Clinical Cheetahs hammer Highlanders
9 Mar 2013
Sarel Pretorius scored twice and Johan Goosen kicked 21 points in a stunning Cheetahs triumph in Invercargill.
The Cheetahs beat the Highlanders 36-19 after leading 30-7 at half time.
Loose forward Lappies Labuschagne’s star shone the brightest on a night in which every one of the visitors had a glow about their performance. Labuschagne was immense on defence, forceful on attack and dominant in everything he did.
The try count was shared at three each but it is misleading in terms of a contest in which the Cheetahs gave a lesson to the hosts in how the game is meant to be played.
The Highlanders were guilty of playing too laterally but that was a consequence of being manhandled in the collisions whenever one of their players tried the direct route.
This looked like men against boys and the Cheetahs seemed to know it. Goosen played the game in the right areas, kicked his penalties and was true to any counter attacking opportunity.
There was nothing fortunate about the Cheetahs two intercept tries. They were a result of brutal defence and this defence was turned into attack by way of intercepts and turnovers. The Highlanders attack made errors because of the pressure of the defence.
The turnaround was amazing, given the Cheetahs were demolished 45-3 in Hamilton a week ago, but the Highlanders are not in the same class of the Chiefs. The hosts’ All Blacks looked old and lethargic and the pack simply got punished for being physically inferior.
Highlanders winger Kade Poki got a hattrick but it had no impact on the result because the Cheetahs were always two scores ahead whenever he scored.
Springbok flanker Heinrich Brussouw completed his comeback to Super Rugby with an effective 30 minute cameo, in which he won turnovers and tormented the home team at the breakdown area.
By Richard Ferguson

294 Comments
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 [5] 6 » Show All
9 Mar 2013, 10:19 am
Congrats, Cheetahs, nice win, very well done.
Now the pressure is well and truly on Stormers not to finish last.
@The Rangerman-199: I agree, and said so in an earlier post… werent prepared to do the hard graft first and have paid the price..
good on the Cheetahs, they are after all my fav SA side, and have said so many times in the past..
the nonu curse strikes again…
nice cheetahs, maul held up turnover!!!!!!!!!
9 Mar 2013, 10:20 am
My fantasy gone out the window…
Had Hosea Gear, thinking he was going to put up plenty.
Can’t say I care though
9 Mar 2013, 10:21 am
Well done Oranje Vrystaat.
9 Mar 2013, 10:22 am
Great play by the Cheetahs, great to see, Brussow, Connie and Goosen getting back to form, 8/8 kicks so far by Goosen great suff. Pity no BP try.
9 Mar 2013, 10:22 am
It reminds me the day Cheetahs crushed Waratahs in Sydney. Out of the blue as well.
If only they were more consistent.
9 Mar 2013, 10:23 am
C’mon, pls 1 more try cheetahs “”
9 Mar 2013, 10:24 am
strange to see a thread without nary a mention of the ref..
oh wait, the Saffa team won..
I see how it works now..
Well done Cheetahs. After no-one gave them a chance. Including me.
@polaris-198: that was my point yesterday bud.
well done cheetahs you beauties.
“horrible helter-skelter highlanders get hiding at home” keo?
Great win by the Cheetahs.
Awesome performance Cheetahs – what an amazing turnaround over a week.
9 Mar 2013, 10:25 am
@the curse-210: Go and have look again.
Well done Cheetahs
9 Mar 2013, 10:25 am
Anyone still thinking Lambie is heir elect of Bok fly halves haven’t seen what a proper Bok fly half looks like yet. Goosen head and shoulders the best S.A. prospect for Bok 10 for a long time in the traditions of Osler Oxlee Visagie Barnard Bosch Botha Du Plessis HonIbal here is a proper running Bok pivot like Boks been waiting for since the proper
9 Mar 2013, 10:26 am
Out till champs vs alsorans.
Cheers, enjoy the win, folks!
9 Mar 2013, 10:26 am
Well done Cheetahs, not easy to win in New Zealand. Pity the bonus point
9 Mar 2013, 10:28 am
Kiwi refs are all useless.
Luckily it went against both teams for once.
9 Mar 2013, 10:28 am
@the curse-210:
You haven’t been following that carefully, have you Pops?
9 Mar 2013, 10:29 am
Well done Cheetahs….they played good hard Rugby.
Heyday
Cheetahs bok aspirations
Oosthuizen Strauss Viljoen Labuscachne Vd Walt Brussow Van Zyl Pretorius Goosen
Well done boys! Bru points for me ! I backed u to win all the way
9 Mar 2013, 10:30 am
I had the Landers as my BEST bet for a win this round, & played my Bru & Fantasy accordingly … I had 3 Landers players in my Fantasy team, 2 of them outside backs, including Gear as my captain … but, wait for it, no Poki lol
I sure can pick ‘em, eh?
