Stubborn Stormers will stumble
5 Mar 2013
MARK KEOHANE argues the Stormers problem is a defensive coaching mindset and not a lack of options in their pack.
Among the more astute and analytical rugby writers in the country is the Cape Argus’s Zelim Nel, who outside of being a fine fellow, is also a rugby coach.
He writes very differently to most who report on the game because he is more a coach who writes than a writer who coaches. I am always interested in Nel’s take on a match and he is good value. Do yourself a favour and get the Argus for his analytical pieces.
Nel, though, feels much of the Stormers try-scoring woes stems from vulnerability among the pack. He lamented an indifferent lineout that has lost its potency in the enforced absence of Eben Etzebeth and he wrote of the Stormers being an inferior collective when it comes to the pack presence.
The Stormers, in their two defeats, have struggled at the set phases. In Pretoria the lineout and scrum were poor and individually the players were second best in the collisions. In Durban the lineout was better but the players were again shaded in the collisions and the pack, in the scrum, were decidedly second best.
But I disagree with Nel that the primary reason the Stormers backs don’t function fluently is because of a poor pack effort. I think it has more to do with the predetermined plan that is all about defence and then thinks about attack.
The Sharks forwards are among the strongest in the tournament and there will be many packs the Stormers will dominate and yet I still can’t see them maximising scoring opportunities. I base this assessment on their tournament history in the last three years.
The mindset of head coach Allister Coetzee is too defensively orientated and the Stormers play with no risk and rely on defence to win matches. It has been a proven formula over a three year period in which they have won 80 percent of their league matches, but they’ve bombed in play-off matches when asked to show more than a defensive mindset.
Super Rugby is not Test rugby. Super Rugby requires more imagination than just making tackles.
The Stormers certainly have the players with the necessary attacking skill and where I disagree with Nel is that the pack is good enough. There have been occasions in the last three years when the Stormers have taken a more attacking approach into a game and scored tries but it has naturally resulted in them leaking more tries. One such occasion was against the Cheetahs and immediately there was criticism of their defence, and within a week the side reverted to type.
A side that places a premium on attack is going to be vulnerable to conceding more tries, but a side that only relies on defence can rarely sustain the defensive effort over a six month period.
Western Province, in the Currie Cup, played with more balance in attack and defence, but the quality of opposition was inferior the best sides in Super Rugby. What has impressed me about the Blues is the attack is not compromised by a desire to defend. It is possible to do both.
Coetzee and his predecessor Rassie Erasmus have restored credibility to Stormers rugby and they are no longer the soft touch or the show ponies of a decade ago, but there is a difference to fixing a side and turning them into champions. The Stormers are no longer the pretty boys of South African rugby, but they are now the most boring side in the tournament, the most predictable and the most pedestrian on attack.
There are fantastic individuals and the quality of player makes for a squad among the top five in the tournament. But the conservative mindset is doing the players a disservice. Watching the Stormers play is like watching Heyneke Meyer’s Boks on the end of year tour. Or like watching white paint dry on a white wall.
It doesn’t make for pleasant viewing and while Meyer will always be able to convince many that Test rugby is a different beast and that it is only about the result, Super Rugby requires a more liberal approach in which no team can win every weekend, so a win at all defensive costs mindset isn’t a winning formula on the field. It won’t seduce supporters either or fool them.
The Stormers will win the majority of their home matches and they will be miserly on defence away from home, but never in the last three years have I ever felt this was a team that would prove masters in the play-offs and I think it has to do with the approach of a coaching staff who play not to lose instead of playing to win with substance and style.
The Stormers are a side that won’t easily finish outside the top six but they are also a side that doesn’t inspire visions of winning the tournament and frankly, outside of 1999 when they played magnificent rugby and I thought they would win, I’ve never been convinced of them as champions.
They are a good side but to win this tournament you have to be very good, in attack and on defence.

463 Comments
Pages: « 1 2 [3] 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 » Show All
5 Mar 2013, 13:21 pm
This is a very important message for Dawn:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=e1-KBzAT77g
5 Mar 2013, 13:21 pm
@Heavens Game-89:
Yes, but mostly we just laugh at you
5 Mar 2013, 13:25 pm
Saying that the Stormers have been so poor is being disrespectful to the opposition. They lost by 8 points to the Bulls (after missing 12 points at goal and turning down 2 opportunities to kick at goal to kick to the corner instead) and by six points to the Sharks. Both these games were away games. As such, the doom and gloom being written about the Stormers seems to me the usual South African knee jerk cynicism and blame game that is always played. As Keo has said we should listen to his good friend Mr Nel, the only real issue in his mind is the pack and specifically the scrum. In both games it was poor and led to scoring opportunities being wasted or allowing kicks at goals for the opposition.
