Stormers grunt starts up front

MARK KEOHANE writes the emphasis should be on the Stormers forwards finding form and not the lack of form of Elton Jantjies and Gio Aplon.

All the newspaper headlines this week have been about how Saturday is a make or break game for Springbok flyhalf Elton Jantjies. It is amazing how each match Jantjies, just 22 years-old plays, comes with the pressure that if he doesn’t produce a world class performance his place is under threat. Sharks flyhalf Pat Lambi and Cheetahs flyhalf Johan Goosen don’t suffer similar scrutiny. The three represent South Africa’s Test match flyhalf options, especially with Morne Steyn’s confirmation of a move to Stade Francais. Jantjies deserves similar treatment to Lambie and Goosen.

I have written of the disservice done to Jantjies since the start of the competition and his 52 minutes against the Sharks was as good as what Lambie produced for the Sharks in a match in which there was nothing between the two teams and limited attacking opportunities. The difference is Lambie kicked four penalties and Jantjies wasn’t entrusted with the goalkicking.

Jantjies has a career Super Rugby strike rate of 80 percent and in 2011 produced a record goalkicking Currie Cup final performance, but his four misses in the season opener is seemingly will be held against him all season.

Gio Aplon has also come in for unwarranted criticism because he fumbled a slippery ball in what would have resulted in a probable try against the Sharks. Aplon has received little ball in the first two games, so just how he is in the firing line is beyond me. He has been no worse than Bryan Habana or a struggling and one-dimensional Stormers midfield.

The reality is a back division is only as good as the effort of the pack and the Stormers tight five, collectively, has been poor, which has resulted in the back row being equally ineffective. The knock on effect is that Nick Groom has had little protection at the base of the scrum or at ruck time. Groom’s service at scrumhalf has suffered because of this and this has put additional pressure on Jantjies and the midfield.

In the first two games there was minimal front foot ball for the Stormers halfbacks, so all the pressure should be on the pack to be strong at scrum, effective on their own ball in the lineout and more physical and stronger in the collisions.

The Stormers, in the two defeats, have physically been second and have lost the contact battle at the gain line. To beat the Chiefs this has to change. I believe it will and with the Stormers forwards finding their growl in the first home game of the season, so too will Jantjies find the form of 2012.

If the forwards again take a beating, so will Jantjies and every back outside of him.

205 Comments

• 1.mark_keohane: Reply to this comment

Stormers grunt starts up front http://t.co/wgwkGegIkY via @sharethis Pack has to front if Groom & Jantjies r to influence winning result

• 2.Xkreni-WP: Reply to this comment

The difference between Jantjies and Lambie/Goosen is that he is a defensive liability.

• 3.Baylion: Reply to this comment

An interesting stat that, to a degree, bears out what you are saying about the pressure on Groom and Jantjies: In the two games so far they have attempted and made the most tackles of any Stormers backline player – Jantjies (10 from 14) and Groom (16 from 18) Only three players have tackled more that Groom – Duane (19 from 19), Kolisi (21 from 24) and Steenkamp (19 from 20).

• 4.Scorp1o: Reply to this comment

My Superbru Picks:

Crusaders by 5 – That worked out well for me!!!!
    Reds by 6 – Reds by 10, I’ll take it seeing as my GSP is it’s moer
    Highlanders by 19 – PLS!
    Brumbies by 4 – PLS!
    Chiefs by 13 – here my motivation – http://t.co/yUv1gJEffv
    Sharks by 32 – PLS!
    Blues by 11 – PLS!

If I can end the w/e on 6 from 7, I will be one happy camper!

• 5.hendrikp: Reply to this comment

Probably doesn’t help that Jantjies looks like he doesn’t give a toss every time he fecks up.

Stop questioning our intelligence Mark. It’s got nothing to do with Elton as a person. It’s a simple assessment of his skill-set and what he should be doing in the team he is in. There is always questions hanging over Lambie and his sub-standard tactical kicking game, as well as Goosen in pretty much all aspects at the moment.

If you’re trying to convince yourself Jantjies is on the same level as those two however, you’re in for a surprise.

Sooner we send him packing the better. Lions players are like a cancer. We were better off without their negativity.

• 6.Scorp1o: Reply to this comment

Jantjies is one of two things:

Either really good and just needs a little more time to adjust to a team like the Stormers; or

He was made to look good playing in a not so star-filled team like the Lions and now surrounded by super stars, his star doesn’t shine as bright.

Personally I think he is the dogs bollox and just needs a little more time to settle. 2 opening games away to the Bulls and Sharks not easy even for seasoned players.

• 7.Sheriff: Reply to this comment

It’s probably a first for me -but then I like to explore new areas/topics- but I agree with Mark.

No doubt it would have helped the Stormers’ cause if he landed those penalties but the Stormers right now does not look like a team with direction.

And who is the captain? Is Dries Bekker the wannabe skipper?

What is the game plan? When will Bryan Habana stop with his habitual overrunning of the ball? If he slows down just one yard he will score in every single game he plays.

But I agree – it’s not happening for the Stormers in the pack and that pressure transfers to the entire team. Give Elton front foot ball and he will ignite something more often than not…

• 8.hendrikp: Reply to this comment

@Scorp1o-5:

It’s the second one. He fitted the Lions well. They were hardly ever expected to win so he could try things and get away with it. If he didn’t get anything going it was the rest of the teams fault – and they used the severely weakened 2011 Currie Cup to show off his credentials.

The guy can’t lead a winning team at this level though. Destined to fail.

• 9.ruggacraze: Reply to this comment

Jantjies needs time to settle. I really hope that AC would have the guts to allow him to do so. Now if JDJ can be moved to inside centre, the Stormers attack would really be firing. Jaco Taute could then play 13. Unfortunately, JdV has become a but of a liability in this backline…

• 10.Te Rangatira: Reply to this comment

If Jantjies wants to be a top first five in world rugby he has to start putting up world class performances…no use having guys like Keo making excuses for him and coming up with rubbish that its the forwards fault for his lacklustre displays..

• 11.hendrikp: Reply to this comment

@Te Rangatira-10:

Saying he needs to start performing like one doesn’t solve the problem. He’s just not capable of sustained good performances at this level.

Especially not the type we’re after. Elton probably has slower acceleration then Weepu, so how can we expect him to be opportunistic with ball in hand. His kicking is erratic at the best of times & he is a lazy defender, much like Beauden Barrett.

You can’t train anybody to be world class. They need to tick certain boxes which Elton just doesn’t. The longer we stick with Elton, the longer the gap between the 2012 Currie Cup and our next trophy.

• 12.pompies2: Reply to this comment

@hendrikp-11: None of the flyhalfs in SA have the complete skillset you’re after. Elton is a better player than you give him credit for.

He’s shown his ball in hand ability. He’s not the worst defender. His kicking is NOT erratic, but he has been off form in the two games thus far. The stormers have had a few seasons with Peter Grant and nothing to show for this. Now you want Jantjies to walk on water. He will struggle to settle. He will make mistakes.

• 13.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

Stormers’ R10m risk to pay off?

Cape Town – The return on a R10m investment by the Western Province Rugby Union could become a massive talking point if the Stormers lose to the Chiefs at Newlands on Saturday, reports Die Burger.

Cape rugby bosses made a massive investment in the off-season with several high profile signings significantly bolstering the Stormers’ depth.

