Stormers grunt starts up front

MARK KEOHANE writes the emphasis should be on the Stormers forwards finding form and not the lack of form of Elton Jantjies and Gio Aplon.

All the newspaper headlines this week have been about how Saturday is a make or break game for Springbok flyhalf Elton Jantjies. It is amazing how each match Jantjies, just 22 years-old plays, comes with the pressure that if he doesn’t produce a world class performance his place is under threat. Sharks flyhalf Pat Lambi and Cheetahs flyhalf Johan Goosen don’t suffer similar scrutiny. The three represent South Africa’s Test match flyhalf options, especially with Morne Steyn’s confirmation of a move to Stade Francais. Jantjies deserves similar treatment to Lambie and Goosen.

I have written of the disservice done to Jantjies since the start of the competition and his 52 minutes against the Sharks was as good as what Lambie produced for the Sharks in a match in which there was nothing between the two teams and limited attacking opportunities. The difference is Lambie kicked four penalties and Jantjies wasn’t entrusted with the goalkicking.

Jantjies has a career Super Rugby strike rate of 80 percent and in 2011 produced a record goalkicking Currie Cup final performance, but his four misses in the season opener is seemingly will be held against him all season.

Gio Aplon has also come in for unwarranted criticism because he fumbled a slippery ball in what would have resulted in a probable try against the Sharks. Aplon has received little ball in the first two games, so just how he is in the firing line is beyond me. He has been no worse than Bryan Habana or a struggling and one-dimensional Stormers midfield.

The reality is a back division is only as good as the effort of the pack and the Stormers tight five, collectively, has been poor, which has resulted in the back row being equally ineffective. The knock on effect is that Nick Groom has had little protection at the base of the scrum or at ruck time. Groom’s service at scrumhalf has suffered because of this and this has put additional pressure on Jantjies and the midfield.

In the first two games there was minimal front foot ball for the Stormers halfbacks, so all the pressure should be on the pack to be strong at scrum, effective on their own ball in the lineout and more physical and stronger in the collisions.

The Stormers, in the two defeats, have physically been second and have lost the contact battle at the gain line. To beat the Chiefs this has to change. I believe it will and with the Stormers forwards finding their growl in the first home game of the season, so too will Jantjies find the form of 2012.

If the forwards again take a beating, so will Jantjies and every back outside of him.

205 Comments

Pages: [1] 2 3 4 5 » Show All

• 1.mark_keohane: Reply to this comment

Stormers grunt starts up front http://t.co/wgwkGegIkY via @sharethis Pack has to front if Groom & Jantjies r to influence winning result

• 2.Xkreni-WP: Reply to this comment

The difference between Jantjies and Lambie/Goosen is that he is a defensive liability.

• 3.Baylion: Reply to this comment

An interesting stat that, to a degree, bears out what you are saying about the pressure on Groom and Jantjies: In the two games so far they have attempted and made the most tackles of any Stormers backline player – Jantjies (10 from 14) and Groom (16 from 18) Only three players have tackled more that Groom – Duane (19 from 19), Kolisi (21 from 24) and Steenkamp (19 from 20).

• 4.Scorp1o: Reply to this comment

My Superbru Picks:

Crusaders by 5 – That worked out well for me!!!!
    Reds by 6 – Reds by 10, I’ll take it seeing as my GSP is it’s moer
    Highlanders by 19 – PLS!
    Brumbies by 4 – PLS!
    Chiefs by 13 – here my motivation – http://t.co/yUv1gJEffv
    Sharks by 32 – PLS!
    Blues by 11 – PLS!

If I can end the w/e on 6 from 7, I will be one happy camper!

• 5.hendrikp: Reply to this comment

Probably doesn’t help that Jantjies looks like he doesn’t give a toss every time he fecks up.

Stop questioning our intelligence Mark. It’s got nothing to do with Elton as a person. It’s a simple assessment of his skill-set and what he should be doing in the team he is in. There is always questions hanging over Lambie and his sub-standard tactical kicking game, as well as Goosen in pretty much all aspects at the moment.

If you’re trying to convince yourself Jantjies is on the same level as those two however, you’re in for a surprise.

Sooner we send him packing the better. Lions players are like a cancer. We were better off without their negativity.

