The rise of Reinach

RICHARD FERGUSON thinks Cobus Reinach is in line to be the next Springbok scrumhalf.

Cobus Reinach has gone from Currie Cup young gun to Super Rugby first choice in a matter of months, and it is only a matter of time before he pulls on the Green and Gold jersey.

Reinach burst onto the scene during the 2012 Currie Cup season, displacing Charl McLeod as first choice scrumhalf. This has continued into the Super Rugby season, as McLeod is yet to get onto the field in 2013.

Comparing them, Reinach is the faster of the two, getting his speed from his dad Jaco Reinach, who was a Springbok winger in the 80’s. His speed is not his only attribute as he also makes fewer mistakes and seems a lot more confident in his decision making. Reinach also has the better boot of the two and can take pressure off his pivot.

Reinach attended Grey Bloem before making the move to the Sharks Academy, where he came through the Vodacom Cup and Currie Cup age group system. He was backup to both Charl McLeod and Fred Michalak during the last Super Rugby season, but with the Frenchman returning home, Reinach got his chance in the Currie Cup, and took it with both hands.

Coach John Plumtree has backed the youngster by giving him plenty of game time and he has rewarded his coach’s faith by putting in one good performance after another. Should Reinach continue in the same vein of form, it is only a matter of time before he cracks the nod at test level.

Looking at the group of scrumhalves in South Africa, a dour selection for a position that has delivered so many greats, he could quickly become a top contender for the jersey. Current holder of the jersey, Ruan Pienaar, has been solid without being spectacular while Francois Hougaard has failed to show his replacement impact as a starter.

Between Reinach and Nic Groom, the Stormers’ young scrumhalf, the future of Springbok scrumhalves looks bright.

440 Comments

Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 [9] Show All

• 401.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@hendrikp-400:
    yes, you’re probably right, which is a shame really.
    i suppose in the bigger scheme of things this is just natures way and happens everywhere in the world at various times. in a historical context its just how evolution works and comes to a bit luck or who knows what.

• 402.hendrikp: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-399:

Dis ook waar.

Eintlik geniet ek om ‘n bietjie te debat moet iemand wat probeer terug argumenteer. Sal lekkerder gewees het as hy goeie punte kon maak :lol:

• 403.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-401:

and comes to a bit luck or who knows what. = and comes down to a bit of luck or who knows what.

• 404.hendrikp: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-403:

Luck and determination I’d say. Dag wat ‘n minderheid op daai vlak die meerderheid hul lewe laat bepaal is dit verby.

• 405.Fern: Reply to this comment

I love how Poops tries to gain the moral high ground by bring up my fake death everytime.
    Pops if it works for you,good on you.
    Facts are facts,you ran off to OZ because you say the racist South Africans fecked up NZ.
    When you found out your mom was terminally ill you should have gone back.
    I think a lot of your anger and bitterness stems from guilt for not going home and spending time with her.
    Before your mom passed on you used her illness to garner sympathy.
    As for me bending the pipe in some keewee wahine,well what do you expect?
    I was young,single and on a overseas holiday.
    Your fascination with SA is interesting,not all of us commited crimes against humanity.
    You should try and visit SA and see for yourself,I am sure a lot of bloggers here will house you and show you around.
    The Republic of Chunt du Fernly will be a no go zone though,I am putting up a sign especially for people like you,it reads:
    “Ko Chunt du Fernly tenei ra”[sic]
    Fortuanatly not all kiwis are like you,and not all South Africans are like me.

• 406.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

Why did you fake your own death Fernly, for kicks?

• 407.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@hendrikp-402:
    ek stem saam.
    hy’s n lekker ou om saam te gesels met sommige dae en n doos ander tye.
    hy gee die indruk van n mens met ernstige psigologiese probleme.

sodra die medikasie op is weet jy net dit enige minuut ‘go make the man some phucking eggs’ tyd gaan wees. :lol:

• 408.the curse: Reply to this comment

@Fern-405: your assumptions re my mother are way off base..

and I dont like the way you always bring up my mother to try and gain the high ground… you seem to think it hilarious dont you? but fine, she has more strength then you, HG or whatever can try to ascertain by mocking her death..