Flyhalf Elton Jantjies and injured fullback Jaco Taute will earn over R2m each before they head back to the Lions after the completion of the tournament.

for the rest:
    http://www.sport24.co.za/Rugby/Super15/Stormers-R10m-risk-to-pay-off-20130307

• 14.hendrikp: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-13:

R10m? For real?

What a waste. And in a few years they’ll probably be in financial turmoil with nothing to show for it.

• 15.Tacitus: Reply to this comment

Damn it Bakkies! I was about to post that.

R10m for effectively one S15 season. That’s R10m for an empty trophy cabinet because they sure as hell won’t manage to buy the title this season.

• 16.hendrikp: Reply to this comment

@pompies2-12:

He will struggle, you’re right. Last season we finished top of the table without him – despite not getting a single 4-try bonus point, this season we’re looking at an 0/3 start with him steering the ship, and even more unlikely to score 4 tries a game.

He needs to string a couple of really good games together to make me think otherwise. Until then I am convinced he shouldn’t be anywhere near the Stormers 10 jersey.

Then again I wouldn’t want to ruin more young talent coming through right now. That’s all our coaching staff seem to do well.

• 17.14261774: Reply to this comment

Jantjies might not be the holy grail of flyhalves, but has proved that he can be successful at S15 level. Nothing wrong with his defence, attack, kicking etc. Stormers must sort out their sh@t first, use some of that 10Mil to get King Carlos to coach Fleckie and his backline

• 18.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

So, what we have here are not the Stormers but rather the Lioners….

It seems to be all about the Lions signings – Jantjies, Taute, Cilliers , Rhodes… No longer about the Stormers anymore…

Sharkshit Mercenaries, you say… down in Cape Town it looks like they have the rent-a-team Lioners…

• 19.pompies2: Reply to this comment

@14261774-17: Cut fleckie. All he does is go on holiday to the ANZAC. Sure the stormers can afford Spencer, especially with Habana leaving this season.

• 20.hendrikp: Reply to this comment

@hendrikp-16:

Then again Elton Jantjies isn’t the only one Lions player to disappoint.

Jaco Taute cost a fortune, and had a poor first game before his injury. Paying him for what?

Pat Cilliers has been sh-ite. Probably the worst of the lot so far. I’d pick even Brok Harris ahead of him at this stage.

His best buddy Michael Rhodes is injured again – been that way for the past 4 seasons straight. Wonder sometimes how genuine some of these are as well, and they are both known for their k@k attitudes in both Durban & Jo’burg.

• 21.willievz: Reply to this comment

@hendrikp-20: Glad you are finally seeing the light re Taute.

Coetzee a much better fullback.

• 22.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@hendrikp-14:
    one can only hope they have some sort of financial/insurance instruments to protect from loss on investments, a hedge mechanism if you will….

@Tacitus-15:
    sorry boet, the report was too good to pass up on.

• 23.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

10 million for one single season is outrageous.

who would they have traded to offset these new signings?

• 24.willievz: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-23:

JCJVR and Coetzee could have been less than half that amount.

• 25.hendrikp: Reply to this comment

@willievz-24:

Nee dankie.

Joe Pietersen is better then Coetzee. We should’ve stuck to what we had.

And we don’t need JC who has already signed an overseas contract (and btw he had no interest in joining another SA franchise). Kitshoff will get better with time, he’s not half bad now.

• 26.pompies2: Reply to this comment

@hendrikp-25: How is Joe P better than Coetzee? If you wanted to see an ineffective counter-attacker, watch Joe P’s kick return against the Sharks last week. He’s got no clue.

• 27.Finfan: Reply to this comment

The problem with the Stormers team is not the pack of forwards. It is not the backline either.

The problem is a combination of both. And the replacements to a large degree too.

AC and Fleck contribute substantially to the problem too.

A massive fckup in other words.

• 28.pompies2: Reply to this comment

@hendrikp-25: If you stuck with what you got, you’ll get what you’ve always gotten. Fleckie and AC. Stormers don’t have the dynamics to win super rugby and that starts with the coaching structure.

• 29.brains_trust: Reply to this comment

WP should have paid to retain just these 2 homegrown talents from the U20 WC winning squad:

@ 10, Flyhalf; Handre Pollard, from Paarl Gim [now @ Bulls]
    @ 3, tighthead; Nicolaas (Maks) Van Dyk from Paarl Boys High [now @ Sharks]

These are our 2 most crucial positions @ WP and we let our 2 best players leave. IMO Van Dyk was one of the main reasons SA won the U20 WC. After the highly hyped Kebble got popped in the group stages, Van Dyk stepped up and anchored the Bok scrum.

• 30.pompies2: Reply to this comment

@Finfan-27: Agreed. The plan so much, but realise that you can’t plan for everything. And once something is unfamiliar in the game, the players don’t have the dynamic thinking and execution skills to make something happen. All this trickles down from AC. Dogmatic belief in their “structures” make them sitting ducks when faced with unfamiliar scenarios.

• 31.pompies2: Reply to this comment

@brains_trust-29: Pollard very limited. Take away his boot and you’re left with an ineffective rugby player.

• 32.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@willievz-24:
    Van Rensburg’s playing for euros now so would the Stormers have been able to compete salary wise?
    agreed on Coetzee, he may have been a better ‘moneyball’ type vaue buy.

how the hell did Taute acquire the reputation he has?

• 33.willievz: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-32: Forgot about JC’s Euro Trip.

Re Taute – fck knows.

• 34.pompies2: Reply to this comment

@willievz-33: it’s the old “prodigious schoolboy talent” trick they play. Hugh Bladen is a staunch advocate of this smoke blowing up a young players arse.

• 35.Angostura: Reply to this comment

@brains_trust-29: jeesh, that Kebble dude was poor, wasn’t he?

• 36.Te Rangatira: Reply to this comment

By buying the Lions players it effectively put behind Stormer player development in those positions back a year.
    But they got rid of the talent, from brains_ trust post….a wee bit of a shambles going on.

• 37.hendrikp: Reply to this comment

@pompies2-26:

Big time player. Currie Cup final is a great example. Saved us with a brilliant tackle.

I’m not saying he’s perfect – but I’m not desperate enough to want Coetzee.

@brains_trust-29:

To be fair, as far as I know the Sharks signed Maks van Dyk as a nobody loose-forward and turned him into a tighthead. Could have been told wrong?

And Handre Pollard left because he believes his personality is better suited to the Bulls. I don’t blame the Afrikaans boys for going there. Pretoria offers them the environment seek, and the money the Cheetahs can’t offer. Plus they’ve got a better record of nurturing talent then WP does, however poor it may be.

• 38.willievz: Reply to this comment

@hendrikp-37: “Pretoria offers them the environment seek”

You mean Hatfield offers the brandy and coke specials and poppies met kort rokkies they seek…

• 39.willievz: Reply to this comment

@brains_trust-29: I’d like to know who the WP talent scouts are.

Because they appear to be not so efficient at their primary duties.

• 40.hendrikp: Reply to this comment

My comments about the Sharks was understood as a dislike by some.

Not the case. Sharks are the best in the country at making use of the players at their disposal. They hardly ever let players fall by the wayside. It’s just a shame they have to buy import them all from elsewhere.

Can’t say the same for any of the other teams.

• 41.willievz: Reply to this comment

Pompies

What’s your view(s) on Jan Serfontein?

