Lambie puts boot into Kings
9 Mar 2013
Pat Lambie kicked the Sharks to victory in Port Elizabeth but the visitors failed to score a try.
The Sharks won 21 – 12 after leading 12 – 3 at half time.
Pat Lambie scored all 21 points while Demetri Catrakilis’ boot kept the Kings in the match with four penalties of his own.
The Kings surprised all and sundry with yet another hearty performance, not allowing the Sharks to settle into any rhythm whilst defending with great success. At one point, the Kings had made more than 90 tackles and missing only one, a show of great commitment when they could have simply thrown in the towel.
The Sharks got off to a good start with possession deep in the Kings 22m, Jean Deysel being the man to get them the go forward ball. Once Deysel left the field though, things fell apart for the Sharks as nobody quite knew which way to go.
With all the ball the Sharks had one would have expected more points. There is a distinct lack of creativity in the backline, with neither of the potent wingers able to run into space. What is important though is that another away win was achieved, and a team that wins whilst playing poorly, is a sign of a Championship team. Overall though, the Sharks look for from a championship winning team.
Defence kept the Kings in the match, Louis Ludik and Lwazi Mvovo were both held up over the line, two instances where the match could have been put away. The scoreline was very close in the end and the Kings might just rue a few chances at goal that were not taken. The importance of taking the points when on offer ran true for the Sharks particularly, as a different attitude on the night could have cost them dearly.
Sharks coach John Plumtree was correct in stating the Kings will be no easy match, and deserve to be in this competition. On another night, the bounce of the ball would have meant a victory for them, something Alan Solomons and his team will take great heart from.
For John Plumtree and his charges, there is a very strong Brumbies awaiting them at Kings Park next week, while the Kings stay in Port Elizabeth and host the Chiefs.
By Richard Ferguson

371 Comments
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 [6] 7 8 » Show All
9 Mar 2013, 21:22 pm
Between peyper and laff-a-minute Stormoers are looking quite good.
Once a coloured always a coloured I guess.
Rugby in SA has zero baisis in reality I guess.
Stormers will beat the Kings by 40 points plus – as it is ‘ordained’.
Stormers ‘rolled out’ Peyper for 3 in 3 and now have to rely on their inbred jaffta to keep them ‘in the hunt’.
9 Mar 2013, 21:22 pm
@Hondo-233:
well ok, to be fair it was two games you got wrong with the Bulls still to play.
you did not give picks on the Rebels vs Reds and Hurricanes vs Crusaders.
9 Mar 2013, 21:24 pm
Lucky Fortunate
Chiefs are more likely to replicate good performances than the Stormers.
Stormers did play a good game but there was a bit of luck. a possible case of
fortune favouring the brave?
9 Mar 2013, 21:24 pm
@I am a stormer-248:
Lol
Not really worried
Some like to dish out, but struggle to receive
The anger is just sometimes misdirected, instead of directing it at the team who is making them look silly, they lash at in other directions
9 Mar 2013, 21:26 pm
@skopdiekan-239: no it is unhealhy and you know it. Sharks are not playing their best but still winning. The thing about predictions is that you only know they are true when they happen. Im expecting the Sharks balance to improve when some key players get back. Lets see who is right
9 Mar 2013, 21:28 pm
The Kings have surprised most by their first two displays. Whether they can continue this attitude through the season remains to be seen, especially away from home. But if they do continue I fear the Cheetahs might need a few more points than I expected to avoid the Lions come end of season.
@Peter Mkata-221: I reckon they will just stay away from this site for a few days
I’m going to miss Dusky and HG…….
@I am a stormer-225: Tyrone is known for these little outbursts. We are fortunate, we can either ignore him or laugh (which I choose to do….), but spare a thought for those currently in the same room as him….
Watching 400 pounds of pasty stamping fat little feet whilst making fists so tight his bracelets scream in agony, can’t be much fun.
firstly i want to say congrats on a fantastic second week in superrugby kings!
secondly, sharks need to wake up! its annoying how the sharks always seem to battle against lower opposition (with respect kings fans).
thirdly, nick and campo were diplomatic about that jaftas efforts, he was shockingly useless in teh second half.
lastly, i am loving the renewed cockiness from the stormers fans attempting to gloat over a game the sharks actually won
we beat your lot too boys and (suddenly present again) dogfood haha and you still have to play the kings. how i will laugh if they beat your lot, in fact i marginally supported the saffa team (stormers) vs the kiwis today but now see i amde a mistake
9 Mar 2013, 21:29 pm
I see France and Ireland drew.
