Stormers sneak thriller
9 Mar 2013
The Stormers dramatically beat the Chiefs 36-34 at Newlands.
The win was vital for the Stormers who lost their first two matches and tournament champions the Chiefs will have the comfort of two bonus points, even if they will feel aggrieved at not having being awarded a kickable penalty with the final play of the game.
It was an unfortunate end to a wonderful contest in which both teams played with enterprise and conviction. The Chiefs were the more cynical and lost two players to to the sin bin for professional fouls.
The Stormers, disappointing against the Bulls and dour against the Sharks, finally produced a performance balanced in defence and attack.
Gio Aplon scored twice and Nic Groom finished off a sustained period of Stormers attack to take the Stormers past 30 points, but it needed a fifth Joe Pietesen penalty to give the Stormers a two score cushion in the final 10 minutes.
The Chiefs were outstanding in their attack variation and flyhalf Aaron Cruden unlocked the Stormers defence with astute grubber kicks. Two such kicks resulted in tries but another misfired and the Stormers scored through Aplon.
Stormers No 8 Duane Vermeulen was aggressive and determined as the home forwards fronted the physicality of the Chiefs. Siya Kolisi and Andries Bekker were equally prominent and with the pack playing with early momentum the Stormers halfbacks of Groom and Elton Jantjies played with authority. It was disappointing that both were substituted within an hour.
The Chiefs are a quality side and even on a day in which their discipline was dubious and there was no sustained fluency to their attack they could have scored a bonus point win.
There will be discussion about Pyper’s refereeing and the Chiefs will make an argument that the home team got favourable decisions, but that’s par for the course in this competition. Pyper was not the reason the Stormers won and he wasn’t the reason the Chiefs lost.
The neutral would have settled on a draw because of the entertainment value, but in the context of South Africa’s tournament challenge the home team will know it was imperative the spectacle ended with a win.
And fullback Joe Pietersen’s unerring boot, in kicking eight from eight, made the win possible, if only just.

471 Comments
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 [10] Show All
10 Mar 2013, 04:21 am
@lightie-449:
@jet jungle-450:
You’ll have people telling you that it is such a great beer because it is imported.
The disappointment is so much bigger then.
Koop Suid Afrikaans of as jy dan nou moet “buiteland” toe gaan… gaan Namibiaans.
My cousins wife worked at the Namibian Breweries for a few years. Boet…did we enjoy it.
His garage was stocked because the workers on the factory floor got a case per month as a reward or something like that. She then bought it from them for next to nothing because some of them preferred to have cash while some others did not drink at all.
It was very nice.
10 Mar 2013, 04:27 am
@nama1-451: More a whiskey fan these days, make me act my age as my wife would say.
10 Mar 2013, 04:27 am
@Hondo-8:
“The odds are nearly even at 10:11 for the Stormers to win, the Chiefs have a jet lag, travel fatigue against them while the Stormers will enjoy home field, Jantjies the Rlegator and Jaco Peyper in their line up
Should be close”
Seems as if Aplon, Habana and Kolisi had no role to play in the result.
Interesting!!!
What’s your verdict on Jantjies after the benefit of watching the game?
10 Mar 2013, 04:42 am
@jet jungle-452:
Have never been a Whisky lover. Just don’t like the taste of it.
Give me a brandy any day. A good one, preferably KWV.
Not a beer lover either. I only drink it when I’m in a pub where the brandy is way to expensive, like R20 a single or something stupid like that.
10 Mar 2013, 04:53 am
@nama1-454: I loved brandy when I was younger but those coke babbelaases got too much, combined with the habit to misbehave. Forced myself to drink whiskey, not a purist with ice and a little bit of water, keeps you hydrated. Try Jamesons, nice smooth whiskey and not that kasterolie smaak. Now its my drink of choice. Went through a Red Hart fase years back. The devils own drink.
10 Mar 2013, 05:10 am
@BudYza-421:
Yes, therefor see my retraction post 402
However, he doesn’t run with quite the same freedom in the local derbies?
He got the one break that he scored off against the Bulls, but that was pretty much when the match was finished.
The 75 minutes before that not to much.
10 Mar 2013, 05:14 am
@nortierd-456:
Vok hom (Budysa, that is).
He came in here with an agenda and sommer “attack” anyone.
10 Mar 2013, 05:28 am
@nama1-457:

Morning
No worries, I know the Chiefs didn’t “allow” us to waltz through, but I still think our SA defensive play is more difficult to break than the NZ teams.