Haven’t seen much of him, but he does not appear to have a kicking game?

In fact, he appears to be a young Frans Steyn without the boot?

• 42.brains_trust: Reply to this comment

@pompies2-31:

RE: POLLARD, I totally disagree . at the moment he’s 97kg and 190m tall, so when he hits the line it stays hit. He can kick the ball miles, he has a good feeling for the game and his distribution is very good, another major strong point is his defence + he is a great leader.

• 43.hendrikp: Reply to this comment

@willievz-38:

I meant the team culture… but that too.

Myself I prefer the girls from Bloem.

• 44.Stawm: Reply to this comment

Nonsense keo.
    Jantjies is more error prone that Lambie and Goosen. As simple as that. Nothing sinister here.
    Lambie and Goosen simply dont make the same number of critical errors that Jantjies does per match.

Current bok 10 pecking order:

Lambie
    Goosen
    M Steyn
    xxxx
    xxxx
    xxxx
    Jantjies.

He needs to lift his game. The forwards had nothing to do with his missed penalty kicks, both poles and touch.

• 45.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@hendrikp-37: you think non-afrikaans youngsters also have to conform at the bulle?

• 46.hendrikp: Reply to this comment

@brains_trust-42:

Honiball with a boot.

Let’s just hope he can keep his head straight. Don’t need another Derick Hougaard/Gaffie du Toit.

• 47.willievz: Reply to this comment

@hendrikp-43: Same here!

• 48.hendrikp: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-45:

No I don’t think so, but face facts, Pretoria at this stage is still very Afrikaans – more so then any of the other major cities anyway.

• 49.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@pompies2-31:
    to say that about an 18 year old boy is just silly.

• 50.pompies2: Reply to this comment

@hendrikp-37: Also lost you a semi-with a missed conversion before. Average Joe is very average.

• 51.pompies2: Reply to this comment

@brains_trust-42: What does siza have to do with it? His default instinct is to kick. His passing isn’t that great, let alone his distribution

• 52.hendrikp: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-49:

He’s taking chances.

Probably hasn’t seen him play, but doesn’t like the choices he’s made so far – or his face.

• 53.brains_trust: Reply to this comment

@Angostura-35: totally Kebble was so hyped as a 128kg monster than ran the 100m in 12 secs and allegedly popped Brock the Rock at his first Stormers training session….. only to be horribly shown up in the U20 WC and when the unknown Van Dyk came on our scrum started to dominate.

• 54.Sheriff: Reply to this comment

Is it not ironic that to see that despite our differences in SA we have a lot in common?

When Afrikaners became affluent they started saying: My paw was ook daw – which means: my dad was also there

Now post 94 I increasingly hear in TV ads: cawstle light

So I’m saying that ‘aw’ sound is clearly an affluent SA sound

• 55.pompies2: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-49: much like your comment. i commented on his rugby ability. you feel different, then present your views, but to ***** and moan is just a bit silly.

• 56.pompies2: Reply to this comment

@hendrikp-52: Hendrik, i trust you know rugby. My challenge to you is also to present a rugby analysis. If you can’t then rather not say anything. If Pollard proves me wrong, then so be it. My observation on him is based purely from what i’ve seen.

• 57.brains_trust: Reply to this comment

@pompies2-51: my friend, are you judging Pollard on what he achieved as an 18 YO schoolboy playing @ 10 for the victorious baby bok U20 side?

I have watched him play for Gim and he is THAT good.

Size has a great deal to do with rugby, just ask Aplon, Joe P, Brussouw and Keegan.

• 58.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@pompies2-50:
    maybe it was my imagination but i could’ve sworn a ball bounced off his head against the Sharks.

• 59.pompies2: Reply to this comment

@brains_trust-57:

“Size has a great deal to do with rugby, just ask Aplon, Joe P, Brussouw and Keegan” What are you trying to say with this statement? The guys you mentioned will tell you that rugby doesn’t have to be about size.

• 60.hendrikp: Reply to this comment

@pompies2-56:

My analysis of him is…

He can kick. He can tackle. He can run.

He’s been one of the stand-outs in everything he does up until this stage. That may change as he faces more pressure rising through the grades, but I don’t think so given that he seems very confident in his own abilities and his physique will help him cope with the physical demands.

And he doesn’t just kick the ball. If you’re expecting a Quade Cooper/James O’Connor/Kurtley Beale type though, then you’ll definitely be disappointed.

• 61.Sheriff: Reply to this comment

@brains_trust-57:

Size only 33.3% of what you need

Skills the rest: distribution, decision-making, retention

It is for that reason that we cannot even beat Australia consistently with only 70 players on their payroll

• 62.brains_trust: Reply to this comment

@pompies2-59: don’t expect too many Bok caps to be handed out to them in the next 3 years.

• 63.hendrikp: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-58:

Wasn’t that Rhule? Or did it happen to both of them?

• 64.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@pompies2-55:
    well you certainly wont get a lot of takers.

• 65.brains_trust: Reply to this comment

@Sheriff-61:

OK – let me put it this way: would you have rather a 1.9m / 97kg flyhalf with speed, skills, cool temperament, accurate goal kicking, monster boot, huge defense, proven leadership and good distribution ….. or ELTON JANTJIES ?

• 66.Sheriff: Reply to this comment

@brains_trust-65:

Elton Jantjies any day, but with a Mitchell’s Plain Town centre haircut

• 67.brains_trust: Reply to this comment

@Sheriff-66: I surprised that Elton doesn’t slip more tackles with the oil slick of a ” hairstyle” (I use the work “haistyle” very loosely)

• 68.hendrikp: Reply to this comment

@brains_trust-65:

• 69.Sheriff: Reply to this comment

@brains_trust-67:

No there is nothing wrong with Elton’s hairstyle. Let him express himself.

Let’s afford him that opportunity.

I just want it be even cooler and I reckon the barbers in Ti-own Centre (down AZ Berman drive)

• 70.Angostura: Reply to this comment

@Sheriff-54: Nee. na my beskeie mening is dit slegs die ronding van die klinkers waarna jy verwys, & wat vir my nie-Transvaalse oor net tipies Transvaals is – ‘n Mens **** dit nie so seer in die ander streke nie. Ek twyfel baie sterk dat dit noodwendig ‘n aanduiding van welgesteldheid is.

• 71.Angostura: Reply to this comment

@Angostura-70: hmmm, crazy site this

**** = h_oor

• 72.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@hendrikp-52:
    something like that.

@hendrikp-63:
    i dont watch Kiwi teams play and will only make am exception for one, at most two, of their teams against the Bulls. so unless you’re referring to the Cheetahs-Sharks game i dont know.

Joe P fielded a high ball or a pass infield and it looked to me like it bounced off his head, i might be wrong of course.

• 73.hendrikp: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-72:

Oh okay.

I think it happened to Rhule last week versus the Chiefs. He went up to take a high ball and it hit him square on the head.

Wouldn’t have happened to Habs :lol:

• 74.Sheriff: Reply to this comment

@Angostura-70:

So you reckon it has to do with the rounding of the vowels?

I’m not so sure…

It would seem to me that the more affluent you gauge yourself to be the higher the likelihood that the ‘aw’ sound will proceed from your mouth

Can I have one ice cold cawstle light please?

Bye julle, daw is my paw nou net om my op te laai

Can you hear it?

