Stormers to scalp Chiefs
7 Mar 2013
MARK KEOHANE, in his weekend Super Rugby picks on KeoTV, has the Stormers to finally get a win.
23 May 2013
Willie le Roux and Lappies Labuschagne have finally been rewarded with spots in the Springbok training group. They are two of eight that are first timers in Springbok training groups this year. The others are Gio Aplon, Trevor Nyakane, JJ Engelbrecht, Lionel Mapoe, Wiehahn Herbst and Demetri Catrakilis. The group of players will assemble in Durban for the second training camp of the year, before the final squad for the Incoming Tours is selected. Players not considered due to injury include: JP Pietersen, Jaco Taute, Frans Steyn, Johan Goosen, Duane Vermeulen, Pat Cilliers and Frans Malherbe. ... Read Article23 May 2013
Keo.co.za brings you all the weekend’s Super Rugby teams. Chiefs v Crusaders (Friday - 09h35 SA time) Chiefs: 15 Robbie Robinson, 14 Patrick Osborne, 13 Charlie Ngatai, 12 Bundee Aki, 11 Asaeli Tikoirotuma, 10 Aaron Cruden, 9 Tawera Kerr-Barlow, 8 Matt Vant Leven, 7 Tanerau Latimer, 6 Liam Messam, 5 Brodie Retallick, 4 Craig Clarke (c), 3 Ben Tameifuna, 2 Hika Elliot, 1 Pauliasi Manu. Substitutes: 16 Mahonri Schwalger, 17 Toby Smith, 18 Michael Fitzgerald, 19 Sam Cane, 20 Augustine Pulu, 21 Dan Waenga, 22 Lelia Masaga. Crusaders: 15 Israel Dagg, 14 Tom Marshall, 13 Ryan Crotty, 12 ... Read Article25 Apr 2013
Jan Serfontein, the player of last year's under 20 World Championship, will head the baby Boks defence in France. Serfontein and Kings wing Sergeal Petersen are two Super Rugby regulars to make Dawie Theron's squad and brilliant flyhalf Handre Pollard is another to play in a second successive tournament. Theron's squad lost a three-match series 2-1 to Argentina in Argentina. Serfontein, Petersen and Western Province's Cheslin Kolbe did not play in those matches. Bulls loose forward Ruan Steenkamp is captain. Serfontein and Pollard are the only two squad members from last year's ... Read Article14 May 2013
All Blacks coach Steve Hansen has selected several uncapped Blues players in his training group. Hansen confirmed 38 names and this included many from the potent Blues backline. The Highlanders, despite only winning one match in this year's Super Rugby competition, have six players in the group. An obvious area of weakness is at hooker where Hansen has selected veterans Andrew Hore and Keven Mealamu and Canes Dane Coles. Options are limited and it certainly is a concern for New Zealanders. No overseas-based players were considered, as it is NZRFU policy. Among the uncapped players ... Read Article15 May 2013
French coach Philipe Saint-Andre has included three South African-born players for the three-Test series against the All Blacks in New Zealand. Racing Metro flank Bernard le Roux and Clermont prop Daniel Kotze join Antonie Claassen in a squad that includes eight new caps. Fijian-born Clermont winger Noa Nakaitaci is among the newcomers. Saint-Andre has rested flyhalf Francois Trinh-Duc, but included Toulon's Frederic Michalak. France play world champions New Zealand on June 8, 15 and 22 in Auckland, Hamilton and New Plymouth respectively. French super club Toulon's foreign dominance ... Read Article5 Mar 2013
MARK KEOHANE writes the Varsity Cup in its first year rocked. Since then it's just another professional tournament. The Varsity Cup may have the innovation of doing a few things differently, but what was supposed to be a celebration of student rugby somehow just seems like another tournament, in which the traditional power houses remain the traditional strengths in the tournament. Much has been made of the Port Elizabeth-based Nelson Mandela University display this season and equally there has been bewilderment at how poor Shimlas have been. But it seems the old one two of Stellenbosch University ... Read Article12 May 2013
Marcus Watson scored in extra time to beat the Blitzbokke in the London World Series Sevens Cup quarter-finals. The teams were level 14-all at full time. Watson's try came four minutes into extra time. England won 19-14. England had the chance to win the match with the last play of the game in normal time. They were awarded a penalty and opted to take a drop kick for goal. It missed. Watson then rounded off a move after England had retained possession for two minutes. South Africa suffered further embarrassment when they lost for a second time in the tournament to the USA and were eliminated ... Read Article8 Jan 2013
Limpopo will play in the Vodacom Cup as a separate side for the first time this year. The region, which is a sub-union of the Blue Bulls Rugby Union, has been granted a place in the tournament in its own rights to help foster rugby in South Africa’s far north. They join the 14 provincial unions as well as the returning Pampas XV from Argentina in the tournament, which kicks off in the second week of March and concludes in mid-May. The Polokwane-based Limpopo team will play in the North Section of the competition, along with the Blue Bulls, Golden Lions, Griffons, Leopards, Pumas, Valke ... Read Article7 Mar 2013
MARK KEOHANE, in his weekend Super Rugby picks on KeoTV, has the Stormers to finally get a win.
keo has written 1899 articles.