I jyst know for fact that neither of the 3 of you would ever say anything about her to my face, you may do, you may poesklap me when I come at you, but I’ll keep fcking coming, of that you can be certain..

as for visiting SA or your dam, no thanks… I value life to dearly to see how it is treated in your country,, how cheap it is …that doesnt appeal to me at all..

I dont think I could fathom visiting townships and seeing how other Human beings are forced to live.. especially in a country that is so rich resource wise..

• 409.hendrikp: Reply to this comment

@Fern-405:

He’s not interested in knowing. He’s been conditioned into believing if you’re a white from South Africa, you must be wanting to suppress. That’s why he calls everyone ‘stupid bloody saffas’ and the Afrikaners on here ‘dutchmen’. Racism runs through his veins.

The way they treat SOME of the immigrants in this country though I’m not surprised. You get chinese communities voicing their concerns and threatening retribution against them all the time.

• 410.hendrikp: Reply to this comment

@the curse-408:

Listen poep I’ve got no intention of fighting you. I’m more civilized then that. Not how I deal with issues.

Moet my nie ‘n ******** noem nie though, dan sal ek jou hard moer.

• 411.hendrikp: Reply to this comment

@hendrikp-410:

******** = dutch-men.

• 412.the curse: Reply to this comment

@hendrikp-409: no Im not, once my mothers death was seen as a great big slice of merriment and mirth, my attitude towards saffas was set in stone..

now I’ll continually call you fckers du.tchboys, will continually mention how fcken barbaric your country is, how cheap life is to all saffas..

just read the worlds news sites recently, the mozambique drag car episode has the world talking about your country

Im not the only one who thinks this way, many people around the world do too..

• 413.Te Rangatira: Reply to this comment

@hendrikp-357:
    Calling Kiwi soldiers soft for getting mowed down in the theatre of war is a stupid comment….A bit like me calling a person soft for being smacked over by a Cambodian…hang on that’s the truth….

• 414.hendrikp: Reply to this comment

@the curse-412:

So next time there is a farm attack in South Africa, we are free to use the ‘k’ word as much as we want, which you also used openly when you first started posting on here also?

No excuse for your behavior poep. I apologize on behalf of South Africans for those who may have spoken about your mother. I was not one of those (or aware of it). But to think you can use that as an excuse to now be a racist? That’s why you should leave your personal **** when you log onto a blog with people you don’t know.

• 415.hendrikp: Reply to this comment

@Te Rangatira-413:

I didn’t call Kiwi soldiers soft, as I later remarked. It was taken out of context.

I called the NZ psyche ‘soft’.

If that’s the way you took it though, I apologize. I’m not above saying I’m wrong.

• 416.Te Rangatira: Reply to this comment

@hendrikp-415:
    That’s good of you to apologize…and I will leave it at that.
    I hope you get to know the real Nz, Hendrikp, most of us are ok…

• 417.hendrikp: Reply to this comment

@Te Rangatira-416:

I know most of you are okay. I actually love New Zealand. Has it’s issues and fact that I’m a strict conservative (as opposed to NZ being very liberal) makes it tough. I mean I miss South Africa but in a funny way poep is right, I can’t complain.

Doesn’t mean I won’t stick it to him though. :lol:

• 418.the curse: Reply to this comment

@hendrikp-414: Used the K word ONCE, and stopped after being told about how offensive it was,,, havent used it since

funny you guys all remember it liek it was yesterday… Ive seen many poor comments here about Maori etc and not one of you condemn the person who said it, yet when I say something abput Saffas uddenly you all find a conscience..

its this hypocrisy that is pathetic..

a saffa can say anything about kiwis and we’re supposed to ignore it, yet when I say things about saffas you all get precious

well, two way fcken street..

• 419.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@hendrikp-414:
    ***** him, Hendrik
    give him nothing

• 420.the curse: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-419: up yours kont..

youre pone of the worst fckers on here, continually bad mouthing kiwis and NZ..

seems you dont like it back do you you pretoria poofter..

fck you!

• 421.grant10: Reply to this comment

A few Bulle okes here better hope Bulls put up a show Sunday morning….

I reckon Poppa gonna up the ante a whole lot more if bullies get a snottie…

• 422.hendrikp: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-419:

It’s tough, but I’m not one to sink to that level. I’d be through the roof if someone were to say things about my mother. Dearest person in the world to me – girlfriend comes a distant second :lol:

On the other hand him saying my ancestors should have been slaughtered probably would’ve made it fair game.