• 75.Stawm: Reply to this comment

@Angostura-71:
    Keo and co cant spell w h o r e in afrikaans.

• 76.willievz: Reply to this comment

Keo

Who is Lambi

A Disney animated character?

• 77.Sheriff: Reply to this comment

@Angostura-70:

Transvaal?

• 78.hendrikp: Reply to this comment

@Stawm-75:

Bedoel jy ‘n hoer?

• 79.Transformation: Reply to this comment

where is that doos suffer_guy? :-)

• 80.Transformation: Reply to this comment

i’ve got tickets to the presidential suite for tomorrow, holla @ ya dude!

• 81.Angostura: Reply to this comment

@Sheriff-74: ja, well, we’ll have to differ on that.
    When I hear people speak like that I tend to ask them (rhetorically) whether they are from the Transvaal, & invariably they answer in the affirmative. Perhaps then it is just an indication that on average “Transvalers” are more affluent than “Oos-Kapenaars”, which of course I’d be stupid to deny :-)

BTW, does that pauper Rupert speak Afrikaans like that?

• 82.Dawn: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-80:

I’ll be on my presidential couch

• 83.Dawn: Reply to this comment

@willievz-76:

Keohane desperately needs a proofreader before any more of his credibility slips down the tubes

Or maybe it was the dog

• 84.Sheriff: Reply to this comment

@Angostura-81:

Don’t know him personally.

We can ask Jake White; his wife is friends with Johann’s wife

So you don’t recognize the new names of our provinces eg Gauteng?

• 85.Angostura: Reply to this comment

@hendrikp-78: hahahaaaa

“h_oor” is banned, but not so “hoer”

• 86.Sheriff: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-80:

Affluent?

• 87.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@Angostura-85:
    some hores are not worth leaving out.

• 88.hendrikp: Reply to this comment

@Angostura-85:

Dalk is die h_oore iets vieslik wat ons nie eers van weet nie.

• 89.Angostura: Reply to this comment

@Sheriff-84: of course, I do

But Afrikaners don’t speak Gautengs, they speak Afrikaans, & that is exactly my point that Afrikaans Gautengers, don’t pronounce vowels in Gautengs but in Transvaals – capiche?

• 90.Sheriff: Reply to this comment

@Angostura-89:

Jaw ek verstawn

• 91.hendrikp: Reply to this comment

@Sheriff-84:

Jake is still married?

So what he does on tour really does stay on tour then.

• 92.Dawn: Reply to this comment

@Angostura-89:

Sharif sees a racist under every rock

• 93.Sheriff: Reply to this comment

If I have it my way I will give people a chance until say end of Dec 2013 to speak Afrikaans in South Africa; thereafter no more

I reckon we will shut the language down entirely by end Dec 2018

• 94.Angostura: Reply to this comment

@Dawn-92: :-)

• 95.Sheriff: Reply to this comment

@hendrikp-91:

Can you elaborate on your statement which you have failed to transform into a question?

• 96.Dawn: Reply to this comment

@Sheriff-93:

Here’s some Afrikaans for you

jy praat ‘n klomp bollie

• 97.Sheriff: Reply to this comment

Dawn is a razist

• 98.Sheriff: Reply to this comment

@Dawn-96:

Bollie?

As in ‘Bollie die konyn’

The only konyn I know is Mark Konyn

• 99.Angostura: Reply to this comment

@Sheriff-93: Why is that, Sheriff?
    As it is I hardly ever speak Afrikaans, yet I’m so proud that I’m at least fully bilingual … & now you want to take that away from me.

• 100.willievz: Reply to this comment

Angostura se tesis is korrek.

Die verskil in uitspraak is ‘n streek-ding, nie ‘n inkomstegroep-ding nie.

Die Kapenaars sê “a” – soos in “my pa”.

Die Transvalers sê “aw” – soos in “my paw”.

Al die ryk Afrikaners wat ek ken praat Engels :lol:

• 101.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@Sheriff-86: indeed i’m fluent in 5 languages.

• 102.hendrikp: Reply to this comment

@Sheriff-95:

Don’t worry about it. I assumed his World Cup ’07 girlfriend was common knowledge.

• 103.Sheriff: Reply to this comment

@Angostura-99:

Be like me. I can speak at least 3 languages:

* Afrikaner
    * Cape kullid
    * Eng

• 104.Sheriff: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-101:

Invest in the 2nd one on my list in post 103

• 105.Dawn: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-101:

• 106.Sheriff: Reply to this comment

@Dawn-82:

What about at the Beachwalker’s kraal?

• 107.Sheriff: Reply to this comment

@hendrikp-102:

Tell me more.

• 108.Angostura: Reply to this comment

@Sheriff-103: you better than me, 4sure …

• 109.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@willie: ” Al die ryk Afrikaners wat ek ken praat
    Engels”

• 110.Sheriff: Reply to this comment

@willievz-100:

Kapenaars sê ook: iek gaan dorp toe

Waar kom dit vanaf?

• 111.Sheriff: Reply to this comment

@Angostura-108:

Can you speak Cape kullid?

• 112.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@Sheriff-104: who am i to speak it with?

• 113.Sheriff: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-112:

Alen Abrahams

• 114.Dawn: Reply to this comment

@Sheriff-110:

It means I am going shopping

• 115.Dawn: Reply to this comment

@Sheriff-110:

And it’s not “waar kom dit vanaf”

It’s “waarvandaan kom dit”

• 116.hendrikp: Reply to this comment

@Sheriff-107:

Here you go. Thanks to google.

When Debbie White began to suspect her husband, former Springbok coach Jake White, of having an affair she was so furious she secretly checked the address book of his cellphone.

And when she found the details of three women she did not recognise, she called them to confront them.

Two of the women panicked in the face of Debbie’s fury and one, a Durban teacher, immediately apologised.

A married woman, fearing her husband and children would find out about the affair, promised to stop seeing him.

But the third woman, an attractive blonde golfer, simply told Debbie to “get a life”, before slamming the phone down.

These were just some of the revelations by close friends of the couple, who this week said the alleged infidelity and philandering ways of the Rugby World Cup-winning coach was as anything but heroic.

The Saturday Star can reveal that White allegedly had four mistresses in at least three different provinces – one in Joburg, one in Durban and two in Cape Town. The names of all four women are known.

And one friend who knows the couple well claimed this week that White was seeing at least two of the women at the same time.

Friends said the couple were happily married until the late 1990s, when things began to change.

At that time, White had begun working as an assistant coach for the Sharks in Durban and had allegedly started an affair with a private school teacher in the city.

Another of the women he has been romantically linked to is a married mother of two while a third, a pretty blonde, works for a production company. Both are from Cape Town.

The fourth woman works for an international banking group and is believed to be the “mysterious blonde” who was with White at a News Cafe in Joburg on the night he had a widely reported altercation with Die Son journalist, Adnaan Mohamed.

That night, in the company of several rugby writers, the White and the blonde were allegedly openly affectionate with one another.

White’s relationship with the “golfer woman”, a divorcee, was apparently not a secret for very long because she openly boasted to friends about it, according to a friend who spoke to Saturday Star this week on condition of anonymity.

“She definitely kept it quiet at first, but there were rumours,” she said.

“And then she told everyone she was going to France – conveniently around the time of the World Cup.”

Despite repeated attempts this week, the Saturday Star was unable to speak to the women and Debbie White refused to comment.

