Lambie puts boot into Kings

Pat Lambie kicked the Sharks to victory in Port Elizabeth but the visitors failed to score a try.

The Sharks won 21 – 12 after leading 12 – 3 at half time.

Pat Lambie scored all 21 points while Demetri Catrakilis’ boot kept the Kings in the match with four penalties of his own.

The Kings surprised all and sundry with yet another hearty performance, not allowing the Sharks to settle into any rhythm whilst defending with great success. At one point, the Kings had made more than 90 tackles and missing only one, a show of great commitment when they could have simply thrown in the towel.

The Sharks got off to a good start with possession deep in the Kings 22m, Jean Deysel being the man to get them the go forward ball. Once Deysel left the field though, things fell apart for the Sharks as nobody quite knew which way to go.

With all the ball the Sharks had one would have expected more points. There is a distinct lack of creativity in the backline, with neither of the potent wingers able to run into space. What is important though is that another away win was achieved, and a team that wins whilst playing poorly, is a sign of a Championship team. Overall though, the Sharks look for from a championship winning team.

Defence kept the Kings in the match, Louis Ludik and Lwazi Mvovo were both held up over the line, two instances where the match could have been put away. The scoreline was very close in the end and the Kings might just rue a few chances at goal that were not taken. The importance of taking the points when on offer ran true for the Sharks particularly, as a different attitude on the night could have cost them dearly.

Sharks coach John Plumtree was correct in stating the Kings will be no easy match, and deserve to be in this competition. On another night, the bounce of the ball would have meant a victory for them, something Alan Solomons and his team will take great heart from.

For John Plumtree and his charges, there is a very strong Brumbies awaiting them at Kings Park next week, while the Kings stay in Port Elizabeth and host the Chiefs.

By Richard Ferguson

371 Comments

Pages: « 1 2 3 4 [5] 6 7 8 » Show All

• 201.S_K: Reply to this comment

Watching the sharks is like watching paint dry!! Well done kings .i expected you okes to be rolled 70 zip going on Sharkslover,Hg and fern ‘s predictions.

• 202.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food: Reply to this comment

@Angostura-194: :) :) :) :) I know…..can’t bear to watch the Kings being whipped and man shamed like this every week…..

I think they are beyond inspirational, and anyone denying this, ain’t a rugby fan.

• 203.ShaunB: Reply to this comment

Sharks in 3rd …… Top of the conference….. Well done on 3 from 3! Life is good!

• 204.I am a stormer: Reply to this comment

@nortierd-185:

• 205.Petri: Reply to this comment

@Angostura-200: Aren’t they only allowed 2?

• 206.Cheetahs01: Reply to this comment

Very good performance by the Kings. Deserved a bonus point for the effort. Congrats to the Sharks. Still unbeaten.

• 207.ShaunB: Reply to this comment

If the Kings play like this against the Stormers they will probably win.

• 208.the curse: Reply to this comment

@nortierd-185: :lol: now youve done it, youve upset Tyrone..

• 209.Angostura: Reply to this comment

Schalk Ferreira = Warrior

• 210.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food: Reply to this comment

@S_K-201: Careful :) Tyrone is back…and he’s angry.

He’s sofuckingangry he could crush a grape…….

• 211.ShaunB: Reply to this comment

@the curse-198: you were never the sharpest pencil Pops…..

• 212.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food: Reply to this comment

@the curse-208: I’m going to fetch popcorn…..

• 213.kaksioek: Reply to this comment

South Africa: bringing surreal to a screen near you.

• 214.nortierd: Reply to this comment

@Sharks_are_gonna_get_you-199:
    Hello Champ
    You making space in that trophy cabinet yet?
    You are the boys, you really showed those Kings today

• 215.S_K: Reply to this comment

Fern are probably still hoping for that avalanche of tries !!only in your dreams **** fernly!!bwhaaaaaaaaaaaassaass!

• 216.W.P: Reply to this comment

“We hard many chances against the Stormers we didn’t finish”………….when was this Francois?

Gosh but Breytie is a poor at post match stuff.

Campo’s Sharks blood shining through.

• 217.the curse: Reply to this comment

@ShaunB-211: hmmm what is your fascination with the lead in my pencil boet?

• 218.kaksioek: Reply to this comment

Listen to David Campese, folks.

• 219.TheTackler: Reply to this comment

Boring, tryless yarpie pseudo-rugby.

• 220.ShaunB: Reply to this comment

Right, I’m off to celebrate 3 from 3, top of the conference, best team in SA. Tjorts all!

And well done to the Stormers for finally scoring 3 tries in a match but hard luck on not getting that elusive bonus point that has been evading you for many years…… :lol:

Finally, well done to the Kings. Keep playing like that and you will beat many “vaunted” teams with excess hype ……

• 221.Peter Mkata: Reply to this comment

Where are the haters of the Watsons going to say now. What are they going to say now that the winning margin is as is?

• 222.David: Reply to this comment

@Angostura-200:
    There isn’t one under SANZAR rules. Only SARU can take individual action, but they can’t interfere with the actual competition.