Furthermore, in both games I did not see the Bulls or the Sharks showing anymore inventiveness on attack than the Stormers, in fact I felt that Stormers have carried the ball fairly effectively, but that may be my blue tinted glasses. It does seem that our players are unwilling to try offloads in the tackle atm. But once again you can only play as well as the opposition allow, and both games the Bulls and the Sharks played the best rugby of the season (short as it is so far). As such, I will continue to support the Stormers and wish them the best. If we start struggling against the Force, Kings, Rebels, Cheetahs, Reds or NSW, that is one the real question marks will arise for me.
5 Mar 2013, 13:27 pm
@NZINCHINA-92:
Or the way they touted Daniel Keegan, the Cullen of loosies, last year
5 Mar 2013, 13:28 pm
@kaksioek-96:
I also like the Sharks, but their supporters on Keo are pricks
5 Mar 2013, 13:31 pm
@pope-100:
The voice of reason…
But I disagree that the pack is the only problem. The problem is a sterile midfield and over utilisation of forwards as strike runners
5 Mar 2013, 13:31 pm
Too much, Keegan a good super rugby player but he shouldn’t be mentioned in the same sentence as Cully.
5 Mar 2013, 13:32 pm
@TooMuchRugby-103:
Funny enough, that’s precisely the Springbok problem.
5 Mar 2013, 13:35 pm
@NZINCHINA-92: jpp is a wc winner, 3n winner, cc winner and was the worlds best winger by last seasons end pellie.
find a better comparison
5 Mar 2013, 13:36 pm
@NZINCHINA-92: Its still a better start than last year!!
5 Mar 2013, 13:37 pm
Hondo…must I remind you of the bulls stats in their cup winning years….just when this ridiculous rule of “best” refs came in……was it bulls 12/16 SA refs in their championship year……if that is not enough prove I don’t know!
5 Mar 2013, 13:40 pm
Stormers lack pace in loose trio…..Elstaht shoul go to 4…Carr to 6…Kolisi to 7….
As for backs….leave Grant on bench and back Elton…..imo…
5 Mar 2013, 13:41 pm
@Hoops-108: what exactly does it prove hoops?
speculation is not proof bud sorry.
p.s. have they removed ginger and co’s heads from the rectums as yet?
5 Mar 2013, 13:42 pm
@The Rangerman-106:
another overhyped Saffa player.. was not the standout wingger last year at all, just happened to have a few good games near the end..
a useful winger, but give me a kiwi winger anydays..
5 Mar 2013, 13:43 pm
The embattled Stormers revealed today their cunning new plan for Super Rugby glory. After two losses over the first two weekends of the tournament the heat is on the Cape side to find some form. To do so, Allister Coetzee and his backroom staff have thrown the coaching manual out of the window.
Special report: by David Moseley
Said coaching manual was actually picked up by a high school ninth team coach, who promptly burnt the thing, lest it stymie another teams attacking flair.
“Ja, look, you know, it’s all about inches,” said the Stormers boss to rapturous applause from the Cape rugby media. “You know, we just need to you know, you know? So once we’ve done that, you know?”
Coetzee then handed over the floor to backline coach Robbie Fleck, who wowed the assembled media with unique insight into the Stormers revolutionary new strategy. “We’ve struggled so far this season with rugby players. So what we’ll do for the Chiefs game is bring in two cardboard boxes into the backline.”
Fleck, who says he found the boxes at the delivery entrance to the Constantia Pick n Pay, continued, “We feel we might get more momentum out of a cardboard box than we’re currently getting from our backline.
“While our tactics have always been to run sideways, we’re now hoping that a freak gust of wind might blow the cardboard boxes forward against the Chiefs.
“I’ve been told that behind the opposition defence there’s something called a tryline, so we’re looking forward to seeing one of those sometime this season. The wind often swirls at Newlands, so this could be a big plus.”
Former try-scoring wing, Bryan Habana, who will more than likely be one of the players replaced by a cardboard box, was enthusiastic regarding his team’s amended game plan.
“Ja, look, you know. You know? I spend a lot of time getting changed, doing push ups before running onto the field, then I just stand on the wing. I feel like this will give me an opportunity to tweet more. I’m not really needed for the Stormers attacking moves, and I wish Cardboard Box well.”
From the team that took to the field for training, it looks like I&J Cardboard Box, well known for its distribution, could be starting at inside centre, with McCain Frozen Peas Cardboard Box starting ahead of Habana, who’s normally left out in the cold anyway.