But White’s lawyer, Anton Slabbert, speaking to Saturday Star executive editor Kevin Ritchie, said: “[They've] got two young boys. I’m disappointed at your standard of reporting, I find it shocking that your newspaper is writing this story. I have it on record your reporter doesn’t want to do this story, and she’s only doing it on your orders.

“I find your conduct reprehensible as a ‘newspaperman’ – print that!’

This week a friend of the Whites revealed they were happy until he began working for the Sharks.

“They were an extremely happy family and Debbie had complete trust in her husband,” the close friend said.

Then one day, White came home and announced he wanted a divorce.

According to another source, the couple had agreed shortly before last year’s World Cup in France to keep up the facade of a happy marriage “for the sake of the Springboks”.

But a friend said Debbie was furious when she discovered the blonde golfer had accompanied White. When she and her two teenage sons flew to Paris soon afterward, they did not stay at the Springbok team’s hotel.

A hotel guest said Jake and the blonde had allegedly gone off together for a few days and that people within the Bok camp were asked to keep the story quiet.

After returning to a triumphant hero’s welcome, the Whites made a public appearance at a celebration at Newlands stadium, when they posed with their sons with the Webb Ellis trophy.

But, in reality, White had moved into his new flat in Newlands, Cape Town, while Debbie still lives in an apartment close to Tokai Forest.

Last week a close friend of the couple said neither wished to become involved in “mudslinging” in the media.

“They’re just keeping nice with each other until the divorce is over.

“People won’t care what he’s done, he’s a hero to the people of South Africa,” the friend added.

But the Saturday Star has now learned that, in terms of the Whites’ prenuptial contract, “Debbie will only be entitled to things which are in her own name”.

The couple’s lawyers are currently locked in negotiation to reach a settlement and the matter is due to come before the divorce courts shortly.

• 117.Transformation: Reply to this comment

die geld by WP is baie lekker even firebrands change their tune :-)

Thelo Wakefield, acting-president of the
    Western Province Rugby Union, reacted
    strongly to media reports that the current
    WP team is too white.

“This is definitely not the case. I support
    the WP teams whole heartedly. I only
    related to what transpired at the General
    Council Meeting last week,” explained
    Wakefield.

It was not my own views, but views
    expressed in the meeting by our club
    representatives. It was never my intention
    to be divisive. This union works incredibly
    hard to ensure we remain inclusive and at
    the forefront of change for the better and
    have put in place a number of
    programmes over the years to ensure this.

These continue to produce positive results.
    I sign off the WP teams and certainly don’t
    prescribe to the coaching staff. I back the
    coach, Allister Coetzee and his
    management team and all at WP Rugby.”

“Whilst we hear the concerns raised by our
    clubs and realise that there’s still work to
    do, we continue to evolve and remain
    committed to our structures, players,
    coaching staff and management. We will
    continue to support, building, rather than
    breaking down.

Our long term initiatives
    that we have put in place, like the WP
    Institute in Stellenbosch and the club
    talent identification programme amongst
    others, continue to produce results,”

added Wakefield.

“And we will continue along this path.”

lang term huh?

• 118.Sheriff: Reply to this comment

@Dawn-114:

I did not say translate it

I said: why is it that Capies say ‘iek’ instead of ‘ek’ or ‘ak’ in pirtoria

• 119.hendrikp: Reply to this comment

@hendrikp-116:

Always rated Jake as a coach, but he’s a real feckin pr-ick hey.

Cheating is one thing. Having multiple girlfriends while married though?

Soek vir k@k.

• 120.Dawn: Reply to this comment

I’ve never heard anyone say “iek”

Unless there’s a roach in the minibus taxi

• 121.Dawn: Reply to this comment

@hendrikp-119:

A man’s gotta do what a man’s gotta do!

• 122.hendrikp: Reply to this comment

@Dawn-121:

And he should’ve done what his wife told him to?

Takes a woman with minimal brain cells to want that though. Inevitably end up all alone and hurt.

• 123.shooter: Reply to this comment

@Sheriff-111: :shock: :)

• 124.Sheriff: Reply to this comment

@shooter-123:

Can you?

• 125.Angostura: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-117: How I detest that overworked word, “structures”!

OK, ciao all, good weekend, & may all Saffa rugga teams exceed expectations, & score some enterprising tries as well.

{Out}

• 126.Sheriff: Reply to this comment

@Dawn-120:

Every day down main road or m5 to city bowl; unlikely to come across it

But it has been pointed out to you now, so look out for it

• 127.Sheriff: Reply to this comment

@Angostura-125:

Mate where are you based, I mean are you in SA

• 128.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@hendrikp: jake is “born” again bra!

• 129.Stawm: Reply to this comment

@hendrikp-78:
    Sure.
    Except Keo thinks its h o o r

• 130.hendrikp: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-128:

A leopard doesn’t change its spots.

Ongeag, wat sal hy maak met sy konstante horing.

• 131.Sheriff: Reply to this comment

T & D and rest; enjoy!

• 132.Finfan: Reply to this comment

@hendrikp-130: Was Jake a Bulls supporter?

• 133.hendrikp: Reply to this comment

@Finfan-132:

He supports any team with groupies.

• 134.Transformation: Reply to this comment

2008-10-22 09:01
    Stephen Nell

Cape Town – Former Springbok coach
    Jake White has become reborn and is
    now in the same church as Luke
    Watson.

White spoke openly on Tuesday night
    and told how he became a Christian
    and that he felt sorry for Watson and
    the storm that was raging around him.

He took a reconciliatory attitude
    towards the player who had criticised
    him in the past and even said how he
    would handle the situation now if he
    was in Watson’s shoes.

“I feel sorry for Luke and when I saw
    him the other day at church (Hillsong),
    I went to shake his hand,” said White.

“I feel for him and it is not for me to
    judge him. My advice to him would be
    that we in South Africa need to respect
    one another.”

“I have two sons and if one of them
    makes a mistake, I would like to see
    him come forward and apologise. We
    all make mistakes.”

Watson came under fire after he earlier
    this month said in a speech how he had
    to stop himself from throwing up on
    the Springbok jersey.

He allegedly mouthed off against
    Afrikaners, calling them “Dutchm.en”,
    but this has not been proven in a
    transcription of the speech.

White revealed that his new girlfriend,
    Lindy Taberer, played a key role in his
    conversion.

“I met her about six months ago and it
    was at this time that I became a
    Christian. I am definitely not
    embarrassed about it and I am happy
    to have seen the light,” said White.

“My life is now completely different. I
    realised after the World Cup
    championship in France that there had
    to have been a higher power.”

“I received all the praise for our
    success but the Lord was there. I
    realise that I have to be grateful for my
    blessings. I also met a woman who is a
    true Christian.”

White said his life as a Christian had
    filled him with gratefulness.

“You suddenly thank the waiter who
    brings you food.”

“We have to realise that there is a
    bigger plan. It gives your life so much
    direction.”

White was criticised especially in 2006
    after he didn’t pick Watson for the
    Springboks.

Watson lashed out at White in an
    interview that year.

Last year, Watson was included in a
    Springbok training group in spite of
    White’s view on the matter.

“What happened, happened. I have no
    negative feelings. I mean that from the
    bottom of my heart,” said White.

• 135.willievz: Reply to this comment

@Sheriff-110: Vra djy!

