Cooper cuts down Rebels

Quade Cooper’s boot fired and James O’Connor’s misfired as the Reds outlasted the Rebels in Melbourne.

The Reds won 23-13 after the Rebels scored just before half-time to lead 13-10.

Cooper kicked with greater authority and O’Connor’s three penalty misses from five attempts came at decisive moments in the match.

The Rebels enjoyed the better first half but the Reds were dominant in the second half and never looked in danger of losing the match.

Both teams showed good attacking intent but committed defence prevailed and contributed to the low-scoring nature of the match.

O’Connor, starting at No 10 because of injury to Kurtley Beale, played well but his goalkicking, so good in recents weeks, was a disappointment against the Reds.

Cooper was equally effective in general play but the accuracy of his goalkicking gave the Reds second half reward and a match-winning result.

The Rebels, victorious against the Force in the season opener, have lost their last two matches against Australian opposition.

64 Comments

• 1.Sharks_are_gonna_get_you: Reply to this comment

ok game on

• 2.Sharks_are_gonna_get_you: Reply to this comment

On SB i have Reds to win by 3, but i would want to Rebels to win.

• 3.Sharks_are_gonna_get_you: Reply to this comment

A min and a half and the Reds go up 3-0

• 4.Sharks_are_gonna_get_you: Reply to this comment

now penalty to the Rebels, should be 3-3

• 5.The Rangerman: Reply to this comment

rebs are not the walkover they have been in the past.

go rebs! :lol:

• 6.Sharks_are_gonna_get_you: Reply to this comment

@The Rangerman-5: Hey Ranger, hows things on your side??

You coming to tonights Sharks XV match at the Tank??

• 7.The Rangerman: Reply to this comment

@Sharks_are_gonna_get_you-6: howzit man.

no i am home alone with the peanut this weekend.

is it being televised?

• 8.Sharks_are_gonna_get_you: Reply to this comment

@The Rangerman-7: Sadly not, I am going, Our team is starting with 2 very young players.

13 Tyler Fisher (Westville Boy) and 9 Stefan Ungerer (Maritzburg College)

Both scrumhalves for the Junior Boks this year from the Sharks, Hanko Venter and Stefan Ungerer

• 9.John Galt: Reply to this comment

@Sharks_are_gonna_get_you-6:
    Think its being played on KP2.

Going to try make it down if work permits.

One thing I can tell you is that it is farking hot out there. The boys are going to be buggered.

• 10.The Rangerman: Reply to this comment

@Sharks_are_gonna_get_you-8: ah ok, enjoy.

i am gonna skive off early today to go get some more bugs for the braai this weekend.

love crayfish season. In our house, fish and crays are the end of the month salticrax :lol:

• 11.Sharks_are_gonna_get_you: Reply to this comment

@John Galt-9: Yeah John i think so too, KP2 it is i think.

This is a very good Sharks xv

• 12.gunther: Reply to this comment

@The Rangerman-10:

Nomnomnomnom.

• 13.Sharks_are_gonna_get_you: Reply to this comment

@The Rangerman-10: Lol Enjoy boet, I am more a Prawn man, love them

• 14.Sharks_are_gonna_get_you: Reply to this comment

Prawns and fresh Oysters, Yummmmmmmyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyy

• 15.The Rangerman: Reply to this comment

@gunther-12: :lol:

• 16.The Rangerman: Reply to this comment

@Sharks_are_gonna_get_you-14: ja prawns are good too but i cant find anywhere to catch them (have caught them in richards bay harbour and in st lucia but thats naughty naughty lol).

i have an oyster licence but its such a mission cleaning them i seldom do it.

mussels i take all the time.

• 17.The Rangerman: Reply to this comment

ok, work time, go rebs and well done canes!

have a good weekend all.

sharks!

• 18.Sharks_are_gonna_get_you: Reply to this comment

@The Rangerman-16: Oh hell you go get the Oysters i will clean them :lol:

• 19.Sharks_are_gonna_get_you: Reply to this comment

@Sharks_are_gonna_get_you-18: And eat them lol

• 20.grant10: Reply to this comment

loving this game too…O Connor a rare genius as well

• 21.AiDoc: Reply to this comment

@The Rangerman-7:

http://www.vipboxsports.me/sports/rugby.html

• 22.mark_keohane: Reply to this comment

Rebels 13 Reds 10 (H/T) http://t.co/gP7xhx9462 via @sharethis

• 23.Sasuke: Reply to this comment

Go Reds.