10 Mar 2013, 08:13 am
@the curse-288:
You said you convinced SA teams are better than NZ teams and that Highlanders and Chiefs gifted SA teams tries.
Chiefs were awesome and showed that a grubber still works. As long as you dont grub straight into your opponent and turn over ball.
My points:
A gifted try is also a mistake, way you look at half full glass.
Shape of the ball, sometimes the bounce is lucky
Which team wants it most
That makes it interesting to watch. What’s good on paper does not necessarily translate into the theory on match day.
The All Blacks were not world champs for a long time, because they were never good enough during the world cup. Although on paper they should have won every match they play.
Give the winner of the day its glory. All these guys work and play hard for it. (you gave recognition, thank you
)
And no, can’t say SA teams are the best. Can say, Stormers played more enterprising running rugby and Cheetahs dished it up too. Any running rugby for a Safa is like gold. We have been starved of it.
10 Mar 2013, 08:18 am
Nama1 dont be so paranoid. If someone disagrees with you they must have an agenda? Get over yourself man. You made an idiotic statement that Elstadt must compare to former greats to warrant his consideration for a Bok place. I called you on it. Are you so know all that no one on this site may criticize you unless they have an antiNama1 agenda? Or someone only criticizes you because you have pist them off? Trust me you have come nowhere close to even annoying me mildly. You apparently hold yourself in much higher esteem than anybody else.
Why muddy the waters with such stupidity of agendas and appealing to others to speak on your behalf? Oh yes, so that you cloud the issues of your idiotic statements.
Dont be so precious about your big ego Nama1. It is obviously big enough to absorb a few hits from someone so way beneath your superior position on this site. Excuse me for addressing you. I will pass you by in future with downcast eyes for fear of being accused of not having an agenda and no opinion.
Man oh man oh man. Some people take themselves just a little too seriously.
10 Mar 2013, 08:42 am
Congrats Stormers!!!
What a display of wonderful rugby. One of the best games for quite some time.
Well done to Bulls, Sharks and Cheetahs…
A clean sweep against the AB’s…
10 Mar 2013, 09:24 am
Nama buddy, you have it wrong here with BudYza.
You set down a criteria of Smal, Smit, Kruger and the likes for Elstadt to be measured against, before he could be considered Springbok material.
BudYza’s argument is that if he does not measure up to them does it mean he could not play for the Boks? What if no one measures up to them, does it mean the position would be vacant until someone turns up.
He then went to say does that mean Kirchner measured up to say “Johan Heunis, Andre Joubert (my own examples).
He simply said, ‘NO’, but the the selectors at the time have to choose from what they have in front of them and who in their opinion would fit in best.
He continued by saying that you should use the same criteria for all positions. And based on that assumption your criteria failed.
Sjoe! Now I’m tired. But I hope the air is cleared. Smoke a peace pipe
10 Mar 2013, 10:29 am
It should be clear to everyone now that Grant/Duvenhage were a big part of the problem in previous years. Jantjies is a better flyhalf, he is stlil behind Goosen and Lambie for the Boks, but he is a good attacking flyhalf and a good loan for the Stormers.
Shame about Taute, need him at the back.
10 Mar 2013, 10:58 am
Very succinctly expressed @whistle@blower@. Thank you.
And no hard feelings Nama1. (And no agendas either. Promise.) Let’s smoke whsitleblower’s pipe and move on.
11 Mar 2013, 06:36 am
I am so glad that some of the ref’s have started picking up the AB and Chief’s nonsense. the pulling back ahead of teh rucks, the dropping the mauls, the not rolling away, the entreing from the sides. Vok, it never stops!
The thing is that it has been so trained into the Kiwis, and especially the AB’s, that sometimes they cannot stop it even when on a warning. Even with man missing already!
The next challenge is for SA teams to wise up and keep hitting them on their weak spots – maul them into the ground, and let them keep bringing it down, while alerting the ref to their continued infirngements, until only the backs are left to maul with….
The next challenge to the refs is to have the balls to not have pity on them for being a man down, recognise cheating wfor what it is, and keep sending the buggers off, until they man up enough to stop the mauls. They can be stopped with goood technique.
The Kiwi whingeing about mauls is ridiculous – “officialy endorsed obstruction” blah balh. But so is the scrum. Its the laws, and why we play rugby union and not league.
