Lambie puts boot into Kings

Pat Lambie kicked the Sharks to victory in Port Elizabeth but the visitors failed to score a try.

The Sharks won 21 – 12 after leading 12 – 3 at half time.

Pat Lambie scored all 21 points while Demetri Catrakilis’ boot kept the Kings in the match with four penalties of his own.

The Kings surprised all and sundry with yet another hearty performance, not allowing the Sharks to settle into any rhythm whilst defending with great success. At one point, the Kings had made more than 90 tackles and missing only one, a show of great commitment when they could have simply thrown in the towel.

The Sharks got off to a good start with possession deep in the Kings 22m, Jean Deysel being the man to get them the go forward ball. Once Deysel left the field though, things fell apart for the Sharks as nobody quite knew which way to go.

With all the ball the Sharks had one would have expected more points. There is a distinct lack of creativity in the backline, with neither of the potent wingers able to run into space. What is important though is that another away win was achieved, and a team that wins whilst playing poorly, is a sign of a Championship team. Overall though, the Sharks look for from a championship winning team.

Defence kept the Kings in the match, Louis Ludik and Lwazi Mvovo were both held up over the line, two instances where the match could have been put away. The scoreline was very close in the end and the Kings might just rue a few chances at goal that were not taken. The importance of taking the points when on offer ran true for the Sharks particularly, as a different attitude on the night could have cost them dearly.

Sharks coach John Plumtree was correct in stating the Kings will be no easy match, and deserve to be in this competition. On another night, the bounce of the ball would have meant a victory for them, something Alan Solomons and his team will take great heart from.

For John Plumtree and his charges, there is a very strong Brumbies awaiting them at Kings Park next week, while the Kings stay in Port Elizabeth and host the Chiefs.

By Richard Ferguson

371 Comments

Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 [7] 8 » Show All

• 301.Petri: Reply to this comment

@Big Hit-247: Daniel Adongo

• 302.The Rangerman: Reply to this comment

@I am a stormer-300: good analysis bud, and i am fine thanks man, how are you?

• 303.Tuna: Reply to this comment

Frans Steyn g4t is getting huge again. He is no leader. Sharks have leadership problem.
    Great effort from the Kings.
    Jafta needs to learn his scrum laws.
    Kings… prepare yourself. Rennie’s Chiefs are pi$$ed off.
    Staan sterk next week.

• 304.The Rangerman: Reply to this comment

ok, i am out.

have a good weekendfurther all and go bulls!

• 305.I am a stormer: Reply to this comment

@The Rangerman-302:

Sounds like you had a lekker week in Moz. I’m making plans to get to Ngwenya again. The family dig that place.

• 306.I am a stormer: Reply to this comment

@The Rangerman-304:

• 307.Angostura: Reply to this comment

@David-296: @The Rangerman-299:

yeah, an exciting Rugby Renaissance in the Bay:

I wonder if Tests in PE ever had 42K pulling power?

• 308.I am a stormer: Reply to this comment

@Angostura-307:
    I think they will. The PE people have been starved of top sport and will turn out to support the Boks.

• 309.David: Reply to this comment

@Angostura-307:
    Yup, it certainly disproves the rather hysterical claims by some bloggers that there wasn’t enough interest in rugby in the EC to justify a Franchise. For me, this was the main motivation for one. Development comes as much from a supporter base as a player base.

• 310.Transformation: Reply to this comment

well done Sharks, a win is a win.

To my Kings, well played manne, you make me proud everytime you step on the paek & put the south eastern cape on the map!

We never played our own game & were more afraid of not making mistakes.

• 311.skopdiekan: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-310: should have played your own game Kings were more afraid of this famous Sharks boom shakalaka dynamite in the backline they been hearing about and kicked way too much possession away… Should have carried the ball with intent like they did vs Force and could have even forced a famous upset.

• 312.shooter: Reply to this comment

@skopdiekan-311: they tried. but what a shambles of a game. the kongs didn’t get with-in 10m’s of the Sharks tryline. At them same time. The sharks looked like scoring from minute number one, and never did…. we should have a moral victory cup too. Maybe the Kings will have won it at the end of the season. Esp since there’s no oher contenders in the runnning

• 313.shooter: Reply to this comment

maybe i should’ve said, looked like they expected to score, from minute no 1.
    Sharks were clueless tonight. And for all we know Kings had something to do with it. Good on them.
    The emphasis should be on the Cheetahs however….
    And the Stormers second best performance…….
    So………………………………. Now …… GO the Bulls! Cheetahs victory will help their cause..

• 314.Transformation: Reply to this comment

agreed skop, cornel du preez & wimpie van der walt disappeared & vleis was on his own, same with darren nell no grunt. They never laid the platform for the backs.