• 6.Scorp1o: Reply to this comment

Jantjies is one of two things:

Either really good and just needs a little more time to adjust to a team like the Stormers; or

He was made to look good playing in a not so star-filled team like the Lions and now surrounded by super stars, his star doesn’t shine as bright.

Personally I think he is the dogs bollox and just needs a little more time to settle. 2 opening games away to the Bulls and Sharks not easy even for seasoned players.

• 7.Sheriff: Reply to this comment

It’s probably a first for me -but then I like to explore new areas/topics- but I agree with Mark.

No doubt it would have helped the Stormers’ cause if he landed those penalties but the Stormers right now does not look like a team with direction.

And who is the captain? Is Dries Bekker the wannabe skipper?

What is the game plan? When will Bryan Habana stop with his habitual overrunning of the ball? If he slows down just one yard he will score in every single game he plays.

But I agree – it’s not happening for the Stormers in the pack and that pressure transfers to the entire team. Give Elton front foot ball and he will ignite something more often than not…

• 8.hendrikp: Reply to this comment

@Scorp1o-5:

It’s the second one. He fitted the Lions well. They were hardly ever expected to win so he could try things and get away with it. If he didn’t get anything going it was the rest of the teams fault – and they used the severely weakened 2011 Currie Cup to show off his credentials.

The guy can’t lead a winning team at this level though. Destined to fail.

• 9.ruggacraze: Reply to this comment

Jantjies needs time to settle. I really hope that AC would have the guts to allow him to do so. Now if JDJ can be moved to inside centre, the Stormers attack would really be firing. Jaco Taute could then play 13. Unfortunately, JdV has become a but of a liability in this backline…

• 10.Te Rangatira: Reply to this comment

If Jantjies wants to be a top first five in world rugby he has to start putting up world class performances…no use having guys like Keo making excuses for him and coming up with rubbish that its the forwards fault for his lacklustre displays..

• 11.hendrikp: Reply to this comment

@Te Rangatira-10:

Saying he needs to start performing like one doesn’t solve the problem. He’s just not capable of sustained good performances at this level.

Especially not the type we’re after. Elton probably has slower acceleration then Weepu, so how can we expect him to be opportunistic with ball in hand. His kicking is erratic at the best of times & he is a lazy defender, much like Beauden Barrett.

You can’t train anybody to be world class. They need to tick certain boxes which Elton just doesn’t. The longer we stick with Elton, the longer the gap between the 2012 Currie Cup and our next trophy.

• 12.pompies2: Reply to this comment

@hendrikp-11: None of the flyhalfs in SA have the complete skillset you’re after. Elton is a better player than you give him credit for.

He’s shown his ball in hand ability. He’s not the worst defender. His kicking is NOT erratic, but he has been off form in the two games thus far. The stormers have had a few seasons with Peter Grant and nothing to show for this. Now you want Jantjies to walk on water. He will struggle to settle. He will make mistakes.

• 13.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

Stormers’ R10m risk to pay off?

Cape Town – The return on a R10m investment by the Western Province Rugby Union could become a massive talking point if the Stormers lose to the Chiefs at Newlands on Saturday, reports Die Burger.

Cape rugby bosses made a massive investment in the off-season with several high profile signings significantly bolstering the Stormers’ depth.

Flyhalf Elton Jantjies and injured fullback Jaco Taute will earn over R2m each before they head back to the Lions after the completion of the tournament.

for the rest:
    http://www.sport24.co.za/Rugby/Super15/Stormers-R10m-risk-to-pay-off-20130307

• 14.hendrikp: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-13:

R10m? For real?

What a waste. And in a few years they’ll probably be in financial turmoil with nothing to show for it.

• 15.Tacitus: Reply to this comment

Damn it Bakkies! I was about to post that.

R10m for effectively one S15 season. That’s R10m for an empty trophy cabinet because they sure as hell won’t manage to buy the title this season.

• 16.hendrikp: Reply to this comment

@pompies2-12:

He will struggle, you’re right. Last season we finished top of the table without him – despite not getting a single 4-try bonus point, this season we’re looking at an 0/3 start with him steering the ship, and even more unlikely to score 4 tries a game.

