Stormers sneak thriller
9 Mar 2013
The Stormers dramatically beat the Chiefs 36-34 at Newlands.
The win was vital for the Stormers who lost their first two matches and tournament champions the Chiefs will have the comfort of two bonus points, even if they will feel aggrieved at not having being awarded a kickable penalty with the final play of the game.
It was an unfortunate end to a wonderful contest in which both teams played with enterprise and conviction. The Chiefs were the more cynical and lost two players to to the sin bin for professional fouls.
The Stormers, disappointing against the Bulls and dour against the Sharks, finally produced a performance balanced in defence and attack.
Gio Aplon scored twice and Nic Groom finished off a sustained period of Stormers attack to take the Stormers past 30 points, but it needed a fifth Joe Pietesen penalty to give the Stormers a two score cushion in the final 10 minutes.
The Chiefs were outstanding in their attack variation and flyhalf Aaron Cruden unlocked the Stormers defence with astute grubber kicks. Two such kicks resulted in tries but another misfired and the Stormers scored through Aplon.
Stormers No 8 Duane Vermeulen was aggressive and determined as the home forwards fronted the physicality of the Chiefs. Siya Kolisi and Andries Bekker were equally prominent and with the pack playing with early momentum the Stormers halfbacks of Groom and Elton Jantjies played with authority. It was disappointing that both were substituted within an hour.
The Chiefs are a quality side and even on a day in which their discipline was dubious and there was no sustained fluency to their attack they could have scored a bonus point win.
There will be discussion about Pyper’s refereeing and the Chiefs will make an argument that the home team got favourable decisions, but that’s par for the course in this competition. Pyper was not the reason the Stormers won and he wasn’t the reason the Chiefs lost.
The neutral would have settled on a draw because of the entertainment value, but in the context of South Africa’s tournament challenge the home team will know it was imperative the spectacle ended with a win.
And fullback Joe Pietersen’s unerring boot, in kicking eight from eight, made the win possible, if only just.

471 Comments
9 Mar 2013, 16:02 pm
Go Stormers dragons.
Just do it!
9 Mar 2013, 16:06 pm
This is a huge game for the Stormers. It could well define their season. I can see them giving it the kitchen sink today as they have a bye next weekend.
9 Mar 2013, 16:14 pm
@I am a stormer-2:
Yip, it will be fairly vital to pick up a win – lets hope Elton can pick up the pace today and shows his worth. If he fails today Skopskiet will be unplayable for the next year at least.
9 Mar 2013, 16:20 pm
@Robzim-3:
Especially the way Goosen went today, he will yes.
Taking the pressure off Elton by taking the goal kicking duties is one thing. But allowing the guy to play his natural game is another. And having a rookie in de Allende at 12 in new combination doesn’t help either. They have had 2 games behind and now it is time to shine.
9 Mar 2013, 16:21 pm
It will be very interesting to see just how good the Stormers are.
9 Mar 2013, 16:22 pm
A loss here and the Stormers can kiss their conference “title” goodbye.
9 Mar 2013, 16:41 pm
What if Elton bombs and Lambie is sublime?
9 Mar 2013, 16:47 pm
The Cheetahs handed the first Upset of 2013, that ‘s how competitive the SR is so far
The odds are nearly even at 10:11 for the Stormers to win, the Chiefs have a jet lag, travel fatigue against them while the Stormers will enjoy home field, Jantjies the Rlegator and Jaco Peyper in their line up
Should be close
9 Mar 2013, 16:52 pm
Where’s Katters.
He was funny but in that “Agter Elke Man” sort of way.
9 Mar 2013, 17:02 pm
I backed the Chiefs on Superbru.
Go the Chiefs!
“kontference title” on the line if the stormers lose.
9 Mar 2013, 17:07 pm
The three Buddhas look tense.
9 Mar 2013, 17:12 pm
Feck cant this game just end so we can watch a real rugby team?
9 Mar 2013, 17:14 pm
forward pass!
Great stuff!! lovely pass by Elton.
What a pass Elton !!!!
9 Mar 2013, 17:15 pm
Aplon and Jantjies!!!!!!!!!
Suck on it Hondo.
@Fern-12:
Didn’t know you were a Kings fan.
Shut it ferntjie
9 Mar 2013, 17:16 pm
Great work by Elton there.
9 Mar 2013, 17:16 pm
@David-17:
Hahaha!
Sharks all the way.