23 May 2013
22 May 2013
Keo.co.za brings you all the weekend’s Super Rugby teams. Read More
Willie le Roux and Lappies Labuschagne have finally been rewarded with spots in the Springbok training group. They are two of eight that are first timers in Springbok training groups this year. Read More

157 Comments
Pages: « 1 2 [3] 4 » Show All
8 Mar 2013, 01:09 am
“He don’t lie, he don’t lie, he don’t lie, COCAINE!”
8 Mar 2013, 01:44 am
Chiefs by quite a few.
8 Mar 2013, 03:45 am
Not sure about this game if Stormers can do what Cheetahs did for 80 min last week it could be close
8 Mar 2013, 03:46 am
Well as long as they scored more points that the Cheetahs did in their first half
8 Mar 2013, 03:47 am
@stormer in a teacup-68:
I actually think the Kings are going to do ok this year….but them and the Cheetahs will be targeted as gettable 4-5 pointers by the top sides… so perhaps 8-10 points to those Nz teams who are lucky to play them both and 16-20 points for the top Sa teams… Seems like a 8- 10 point handicap to me….if it turns out the way most suspect…
8 Mar 2013, 04:15 am
@skopdiekan-100: @skopdiekan: 100
” In other words money and security
plus guaranteed game time is what driving
young players like Pollard and Du Plessis
away. The purchase of Jantjies was a poke
in the eye for these younger stars on the
horizon.”
skop get off it man, you are on this jantjies crusade & are blindly just chucking everything to justify it or maybe it’s your own ego you’re stroking.
WP sign young flyhalfs
2012-08-18 14:15
Cape Town – Western Province have
signed two SA Schools flyhalves, Pieter
Jordaan (Free State) and Ryno Eksteen
(Blue Bulls), with the duo set to further
their rugby careers in Cape Town from
the start of 2013.
Jordaan, the 2011 SA Schools flyhalf,
and Eksteen, a current member of the
SA Schools set-up, were both in action
at the 2012 Craven Week tournament in
Port Elizabeth and great things are
expected of them in the future.
Paarl Boys’ High School scholar, Jean-
Luc du Plessis, has opted to further his
career in Durban with the Sharks -
despite being offered a place at the WP
Rugby Institute next year, as well as a
WP contract – but the arrival of Jordaan
and Eksteen, and the presence of Tim
Swiel and Dillyn Leyds, means there will
be plenty of talent competing for the
coveted No 10 jersey in Cape Town in
years to come.
now jean-luc signed for the Sharks in August!
Sharks, Stormers in line for
Jantjies
3 Oct 2012
Elton Jantjies is set to join the Sharks or
Stormers on loan for the 2013 Super Rugby
campaign, while WP and the Sharks have
already snapped up other Lions’ stars.
Media reports on Tuesday suggested that
the Stormers had already agreed terms to
sign Jantjies on a loan deal. However, Lions
CEO Ruben Moggee confirmed to this site
that nothing has been finalised yet.
Confirmation will only be made after the
Springboks’ Rugby Championship Test
against the All Blacks in Soweto.
‘Elton has had several chats with different
franchises, from my understanding, he’s had chats with the Stormers, Sharks, Bulls and Kings.’
in October Elton had not been signed yet with the Stormers, Pollard was LONG GONE having signed before Craven week.
get off Elton Jantjies.
8 Mar 2013, 04:20 am
@CoachPete-103: to be honest the Chiefs were terrible in the 1st half of that match but managed to still be ahead at halftime and then shut the cheetahs out for the rest of the game!
8 Mar 2013, 04:28 am
Skop! Pollard gone in JULY!!! jantjies deal not even a thought, Lions not even confirmed as relegated team!
Pollard signs with Bulls
02 Jul 2012 17:04:36
In one of the worst kept secrets in SA
Rugby, the Blue Bulls Company have
confirmed they have signed SA under-20
flyhalf Handre Pollard to join the Vodacom
Blue Bulls in 2012.
Pollard, who is still at school, starred in the
Baby Boks recent IRB Junior World
Championship victory over the All Blacks to
take the crown and has been the subject of
much unhappiness in Western Province
ranks about his move.
