an unstructured, almost unfamiliar defensive line. All of a sudden you find a prop defending next to a centre or wing and this create opportunities by either taking a gap or playing the ball in the tackle.
As it is, SA teams are suckering themselves into playing rugby league.
5 Mar 2013, 10:47 am
@John Galt-12: I hear you John….but it is not the point I am making…..It is the increibly boring efensive mine skop en jag enless farken rubbish we as Stormers have serve up year after year……the results are seconary….last year almost kille me ….an we were getting results! But the cowarly game plan gave me no satisfaction whatsoever….
No man….enough is now enough.
5 Mar 2013, 10:48 am
the stormers and their fans are living in some sort of dreamland.. I’m a shark fan living in the cape and I see it day in day out, year after year..
they refuse to believe that their scrum is weak, that their team cannot win this competition, that tries win this competition..
it’s highly annoying the blind faith these supporters place in possibly the most boring rugby franchise on the planet..
they talk about etzebeth being a huge loss, but when you go through the sharks lineup and you see possibly our 3 best forwards all out injured in bismark, daniel and alberts- the comparison is ridiculous..
these stormers coaches and fans need a serious reality check
5 Mar 2013, 10:48 am
@goodstuff-15: If you’re going to take that as your argument then, CC is where AC should stay. Clearly super rugby, is a bridge too far. You can keep AC, but then be contented with dancing girls and 40 000 people screaming for a team who will always be bridesmaids.
5 Mar 2013, 10:49 am
sorry….the d on my keyboard a bit farked
5 Mar 2013, 10:50 am
@pompies2-19: I agree
5 Mar 2013, 10:52 am
@grant10-17: Grant so tell me?? how come the Sharks is not your 2nd team anymore???
Eish boet, being airy fairy supporter is not good, I mean now you nare a KIngs supporter?? thank the lord you are not a “REAL” Sharks supporter
5 Mar 2013, 10:54 am
Stubborn Stormers will stumble: MARK KEOHANE argues the Stormers problem is a defensive coaching mindset and n… http://t.co/qyn7sXcXgm
5 Mar 2013, 10:56 am
@Sharks_are_gonna_get_you-22: You know I am a Luke Watson supporter.
Sharks play the best brand of rugby in SA …by a country mile…..always enjoy them .
5 Mar 2013, 11:06 am
@grant10-17:
Yeah ok fair enough.
Your complaint is the quality of rugby being produced.
Not necessarily the results thus far.
5 Mar 2013, 11:08 am
@John Galt-12: This is true, Stormers log position is not yet cause to panic. What should be a concern for them is that I dont think that they looked as if they could have won either of these 2 opening games while the Sharks last year could have realistically won both of those 2 opening games that they lost away from home.
5 Mar 2013, 11:08 am
For once I agree with Mark, how unusual…
5 Mar 2013, 11:09 am
The Stormers will have the service of Jaco Peyper against the Chiefs
More than enough to make up for all their selections’ ‘farce
Two or three illegal ties and the Stormers are through, no big deal, the Chiefs themselves aren’t that good without a Kiwi referee
5 Mar 2013, 11:17 am
Sorry fellow Srormer supporters, but I thought this should be shared
The embattled Stormers revealed today their cunning new plan for Super Rugby glory. After two losses over the first two weekends of the tournament the heat is on the Cape side to find some form. To do so, Allister Coetzee and his backroom staff have thrown the coaching manual out of the window.
Special report: by David Moseley
Said coaching manual was actually picked up by a high school ninth team coach, who promptly burnt the thing, lest it stymie another teams attacking flair.
“Ja, look, you know, it’s all about inches,” said the Stormers boss to rapturous applause from the Cape rugby media. “You know, we just need to you know, you know? So once we’ve done that, you know?”
Coetzee then handed over the floor to backline coach Robbie Fleck, who wowed the assembled media with unique insight into the Stormers revolutionary new strategy. “We’ve struggled so far this season with rugby players. So what we’ll do for the Chiefs game is bring in two cardboard boxes into the backline.”
Fleck, who says he found the boxes at the delivery entrance to the Constantia Pick n Pay, continued, “We feel we might get more momentum out of a cardboard box than we’re currently getting from our backline.
“While our tactics have always been to run sideways, we’re now hoping that a freak gust of wind might blow the cardboard boxes forward against the Chiefs.
“I’ve been told that behind the opposition defence there’s something called a tryline, so we’re looking forward to seeing one of those sometime this season. The wind often swirls at Newlands, so this could be a big plus.”
Former try-scoring wing, Bryan Habana, who will more than likely be one of the players replaced by a cardboard box, was enthusiastic regarding his team’s amended game plan.
“Ja, look, you know. You know? I spend a lot of time getting changed, doing push ups before running onto the field, then I just stand on the wing. I feel like this will give me an opportunity to tweet more. I’m not really needed for the Stormers attacking moves, and I wish Cardboard Box well.”
From the team that took to the field for training, it looks like I&J Cardboard Box, well known for its distribution, could be starting at inside centre, with McCain Frozen Peas Cardboard Box starting ahead of Habana, who’s normally left out in the cold anyway.
