Bulls change for Blues battle

Bulls coach Frans Ludeke has gone for big changes before his team tackles the Bulls.

The front row looks completely different with starts handed to both Willie Wepener and Frik Kirsten, Chiliboy Ralapelle and Werner Kruger taking their spots on the bench. The loosies also see change with Deon Stegmann replacing Jacques Potgieter, who drops to the bench while Arno Botha retains his spot.

The changes continue into the backline with Jano Vermaak getting his first start in a long time ahead of Hougaard. JJ Engelbrecht returns to join up with Wynand Olivier in the midfield, pushing Lionel Mapoe out onto the wing. Akona Ndungane is also back in the mix, replacing Sampie Mastriet, while Mapoe fills the gap left by the injured Basson.

The bench sees all the players dropped from the starting fifteen with the exception of Jürgen Visser, who comes on in place of Jan Serfontein who is not in the match 22.

Making wholesale changes to a team before an important first tour match against the Blues is questionable, but after their opening 60 minute performance against the Force, change could be exactly what is needed.

Bulls: 15 Zane Kirchner, 14 Akona Ndungane, 13 JJ Engelbrecht, 12 Wynand Olivier, 11 Lionel Mapoe, 10 Mornè Steyn, 9 Jano Vermaak, 8 Pierre Spies (captain), 7 Arno Botha, 6 Deon Stegmann, 5 Juandrè Kruger, 4 Flip van der Merwe, 3 Frik Kirsten, 2 Willie Wepener, 1 Mornè Mellett. Substitutes: 16 Chiliboy Ralepelle, 17 Werner Kruger, 18 Grant Hattingh, 19 Jacques Potgieter, 20 Francois Hougaard, 21 Louis Fouché, 22 Jürgen Visser.

By Richard Ferguson