Iek weetie!

• 136.hendrikp: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-134:

Talk is cheap.

As hy ‘n girl moes kry om hom te bekeer dan hoe ernstig kan hy rerig wees? Daai is ‘n pad wat ‘n man self moet stap.

As dit wel so is, goed vir hom!

• 137.hendrikp: Reply to this comment

@hendrikp-136:

And suddenly thanking the waiter that brings you the food… that’s good manners, not Christendom.

If he wants direction in his life, he should go speak to a counsellor.

Kan my nie vertel ‘n mens glo skielik iets omdat jou girl jou se jy moet nie. Vertel haar seker wat sy wil h_oor.

• 138.hendrikp: Reply to this comment

Have a good evening all. Really should hit the hay.

• 139.Stawm: Reply to this comment

@hendrikp-137:

I find my Sat Nav system gives me good direction

• 140.Rage: Reply to this comment

@ 120 Dawn

Hehe
    Me neither,don’t know where Sheriff heard that.

• 141.TooMuchRugby: Reply to this comment

@Sheriff-93:
    As jy met Afrikaans begin neuk, gaan jy op jou moer kry………En nie net van wit Afrikaners nie.

• 142.victoriabok: Reply to this comment

@TooMuchRugby-141:

Dankie

Ek weet nie wie praat die mooiste Afrikaans nie, julle ouens of die Namakwalanders, wie dink jy?

• 143.TooMuchRugby: Reply to this comment

@victoriabok-142:
    Definitief die Namakwalanners

• 144.victoriabok: Reply to this comment

@TooMuchRugby-143:

Ek het saam met twee ouens gewerk, Kallie en Matie, die een was van Namakwaland en die ander van Namibië

Hulle was moer snaaks om na te luister, die woorde en sêgoed wat hulle gebruik **** jy nie in Pirtoria nie

Daar is dit Môh en Pôh en Strônthuis

• 145.Transformation: Reply to this comment

only about a 1000 tickets left, so the Slaghuis
    will be cooking.

• 146.Stawm: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-145:

… but first slagging.

• 147.TooMuchRugby: Reply to this comment

@victoriabok-144:
    Ook ‘n baie interessante manier van Afrikaans praat, is die Ovambo’s in Namibia. Hulle is geneig om ‘n “r” in plaas van ‘n “l” te se. So het ek eenkeer ‘n ou **** praat van ‘n “krein krein voortjie”. Eers later agtergekom hy praat van ‘n BY.

• 148.victoriabok: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-145:

They’re on their way to PE….

http://www.cbsnews.com/8301-201_162-57573118/florida-beaches-open-again-after-shark-threat-passes/

• 149.victoriabok: Reply to this comment

@TooMuchRugby-147:

Ha ha

Ek het ‘n winkel gehad en een van die ouens kom daar aan met ‘n lip wat vreeslik geswel is

Ek vra hom wat het gebeur en hy sê:

Die vlieg van die jam het my gemoer

• 150.Sheriff: Reply to this comment

@TooMuchRugby-141:

Gaan oorsee begin; niks meer Afrikaans nie – word summier opgesluit

Dan gaan ek progessief werk en soos ek dit sien teen einde 2018 is ons kant en klaar met Afrikaans.

Cape Kullid is die 11de amptelike taal met ingang 1Jan 2019

• 151.victoriabok: Reply to this comment

@Sheriff-150:

> Gaan oorsee begin; niks meer Afrikaans nie – word summier opgesluit

Al my Engelsprekende pêlle hier praat Afrikaans, hulle dink dis cool want dit onderskei hulle van al die ander hier wat net Engels kan praat

• 152.skopdiekan: Reply to this comment

How’s this Jake fake now faking it that the highest power offered him the world cup on a gilt edge Eddie Jones ornate plate. There you go I told you even Jake himself reckons it was an act of God that delivered him the WC trophy while he was busy fornication verneking his duly beloved but since he was now born again he’s eventually seen the light.

I wonder if all the wonderwerke at Brumbies recently is also as a result of the Highest Hillsong high fives being bestowed on all the rejuvenated brethren.

• 153.skopdiekan: Reply to this comment

Good for hendrikp putting an end to the mythology that pricks walk free where angels fear to tread

• 154.victoriabok: Reply to this comment

@skopdiekan-152:

Hallo Skop, hoe gaan dit?

• 155.victoriabok: Reply to this comment

@skopdiekan-153:

He was a better coach than Strauli he replaced but I still think Jake’s a doo s as person

And he fuc ked up Chilli boy

• 156.skopdiekan: Reply to this comment

Goed so dankie Mnr die VCB en met u ?

Hoe lyk die JW storie hier bo en die mense glo nog steeds die onaardige held waltz so glad oor die water.

• 157.victoriabok: Reply to this comment

@skopdiekan-156:

Goed hier, ek was gelukkig genoeg om weer vir Leonard Cohen te sien Woensdagaand

Hy is nogsteeds goed en hy’s nie ‘n jongman nie

Kyk na die link

http://www.timescolonist.com/review-no-cooler-cat-than-leonard-cohen-1.86505

• 158.Angostura: Reply to this comment

nie Tjokkie nie, maar … Sheriffie:

Siener in die Flats

• 159.victoriabok: Reply to this comment

@skopdiekan-156:

I think all successful people in business, politics and life tend to be self centred as.s holes, it goes with the self belief that they’re always right

He was and still is a good coach

The fact that he used Eddie as an attack coach is more an indication of how planless our players and how sterile our backline movements was and still is

Look at the Sharks and Stormers on Saturday

• 160.victoriabok: Reply to this comment

@Angostura-158:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sg1yskaMljw

• 161.skopdiekan: Reply to this comment

Jake’s a prime f’ng prick and all his hero worshiping disciples reckon he’s the nearest thing to a rugby god they’ve ever seen.

How’s the audacious audacity of the holiest of holier than thou faking faker reckon he feels sorry for Luke Watson at the Hilarious Hillsong High Court of forgiveness when it’s actually quiet the other way around as to who should be feeling sorry for whom

• 162.victoriabok: Reply to this comment

@skopdiekan-161:

He was better than Strauli who he replaced

• 163.skopdiekan: Reply to this comment

Anybody could be better than Streauli even a Borneo orangutan would be a better rugby Oracle than Streauli. If being better than Streauli denotes rugby wisdom I would like to know what accolades are reserved for real rugby boffins who don’t need others to drive their success stories for them. Yeah must have been an absolute act of a higher force because there’s no other rational reason for anyone so blinded being able to finally see the light.

• 164.victoriabok: Reply to this comment

@skopdiekan-163:

Who would your best(or best three) Bok coaches ever be?

Craven, Christie and Snyman?