There has been much work behind the
scenes to try and get Pollard to stay, but
the young star decided to opt for Pretoria
after generous counter-offers by Western
Province and the Sharks.
8 Mar 2013, 06:45 am
@Te Rangatira-105: In the past, the Lions would gift 10 points to the SA teams (8 in the case of the Stormers), so nothing’s really changed with the introduction of the Kings.
8 Mar 2013, 07:04 am
@nortierd-10:
geluk met jou span, Nortie
op die basis van die Bulle se geskiedenis in Nieu-Seeland twyfel ek hulle sal genoeg kan doen om te wen.
mens kan maar net hoop.
8 Mar 2013, 07:43 am
@zub-109:
I can’t see the Kings being as generous as the Lions, surely…Go Kings
8 Mar 2013, 07:55 am
My Superbru picks
Canes by 9
Rebels by 12
Highlanders by 20
Brumbies by 6
Chiefs by 15
Sharks by 20
Blues by 12
8 Mar 2013, 07:56 am
@Transformation-106: @ 4:15 am you completed your google search – hell transformer you spent all night searching just to correct the TIKkop skopshit.
Anyway the doos will probably not understand what was posted there and continue on his senile way.
8 Mar 2013, 08:00 am
@zub-109: I recall the Lions denying brokebacks semifinal and playoff places a few times – guppies can relate too to that.
What are you going to do when the queens does a force on your kak team.
8 Mar 2013, 08:23 am
@Fern-112:
Houston heres ny picks
Crusaders by10
Tahs by 10
Highlanders by 17
Brumbies by 10
Chiefs by 17
Sharks by 13
Blues by 9
8 Mar 2013, 08:30 am
@Te Rangatira-115:
hi TR, thanks i’ll give it a go.
betting may have closed for the first game but i should get the rest in.
8 Mar 2013, 08:32 am
@RL: hey i was getting ready for gym
then i sommer got sick of all the unsubstantiated vitriol.
8 Mar 2013, 09:25 am
@Transformation-106: @Transformation-108: Throw all the facts you want at this ripening man. The hatred towards Jantjies is making him blind. He will not even respond to your posts. If he does, he will probably give Tobie or Rupert the blame. Also please don’t target his “originals” like the Grants, Elsadts and the Bekkers. Every time he posts about Jantjies, he’s making his name tottie. No wonder he gets the ban hammer every 2-3 weeks.
8 Mar 2013, 09:29 am
My Superbru Picks:
Crusaders by 5
Reds by 6
Highlanders b y 19
Brumbies by 4
Chiefs by 13 – here my motivation – http://t.co/yUv1gJEffv
Sharks by 32
Blues by 11
So far Crusaders looking K4K! Canes definitely looking more convincing on attack.
8 Mar 2013, 09:44 am
Eisho.
Skop really on a mission………….. what a shame.
8 Mar 2013, 09:55 am
‘Let’s hope they once again prove the haters wrong (which doesn’t necessarily mean winning).’
If you loose its backs up the “haters”. What a looser commment from a supporter of a token, underserving team! Its the begining of the end for you re politically appointed ANC team! Week after week, defeat after defeat you will see your stadium numbers falling, and we will hear less and less from the dillusional queen supporters. GO SHARKS!
8 Mar 2013, 10:04 am
1st the deputy President of the ruling and now I convey to you the same message from the President of the ruling and indeed the Republic of South Africa:
Help rebuild SA’s moral fibre – Zuma
2013-03-07 14:40
Cape Town – President Jacob Zuma called on all South Africans on Thursday to help rebuild the country’s moral fibre.
Opening the National House of Traditional Leaders at Parliament, Zuma said success in the fight against crime and violence generally depended on all South Africans, and not only on the police.
“We have identified the regeneration of the moral fibre and the strengthening of families and communities as a priority,” he said.
8 Mar 2013, 12:08 pm
Champions versus Chumpions…
8 Mar 2013, 12:33 pm
@monkeyballs-121: lol monkeyballs…suurgat much?
8 Mar 2013, 12:36 pm
@TheTackler-123:
Roll away tackler!!
8 Mar 2013, 12:42 pm
@monkeyballs-121:
You could have at least have the decency to address me when your’e talking about me.
Bleddie keyboard coward!
ps. What did the Sharks do to deserve such a.s.s. hole supporters?
8 Mar 2013, 12:47 pm
So I saw Elton Jantjies, Juan de Jongh and some other big bloke with dreadlocks at my local gym yesterday.