He needs to string a couple of really good games together to make me think otherwise. Until then I am convinced he shouldn’t be anywhere near the Stormers 10 jersey.

Then again I wouldn’t want to ruin more young talent coming through right now. That’s all our coaching staff seem to do well.

• 17.14261774: Reply to this comment

Jantjies might not be the holy grail of flyhalves, but has proved that he can be successful at S15 level. Nothing wrong with his defence, attack, kicking etc. Stormers must sort out their sh@t first, use some of that 10Mil to get King Carlos to coach Fleckie and his backline

• 18.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

So, what we have here are not the Stormers but rather the Lioners….

It seems to be all about the Lions signings – Jantjies, Taute, Cilliers , Rhodes… No longer about the Stormers anymore…

Sharkshit Mercenaries, you say… down in Cape Town it looks like they have the rent-a-team Lioners…

• 19.pompies2: Reply to this comment

@14261774-17: Cut fleckie. All he does is go on holiday to the ANZAC. Sure the stormers can afford Spencer, especially with Habana leaving this season.

• 20.hendrikp: Reply to this comment

@hendrikp-16:

Then again Elton Jantjies isn’t the only one Lions player to disappoint.

Jaco Taute cost a fortune, and had a poor first game before his injury. Paying him for what?

Pat Cilliers has been sh-ite. Probably the worst of the lot so far. I’d pick even Brok Harris ahead of him at this stage.

His best buddy Michael Rhodes is injured again – been that way for the past 4 seasons straight. Wonder sometimes how genuine some of these are as well, and they are both known for their k@k attitudes in both Durban & Jo’burg.

• 21.willievz: Reply to this comment

@hendrikp-20: Glad you are finally seeing the light re Taute.

Coetzee a much better fullback.

• 22.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@hendrikp-14:
    one can only hope they have some sort of financial/insurance instruments to protect from loss on investments, a hedge mechanism if you will….

@Tacitus-15:
    sorry boet, the report was too good to pass up on.

• 23.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

10 million for one single season is outrageous.

who would they have traded to offset these new signings?

• 24.willievz: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-23:

JCJVR and Coetzee could have been less than half that amount.

• 25.hendrikp: Reply to this comment

@willievz-24:

Nee dankie.

Joe Pietersen is better then Coetzee. We should’ve stuck to what we had.

And we don’t need JC who has already signed an overseas contract (and btw he had no interest in joining another SA franchise). Kitshoff will get better with time, he’s not half bad now.

• 26.pompies2: Reply to this comment

@hendrikp-25: How is Joe P better than Coetzee? If you wanted to see an ineffective counter-attacker, watch Joe P’s kick return against the Sharks last week. He’s got no clue.

• 27.Finfan: Reply to this comment

The problem with the Stormers team is not the pack of forwards. It is not the backline either.

The problem is a combination of both. And the replacements to a large degree too.

AC and Fleck contribute substantially to the problem too.

A massive fckup in other words.

• 28.pompies2: Reply to this comment

@hendrikp-25: If you stuck with what you got, you’ll get what you’ve always gotten. Fleckie and AC. Stormers don’t have the dynamics to win super rugby and that starts with the coaching structure.

• 29.brains_trust: Reply to this comment

WP should have paid to retain just these 2 homegrown talents from the U20 WC winning squad:

@ 10, Flyhalf; Handre Pollard, from Paarl Gim [now @ Bulls]
    @ 3, tighthead; Nicolaas (Maks) Van Dyk from Paarl Boys High [now @ Sharks]

These are our 2 most crucial positions @ WP and we let our 2 best players leave. IMO Van Dyk was one of the main reasons SA won the U20 WC. After the highly hyped Kebble got popped in the group stages, Van Dyk stepped up and anchored the Bok scrum.

• 30.pompies2: Reply to this comment

@Finfan-27: Agreed. The plan so much, but realise that you can’t plan for everything. And once something is unfamiliar in the game, the players don’t have the dynamic thinking and execution skills to make something happen. All this trickles down from AC. Dogmatic belief in their “structures” make them sitting ducks when faced with unfamiliar scenarios.

• 31.pompies2: Reply to this comment

@brains_trust-29: Pollard very limited. Take away his boot and you’re left with an ineffective rugby player.