Still no wins for France in this years 6 Nations
@CoachPete-238:
Well there was the most obvious offside from Van Der Heever just prior to the final hooter which would have meant that the Chiefs had a chance to win that Peyper ‘missed’
This was the final insult in a game that peyper 9once again) decided to turn a blind eye to Stormer’s ‘indescretions’.
So, no The STormers did not win ‘fair and square’ – siomthing which they don’t seem able to do without “devine intervention” -.
One could also consider why Jaco peyper has featured in all 3 of the Stormer’s game thus far?
Surley an unusual event. Could just be ‘chance’ but give peyper’s prediliction for the STormer’s I doubt this.
The Stormer/WP results with Peyper around don’t exactly bear well to any form of impartiality on his part.
@nortierd-245:
@Angostura-250:
i dont know how he can say this with a straight face, honeslty.
he should show some humbleness and admit his failing.
i played the picks him and TR gave me.
———————
11.Hondo: Reply to this comment
7 Mar 2013, 11:37 am
Highlanders Vs Cheetahs
No upset, Highlanders by 20+
Bulls at the Blues
No upset, Blues by 16-19
The Tahs at the Brumbies
Difficult to predict, a Kiwi ref is truely a nuetral here, I’ll go with the Sidney lot because my sister lives there and I don’t like JW a bit.
Tahs by 7 to 10.
Sharks at the Kings
Jaftha is becoming a force to reckon with , the Sharks will start with a 20 points deficit while Lambie’s now regressing, will be close
Sharks by 5 to 7
Chiefs at the Stormers
Peyper ‘the crook’ will outwight Jantjies’ damage by 10+ points for the Stormers, add the jet lag, long flight fatigue and home field advantage, the Stormwers may edge it.
Stormers by 3 to 6
Chiefs are going to get back on track against the Kings
Kings have the heart and defend well but I dont think the same class and talent as Chiefs
Great win for Stormers Chiefs dont like the hard hitting defense with 2 man driving then back, tackles They like the game to open up and like to be crossing the gain line
Stormers disrupted their game and were able to score some tries and take their chances Good win
9 Mar 2013, 21:31 pm
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-257:
So you’re what? Stormer moffies masquerading as men?
@CoachPete-241:
Howzit coach. How you doing? The Stormers made a major step-up today and were able to close out the game. There wre some great contributions – from Deon Fourie’s line-out throwing (we won 12/12 at one stage), the loosies dominated – all of them, Elstadt had his best game in a long time, de Allende got over the gain line repeatedly, JDV looked enthusiastic and has’nt lost that much pace, Elton settled in, Joe is now the no. 1 goal kicker so where does that leave Taute.
@OCO-251: Patta cake Grant, ummm, I mean Lambie, kicks 1000 penalties in the worst display of guppie rugby ever, and you are pulling out racist comments directed at the Stormers?
I’m not sure you guppie midgets are mature enough for this whole ‘professional rugby’ thing yet?
I guess it’s only been 20 years though…….
9 Mar 2013, 21:32 pm
@The Rangerman-258:

Congrats Ranger
We are not cocky, really
Fern and HG and some of their posse have made us see the light, honest.
We concede that the Sharks are the best, well, actually I will concede that when they win the trophy
Then I will be convinced, but yes, they have shown me that they are superior to the Stormers.
9 Mar 2013, 21:33 pm
@OCO-260:
Sorry I never saw the offsides
Also it was great to have a ref finally stop this off the ball blocking and tackling which NZ sides are masters of
So that said just like you tell us to be graceful when we lose to A NZ side
You guys should be to
9 Mar 2013, 21:33 pm
@nortierd-259: they will beat the Jock at home next week
9 Mar 2013, 21:34 pm
@The Rangerman-258: Congrats on your win…. HG was correct. I was amazed, bowled over and utterly hypnotised by the beauty of the rugga the guppies dished up.
In awe…..truly.