Must say Elton isn’t a tall guy, but he sure is a solid unit. Shouldn’t have any problems tackling big guys in the flyhalf channel.
Later on, while driving home, they came whizzing past me in Elton’s sponsored Polo, hip-hop blaring. Eish, the exuberance of youth….
Does anyone know who the big guy with the dreadlocks is?
8 Mar 2013, 13:25 pm
@Sheriff-122: You’re the Joker’s Messenger?
8 Mar 2013, 13:26 pm
@TooMuchRugby-126: Vicarious Rugby
8 Mar 2013, 13:37 pm
@Angostura-128:
Our R200m and 4 (or is it 5 or 6 or 7) wife’s President doing his thang.
A case of: don’t do as I do, do as I say …
8 Mar 2013, 13:38 pm
The numbers game:
Average Tries scored in S15 -Round 2
SA 2.8, Auz 6.4 NZ 6
Boring Bulls 5 and Cheetsers 3, are the only SA teams above the SA average.
With
Free running Strompies 2, Attacking Sharks 2 , New Kings 2 all below the average.
8 Mar 2013, 13:38 pm
@TooMuchRugby-127: Dr Victor
8 Mar 2013, 14:08 pm
WP team too white – Wakefield
2011-08-01 07:44 570 comments
The vice-president of the WPRU Thelo Wakefield says too few players of colour are included in the WP Currie Cup side.
BOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOM ……………. FAIL!!!!!!!!!!!!
VAT SO KATVIS !!!!
8 Mar 2013, 14:10 pm
@capebull-131: Round TWO, you say? Something is wrong with your data, bru:
e.g. take one game in Round 2, Bulls vs Stormers, the only game the Bulls (25) & Stormers (17) had played at that stage:
Bulls scored 1 try & Stormers 2 tries
So how do you get to an average of 5 tries for the Bulls in that round?
8 Mar 2013, 14:14 pm
@Angostura-134: Keep your pants dry , it should read after two games, some played 3 games……
8 Mar 2013, 14:18 pm
@capebull: you are back with your skewed stats?
round 2: morne kicked most of your points dude bwahahahaha
how can you count the Kings in round 3 when we had a bye?
cluelesness amongst us…
8 Mar 2013, 14:24 pm
@capebull-135: well, in future when making claims, please to say what you mean
So, the Bulls had a bye in round 1, scored 1 try in round 2, & therefore must’ve scored 9 (nine???) tries in round 3 to have an average of 5 tries per game played or 5 tries per round played, you say?
8 Mar 2013, 14:27 pm
@Angostura-137: Ag, nouja toe!
‘n Sprokieswêreld …
8 Mar 2013, 14:33 pm
@capebull: um, maybe you need to get your FACTS straight before you cream yourself about ur bulls…
8 Mar 2013, 15:02 pm
@ 127 toomuchrugga
Fudge Mabete
8 Mar 2013, 15:22 pm
@Transformation-139: Transie , its friday relax. Must say Kings played well , big test tomorrow , if they show same guts as last game its OK.
At least my post brought the guys back to rugby , the posts were going towards race and politics again, so mission accomplished,
8 Mar 2013, 15:29 pm
@Transformation-136: @Angostura-138: I did not say the average of the Bulls are 5 tries so far, it says the SA average for the games played so far in SA is 2.8 ties. So the Bulls scored 5 tries so far , that is above the 2.8 average.
it might be a bit complicated for some , I understand
So this means so far in SA the total number of tries scored is 14
The Bulls scored 5, Cheetas 3, Sharks 2, Strompies 2, Kings 2
8 Mar 2013, 15:30 pm
@Transformation-139: Read it and cream
8 Mar 2013, 15:55 pm
@capebull-142: you are incredulous…
8 Mar 2013, 16:06 pm
@Rage-140:
Really??
8 Mar 2013, 16:12 pm
@capebull-142:
Stormies 2
Bulls 2 plus one TMO assist plus 2 extra 2 assisted by Japhta = 5
Still 3 more than us, so well done
8 Mar 2013, 17:09 pm
@capebull-132: @Rage-140:
Hilarious
But Dr. Victor don’t have dreads anymore.
8 Mar 2013, 17:16 pm
Shame Keo the split from Highbury Safika is really starting to show now. Is this in your office at home using your smart phone?
8 Mar 2013, 17:33 pm
@.140 dawn
Nope!
8 Mar 2013, 20:30 pm
Never interested in Superbru.
Was tempted this season though, after been asked by ufo to join the Hore group.
But decided against it ’cause it goes against all my principles.
It’s like selling your soul to the devil. Will never bet against my own team just for the sake of gaining points.
Fark that.
Pages: « 1 2 [3] 4 » Show All