5 Mar 2013, 13:45 pm
@the curse-111: give me Corey Jane, who has a WC medal, Numerous 3Ns trophies, and a few unbeaten EOYTs under his belt..
easily much better…
5 Mar 2013, 13:46 pm
@Heavens Game-97: the losing finalists don’t get a trophy. the conference winners get a trophy.
it’s all about the trophy’s isn’t it? or so you and your ilk used to tell the ABs every 4 years even though they wipped the boks time and time again…
BTW – Cape Town is the best place in SA to live so don’t let your jealously get the better of you.
5 Mar 2013, 13:54 pm
@John Galt-112: Bwahahahahahahahahahaha
5 Mar 2013, 13:54 pm
@the curse-111:
yes yes, take a blues player, they had a remarkable season
5 Mar 2013, 13:56 pm
@brains_trust-114: yes, the conference winners obviously did so much better than the finalists
even though the conference winners got snotted at home and away by the losing finalists
great logic there bud, are you mac maharaj?
5 Mar 2013, 13:57 pm
@the curse-113: You really believe that?
Look I will give it to you, NZ are better in almost all positions but if you can’t admit the quality of JP you’re no better than Bakkies. Cory Jane? Please… JP could step him, round him or run over him in a one on one situation. He just doesn’t have the benefit of having the All-Black team around him.
Cory Jane… Wow. Savea and Gear are better… Sheeeeet bring back Doug Howlett over that cracker.
@John Galt-112:
@brains_trust-114: A trophy for the competition chump. That Plascon wall and all is like getting the Ms. Congeniality award.
and Cape Town sure as **** aint the best place to live in SA.
@John Galt-112: Was that from Hayibo or something?
5 Mar 2013, 13:58 pm
@the curse-113:
Corey?
Naaah. He’s mine.
There are better AB wings
5 Mar 2013, 14:04 pm
@The Rangerman-116: still have 3 more trophies then your lot “boet”
@Bagel-118: considering hes really a fullback, yeah, Id still take Cory over JPP… just my opinion, you disagree, cool..
JPP should be playin at 13 for the Boks, would go a long way to solving your backline problems, but keep him at wing, I dont mind he hardly gets the ball there… Savea? what has he really done? in his second season and will probably surpass Jane at some stage, but is still suspect under the high ball at this stage, definitely not the finished article yet… Gear? too inconsistent, has good days and goes missing often, especially at AB level.. at AB level Jane is still our best winger imo..
5 Mar 2013, 14:09 pm
@Bagel-121:
No its from arenasport.co.za.
I think thats the same David Moseley who writes for the News24 site.
5 Mar 2013, 14:16 pm
@The Rangerman-117:
hey you !diot – can you read ??? Conference winners get a trophy – losing finalists don’t. Yes the Sharks beat us @ home but we beat the Sharks twice in the group stages so using your logic the Stormers are the better team – not so ??
I don’t know or care who you support but if it is the Sharks – I can understand how you try justify how not winning a trophy is better than actually winning a trophy because the Sharks are the biggest chokers in world rugby….
WP Currie Cup Champs !!!!
5 Mar 2013, 14:17 pm
“predetermined plan” – Keo, the word “predetermined” is redundant. If you take away that word “plan” still has the same meaning because “plan” means “A detailed proposal for doing or achieving something”. You can’t plan for something afterwards.
5 Mar 2013, 14:20 pm
@Dilligafrican-120: Go crawl back under the rock you were hatched under please…. you t!t
5 Mar 2013, 14:24 pm
@brains_trust-114: “the conference winners get a trophy”…. Really?
Do they now…
Have you seen this trophy?
Farkenhell, this is funnyshit
5 Mar 2013, 14:27 pm
@The Rangerman-117: What it does mean….is that whilst we might have been beaten by you fellows, we weren’t beaten by very many other teams….whilst ‘said’ very many other teams, DID beat you.
So most consistent all season, would be the conference winners. It’s a ‘reward’ for winning more than you lost
Winning a semi final away from home, then going on to be verballysexuallyandemotionally manshamed in the final? This is fair reward for inconsistency throughout the season.
@Dilligafrican-120: Until the guppies win it, it will be deemed worthless is what I’m guessing? Guppies get it, and the Royal show will be cancelled in Durban, and an extra large braai in the grounds of Kings Park will be announced. Tyrone will quiteliterallyshit himself and buy a new gold bracelet to celebrate…..
Now for all the guppies bravado and backline bragging, how many more tries have they scored than the Stormers this season? One? Or have I missed a few………
HG: SA backline play ISSHIT…..