• 165.xtremebull: Reply to this comment

On sport24.com I just read that taute and jantjies loan contracts is worth in EXCESS of R2M each just for super rugby making their salary R120 000 per game… With that money invested in loan players you sure as hell have to win the title this year otherwise Ill blend it as the dumbest investment made ever on 2 loan players… You weepee oaks know how to invest hey :)

• 166.skopdiekan: Reply to this comment

Mooi so jy’s gelukkig om sulke musiek kunstenaars soos die oorspronklike legende se conserte te kan bywoon

• 167.xtremebull: Reply to this comment

2013-03-08 07:43
    Cape Town – The return on a R10m investment
    by the Western Province Rugby Union could
    become a massive talking point if the Stormers
    lose to the Chiefs at Newlands on Saturday,
    reports Die Burger.
    Cape rugby bosses made a massive investment
    in the off-season with several high profile
    signings significantly bolstering the Stormers’
    depth.
    Flyhalf Elton Jantjies and injured fullback Jaco
    Taute will earn over R2m each before they head
    back to the Lions after the completion of the
    tournament.
    Pat Cilliers (prop), Michael Rhodes (flank) and
    Ruan Botha (lock) are officially WP players and,
    according to the newspaper, the Lions trio cost
    the union in the region of R4m.
    These new signings may have increased the
    squad’s depth but it also raised expectation
    amongs fans. And with the Stormers starting the
    season with losses to the Bulls and Sharks,
    another loss against the Chiefs could see
    attendance figures drop – which leads to reduced
    revenue.
    Even though the Stormers are arguably the best
    supported team in the competition, it is
    nevertheless important for the union to host in
    excess of 40 000 people for every game in order
    to justify the massive investment made in the
    team this year.
    Only a win against the Chiefs on Saturday will
    put them on the right track to achieving those
    goals

• 168.nortierd: Reply to this comment

@xtremebull-165:
    Not just that, the other Lions players as well.
    Apparently the full total for all the players is 10 million
    But on the plus side, the Stormers are saving more than that by NOT having to pay win bonuses to the players so far.
    Suppose it balances out in the end

• 169.bokkefan: Reply to this comment

@victoriabok-164:
    Three best coaches ever:
    Peter de Villiers, Snorre and Div for sure !

• 170.skopdiekan: Reply to this comment

Craven Christie Mallet meskien Cecil Moss het goed gelewe anderstens as hulle meestal min of meer tussen 50 – 60 % werd

• 171.victoriabok: Reply to this comment

@skopdiekan-166:

Ja ek is baie gelukkig ek het hom in 2010 ook gesien

Die man is ‘n digter sonder gelyke maar sy nederigheid is sy beste eienskap

Daar’s ‘n ou gesegde wat lui “Met jou hoed in jou hand stap jy deur die land”

• 172.victoriabok: Reply to this comment

@xtremebull-165:

Don’t worry remember how we spent big bucks in 2004 to get Jannie de Beer, Os and Naka to play for the Bulls?

Os played probably five games, Naka to many, and Jannie thought it was a paid vacation to visit the good doctors in Pretoria for his knee

• 173.nortierd: Reply to this comment

Dis nie maklik om die beste coach te kan bepaal nie.
    Baie hang af van die spelers tot hulle beskiking op n gegewe tyd.
    Ek stem saam met Craven, hy was ver vooruit die ander met innovering ens.
    Christie kan mens se was soos n diktator, ouens gedril soos n army Sammejoor, maar dit het vir hom gewerk.
    As ons nie die 95 beker gewen het nie, dink ek nie sy naam sal onder die top 3 genoem word nie.
    Mallet, ja, een van die beter non World Cup winning coaches.
    Onder hom het ons n tipe rugby gespeel wat ons deesdae net van kan droom.

• 174.bokkefan: Reply to this comment

@victoriabok-172:
    That was 1999.

In 2004 Naka playes for the Free State Cheetahs in Final against Blue Bulls after a few years overseas.

• 175.skopdiekan: Reply to this comment

Kirkpatrick was ook n genuine orite n soort coach die bokke het ten minste in daai dae probeer harder hardloop rugby te laat speel. Nie soos dees dae nie.

Ja Cohen is een van die egte kunstenaars en digter legende van die musiek wereld van die laaste 5 dekades of so jy’s baie gelukkig om sulke legende te kan sien lewendig

• 176.bokkefan: Reply to this comment

@victoriabok-172:
    Look like Os, Naka and Jannie de Beer made a good impression in Pretoria in 1999 and 2000.

All three of them is in the Blue Bull song of Steve Hofmeyr all these years!

• 177.nortierd: Reply to this comment

@bokkefan-176:
    Yes, but only because Os rhymes with tos, Naka rhymes with kaka and De Beer rhymes with Currie Cup kom weer

• 178.skopdiekan: Reply to this comment

WP management are very poor at utilizing and maintaining locally nurtured talents and very good at wasting money. Jantjies Taute Habana Fourie and some others might have been big mega buck scoops in their short-term approach minds eye towards assuming success but had they spent that kind of money and time resource at maintaining and development of close knitted team ethic within the local bred and nurtured talent base the long-term spinoff effect would reap far greater long-term result and rewards.

• 179.nortierd: Reply to this comment

@skopdiekan-178:
    You are right, but, you should also know by now that SA rugby public is not willing to wait for long term rewards.
    It must be quite difficult to get the balance right.
    Personally, I find the amounts of money paid to kids who have hardly started life after school obscene, but I guess that is the nature of the game.
    If one union doesn’t want to pay them, someone else will

• 180.Finfan: Reply to this comment

Money makes the world go round.

• 181.victoriabok: Reply to this comment

@bokkefan-174:

Ja jammer, in 2004 het ons al vir Liefling gehad

• 182.victoriabok: Reply to this comment

@nortierd-177:

Ons kan bly wees die Bulls het nie daardie tyd Babes gehad nie, ou Naka sou hulle almal op kraamverlof gestuur het

• 183.skopdiekan: Reply to this comment

The great team managers like Ferguson Henry maybe Clive Woodward Christie Craven etc. know that it’s not purely about money that makes for a winning team culture. There’s far more to team success than simply chucking money at buying the biggest scoop names and mercenary talents. Look at Melbourne Rebels trying to buy their way to success it don’t work. Team ethic and team spirit counts far more towards success than simply running on the field with a bunch of super star galacticos and assuming that because they were good within a strong team culture they’ll automatically be good in a heroes worship environment of mega stardom.

• 184.victoriabok: Reply to this comment

@nortierd-179:

Ek kan amper die geld in Jantjies se geval verstaan maar nie met Pollard nie

• 185.victoriabok: Reply to this comment

@skopdiekan-175:

Wat was die ou van Natal wat Argetinië gaan help het, Van Heerden?

Hy’t ook ‘n boek oor rugby geskryf

Hulle sê hy was sy tyd vooruit

• 186.victoriabok: Reply to this comment

@bokkefan-176:

Dit was in die maer jare toe hulle nog die bulle was, voordat HM, Victor, Bakkies, Danie en Fpourie hulle die BULLE gemaak het

Ek dink hoeka dis ons probleem, ons het nie ‘n goeie skrumskakel nie, Hougie is nog nie goed genoeg nie en Vermaak is net ‘n journeyman

Elke keer nog wanneer ons gedomineer het, het ons ‘n goeie skrumskakel gehad, Fourie du Preez, Robert du Preez en Tommy du Plessis

Joost het in die swaarste tyd van die unie gespeel en het self twee Curriebekers gewen

• 187.skopdiekan: Reply to this comment

There’s a balance between buying the top quality players but only if you’ve built up the structures and culture from base level then one or two top quality star players can be a benefit in that system. If players rock up at a club or franchise thinking they the bees knees before they’ve actually put any of their assumed star status to practice then the strong likelihood is that they and the combination of disjointed ethic will fail. First comes the strong culture basis and team ethic only then do you embellish it with some high quality purchased talent if you can afford it but ultimately a strong team ethic and together spirit will always trump a bunch of highly paid prima donna mega buck mercenary misfits.