11 Mar 2013, 09:23 am
The only suggestion I have on rules of maul is that if the defending team is pushing back the attacking team, let the ref call use it. If the attacking team keep the maul and try and “reset” the maul they should lose the ball. I saw a few times where a maul is being driven back by defending team which is good work, only for the attacking team to shift the line and reset the maul and drive again. This does not reward the defending team for pushing back the maul, and in most cases it counts against them since the attacking team will just shift the line and reset.
The use it once is not working. it gives that opportunity to reset all the time.Just a suggestion?
11 Mar 2013, 11:57 am
@nama1-398:
“@skopdiekan-381:
Elstadt is a very good player, make no mistake. I rate him highly but he is no Smal, Kruger, Venter or Smith. That is the players to rate your 7 against.”
@BudYza-418:
“Nama1 dont be a fool. Yes, Smal, Kruger, Venter and Smith were the greats of Springbok 7s but to say a player must be compared to them to warrant a being rated is idiocy….”
@nama1-420:
“Look, Elstadt was nowhere last week and the week before. I always try to rate my special players on how they perform when things don’t go well for the team.
Guys like Smith, Venter, Smal, Kruger always got a special mention even when their team did not perform well. Can you say the same about Elstadt?”
@BudYza-460:
“You made an idiotic statement that Elstadt must compare to former greats to warrant his consideration for a Bok place.”
Nowhere did we even talk about the Boks.
It is natural that players will be compared to the greats of the past when they start out. How many times have you read/heard about Hougaardt not being FdP. Etzebeth and v/d Merwe/Kruger were constantly compared to Bakkies and VM. JdV at outside centre to Jaques Fourie.
The main gist of MY comparison was that those players from the past stood out even when their teams played badly. Not so Elstadt in the games vs the Bulls and the Sharks.
When someone is using descriptive words/phrases like:
- “fool”
- “idiotic statement”
- “you are the policeman of this site telling people what they can and cannot say…”
- “Get off your high horse”
- “Your comments on Elstadt were stupid”
- “If you are the official thread Nazi have me censured”
- “Youre being silly…”
…because of a slight difference of opinion, one asks yourself whether he has another agenda. There are ways of putting you difference of opinion across without resorting to the kind of drivel that you did.
Post 460 of course speaks for itself.
Oh yes, lest I be called “oversensitive” (another catch phrase these days) know that I’m not.
11 Mar 2013, 12:25 pm
Shame poor little Nama1 has had his sensitivities bruised. The longer the explanation the more the BS it needs to cover up. You complain about phrases I used and all that longwinded boor from the person who posted:
457.nama1:
10 Mar 2013, 05:14 am @nortierd-456:
Vok hom (Budysa, that is).
He came in here with an agenda and sommer “attack” anyone.
Now that does speak for itself. You’re all class Nama1. Ketchup with those chips?
11 Mar 2013, 12:48 pm
Nama1 if you were honest you would have included my original post about about Elstadt where i acknowledged his inconsistency by saying ‘If he can deliver consistently’.
364.BudYza:
9 Mar 2013, 22:34 pm And those who think Elstadt should play 4. Watch this game repeatedly until it sinks through your skulls. Elstadt is a much better 7 than a 4. If he can deliver consistently he has every chance of making the Bok 7 jersey his own.
Then you say that nowhere did you even talk about the Boks but conveniently left out your post 373 in which you clearly stated that to play for the Bokke you measure yourself against 4 players.
373.nama1:
9 Mar 2013, 23:50 pm @BudYza-364:
As a Stormers supporter, I don’t agree.
To play as a 7 for the Bokke, you measure yourself against 4 players imo. If you can measure up to those guys, by all means, then you are the right man for the job.
Gert Smal.
Ruben Kruger
Andre Venter
Juan Smith
You have to be at least close to their class to be considered for that position.
Elstadt still has a long way to go to get there.
Nama1 a lie by omission is still a lie and an outright lie is of course a lie and you have demonstrated you are an honest person.
11 Mar 2013, 14:42 pm
@BudYza-468:
Hahaha…
No surprises there.
14 Mar 2013, 12:11 pm
many kiwis moaning about peypers last penalty. I don’t see why? Gerhard joined when it was still a tackle. He picked it up and was tackled. He was not allowed to place the ball. A ruck had formed. The chiefs defender went off his feet, and played the ball backwards on the ground. voila penalty.
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 [10] Show All