Stubborn Stormers will stumble

MARK KEOHANE argues the Stormers problem is a defensive coaching mindset and not a lack of options in their pack.

Among the more astute and analytical rugby writers in the country is the Cape Argus’s Zelim Nel, who outside of being a fine fellow, is also a rugby coach.

He writes very differently to most who report on the game because he is more a coach who writes than a writer who coaches. I am always interested in Nel’s take on a match and he is good value. Do yourself a favour and get the Argus for his analytical pieces.

Nel, though, feels much of the Stormers try-scoring woes stems from vulnerability among the pack. He lamented an indifferent lineout that has lost its potency in the enforced absence of Eben Etzebeth and he wrote of the Stormers being an inferior collective when it comes to the pack presence.

The Stormers, in their two defeats, have struggled at the set phases. In Pretoria the lineout and scrum were poor and individually the players were second best in the collisions. In Durban the lineout was better but the players were again shaded in the collisions and the pack, in the scrum, were decidedly second best.

But I disagree with Nel that the primary reason the Stormers backs don’t function fluently is because of a poor pack effort. I think it has more to do with the predetermined plan that is all about defence and then thinks about attack.

The Sharks forwards are among the strongest in the tournament and there will be many packs the Stormers will dominate and yet I still can’t see them maximising scoring opportunities. I base this assessment on their tournament history in the last three years.

The mindset of head coach Allister Coetzee is too defensively orientated and the Stormers play with no risk and rely on defence to win matches. It has been a proven formula over a three year period in which they have won 80 percent of their league matches, but they’ve bombed in play-off matches when asked to show more than a defensive mindset.

Super Rugby is not Test rugby. Super Rugby requires more imagination than just making tackles.

The Stormers certainly have the players with the necessary attacking skill and where I disagree with Nel is that the pack is good enough. There have been occasions in the last three years when the Stormers have taken a more attacking approach into a game and scored tries but it has naturally resulted in them leaking more tries. One such occasion was against the Cheetahs and immediately there was criticism of their defence, and within a week the side reverted to type.

A side that places a premium on attack is going to be vulnerable to conceding more tries, but a side that only relies on defence can rarely sustain the defensive effort over a six month period.

Western Province, in the Currie Cup, played with more balance in attack and defence, but the quality of opposition was inferior the best sides in Super Rugby. What has impressed me about the Blues is the attack is not compromised by a desire to defend. It is possible to do both.

Coetzee and his predecessor Rassie Erasmus have restored credibility to Stormers rugby and they are no longer the soft touch or the show ponies of a decade ago, but there is a difference to fixing a side and turning them into champions. The Stormers are no longer the pretty boys of South African rugby, but they are now the most boring side in the tournament, the most predictable and the most pedestrian on attack.

There are fantastic individuals and the quality of player makes for a squad among the top five in the tournament. But the conservative mindset is doing the players a disservice. Watching the Stormers play is like watching Heyneke Meyer’s Boks on the end of year tour. Or like watching white paint dry on a white wall.

It doesn’t make for pleasant viewing and while Meyer will always be able to convince many that Test rugby is a different beast and that it is only about the result, Super Rugby requires a more liberal approach in which no team can win every weekend, so a win at all defensive costs mindset isn’t a winning formula on the field. It won’t seduce supporters either or fool them.

The Stormers will win the majority of their home matches and they will be miserly on defence away from home, but never in the last three years have I ever felt this was a team that would prove masters in the play-offs and I think it has to do with the approach of a coaching staff who play not to lose instead of playing to win with substance and style.

The Stormers are a side that won’t easily finish outside the top six but they are also a side that doesn’t inspire visions of winning the tournament and frankly, outside of 1999 when they played magnificent rugby and I thought they would win, I’ve never been convinced of them as champions.

They are a good side but to win this tournament you have to be very good, in attack and on defence.

463 Comments

Pages: « 1 2 3 [4] 5 6 7 8 9 10 » Show All

• 151.Dilligafrican: Reply to this comment

@brains_trust-146: oh dear, now you sound like a bulls “we have winned 3 Super Rugby titles” supporter.