• 223.the curse: Reply to this comment

@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-212: :D fo shizzle when the boom goes fizzle

• 224.kaksioek: Reply to this comment

Listen to Nick Mallett, too.

• 225.I am a stormer: Reply to this comment

@Sharks_are_gonna_get_you-199:

My god, what’s got into you?

If the first chill pill didn’t work, then take another one.

The sarks won. Now go out and celebrate.

• 226.S_K: Reply to this comment

Congrats to jaftha as well. Pass begin and collect your monthly salary from the sharks payroll department.

• 227.kaksioek: Reply to this comment

Isn’t it amazing how their opinions of the refereeing are so different to yours? You people make me laugh, man.

• 228.brains_trust: Reply to this comment

How boring are the super sharks??? Zero tries in 2 games…

• 229.Fern: Reply to this comment

Indian and cullert girls taste just like white girls,only sweeter.

• 230.S_K: Reply to this comment

@I am a stormer-225: nothing works for Tyrone .he is a failed medical experiment .

• 231.BlueBlood: Reply to this comment

@brains_trust-228: Also two wins from two games.

• 232.nortierd: Reply to this comment

@I am a stormer-225:
    He is busy writing his hate mail to Japhta
    But he is so angry at the Stormers because his team is not living up to their championship billing, that the crayon keeps snapping :-)

• 233.Hondo: Reply to this comment

Well, I got all the results except the Cheetahs, the taking is meager since everything is so predictable
    Peyper gifted the Stormers by 20 points, Jaftha stole a similar number from the Sharks while the Cheetahs with no Raubenheimer, Ashely Johnson and Floor in the back row suddenly discovered how to compete

• 234.nondoda: Reply to this comment

New Zealanders will be too smart for the Kings next week.

Support the Kings but the Chiefs will bring
    the street wise stuff

Stormers were lucky

Chiefs are the real deal

• 235.Angostura: Reply to this comment

I’m happy the Sharks won, but disappointed the Kings did not get a bonus point

The Kings might beat one or two more teams at home, &, on this form, the Sharks might lose one or two more matches than they bargained for.

And zero tries against the lowly Kings? that must be a major concern for Plum & Co.

• 236.nortierd: Reply to this comment

@Angostura-235:
    Yes, they did deserve a bonus point
    Congrats, 3 from 3 is still a nice start

• 237.Peter Mkata: Reply to this comment

Only 3 missed tackles out of over 100.

• 238.CoachPete: Reply to this comment

@nondoda-234:
    Stormers Lucky ?? How so They beat possibly the best team in the super 15
    By luck?

• 239.skopdiekan: Reply to this comment

There no hatred in me just can’t help calling a spade a shovel and a mercenary humping pseudo rugby franchise what it is a mercenary humping pseudo rugby franchise.

Plus based on tonight’s performance Sharks are going to struggle big time when the real show gets on the road. Under the magnificent overrated Steyn as captain plus the one dimensional play of Lambiekiens the overrated midfield general Sharkshits are going to be losing more than they win when the going starts really getting tough.

• 240.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@Hondo-233:
    ag nee man
    nou praat jy kak, Meneer

ek het al jou ****** picks gespeel en het niks gekry hiervoor
    niks
    ****** niks

• 241.CoachPete: Reply to this comment

Well done Sharks and Kings
    Sharks need to worry they not scoring tries especially against the Kings
    Wont get as much ball and goal kicking shots against the better teams

• 242.Angostura: Reply to this comment

Round 4 has been a good one for SA franchises
    lets hope it continues tomorrow
    GO Bulls!!!

• 243.I am a stormer: Reply to this comment

@Angostura-235:

The thinking at the beginning of the season was that no-one knows how to treat the Kings. They should be easy beats, so we thought, but they were an unknown quantity. The Force came a cropper. And the Sharks nearly did. And there will be some sore Chiefs taking the field next week.

• 244.Hondo: Reply to this comment

Lambie is regressing while the Sharks’ wings remain useless tokens
    No threat, no tackles no defence no nothing?

• 245.nortierd: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-240:
    :-D

• 246.skopdiekan: Reply to this comment

Kings handed this game to Sharks on a plate.. If Kings would have carried the ball into the Sharks faces all game long instead of all those wasted hail Mary up and under I reckon Kings would have scored at least one try maybe more and possibly even taken the game at the death.

• 247.Big Hit: Reply to this comment

@Petri-173: who is the kenyan?

well done sharks btw

• 248.I am a stormer: Reply to this comment

@nortierd-232:

I think he just had a bad day. But he can fly off the handle.

• 249.mikeybrass: Reply to this comment

@Hondo-244: Thanks for confirming my view that JP was one of the few Sharkies to have a good game.

• 250.Angostura: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-240: bwahahahaaaa

NEVER trust a tip … (for all you know Hondo is a bookie, ne?)

Pages: « 1 2 3 4 [5] 6 7 8 » Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.