5 Mar 2013, 14:29 pm
@brains_trust-125: ” we beat the Sharks twice in the group stages”…. Really now?
You talking about Stormers and Super Rugby 2012, surely… So, in the “group stages” how did the Stormers beat the Sharks “twice” when the “mighty” Conference Title holders lost at Kings Park in the return game after narrowly beating a below par Sharks in the first game by virtue of a referee gifted Grant penalty in the final seconds…?
Chrissakes, Brain_Dump – you related to Capo by any chance… Farken no brains more like it…
5 Mar 2013, 14:29 pm
@Riaan26-126:
To plan or not to plan is also a plan
5 Mar 2013, 14:30 pm
You just have to hand it to these Shark supporters. They sure do know how to brag…with nothing.
Hahaha…
Snot en trane awaits them ek se…snot en trane.
5 Mar 2013, 14:31 pm
@brains_trust-125: twice in the group stages?
really?
you must be the lead casing around the brains in trust
if you seriously think the conference trophy holds more weight than making the finals then you must be an aussie
5 Mar 2013, 14:31 pm
@TooMuchRugby-102: As an obvious Brokeback, you must like p.ricks too…
No?
5 Mar 2013, 14:32 pm
@The Rangerman-106:
Basson was top try scorer last season setting a new record of 10 tries.
he probably would have score a lot more, thus setting a longstanding record in the process, if he wasn’t cynically targeted for injury by the Crusaders in the playoff game.
but that’s how they roll so i wont go into it.
expect him to pick up where he left off.
also, keep an on mastriet to surprise many this season.
5 Mar 2013, 14:33 pm
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-129: haha, welcome back.
12-6
it sounds boring but it is full of joy
5 Mar 2013, 14:33 pm
@Heavens Game-134: As an obvious Brokeback, you must like p.ricks too…?
You’re the only one on this site who has gleefully admitted to exploring dark Thai tunnels with his ‘flashlight’……
5 Mar 2013, 14:35 pm
@shitforbrains_trust-127: oooohhhhh….that your scary side coming out now?
I’d much rather be a contender in the main competition that get a noddy badge for my good behaviour during the year.
1 CC win in a decade much you lot what exactly?
5 Mar 2013, 14:36 pm
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-135: didnt jpp score 10 tries in 2007?
in a shorter format?
anyways, i must go. the bees are humming now, my work is done
5 Mar 2013, 14:37 pm
@pompies2-84: Hi Pompies.
It depends on (i) the type of inside backs and (ii) the type of gameplan.
Regarding (i) – A strong ball carrying 12 is usually better off taking the ball flat. A quick stepping 12 is usually better off taking the ball slightly deeper.
Regarding (ii) – if you want to go through a defense, you should stand flat. If you want to go around a defense, you should attack from slightly deeper.
You don’t beat the Sharks by trying to go around their defense. The Stormers looked good when they built up the phases in the inside channels, but they don’t know how to create space for their wingers in mature phases.
5 Mar 2013, 14:37 pm
I guess the team that won the FA (who was it again?) Cup in England last year were better than Man City who won the league.
That’s what happened last year here as well. Stormers won the League phase and the Sharks beat us in a once off in the knock out phase.
In any case, let’s concentrate on this year. The Sharks are 2/2 and the Stormers 0/2. Surely the Sharks are the flaf bearer for SA in the S15. Will they be consistent enough to last the distance and make it to the play off or will they wilter under the pressure of being the “best team in the SA conference.”
5 Mar 2013, 14:39 pm
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-129: Never been worried about it love….the only thing worthwhile from topping the pile is that you get home ground advantage. That’s all that counts.
Maybe that’s why your team got snotted in the semi – were more phased about a 5Bob trinket than utilising the home ground advantage.
5 Mar 2013, 14:39 pm
@The Rangerman-139:
i’m referring to the Super 15
5 Mar 2013, 14:40 pm
@nama1-141: I don’t follow poofball but would it be fair to say that they are 2 entirely separate competitions?
5 Mar 2013, 14:43 pm
@nama1-141:
flag bearer
5 Mar 2013, 14:45 pm
@Dilligafrican-138: 33 Currie cup wins in total .. thanks (and before you bemoan the fact that all the provinces weren’t represented – not our fault that the Banana Boys were virtually a club side before they started raiding the Grey Bloem stocks..)
5 Mar 2013, 14:47 pm
@Dilligafrican-142: home ground advantage didn’t help you much when Habana scored in OT and sunk your team like the titanic…
Pages: « 1 2 [3] 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 » Show All