• 152.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@nama1-141:
    yes, its a two horse race basically with the Sharks as favourites.
    Stormers might find themselves in a relegation scrap with the Kings and Cheetahs if not careful.

• 153.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food: Reply to this comment

@The Rangerman-136: I was online Saturday evening. I am not HG who runs, only to return a few weeks later ;)

You do realise that unless the guppies run through the season ‘unbeaten’ (only done by the Crusaders if I remember correctly), there is going to be more than a little giggling round here.

To be honest, I’m relieved that we are out of the ‘expectation’ pressure cooker for now…(that ****** place at the top of the log that is always under threat……you sit and dread a loss…..trust me, if you lot manage to let’s say 4 on the trot, you WILL be thinking of the implosion ahead, because as they say, it’s inevitable ;)

• 154.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-137: Doggy, I can guarantee you that my little Kathoey mistake was more eminently feminine than you are or could be in your wildest dreams…

My little Kathoey mistake called “Poppa” had:
    - shaved armpits
    - shaven legs
    - Beautiful hair, styled like Jolie herself
    - Clean
    - Legs better than a Sharks flasher girl
    - C cuptits not sagging
    - tight fitting fuckme slinky dress
    - no hair on face
    - Vivacious with a girly voice

All quite different to my mindseye impression (save for a slight remnant of an adams apple and a front bulge only realised in hindsight which I truly hope you do not have) is of you from your posts here…. I imagine Keo’s Doggy in real life to be:
    - A Slightly shy animal obsessive
    - Bit of an Emo, a bit scruffy in dress appearance and quite possible a little bit dirty from carelessness of appearance…
    - A few hesitant tattoos going with the Emo theme and probably quite pale in complexion
    - Not a bad chassis, but possibly some skin issues in the past due to hormones out of control…
    - vsry slightly sagging B cuptits due to not enough (s)exercise…
    - slightly careless hygiene leading to a particular body odour common to Emo, booky types…
    - Woman’s lib slight militant leading to unshaven legs and armpit, with possibly a slight moustache if you have dark hair…
    - Not unattractive, but just dont really make the effort…

This leads me to conclude that I would probably need just as much beer goggles to consider giving you a rare happinesspomp as I did to think my little Kathoey called Poppa was a Sharks streaker girl….

• 155.Dilligafrican: Reply to this comment

@brains_trust-147: Actually it was that drunken kiwi that sank us, but yes, it did not help.

• 156.shane_keohane: Reply to this comment

RT @keocoza: Stubborn Stormers will stumble: MARK KEOHANE argues the Stormers problem is a defensive coaching mindset and … http://t.c

• 157.brains_trust: Reply to this comment

dudes – the S15 title is not won in March, let’s wait and see how things stand after at least 7 rounds. I predict the mighty Stormers will beat the Chiefs this weekend, with a 4th try bonus point !

• 158.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food: Reply to this comment

@Dilligafrican-142: “Maybe that’s why your team got snotted in the semi – were more phased about a 5Bob trinket than utilising the home ground advantage.”

So WTF were the guppies more phased about in the CC final? Had to be something,because they weren’t focusing on using the home ground advantage?

No guppie….

Try harder….

• 159.nama1: Reply to this comment

@Dilligafrican-144:
    Yes, that would be right.

The S15 comp however is a combination of a league competition which culminates in a knock out competition in which the 6 best teams during the league phase take part.

Now the question is: Who really is the best team? It’s easy to answer when the league winner also win the knock out phase. It is a bit more complicated when the 6th place team win the league winner in the knock out phase.

By nature, knock out matches can produce unexpected results and it is not always the best team that come out as the winner.

For example, ManU have not won the FA Cup in years (early 2000′s, I think) but have won multiple league champioships during the same period.

• 160.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-150: And when did your Blogflame HG run, darling?

Dates please… Ask my Kathoey Pooper to help if you’re unsure…:lol:

• 161.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game-151: You love me anyways – yes you do :)

• 162.Dilligafrican: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game-151: Sies man.

• 163.Stawm: Reply to this comment

@Tacitus-1:
    Thats a genius prediction.