• 315.skopdiekan: Reply to this comment

@shooter-312: I’m still waiting for these promised 100 point hidings you were all singing with so much gusto before any rugby ball was kicked off in anger 2 months ago… where they all disappear to or they still winding up for the skittle sticks promotional 100 + point bonanza competition someplace?

If Kings would have been less ‘respectful’ of all this supposed famous mighty black white dynamite that was supposed to rocket through their defenses like a bazooka from out of hell they might have actually gotten some change from a little possession of their own which I definitely saw glimpses of through that second half where it distinctly looked like Sharks were the more rattled team and Kings the ones with an outside chance of an upset.

• 316.stormer in a teacup: Reply to this comment

Well done Sharks. Commiserations Kings.

• 317.shooter: Reply to this comment

@skopdiekan-315: skop vs the people. who are ‘you’ / that you are talking about?

kommin sense sou dikteer dat die sharks wen. op superbru het ek hulle 15 gegee. maar jy is oortuig almal is teen jou, en daarom die Kings. of so iets. kry so bietjie sense. jy ly so bietjie aan vervolgingswaansin, wil dit voorkom.

as jy tussen die lyne lees, sal jy sien dit impliseer die kings het die moral victory gehad v’naand.

dit het f*kol te doen met die feit dat dit ‘n bra k*k game was nie

• 318.skopdiekan: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-314: they should try play tighter in combined unit pods of 2′s and 3′s instead of going it alone as individuals.. they still playing with plenty spirit and courage but not very cleverly.. One would expect this Kiwi coach of yours to organize a more close knit attack model to work off third and 4th phase play.. they have the capacity to compete at one on one level but need to pull together a little more and start hitting the advantage lines and outside channels with more combined support running.

Chiefs are going to run hard at you not like Sharks with their whimper of half of nothing attentions.. your coach better get the guys to work in closer units else could be a very tough night at the office next weekend.

The little Argy scrummy also coughed up some possession and made some wrong decisions, must just concentrate at doing things more close knit and with more combined thrust through the breakdown and tackle points.

• 319.shooter: Reply to this comment

@skopdiekan-315: there can only be one team with an outside chance of an upset (toutolagy) …… you can’t be favourites and upset????? so that score (presumption) is/ was there from the outset.

Chill your gauva. It was a useless game. From both teams equally

• 320.shooter: Reply to this comment

*Tautology

• 321.nama1: Reply to this comment

“I’m willing to bet my Huge Gonaughts that the Sharks will win by 70+.”

Oh my vokken hell!!!

Het jy nog jou ballas?

HG, waar is jy? Tell us how Fransie “ignited” the Sharks back line to beat the Kings by more than 70 points!!!

Hahaha… lots of Shark supporters that must feel like poepols tonight.

Just wait for them to tell us that they were NEVER against the Kings inclusion in Super rugby. It was just that they were AGAINST the POLITICS behind it and what with CHEEKY and LUKIE at the steering wheel of the KINGS vehicle.

70+…. Vokkit…hulle het hulle vokken gat afgeskrik vanaand. :lol:

• 322.shooter: Reply to this comment

@nama1-321: tommorow… Bulls or Blues? :)

• 323.shooter: Reply to this comment

sorry, its the brandy and coke… i mean… tomorrow

• 324.nama1: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-314:
    Fitness…fitness…fitness…

The more they play at this level, the better they will be able to compete until the last minute.

Your boys let slip a lot of 1st time tackles tonight. It was as if they could not believe they were playing against their “hero’s.”

• 325.S_K: Reply to this comment

Is it possible for a team to be or feel humiliated in victory?? :D

• 326.nama1: Reply to this comment

@shooter-322:
    There’s no question.

Blues by 20+.

Bulls usually play well overseas in their 3rd game.

@skopdiekan-315:
    “I’m still waiting for these promised 100 point hidings ..”

Me too. :lol:

Let’s see what excuses they come up with for not beating the Kings by 70+ points.

• 327.Big Hit: Reply to this comment

@Petri-301: thanks

• 328.S_K: Reply to this comment

Well,you won’t get a straight answer from Tyrone.the oke has lost all semblance of reality .

• 329.skopdiekan: Reply to this comment

@shooter-317: ek wonder maar net waar het al die wat die Kings so oortuigende haat wat so vol op die blaaie van die en ander websites verskuin het skielik verdwyn …. waar is al die anti Kings anti Watson toestemmers wat nou die blaffende haat skielik gedraai na stille bewondering

en ek wag nog steeds vir die egte oortuigende prestasies deur die ware sterk rugby spanne soos die Sharks vanaand wie die laer klas Kings moes met 100 punte en meer geklop .

• 330.nama1: Reply to this comment

@S_K-325:
    That’s how the Sharks and their supporters must feel tonight.

They went to PE to “COLLECT” 5 points.

They are going home feeling as if they achieved nothing.

Vokken verwaande etters. (their supporters, not the players)

• 331.silent_shadow: Reply to this comment

Remember when Frans was considered a ‘flair player’? Me neither.