But what the heck, I’ve never enjoyed being taken to the cleaners as much as I did with this famous Cheetahs’ victory … lekker, lekker, lekker!
9 Mar 2013, 10:31 am
hendrik
same league as peyper, jafka and jonker I would have thought
but you know better right?
@skopdiekan-216:
I assume you’re referring to Michael, as the du Plessis. I don’t think he ever played 10 for the Boks, only WP.
Phillip vd Walt another from the EC loose forward factory.
9 Mar 2013, 10:34 am
@skopdiekan-216: Yawn
9 Mar 2013, 10:34 am
Van Zyl – Goosen should be Bok half back pair all other combinations are poor replication of the real McCoy
Reinach – Lambie, Groom – Jantjies, Hougaard – Steyn not in the same ballpark yet Hougaard – Pollard would be the other combination worth investing in.
9 Mar 2013, 10:36 am
@skopdiekan-229: Luckily we all know you don’t have a clue what you are talking about.
9 Mar 2013, 10:36 am
Ssme stupidity from the Old Troll
9 Mar 2013, 10:37 am
@Sharks_are_gonna_get_you-230:
9 Mar 2013, 10:38 am
Jeepers the biltong that I hung this week came out perfect:-)
9 Mar 2013, 10:38 am
@the curse-225:
poep.
At least we produce a couple of decent ones as well.
9 Mar 2013, 10:40 am
Yeah referring to Michael Dup who would have been Bok fly half if he wasn’t contemporary of Naasty Botha.
Van Zyl – Goosen should be Bok halfback combo penciled in by Meyer forget all these mediocrity clamoring by sharkishits for their couple golden boytjies Reinach and Lambie.
Cheetah’s dominate in Dunedin? Not sure how, seeing as they played in Invercargill. And at 3 tries apiece I doubt whether “dominate” does the job.
Well done Cheetahs! Well done to the incumbent Bok ten,Goosen also. Whilst Lambie is trying to play like Steyn to please HM ,Goosen is improving game by game in all facets of flyhalf play .The general is back!!
9 Mar 2013, 10:41 am
@skopdiekan-235: Luckily Meyer Meyer would not think twice about telling you to stick to cementing manholes, RUGBY IS NOT YOUR FORTE!
9 Mar 2013, 10:42 am
like who hendrik?
don’t say Joubert because we all know he gifted 2011 right?
Kaplan? ask the tahs. one win in something like 17 games under his control raises questions too
anyways. hope the vrystaaters party long and hard. good win for them.
9 Mar 2013, 10:43 am
Great win after last weeks hiding. Consistency has always hampered us so lets hope that we travel to Aus now and get at least another win over there.
Great to see the commitment on defence today. This is the first time in years that I’ve seen us defend so well. Normally we cause a few upsets along the way with some great running rugby but today everything came from great defence and pressure put on their players. Love it – may in continue.
9 Mar 2013, 10:45 am
I betcha Meyer is thinking exactly what I’m thinking that Bok halfback elect are Van Zyl – Goosen and Hougaard – Pollard and not Groom – Jantjies or Reinach – Lambie. So if I don’t know wtf I’m talking about then neither does the Bok coach.
9 Mar 2013, 10:46 am
what a pleasant outcome
this was money well lost…
9 Mar 2013, 10:47 am
@hendrikp-219:
the usual stuff?
considering the score you’re probably right but its usually best to disect them when the emotions are cooled, then you see them for what they truly are
9 Mar 2013, 10:49 am
The ice is back in Goosen’s veins.He is head and shoulders above any ten in this country.Great composure ,great running game,brilliant kicking game,exceptional decision making,tactician and visionary .Great player and needs to be applauded for sticking with the so-called weaker Saffa team. Always good to see players still fending off the mercenary advances of teams like the Sharks.
9 Mar 2013, 10:55 am
I’m not sure if ‘dominate’ is the right word when you consider how many of their points came against the run of play. Well done to the Cheetahs though in getting the job done.
9 Mar 2013, 10:55 am
@S_K-244: Yes, Goosen is the dude, but he has string good performances together – one offs not going to do the trick …
George Smith on for injured Pocock
9 Mar 2013, 10:57 am
Think this is what poep was doing after the game?
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0WBmrrRKg-c
What with all South African rugby players being useless. Nonu should’ve ripped those Cheetahs apart.
9 Mar 2013, 10:58 am
@hendrikp-247: Nonu wasnt playing was he? thought he was withdrawn with injury?
but continue rugby kenner..
hopws that segregation plan for NZ going?
9 Mar 2013, 10:59 am
@the curse-248: or you could tell us again how the Anzacs were cowards? those who gave their lives to allow you to live in their country?
9 Mar 2013, 11:02 am
this videos even better hendriik
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=v439zTOJVho
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 [5] 6 » Show All