• 164.the curse: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game-151: :lol: knew you carried a torch for me HG..

• 165.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-154: hey, are u taller than gio aplon? ;)

• 166.Dilligafrican: Reply to this comment

@the curse-160: Were you HG’s flashlight? Sies man you too.

• 167.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food: Reply to this comment

@nama1-155: The most consistent team IMHO is the best team.
    It’s like the WC…..Crazyfuckers like France can make it into the final and come THIS close to winning the whole damn thing, when the reality is they shouldn’t be rewarded for the mediocrity of winning a few lucky games…

Same for Super rugby….. Rewarding mediocrity throughout the season by allowing teams to enter the playoffs at 6th :)

In fact, that’s a middle of the table finish – eeuw.

• 168.the curse: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game-156: every time your Bok lost to the ABs..

and after the chiefs manshamed your remoras in the 2012 final..

just a couple of examples… Im surprised you didnt get any work in Thailand yourself though, with a mouth like yours Im sure you had many offers..

• 169.Dawn: Reply to this comment

I wonder if he had that “Crying Game” moment

• 170.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@the curse-164: You talking out of your wellworn Stormers hole now…

• 171.Dilligafrican: Reply to this comment

No how stupid and gullible can one get?
    Durban – A woman accused of stealing cash and jewellery from casino patrons while performing good luck rituals for them appeared briefly in the Durban Commercial Crimes Court on Tuesday.

The matter was postponed to 18 April for the State to provide the charge sheet and statements to the defence.

The woman, who faces three counts of fraud, cannot be named until the court lifts the order instructing that her name cannot be published in the media.

“The woman would approach her potential victims at a local casino and con them into believing that she can turn their luck around by performing bizarre rituals,” police spokesperson Colonel Jay Naicker said previously.

She allegedly told gamblers she could introduce them to a psychic who would improve their chances of winning.

Naicker said in one case, a casino patron was robbed of cash and jewellery valued at over R1m. The woman also allegedly drugged elderly people and robbed them of their valuables.

• 172.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Who brags about having s@x with a ladyboy

Who does that!

• 173.the curse: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game-166: yawn… do try harder HG, I imagine the manshe never has to floss her teeth as your “fleshlight” probably does such an efficient job huh?

• 174.nama1: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-149:
    W
    Are the other horse by any chance the Blue Bulls?

No chance in hell boet.

You’ll return 0/4 after your tour.

Then you still have to face the Sharks, Stormers and Cheetahs AWAY from home. Another two losses at least.

At least one loss at Loftus is also on the cards.

Leaving you with a maximum of 9 victories. Don’t know if it will be enough to take you to the play offs.

Don’t count your chickens just yet.

• 175.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food: Reply to this comment

@Dawn-165: I think the only ‘crying game’ going on….was coming from the ladyboy’s eyes….and they were tears of laughter.

• 176.Transformation: Reply to this comment

Southern Kings team to moer the Dynamite!

15 SP Marais, 14 Marcello Sampson, 13
    Ronnie Cooke, 12 Andries Strauss, 11 Sergeal
    Petersen, 10 Demetri Catrakilis, 9 Shaun
    Venter, 8 Jacques Engelbrecht, 7 Wimpie van
    der Walt, 6 Cornell du Preez, 5 Darron Nell
    (captain), 4 Steven Sykes, 3 Kevin Buys, 2
    Bandise Maku, 1 Schalk Ferreira

Kings 4 Life!!!

• 177.the curse: Reply to this comment

@nama1-170: it was they way they overcome the force that proves they are the “real deal”

cant remember his exact words, but it was something to that effect..

• 178.the curse: Reply to this comment

@nama1-170: cmon Nama, if the Bulls lose all 4 on tour you know what Bakkies will be spweing for the next month surely?

• 179.Dilligafrican: Reply to this comment

@Dawn-168: ag, OK, he didn’t swallow. ;)

• 180.nama1: Reply to this comment

@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-163:
    Yes, I agree.

Let’s do an experiment.

Anybody who believes that France were the 2nd best team in the 2011 RWC, put up your hand.