BOOM
(Take a look at the Tyrone and OCO tantrums and then comment again
9 Mar 2013, 21:35 pm
@I am a stormer-264:
yes Doing good thanks How are you
I thought the Stormers stepped up They needed to
It was also a good game to watch unlike the Kings/Sharks
9 Mar 2013, 21:35 pm
@Big Hit-268:
Scotland lost to Wales, so might be up to it, but yes, imagine if France lose that one
I will be picking them for the win
9 Mar 2013, 21:41 pm
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-269:
And the tantrums from tyrone were even before kick off. I can see them going late into the night.
9 Mar 2013, 21:41 pm
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-257: haha, you were scarcer than a foreskin in jerusalem this week after your side got rolled in durbs
i like it that you are trying to gain vicarious glee from a kings loss.
it means the sharks are foremost in your mind and thats as it should be.
9 Mar 2013, 21:45 pm
Unfortunately for the kings you cant keep tackling bravely in every game.
They must keep possession of the ball longer .Eventually all this defending will take its toll and In NZ and Oz they they may battle
9 Mar 2013, 21:46 pm
@The Rangerman-273: Rubbish. I was online directly after the game……
In fact, if I knew where to find that thread, I do believe YOU were the 1st person I congratulated.
Tsk tsk. I am not HG…. I do not run.
Tonight we dream of the beautiful running rugby the guppies blessed us with this eve.
Have a good one.
9 Mar 2013, 21:46 pm
@The Rangerman-258:
C’mon Ranger. You scraped a home win against us and still have to play away. As for the Kings win, the EC is almost a home match for the Sharks players.
9 Mar 2013, 21:47 pm
@CoachPete-270:
I’m cool thanks. This year is proving to be a lot tougher than previous years. At least we can earn 4 points next week while putting our feet up in the process.
9 Mar 2013, 21:48 pm
Its actually amazing to see that the absolute worst proponents of racist sentiment on this site are by far and large all from that last bastion of gloating pompousness the last empirical realm of virtuosity sharkshit land..
and if some genuine shark supporters like the good king Sensibleness bananaboy and maybe one or 2 others cannot see the outright despicable racist attitude by punks the likes of OCO or sharks-gonna-get-ya or fern the schmuck.. then I’m sorry to say that even the racist tendencies of this ranger prude banana skin of pompous colonialism won’t hide the truth from the eyes of those who see the despicable inverted racism like the blight on society it is.
9 Mar 2013, 21:48 pm
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-269: haha, as amazed and bowled over as last weekend?
again i say your attempts at gloating after a sharks win are cute though a bit silly
9 Mar 2013, 21:49 pm
@I am a stormer-272: Tyrone would honestly be at home, wellll, in a home….one of ‘those’ homes…..
(The ones where a fat nurse with facial hair wipes your mouth after you eat, and another strolls in to wipeyourass as you wildly gesticulate and throw sh y te at your visitors…..Big Daddy ‘Ty’ indeed)
The oke tries so hard to control himself, but then the mist descends
9 Mar 2013, 21:50 pm
@David-276: Sharks A beat Sharks B by 7 kicks to 4.. the White beat the Black and the dynamite fizzled into a flat exhaust f’art.
9 Mar 2013, 21:50 pm
@I am a stormer-277:
yes true However after a good game i would have liked to not have a bye
I think it would have been better to build on the win by playing again next weekend
But yes it allows the players some rest
9 Mar 2013, 21:51 pm
@The Rangerman-279: I’m just in awe of what I saw this evening…..don’t be hating.
No other team is fit to even look the ‘dynamite’ in the eye…..and when HG appears, I will tell him this.
Good night
9 Mar 2013, 21:52 pm
@OCO-251: Have I already shitkicked you over this post?
If not – consider yourself served.
Racistfuckingwombat.
9 Mar 2013, 21:54 pm
Kings played the wrong game tonight they went into the game over awed by the so called myth of the Sharks explosive running game so they kicked all their possession away.. I reckon if ings rather held onto the ball and ran at Sharks more often Kings could have won this game.. in fact I’m pretty much certain it would have been closer than it was.. with the 7 Lambie kicks to 4 of Katrakillis
So now Sharks last 2 games result is 11 kicks to 6… mighty big exhibition of power boom shaka lucka running prowess the last 160 minutes of Sharks absolute outright domination has shown.