9 Mar 2013, 17:19 pm
Great start from the Stormers
This more like it
Cullert in the stands with a all black jersey on…
So far, so good.
9 Mar 2013, 17:21 pm
@Fern-22: Goooo Chiefsssssssssss
9 Mar 2013, 17:22 pm
stormers playing with a strong wind.
9 Mar 2013, 17:23 pm
Good kick with the wind at his back.
9 Mar 2013, 17:24 pm
@Fern-25:
Most of it coming from Skinstad.
9 Mar 2013, 17:25 pm
One eyed Skinstad, so typical trying to say he did not have control,
soft try,stormers have blown their load prematurely.
Nothing wrong with the comments on the try.
Game on!
Well done Chiefs
9 Mar 2013, 17:26 pm
good steal from the chiefs
9 Mar 2013, 17:28 pm
JP must be moered hard! I’m sure that the Chiefs had a look at how poor he was under the high ball.
9 Mar 2013, 17:28 pm
rubbish fleck with his hands in his hair.
9 Mar 2013, 17:32 pm
Streaming link anyone?
9 Mar 2013, 17:33 pm
jaco peyper mom so far for the stormers.
9 Mar 2013, 17:33 pm
Stormers backs just can’t run onto the ball at pace to hit it up.
9 Mar 2013, 17:35 pm
@willievz-35: vipbox
@Fern-36: pfffttt
9 Mar 2013, 17:36 pm
Great tackle Vermeulen.
@mikeybrass-38: Vipbox doesn’t work
Go Stormers, think Jantjes will come good today.
9 Mar 2013, 17:37 pm
@willievz-35:
Ek dink jy kan op die dstv website kyk.
Jou ouers moet in SA registreer en jy kan dan aanlog met hulle password en so kyk.
Ek is seker daarvan,vra net rond.
9 Mar 2013, 17:37 pm
You got to give it to the SRHD Camera men: the way theY eliminate the incriminating angles of Jaco Peyper’s cheating in Real Time are not short of a mastery!
9 Mar 2013, 17:38 pm
Siya kolisi is bloody strong
9 Mar 2013, 17:39 pm
Yeah Sharkies – Peyper is MOM – Chiefs don’t have any ball lol. Shame
9 Mar 2013, 17:39 pm
@willievz-40:
this link is working for me:
http://www.viponlinesports.eu/rugby/129259/3/super-rugby:-western-stormers-vs-waikato-chiefs–live-stream-online.html
9 Mar 2013, 17:42 pm
Another ruck infringement – from the side – that’s yellow
9 Mar 2013, 17:43 pm
Now it is 14 men against 16 men…
9 Mar 2013, 17:43 pm
Jantjes playing as though he is not going to see much ball
9 Mar 2013, 17:45 pm
@Fern-48: nay Stormers trying to play off quick ball continually being slowed down by players in from the side
9 Mar 2013, 17:46 pm
offside aplon knocks on.
9 Mar 2013, 17:46 pm
who paid the peyper
eish. wish he’d ref both sides.
9 Mar 2013, 17:47 pm
well worked try.
9 Mar 2013, 17:48 pm
Sharkvarkies scared the Chiefs are gonna lose lol. Game is far from over. Good try Chiefs.
9 Mar 2013, 17:49 pm
Wow, that is how you untangle a solid defence. Thinking players, but stormers are having a good game.
9 Mar 2013, 17:50 pm
aplon scores from being in front of the ball.
9 Mar 2013, 17:50 pm
Soft try Stormers
9 Mar 2013, 17:51 pm
Stormers’ loosies havin a stormin game
9 Mar 2013, 17:51 pm
Nice game
Atleast the strompies are playing running rugby
9 Mar 2013, 17:53 pm
@W.P-54:
Well, they hear Chiefs and they think 37 to 6
How can an amateur side have 20 points more against the Chiefs by half time than the best, most professional and possible and probable champions of SA could manage in 80 minutes?
9 Mar 2013, 17:53 pm
he pings the chiefs for going off their feet yet gives the stormers leeway
9 Mar 2013, 17:54 pm
To be honest though Chiefs aren’t in it so far. They’ve done well to stay in touch. Let’s hope the Stormers can hold onto this
@willievz-40: I’m watching on vipbox
@Angostura-58:
@Atlas-59:
They are playing much better.
At least it’s nice to watch, running a bit as well
9 Mar 2013, 17:55 pm
Stormpies be crazy not to give everything in second with a by next week.