@the curse-418:

Listen poep all I hear is excuses. You have a very skewed sense of right and wrong. People would also be a lot more accommodating if you didn’t use terms such as ‘dutchboy’.

Maybe you should go see somebody. Deal with your issues hey. Don’t let them eat you up inside. End of the day it’s just a blog.

• 423.grant10: Reply to this comment

All I can say is thank the merciuful angels Poppa and bakkies dont work for the United Nations….

Ai tog the Planet would be bombing the s hit out of each other

• 424.Fern: Reply to this comment

Poppa I apoligise unconditionally for any posts that I made that offended you and will do my best to refrain from doing so in the future.I will not make any more disparaging remarks about NZ,it’s people,history or current affairs.
    I will also not adress any posts directly or indirectly at you.
    All of the best for your current and future endeveours
    Chunt du Fernly.

• 425.Te Rangatira: Reply to this comment

@hendrikp-417:
    I too find it hard with some of the things happening in our society with regards to some liberal ways of thinking.

• 426.hendrikp: Reply to this comment

@Fern-424:

Stop trolling :lol:

• 427.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@the curse-420:
    no, fok you

if you stopped cheating the way you do i would have less mouthing to do.

• 428.Fern: Reply to this comment

@HendrikP
    I am being sincere.

• 429.hendrikp: Reply to this comment

@Te Rangatira-425:

“Like”.

• 430.Fern: Reply to this comment

Hendrik I suppose the way I keep my promises in the future regarding the nature of my posts will be the test of my sincerety.

• 431.hendrikp: Reply to this comment

@Fern-428:

I know. Good of you to be able to just leave it.

Me on the other hand… I won’t give up hope on making Poepspuit realize his skewed ways. He’s p1553d me off too much now.

• 432.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@grant10-421:
    Bulls are not good travelers, Grant
    i dont expect them to win but do hope they give a good account of themselves.

• 433.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@grant10-423:

• 434.charo: Reply to this comment

heeniep and skoppie,

don’t know if you blokes realise it…

but the way you both have this hatred for sharks and kzn rugby depth….versus the might of western province/stormers….

is a sad indictment on the management of your own union….

not the sharks union management.

don’t moan to us – complain to the suits that are not performing in cpt.

brains over brawn i say.

• 435.hendrikp: Reply to this comment

@charo-434:

Fair call. I concede the brains (which funnily enough includes Straueli) have got one over us at the moment.

That being said, don’t tell me the Sharks produce their fair amount of schoolboy talent within its borders. That’s just a blatant lie. They’d be useless if everyone stuck to where they went to school.

• 436.goodstuff: Reply to this comment

Based on what our general game plan requires of a SH; then we don’t have any promosing players except Pienaar.

If we start allowing the FH to make the calls than I would say yes, the SH look good.

But none of the SH’s playing in SA can dictate the flow of attack.

• 437.Atreides: Reply to this comment

@the curse-412: Yes, everyone on here thought it was hilarious and evrybody mocked you about it and not one single saffa offered their condolences

Get off it, you just want an excuse to blindly paint all saffas with the same brush so you can indulge your bigoted tendencies. You lack the slightest shred of self-awareness & your hypocrisy knows no limits.

Funny how, without fail, this place descends into the gutter everytime you show up. But I guess everyone else in the band is marching out of tune, right?

Oh and some advice, as you clearly have the emotional intelligence of a velociraptor…if someone blindly insults your heritage, it says a lot more about them than you, and if you keep feeding a troll and it will grow. Just look at you.

• 438.shooter: Reply to this comment

@grant10-421: oh no! its ……….the purse!
    and what a purse he is.

• 439.Spiesisworthless1: Reply to this comment

Hougaard would have been the perfect scrumhalf going forward under a modern game-plan. We’ll probably never see him combine with Goosen in Springbok colors thanks to Heinekens backward thinking. Bok rugby is stuffed with this barbarian running the show.

• 440.@whistle@blower@: Reply to this comment

@the curse-104:

I have really enjoyed reading the cooments up to this point. Comparisons, state of young players, combinations solutions, coaching solutions. Contributions from guys supporting different teams, but with an oerall view.

Then enters THE CURSE …….. and drain pipe contributions starting ……

Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 [9] Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.