• 32.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@willievz-24:
    Van Rensburg’s playing for euros now so would the Stormers have been able to compete salary wise?
    agreed on Coetzee, he may have been a better ‘moneyball’ type vaue buy.

how the hell did Taute acquire the reputation he has?

• 33.willievz: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-32: Forgot about JC’s Euro Trip.

Re Taute – fck knows.

• 34.pompies2: Reply to this comment

@willievz-33: it’s the old “prodigious schoolboy talent” trick they play. Hugh Bladen is a staunch advocate of this smoke blowing up a young players arse.

• 35.Angostura: Reply to this comment

@brains_trust-29: jeesh, that Kebble dude was poor, wasn’t he?

• 36.Te Rangatira: Reply to this comment

By buying the Lions players it effectively put behind Stormer player development in those positions back a year.
    But they got rid of the talent, from brains_ trust post….a wee bit of a shambles going on.

• 37.hendrikp: Reply to this comment

@pompies2-26:

Big time player. Currie Cup final is a great example. Saved us with a brilliant tackle.

I’m not saying he’s perfect – but I’m not desperate enough to want Coetzee.

@brains_trust-29:

To be fair, as far as I know the Sharks signed Maks van Dyk as a nobody loose-forward and turned him into a tighthead. Could have been told wrong?

And Handre Pollard left because he believes his personality is better suited to the Bulls. I don’t blame the Afrikaans boys for going there. Pretoria offers them the environment seek, and the money the Cheetahs can’t offer. Plus they’ve got a better record of nurturing talent then WP does, however poor it may be.

• 38.willievz: Reply to this comment

@hendrikp-37: “Pretoria offers them the environment seek”

You mean Hatfield offers the brandy and coke specials and poppies met kort rokkies they seek…

• 39.willievz: Reply to this comment

@brains_trust-29: I’d like to know who the WP talent scouts are.

Because they appear to be not so efficient at their primary duties.

• 40.hendrikp: Reply to this comment

My comments about the Sharks was understood as a dislike by some.

Not the case. Sharks are the best in the country at making use of the players at their disposal. They hardly ever let players fall by the wayside. It’s just a shame they have to buy import them all from elsewhere.

Can’t say the same for any of the other teams.

• 41.willievz: Reply to this comment

Pompies

What’s your view(s) on Jan Serfontein?

Haven’t seen much of him, but he does not appear to have a kicking game?

In fact, he appears to be a young Frans Steyn without the boot?

• 42.brains_trust: Reply to this comment

@pompies2-31:

RE: POLLARD, I totally disagree . at the moment he’s 97kg and 190m tall, so when he hits the line it stays hit. He can kick the ball miles, he has a good feeling for the game and his distribution is very good, another major strong point is his defence + he is a great leader.

• 43.hendrikp: Reply to this comment

@willievz-38:

I meant the team culture… but that too.

Myself I prefer the girls from Bloem.

• 44.Stawm: Reply to this comment

Nonsense keo.
    Jantjies is more error prone that Lambie and Goosen. As simple as that. Nothing sinister here.
    Lambie and Goosen simply dont make the same number of critical errors that Jantjies does per match.

Current bok 10 pecking order:

Lambie
    Goosen
    M Steyn
    xxxx
    xxxx
    xxxx
    Jantjies.

He needs to lift his game. The forwards had nothing to do with his missed penalty kicks, both poles and touch.

• 45.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@hendrikp-37: you think non-afrikaans youngsters also have to conform at the bulle?

• 46.hendrikp: Reply to this comment

@brains_trust-42:

Honiball with a boot.

Let’s just hope he can keep his head straight. Don’t need another Derick Hougaard/Gaffie du Toit.

• 47.willievz: Reply to this comment

@hendrikp-43: Same here!

• 48.hendrikp: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-45:

No I don’t think so, but face facts, Pretoria at this stage is still very Afrikaans – more so then any of the other major cities anyway.

• 49.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@pompies2-31:
    to say that about an 18 year old boy is just silly.

• 50.pompies2: Reply to this comment

@hendrikp-37: Also lost you a semi-with a missed conversion before. Average Joe is very average.

Pages: [1] 2 3 4 5 » Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.