Clinical Cheetahs hammer Highlanders
9 Mar 2013
Sarel Pretorius scored twice and Johan Goosen kicked 21 points in a stunning Cheetahs triumph in Invercargill.
The Cheetahs beat the Highlanders 36-19 after leading 30-7 at half time.
Loose forward Lappies Labuschagne’s star shone the brightest on a night in which every one of the visitors had a glow about their performance. Labuschagne was immense on defence, forceful on attack and dominant in everything he did.
The try count was shared at three each but it is misleading in terms of a contest in which the Cheetahs gave a lesson to the hosts in how the game is meant to be played.
The Highlanders were guilty of playing too laterally but that was a consequence of being manhandled in the collisions whenever one of their players tried the direct route.
This looked like men against boys and the Cheetahs seemed to know it. Goosen played the game in the right areas, kicked his penalties and was true to any counter attacking opportunity.
There was nothing fortunate about the Cheetahs two intercept tries. They were a result of brutal defence and this defence was turned into attack by way of intercepts and turnovers. The Highlanders attack made errors because of the pressure of the defence.
The turnaround was amazing, given the Cheetahs were demolished 45-3 in Hamilton a week ago, but the Highlanders are not in the same class of the Chiefs. The hosts’ All Blacks looked old and lethargic and the pack simply got punished for being physically inferior.
Highlanders winger Kade Poki got a hattrick but it had no impact on the result because the Cheetahs were always two scores ahead whenever he scored.
Springbok flanker Heinrich Brussouw completed his comeback to Super Rugby with an effective 30 minute cameo, in which he won turnovers and tormented the home team at the breakdown area.
By Richard Ferguson

294 Comments
Pages: [1] 2 3 4 5 6 » Show All
9 Mar 2013, 07:32 am
My heart says Cheetah Dragons,my superbru says Highlanders.
9 Mar 2013, 07:47 am
The valuebet for the week is Cheetahs +14.5 so lets hope
9 Mar 2013, 07:51 am
Poor value or de not, winning bankers for this round surely are the Highlanders & the Sharks.
9 Mar 2013, 07:53 am
Sure to win yes, but maybe be not as far as expected.
The Kings might get thrashed though…
9 Mar 2013, 07:58 am
If Cheetahs can actually put a full 80 minute performance together, then they can win it….otherwise they’ll go down..
9 Mar 2013, 08:00 am
@Fern-1:
Fernly…whats your name on Superbru?
9 Mar 2013, 08:08 am
@Te Rangatira-6:
FERN
underneath it says
G X
search for both
9 Mar 2013, 08:10 am
@Fern-7:
Why did you go for the Hurricanes?
9 Mar 2013, 08:16 am
@Te Rangatira-8:
They have got a lot of potential and this may well be their year.
9 Mar 2013, 08:20 am
Morning all
What is going on with the Saders?
The Hurricanes seem to be my bogey side, picked them twice, they dropped me twice.
Yesterday I went against them, they go and win.
TR take note, I was planning on gunning for you, but now it’s more difficult
9 Mar 2013, 08:20 am
@Fern-9:
Hmmm. I thought I was going to get a new insight into the Hurricanes
9 Mar 2013, 08:23 am
@Te Rangatira-11:
Hurricanes start to fire too late in the tournament but this year seems diff.
9 Mar 2013, 08:24 am
@nortierd-10:
Hi Nortie…. The Crusaders without the Great man are not winners…The Hurricanes really needed that win…
9 Mar 2013, 08:25 am
Eish … Cheetah’s defence, especially that of Le Roux & Sadie …
9 Mar 2013, 08:26 am
Nortier is a bent brokeback butterfly stormers supporter who is used to losing.
I wonders how much he lost in Sun City at the pokies.
9 Mar 2013, 08:27 am
@Te Rangatira-13:
We were so close, then when that intercept came I threw the DSTV Drifta in my drawer, stormed out of my office and thought about joining the navy the way I was swearing at that stage.
@Fern-12:
They may get on a roll and cause some damage on the log….they’ve already done the damage to my Bru
@Fern-15:
At least we will be getting 4 points next week
9 Mar 2013, 08:31 am
@nortierd-16:
haha… I was happy for the Canes…even though they stuffed me up twice…Can just see you in your cop uniform singing the Village People classic…
9 Mar 2013, 08:33 am
@Te Rangatira-19:

Fern will think I am the cop in the Village People, we are all brokebacks according to him
9 Mar 2013, 08:33 am
brussouw back from injury
9 Mar 2013, 08:35 am
Welcome back to the Hore
I guess the Hore thread can now officially be laid to rest
Welcome back to Brad Thorne as well
9 Mar 2013, 08:37 am
@Fern-21:
Now theres a top player…coming up against John Hardie a candidate for Ab honors
9 Mar 2013, 08:37 am
@nortierd-22:
I see Pistorius are going to appeal his bail conditions and ask for them to be relaxed
fecking scum
9 Mar 2013, 08:39 am
@Te Rangatira-23:
I rate him up there with
Ruben Kruger
Andre Venter
Juan Smith
Rassie Erasmus
9 Mar 2013, 08:40 am
The return of the Hore.
We’re lucky to have him on the field.
9 Mar 2013, 08:40 am
@Fern-24:
My first thought when I saw that was, when they got the bail they were shouting YES at the top of their lungs.
Now, a week or two later, it’s not good enough anymore.
Still feel sorry for the Botha cop, don’t blame him for resigning.
Believe me, I know how difficult it is to try and do your job at the moment without necessary resources and backing.
I wish him good luck in the future
9 Mar 2013, 08:42 am
@nortierd-27:
He’ll be working half the hours for twice the cash.
Good luck to him.
9 Mar 2013, 08:43 am
Need to say it again…
Cheetahs have the worst set of props I’ve seen in Super Rugby.
Niether Nyakane or Adriaanse can scrum, and they’re just as useless around the field.
Naka, word wakker.
9 Mar 2013, 08:44 am
@Fern-25:
Yes he is very good…a great group of players ..but should Erasmus be there
9 Mar 2013, 08:44 am
@gunther-28:
Yep, also the difference is, if you do the extra work outside you actually get rewarded for it and you get thanked.
I agree, good luck to him
9 Mar 2013, 08:46 am
@hendrikp-29:

Going to be a battle of the weak against the poor when the Cheetahs and Stormers play.
I can picture the puff cloud when the first scrum happens.
Like someone jumped on a Johnson’s & Johnson’s baby powder bottle
9 Mar 2013, 08:47 am
Shame really if the Lions and Cheaters had got together they would have been quite competitive.
Silly.
9 Mar 2013, 08:47 am
@Te Rangatira-30:
Prob not.
I believe the best 10 the Springboks had was Honniball and Jouba the best 15,well in my rugbywatching lifetime.
@nortierd-27:
I have no issue with Botha and wish him all the best.
Pistorius was shedding crocodile tears and this just proves it.
9 Mar 2013, 08:49 am
Highlanders incapable of staying on their feet at the breakdown.
A Jamie Joseph trademark.
9 Mar 2013, 08:50 am
@nortierd-20:
Hence his hopeful trips to Cape Town.
9 Mar 2013, 08:50 am
Lappies the best of those 3 loose-forwards.
Wouldn’t mind seeing him at 8. Probably the position he’s most suited to IMO.
9 Mar 2013, 08:52 am
Moer! How strong is that Labuschagne? Holding up Thorn like that…
9 Mar 2013, 08:52 am
@David-36:

Parade time in Cape Town?
9 Mar 2013, 08:54 am
So the Cheetahs have played good rugby so far.
At least in the loose-forwards & backs.
Nyakane, Adriaanse, Francois Uys & Lood de Jager like a guy panicking in the water, can’t swim and dragging the rest of the team down.
Cheetahs would be class if they upgraded on those 4.
9 Mar 2013, 08:54 am
labuschagne just drove that oke back in the tackle,he is a monster.
9 Mar 2013, 08:55 am
@Fern-24:
Yep, he claimed he wasn’t a flight risk because he’d voluntarily surrendered his passport. Now he wants it back again.
9 Mar 2013, 08:55 am
Highlanders must learn to be patient.
They should break the Cheetahs at some stage, but they are rushing and expecting to run through and score every ball
9 Mar 2013, 08:56 am
@hendrikp-40:
downgrading?
very rich coming from a bent little stormers supporter who got dropped by a short jab from a small cambodian ladyboy.
9 Mar 2013, 08:58 am
@David-42:
Seems like it is all about him.
As the Indians say his “jaat” is starting to show bigtime.
@David-42:
This is proof of what people think of the judicial system.
Beg for bail and vow to follow all the conditions, then when they get what they asked for, they want more.
Or they are found guilty, proclaim that they respect the court’s findings and the judge, but immediately lodge an appeal
YES!!!
More like it.
9 Mar 2013, 08:59 am
Too Easy…Cheetahs
The Stormers can only dream of scoring a try like that… Labuschagne is a beast!
@Fern-44:
Pages: [1] 2 3 4 5 6 » Show All