5 Mar 2013, 11:19 am
@Hondo-27: Peyper was demoted to the Varsity Cup last night – I suppose as punishment for that try of the Bulls lol
5 Mar 2013, 11:26 am
Whats frustrating me is that whenever the backline gets just that bit of momentum, a strormers forward just HAS to stand at center and crashball, but they will pick CrashballGrant again too, so just like last year players like de jongh will be null and void defenders.
5 Mar 2013, 11:28 am
A.C. is Jake White protege who learned every thing he knows from the great ‘defence wins games’ architect of S.A. rugby tradition rugby. So wtf anyone expected? Coetsee either loses his fear of losing or else get new coaching team. They’re falling apart at the seams these three just like JW was in 2007 before he brought his mentor and savior in EJ to change his entire fixed fearful conservative dead end approach.
5 Mar 2013, 11:28 am
I think part of the problem is that Elton has had 3 major changes that he is coming to terms with:
* Living in CT; although he is kullid it’s a whole different ballgame living there
* New team – they know what he can do but has not had enough time for players to play off him
* Life without his dad – I’ve read several articles that his dad played a significant role in his rugby, so that will take in his case probably a year to normalise
5 Mar 2013, 11:30 am
You can’t expect the SAFFA teams to score similar type back line tries as the NZ teams do as there is a big gulf in skill level, but surely they can perfect some basic moves and score from them.
5 Mar 2013, 11:31 am
@nortierd-28:
5 Mar 2013, 11:32 am
@Sheriff-32: Elton joined the Stormers this year. What’s the excuse for the previous years?
5 Mar 2013, 11:33 am
Idot AC has decided to bench Elton and bring on he who has failed in the past 3 seasons to fire their dull backline – what will the boring and limited Grant bring to this kak team.
Nothing at all. Nothing but the same old boring brokebackshit AC has delivered since he abdicated his coaching role to Nienaber.
5 Mar 2013, 11:33 am
Elton Jantjies was a very poor decision and purchase I stand by my assessment that had Stormers started ANY other fly half vs Bulls and probably Sharks as well they would definitely be in a better position than the 0/2 they find themselves in now.
5 Mar 2013, 11:34 am
Some options and variations would help. When 2 Pods of forwards recieve the ball from every other ruck and make a couple inches before the scrummie or flyhalf decide to kick then you’re gonna have a bad time. Even some basic things like one off runners or some forwards crashing off 12 rather than 10. It’s like night and day watching the kiwi teams and our own. They would do well to watch the Cheetahs and take notes. Imagine the Cheetahs actually had a pack and decent defensive structure for 80 minutes.
5 Mar 2013, 11:48 am
@RL-36:
take him to the Sharks…
*whispers*
if you build him the flash will come
*echo*
come, come, come….
it would be a dream tag team imo
the Starsky & Hutch of the midfield
or better yet Ponch and Jon from ‘Chips’
patrolling channel one all day
sorting out the bad guys
5 Mar 2013, 11:56 am
@Hop Hop Spinnekop-35:
Well in the previous seasons he gradually worked his way into the Bok setup.
My suggestion is that they play Pete Grant at 12; Damian de Allende has done nothing there to justify his selection.
But yes, I’m afraid after this weekend it will be 3 played 3 defeats
5 Mar 2013, 12:05 pm
@CharlesM-29:
Two illegal tries in fact
Habana’s try was as illegal as they come, Chilliboi’s try was debatable since he was in front of the kicker but faced the Bulls’ line, Habana’s try was a blatant cheat l as is always the case with Habana/JdV combo
No Peyper no hope for the Stormers!
5 Mar 2013, 12:07 pm
OMG! Not another failed campaign. But who knows, this race is not a sprint. Playoffs in July remember!! Sharks can’t keep up the intensity shown Saturday all through to the end, and the Bulls will fade. Don’t know so much about Stormers winning conference anymore.
5 Mar 2013, 12:07 pm
@nortierd-28:
5 Mar 2013, 12:09 pm
I maintain, way too early to be judging any teams performances correctly.
But speculation makes for good discussion so may it continue.
5 Mar 2013, 12:10 pm
@nortierd-28:
All will be forgotten if Peyper will lead them to win over the Chiefs
The issue remains: The Stormers are unable to beat the better SR teams under neutral Ref who doesn’t necessarily swindling it for them (some do, Steve Walsh for instance), so comes the Play Offs stage and then?
5 Mar 2013, 12:12 pm
“like watching white paint dry on a white wall”
Why’s everything got to be about race with you, Keo?
5 Mar 2013, 12:19 pm
“The Stormers are no longer the pretty boys of South African rugby, but they are now the most boring side in the tournament, the most predictable and the most pedestrian on attack.
There are fantastic individuals and the quality of player makes for a squad among the top five in the tournament. But the conservative mindset is doing the players a disservice. Watching the Stormers play is like watching Heyneke Meyer’s Boks on the end of year tour. Or like watching white paint dry on a white wall.”
Ouch.
Never mind Stormpies – Pedigree still lurves you!
Pages: [1] 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 » Show All