• 181.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food: Reply to this comment

@the curse-164: :) :) :) Thank you Pops. He was correct, you know when he disappears….

@nama1-170: Bullbrand beef’s sh y te gets real on tour……. It should be magnificent :)

• 182.Dilligafrican: Reply to this comment

@the curse-174: nothing different than at the moment.

• 183.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food: Reply to this comment

@Dilligafrican-175: He took a doggie bag?

• 184.the curse: Reply to this comment

@Dilligafrican-178: :D

@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-177: :) can you imagine those poor people in the South of France though once he rocks up yet again?

• 185.nama1: Reply to this comment

@the curse-173:
    The same Force that was called the kakkest team in S15 when the Kings beat them so convincingly. :lol:

@the curse-174:
    Serves him right if that drives him completely over the edge. :lol:

• 186.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food: Reply to this comment

@the curse-180: I doubt the simple minded git has ever set foot on French soil….
    He just likes to sound like an ‘International Man of Mystery’ a la Austin Powers/James Bond….when he’s probably far more Mr Bean…..

We have a ‘Parys’ in SA…..HG buys his postcards there….

• 187.the curse: Reply to this comment

some anonymous Frenchmen upon seeing HG in his town yet again

“sacre bleu, le coq miniscule,, Bonjour mon ami”

• 188.nama1: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-172:
    If the tight 5 can stand up to them, difficult I know, your player no. 23 (the 30 000+ crowd) can make it a long day for the Sharks in PE.

Sterkte vir jou span.

• 189.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food: Reply to this comment

@the curse-183: “le coq miniscule” *****ohdear**** :)

• 190.the curse: Reply to this comment

@nama1-181: :lol:

Bakkies reminds me, especially now that hes not watching super rugby, of the crowd in one of my favourite Blackadder episodes, “witch smeller persuivant (sp?) ”

with the phrase “his hair proves it”

though Bakkies changes it slightly to

“the scoreline proves it” :mrgreen:

• 191.John Galt: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-172:
    In all honesty, thats not the worst Super Rugby franchise team Ive ever seen.
    SP Marias looks like a good one.
    Good centres.
    CC winning FH
    Good locks
    Pretty good loosies
    OK front row.

• 192.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@the curse-169: Maybe the Manshe doesn’t… But your Mummy does :lol:

• 193.the curse: Reply to this comment

@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-182: do they have Manshe’s in “Parys” too? apparently he pays for that type of thing as well…

eish, he must be one fugly ucker

• 194.the curse: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game-188: struggling for material now HG? hehehe thought youd run away already…

do try harder bru, youve been using that one for a year and a half, I understand you usually have your head buried in the pilliow, but surely that affords you time to think of something new perhaps?

:lol: I guess youre another, now, how did keo put it, intellectual giant?

• 195.Dawn: Reply to this comment

@the curse-183:

oooo

Our Pops has a sense of humeur

• 196.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@nama1-170:
    not that i care,
    but for what its worth i expect the Bulls to realistically get a minimum of 6 points on tour plus 4 for the bye would put them at 19 points by round 9.

Stormers are probably gonna lose this weekend, get a 4 point bye the next and then, if they’re lucky, beat the brumbies & cheetahs and lose to the crusaders which would put them at 13 points by round 9.

still well clear of the Stormers but probably behind the Sharks who should be ahead of both by round 9.

do you want the analysis for rounds 9 to 20?

• 197.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Intellectual giant se voet with a coq miniscule

• 198.pompies2: Reply to this comment

@grant10-109: back elton to play in the stormers gameplan or back elton to impose his qualities on the game. If it’s the former, you better off with Grant. if you want Elton to bring his qualities to the game, they have to alter their approach and tactics.

• 199.Dawn: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-192:

None of which you will be watching, no doubt

• 200.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-182: Yes… Mr Bean, the humble Janitor at your service, Doggy…

Just dont forget I will need at least 14 beers in your case…

Remember, no beers no goggles…

…And no happiness for Keo’s very own Doggy bender…

Of course we dont want that, do we… :lol:

Pages: « 1 2 3 [4] 5 6 7 8 9 10 » Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.