9 Mar 2013, 21:55 pm
@skopdiekan-285:
9 Mar 2013, 21:57 pm
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-280:
“Tyrone would honestly be at home, wellll, in a home”. that is kak funny.
I was worried he was going to pull a voevie valve. He was really going some.
@skopdiekan-281:
“the Black and the dynamite fizzled into a flat exhaust f’art.” a little boom.
Very funny.
9 Mar 2013, 21:58 pm
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-275: yes yes, you were on immediately after to congratulate and thats very cool of you.
its the weeks battle which you suddenly didnt have the stomoach for and thats fine, it hurts sometimes.
you have a good evening and go over your 1 from 3.
i will bear in mind our 3 from 3.
sweet dreams.
@David-276: huh david?
i congratulated the kings on their effort, told the sharks to wake up and laughed merely at you stormersfans trying to gloat over a sharks win
@skopdiekan-278: dont get cute man, focus on elton and jake and how they make you eat the sh i t you put out all the time
9 Mar 2013, 22:00 pm
@I am a stormer-287:
They would soooooo loved to have patted each other on the back if they won by 6 or more tries.
Now silence
9 Mar 2013, 22:01 pm
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-283: me hating?
i am laughing at you stormersfans trying to gloat over a sharks win
especially as we beat you just 7 days ago.
i cant stop laughing
9 Mar 2013, 22:04 pm
@The Rangerman-290:
Ranger
We are talking about some of your other supporters who have been on all day explaining the Shark superiority against the WP amateurs.
None of this is meant at you and some of the nicer supporters of the Sharks
Strictly for those who know who they are
9 Mar 2013, 22:05 pm
@nortierd-289: silence?
congrats on the stormers win btw, after the comments here tonight i think it would have been better for you guys if you had lost because its clear you have gotten lost up yourselves again.
9 Mar 2013, 22:06 pm
@CoachPete-282:
It would be great to keep the momentum going after today’s win. But this set-up of fixtures is too convoluted for me. Next up are the Brumbies and then the Saders.
9 Mar 2013, 22:08 pm
@The Rangerman-288: you better start worrying big time your bunch of mercenary powder puff poeftas are fizzling away at a nonentity VC level outfit and you think you are still the real deal top of the SA conference contenders..
Sharks gonna implode in the real stakes games where real teams with real hard core intentions going to teach you what real rugby tenacity is about.. you better pray like hell Bismark gets better and Steyn finds all this mythical mojo he’s supposed to possess.. and Lambie stops becoming another econometric Morne the robot clone
The only ones with any level of pizzazz in your team are little Jordaan of Grey Bloem.. (another EP rip off mercenary) and occasionally the full back from Krugersdorp.
9 Mar 2013, 22:08 pm
@The Rangerman-292:
See my previous post Ranger
Thanks for the congrats:-)
I even heard today that as long as the Sharks beat the Stormers, then the season was a success.
It has been a lot of fun actually, but some really got upset
9 Mar 2013, 22:10 pm
Does anyone know what the attendance was in PE this evening?
9 Mar 2013, 22:10 pm
@nortierd-291: ok then let me try this on then nortie:
stormers supporters are blinkered insular brokeback soft co c ks.
p.s. nortierd i dont mean you right? just the stormers supporters who are.
hows that?
9 Mar 2013, 22:12 pm
@The Rangerman-297:
Ha ha
Touché.
Well played
9 Mar 2013, 22:17 pm
@David-296: 42 000 david.
fantastic crowd, reminds me of the early 90′s when natal was newly elevated.
i wish the kings well on their journey.
@skopdiekan-294: yes yes old timer, settle down to a simmer ok?
you take it all way too seriously
9 Mar 2013, 22:17 pm
@The Rangerman-292:
The Sharks won fair and square. It was supposed to be an easy victory against the lowly Kings who instead put up a brave fight. It just puts the Kings win over the Force and the Bulls win over the Force in perspective. I went the Sharks to win by 12 on bru and wanted them to win. A kings win would’ve been an emotioanal victory, that is all.
As for the Stormers. They were desperate and had to win. I’ve been saying that all week.
This comp becomes more difficult every year. The Sharks, Bulls and Stormers have all received their wake-up calls.
Anyway, how you doing?
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 [6] 7 8 » Show All