• 24.willievz: Reply to this comment

@grant10-20: In SA he would be too small.

• 25.Sasuke: Reply to this comment

@grant10-20: What did he do?

• 26.Sasuke: Reply to this comment

@willievz-23: exactly, shocking

and too young to make his debut.

• 27.grant10: Reply to this comment

@Sasuke-24: Everything he does he makes look easy….missing some crucial penalties …..but what a talent….better than Cooper imo

• 28.Sasuke: Reply to this comment

@grant10-26: He is wasted at 15, should be a 10 or 12.

• 29.hendrikp: Reply to this comment

Digby looks like he’s got a club leg when he runs.

@grant10-26:

Yessir.

We should’ve offered him crazy money to play for the Boks instead :lol:

• 30.hendrikp: Reply to this comment

@Sharks_are_gonna_get_you-8:

Don’t think Ungerer is going to make the U/20′s.

He’ll miss out to Percy Williams. Hanco Venter as the starter.

• 31.grant10: Reply to this comment

@Sasuke-27: I would play him at 10 every day of the week

• 32.Sasuke: Reply to this comment

@hendrikp-28: `Or a farm

• 33.Sasuke: Reply to this comment

@grant10-30: Yessir

• 34.hendrikp: Reply to this comment

We’ve got a guy we can develop into O’Connor-like talent. That is if Timo Swiel makes good career choices and his head is in the right place.

Turning down a place in the SA U/20 team is a bad start. Pi55ing off the wrong people after playing in all the U/20′s preparation games against UWC, UCT & Maties.

• 35.hendrikp: Reply to this comment

@Sasuke-31:

With those haircuts & his wild night-life, I can’t imagine him caring about a farm.

For those that don’t know, James O’Connor has a Kiwi father, and a South African mother. Meaning he could have played for any of the original Tri Nations teams.

• 36.grant10: Reply to this comment

@hendrikp-33: Agree there Hennie…

• 37.grant10: Reply to this comment

Go Rebs…go boys!

• 38.hendrikp: Reply to this comment

@Sasuke-32:

Gonna pull away from you a bit in Fantasy this weekend I think.

Got both Savea & Iaone in there who both put up big numbers (and Iaone’s still got time…)

Good luck though! :)

• 39.Sasuke: Reply to this comment

@hendrikp-33: Why did he do that? Yes Swiel is extremely talented.

lol true but he could sell it.

• 40.grant10: Reply to this comment

rebs robbed

• 41.CSI:Rugby: Reply to this comment

I think we have witnessed O’Connors claim on tje Wallaby 10 Jersey. Either that or it’ll be a Cooper at 10 & O’Connor at 12.
    15.Mogg
    14.Beale
    13.Tapuai
    12.O’Connor
    11.Ioane
    10.Cooper
    9.Genia

• 42.Sasuke: Reply to this comment

@hendrikp-37: Who is your captain?

Savea makes lots of errors and misses a few tackles, his numbers might come down.

We will see sir. I caught up nicely last week.

Good luck to you too.

• 43.hendrikp: Reply to this comment

@hendrikp-37:

Plus dropped Ged Robinson – brought in Tatafu Polota-Nau. Rebels bye next week so I figured I’ll get an early start in swapping them out.

• 44.Sasuke: Reply to this comment

@hendrikp-42: Clever

• 45.hendrikp: Reply to this comment

@Sasuke-41:

Errors get picked up straight away I think – he didn’t make any according to them. Only things they’ll still add is Time Played, Tackles Made & Tackles Missed.

Tatafu Polota-Nau my captain.

I didn’t believe it myself at first but apparently Swiel, having been born in England, wants to keep his options open for the future. SARU made the u/20 side their second representative team meaning anyone that plays for them in in JWC is ineligible for another country.

• 46.hendrikp: Reply to this comment

@CSI:Rugby-40:

Mogg has been put in good situations… he won’t be a Wallaby though.