• 332.S_K: Reply to this comment

@nama1-330: yeah,some of them had the kings down for five points pre-season. You can only get five points if you score four tries. They must feel like mugs tonight!! :D

• 333.nama1: Reply to this comment

@skopdiekan-329:
    Ek wag vir die Shark ondersteuners en Keo om ons te vertel WAAR Frans Steyn die Shark agterlyn sodanig Ge”ignite” het.

Nog twee wedstryde op binne senter voor ons begin **** dat Fransie se beste posisie eintlik heelagter is.

Mark my words.

The most freakin overrated player in the history of Bok rugby. Maybe even Shark rugby.

• 334.nama1: Reply to this comment

@shooter-323:
    “sorry, its the brandy and coke… i mean… tomorrow”

If you did not correct yourself, nobody would’ve notiuced.

Almal is gebrandy en coke.. :lol:

• 335.nama1: Reply to this comment

@nama1-334:
    Gepraat van…laat ek vir my nog ‘n double gooi. :lol:

Ek vier mos darem ten minste ‘n wen.

• 336.Transformation: Reply to this comment

frans steyn vs sbw? hehehe

• 337.Transformation: Reply to this comment

i’m watching the post-match interviews now…plum is more realistic about coming to PE than some of the guppy fans.

• 338.nama1: Reply to this comment

@silent_shadow-331:
    That must have been a long, long, long time ago because I cannot remember it. :lol:

‘n Vokken dud, daai laaitie. As hy nie ‘n 60m drop of penalty kan skop nie, beteken hy vokkol nie soos weer vanaand bewys is.

• 339.nama1: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-336:
    What “Frans Steyn vs SBW” are you talking about.

SBW is Frans Steyn reincarnated, according to some.

Die moegoes se oe sal stadig maar seker oop gaan.

Nog twee wedstryde dan sal jy sien. :lol:

• 340.jet jungle: Reply to this comment

Bulls by fifty :0

• 341.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@nama1-339: mallett & campo saying frankie steyn not a captain’s arse…yho

• 342.nama1: Reply to this comment

@Fern-7:
    “Reinach has his dad’s speed.”

Michael du Plesis, without even taking athletics seriously, beat Jaco in the 400m to win the University championship in the early 80′s.

@kaksioek-19:
    “Men against boys.”

Wat het die manne toe gemaak?

Darem ten minste gewen, neh. :lol:

@nondoda-94:
    “Argentine scrumhalf?
    We have much better players in this country.”

yeah, like the Bok fly half in Durbs but we preferred to give the French fly half game time. :wink:

• 343.S_K: Reply to this comment

The aura of Frans Steyn? He left it in a French boulangerie.

• 344.nama1: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-341:
    Don’t tell that to HG and SL and Rangerlaaitie and …and…and…

He is the Messiah who is going to lead them to S15 glory and such.

Must be a very kak feeling to win a Super rugby game and feel as if you lost the game. That’s how most Shark supporters must feel tonight. :lol:

You know that you’ll be at the end of a Chiefs backlash next week, don’t you?

Will your boys be up to it?

• 345.Dusky: Reply to this comment

Well played Kings. Sharks might have won their first three games but things could get ‘interesting’ for them if they play like that again next weekend against the Brumbies. Kings – good luck against the Chiefs. Big bonus for the trophy hunting SA teams if you can pull off an upset.

• 346.Dusky: Reply to this comment

@nama1-344: The Bulls must have felt like they lost the final in 2007, but I didn’t see it dampen their celebrations :-)

But ja – there is very little for Sharks fans to celebrate from that weak performance from the Sharks. That much I will agree with.

• 347.daydreamer: Reply to this comment

That Argie Nicholas Vergalo had a shocker, very poor passing for an international scrumhalf.

Typical pedantic reffing from Jafta…

Kings would do very well if their forwards operated more as a pack in loose play, too many isolated runners when they did have the ball going forward.

• 348.jet jungle: Reply to this comment

@Dusky-345: Jissus Dusky is jy weergebore? :)

• 349.nama1: Reply to this comment

@Dusky-345:
    Now that is what I call sportsman like behaviour. Good on you.

I know they did not beat your team but they really put up a good performance against the SA team with “the best chance to win the competition.”

:lol: :lol:

• 350.nama1: Reply to this comment

@daydreamer-347:
    “Kings would do very well if their forwards operated more as a pack in loose play, too many isolated runners when they did have the ball going forward”

Very good point. I noticed that as well.

I was wondering whether some of the players couldn’t believe that they were playing against their hero’s, or what. There were stages where it seemed as if the Kings “switched off” until one of them did something and then the rest “woke up” and realized that they were in a rugby game. Especially the forwards.

Baie kopwerk wat nog voorle vir Solomons.

Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 [7] 8 » Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.