• 188.victoriabok: Reply to this comment

@nortierd-173:

> Christie kan mens se was soos n diktator, ouens gedril soos n army Sammejoor, maar dit het vir hom gewerk.
    > As ons nie die 95 beker gewen het nie, dink ek nie sy naam sal onder die top 3 genoem word nie.

Dis hoe dit was daai tyd

Het die Bokke nie daarna op toer gegaan en alles gewen nie?

• 189.victoriabok: Reply to this comment

@skopdiekan-187:

Maybe AC thought they lacked something on attack and blamed Grant?

And he decided Jantjies is available so he hired him

• 190.skopdiekan: Reply to this comment

Thats one of the reasons I’m saying Jantjies is a bad fit at Stormers he been so hyped up as this super duper wizkid that was single handed going to lead Stormers to their promised land that he even started believing all the gdam hype himself. Strutting around like a little peacock that hasn’t even earned its bum fluff feathers yet. People think I’m tough and unkind on Jantjies I’m actually spot on the money. If he wants to live up to all the razzle dazzle big mega buck hype they been feeding him on he better start f’ng delivering and gdam fast.

• 191.Angostura: Reply to this comment

@victoriabok-160: Dankie

• 192.victoriabok: Reply to this comment

@skopdiekan-190:

> Strutting around like a little peacock that hasn’t even earned its bum fluff feathers yet.

Apparently he was involved in a fight in Stellenbosch

Read below what “die Mol” wrote in Rapport

I like it that the youngsters are evene bigger than Eben

“Die skuld vir die Visvoete se nederlaag kan hoeka dubbel-en-dwars voor die deur van een van daai welpies gelê word – Elton Jantjies was weer op sy “allerbeste” met sy “goue” skopvoet.

Die Mol wonder of die onderonsie waarby Elton glo verlede week in Stellenbosch betrokke was, moontlik enigiets te doen gehad het met sy skewe gekorrel. Die laatnag-gefuif het hom dalk uitgeput. Of het sy lewensgrote ego seergekry toe sy boksvernuf hom in die steek gelaat het?

As Die Mol die Stormers-afrigter was, sou hy bekommerd gewees het oor die lang groeiende lys van sy spelers wat tweede in die kroeë op Stellenbosch kom as hulle hulself breëbors tussen die studente hou.

Allister, my maat, daar’s net-uit-matriek-boerseuns wat selfs vir liewe Eben na ’n dwergie laat lyk. Stellenbosch is nie ’n plek vir sissies nie en as jy slotte soek om die balle in die lynstane te vang, kom kuier vir Die Mol. Hy sien elke aand ’n handvol wat vir enige Super-span kan uitdraf”

• 193.Angostura: Reply to this comment

@Finfan-180: just a hen house homily

• 194.Angostura: Reply to this comment

@victoriabok-185: Izak

• 195.nama1: Reply to this comment

Skop, afa as Peter Grant is concerned.

Since he’s been going to Japan, Grant always took 3, 4 games to perform at Super rugby level. You know this.

So, let’s give Jantjies a chance while you (we) wait for Grant to come right.

How many Cups has Grant won in all the year that he has been playing top class rugby in SA?

Jantjies can claim a CC as Lion SH..
    The Greek can claim a CC as WP FH.

What can Grant say?

• 196.skopdiekan: Reply to this comment

F’ ng little brekerige laaitjies wat dink die son uit hulle brekerige holle skyn. Jantjies en daai ander Klein welpie ouentjie Cronje het altwee hulle gatte gesien toe hulle hul spiere probeer rek by die kroeg clubs van die Bosch en sulke omgewings Jantjies is a f’kn laaitjie wat dink hy’s klaar n groot mens, hy beter leer eers kruip voor hy begin dink hy’s gereed om ballas of balle reguit to probeer skop.

• 197.nama1: Reply to this comment

@victoriabok-192:
    Funny, when Schalk Burger started out as a national player, there was a story where he also was in a fight in Stellenbosch. It was swept under the carpet. That was the end of it.

Wonder of die MOL dit nog kan onthou. Heel waarskynlik nie, want hy drink mos met sy GOEIE vriend, (Groot Scalk) ‘n rooiwyntjie of twee, so nou en dan.

Met die dat hy eintlik die Leeus ondersteun moet hy ook maar in sy moer in gaan. Vok hom. :lol:

• 198.skopdiekan: Reply to this comment

You’re comparing fly half playing ability between Jantjies and Grant based on team CC success. Somebody got their comparing sights all skewed and out of alignment.

Jantjies is a kak flyhalf Katrakillis is a better fly half and he’s no Bok candidate not by a long shot. If Grant had started vs Bulls or if Pietersen or Duvenhage or even Schroeder had started vs Bulls Stormers would have won that game. Grant started for Stormers last year. Who did they narrowly beat their first couple games. Bulls and Sharks, yup you guessed it.

Jantjies is a piepie joller that thinks he’s already a fully fledged Casanova. He must stop trekking draad and get realized that he’s no little Mr. Wonderful, not by a very long way yet.

• 199.nama1: Reply to this comment

@skopdiekan-196:
    Jy’s heeltemal reg.

Hy is ‘n laaitie wat eers gemoer moet word sodat hy kan verstaan waaroor dit gaan.

Wie die moerwerk moet doen, moe tons nog bepaal. Ek nominate vir jou. :lol:

• 200.nama1: Reply to this comment

@skopdiekan-198:
    Who played at FH for WP/Stormers all these years without winning ANYTHING?
    You guessed it.

GRANT and DUVENHAGE.

When and why did we win a trophy last year?

Duvenhage had a broken leg and Grant was playing rugby in Japan, that’s why. They’ve been holding us back from winning trophies for years now.

****’em both. Let them go make money overseas,

• 201.nama1: Reply to this comment

@nama1-200:
    Who played at FH for WP/Stormers and SH…?

• 202.jet jungle: Reply to this comment

@nama1-197: Warm onder die kraag vanaand Nama? Ek stem saam though Jantjies se haarstyl pis die uiters konserwatiewes af nou het hy glo n houding. In elk geval het n ou bietjie houding nodig om op daai vlak te opereer. Die meeste rugbyspelers loop k.akpraters en brekers raak wat dit self nooit gemaak het en dan vir hulle ander brekerpelle kan vertel hoe tough hulle gisteraand in die kroeg was.

• 203.nama1: Reply to this comment

@nama1-201:
    Vokkit… can’t get it right. Let me try again.

Who played at FH and SH the past few years without winning anything? You guessed it.

Duvenhage and Grant.

Last year we had GROOM (who I, and some others have been punting for some time) and the GREEK, and all of a sudden we won the CC.

Can’t be coincidence.

• 204.nama1: Reply to this comment

@jet jungle-202:
    Nie eintlik nie warm onder die kraag nie.

Eintlik sommer baie warm soos ek hier sit. :lol:

Hou maar net nie van die kak dat hulle Elton se “bakleiery” so voorbladnuus probeer maak nie, terwyl Schalkie s’n so onder die mat gevee is nie.

Ek dink in elk geval nie daar was ‘n storie oor Elton nie.

• 205.jet jungle: Reply to this comment

@nama1-204: Klink lekker :) het jy n klomp geld op die stormers gesit vir more?

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.