• 47.CSI:Rugby: Reply to this comment

Hes a good player, the way deans dishes out wallaby jerseys, he may just get one.

• 48.Sasuke: Reply to this comment

@hendrikp-44: Shocking, someone needs to intervene.

• 49.cane: Reply to this comment

@CSI:Rugby-40:

Beale …………………………………………leave him at 15.

And the Wallabies need some steel in the centre’s. I’d keep Pat McCabe in the picture.

• 50.grant10: Reply to this comment

entertaining game…

work to do

cheers all

well done Cane…that team of yours were great value for that win.

• 51.CSI:Rugby: Reply to this comment

Cane

Congrats on the victory mate…

McCabe is abit iffy not having a passing game and all.

Agree with Beale

My AB side is coming up…

• 52.mark_keohane: Reply to this comment

Cooper cuts down Rebels http://t.co/ML9Qe9M6L4 via @sharethis Cooper’s boot the difference in 23-13 win for Reds

• 53.Brads: Reply to this comment

Have the Reds gone backwards or have the Rebels improved?

Either way, both teams were wandering all over the place looking to take an advantage and came up lucky with opposition mistakes rather than genius.

Well done Reds on the win, but kudos to the Rebels.

They were in the game right to the last handful of minutes.

• 54.cane: Reply to this comment

@grant10-49:

Could have gone either way. Such are the fortunes of the game.
    NZ Conference looks very even.

Crusaders will only improve from here.

Blues still my pick,
    as the Team to beat.

It will be interesting to see what happens to them, once they lose a game!

• 55.hendrikp: Reply to this comment

@CSI:Rugby-50:

Few of the Waratahs backs will force their way in. Yet to see Folau at his best but he might even do it as a winger… plus if Drew Mitchell can stay fit that guy is brilliant.

AAC can also add some much needed physicality and experience if he hits form.

Wallabies problems won’t be in the backs. It’s their forwards (apart from openside flankers) that are no good.

AB’s backline reasonably obvious. I’m going to go outside the box and say Ben Smith would make a better centre then his namesake Conrad. AB midfield getting old quickly.

• 56.cane: Reply to this comment

@CSI:Rugby-50:

I got a feeling, we might have a pretty good Team this year. (AB’s that is).

• 57.hendrikp: Reply to this comment

@cane-52:

NZ conference very powerful this year, much more so then I thought it would be.

Their turn to have 3 play-off teams probably, not including the Hurricanes & Crusaders (you heard it here first).

• 58.Brads: Reply to this comment

@cane-52:
    The Blues are back this year without doubt.

The bigger question that will grow and grow as the season evolves is who truly engineered it.

• 59.shane_keohane: Reply to this comment

Cooper cuts down Rebels http://t.co/yBbivs1XYZ via @sharethis

• 60.cane: Reply to this comment

@Brads-56:

Fresh air and a new broom.

But like In said……………………………lets wait and see how they react to a bit of pressure.

That said, I’m very impressed.

• 61.polaris: Reply to this comment

@cane-54: Congrats, mate. Fark it was so close, on the bright side it was more desparate for Canes, so good on them and nice to have them back in the mix and at least Saders got 2, it may help later.

Looks like all 5 will have a say in the business end, no real weaklings sofar. Which is great for keeping interest and may be real bad for letting neighbors sneaking home semis. Hobbitland conference teams urgently need a points donor to make thing even with the rivals, any ideas? :D

• 62.CSI:Rugby: Reply to this comment

AB’s form XV after two weeks:

15.Anscombe
    14.Halai
    13.Nanai-Williams
    12.Crotty
    11.Savea
    10.Carter
    9.Weepu
    8.Read
    7.Braid
    6.Luatua
    5.Retallick
    4.Williams
    3.Faumuina
    2.Parsons
    1.Afeaki

16.Coles
    17.Toomaga-Allen
    18.Whitelock
    19.Shield
    20.A.Smith
    21.Cruden
    22.B.Smith

Let’s Debate lol

• 63.hendrikp: Reply to this comment

@CSI:Rugby-61:

Carter and Crotty out. Cruden and Saili in.

Don’t care about the rest.

Have a good day all. Out.

• 64.stormer in a teacup: Reply to this comment

Rebels won in the first round.

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.