9 Mar 2013, 17:56 pm
The Stormers strike back immediately. Mooi manne.
Aplon, Jantjies, Groom and most of the forwards are having a great game. De Allende isn’t playing bad either.
Peyper doing a good job reffing, despite what a certain Banana Boy wishes.
@I am a stormer-66: It’s nice to see them running the ball!
9 Mar 2013, 17:58 pm
@mikeybrass-67: which banana boy?
9 Mar 2013, 17:59 pm
Fern you’re gonna have a heart attack bru. Relax. The Sharks play @ 7pm. Stormers deserve lead as they’ve dominated territory and possession. No amount of bleating by some Sharks supporters are gonna change the facts. That said the Chiefs are a team that can score at any time from anywhere.
Good first half. Everything to play for now.
Stormers looking good. Hopefully they can hold on.
9 Mar 2013, 18:00 pm
@W.P-70: Stormers deservedly in the lead
9 Mar 2013, 18:01 pm
@mikeybrass-68:
And folks say the Stormers play boring rugby!
@mikeybrass-68:
I am so please to see Stormers running the ball. It is all about keeping balance between defence and attack.
The Dup brothers must be smiling wherever they are.
@W.P-70:
I am not your bru.
I am relaxed,all cool in the pool.
The real rugby starts after this game.
9 Mar 2013, 18:03 pm
@I am a stormer-74: To be honest, in the first two games they did play boring rugby. I’m so glad they’re moving the ball.
9 Mar 2013, 18:03 pm
@mikeybrass-67:
Jantjies has done his good for the day – should bring on Peter Grant early to close the game out.
de Allende is a battering ram, and not even a good one at that as he hardly looks to link up with anyone. Don’t expect any offloads. The one time he did he threw a forward pass to Aplon and into touch. Their defense is getting beaten as well, something that you won’t get from Juan de Jongh & Jean de Villiers in the midfield.
9 Mar 2013, 18:04 pm
@bananaboy-69: The ancient fern.
@playtheball-77: they moved the ball against the Sharks as well ionly problem was with the handling.
Much better play by the Stormers – keep it up.
9 Mar 2013, 18:05 pm
@I am a stormer-74: Not today! It’s a transformation from last week and last season.
9 Mar 2013, 18:06 pm
@hendrikp-78:
As jy n afrikaanse website soek en wil lag gaan search “watkykjy”.
Bevange
Probeer ook gevaaalik
Stormers forwards deserve credit for the lead.
If I see another chip kick from the Stormers just handing over possession I’m going to bed.
@hendrikp-78: No way. Keep Jantjies on. He is playing very well.
9 Mar 2013, 18:07 pm
@playtheball-77:
Yes they did. But they can turn it on too. And now they just have to keep on attacking and secure a win. Just like the Cheetahs did earlier. It’s gonna be a nailbiter though.
9 Mar 2013, 18:07 pm
Whatever “Fernival”
9 Mar 2013, 18:08 pm
imagine if this was a kiwi ref
my word.
@Fern-83:
Okay thanks
quite a lot of guppys at the Slaghuis vanaand…
9 Mar 2013, 18:09 pm
I’m enjoying this match: a close contest & thrill a minute
9 Mar 2013, 18:09 pm
Vodacom latest score
Kings vs Pampas 20 all draw
9 Mar 2013, 18:10 pm
@mikeybrass-85:
I don’t argue that he’s going alright – few mistakes but nothing too bad.
What I wonder is whether he can keep it up.
9 Mar 2013, 18:10 pm
@hendrikp-89:
Op watkykjy gaan jy net na die “ou koeie” skakel dan kan jy na die argiewe toe gaan.
Laat my weet of dit vir jou werk.
9 Mar 2013, 18:13 pm
@hendrikp-89:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dr5J8c17-78
gaan check hierdie kort vireoclip uit
9 Mar 2013, 18:15 pm
Touch judge picks up a Kiwi holding up Habana at the side of the ruck. That’ll please Bakkies.
9 Mar 2013, 18:16 pm
Chiefs players keep interfering with players nowhere close to ball. That’s the way they create space. I notice they take out players alongside the ruck or close to the ruck or they hold onto the player who tackled them in a danger situation.
9 Mar 2013, 18:16 pm
JdV reading the riot act.
9 Mar 2013, 18:17 pm
@W.P-97: I’ve noticed it too. Cynical cynical play.
9 Mar 2013, 18:17 pm
good take from habana of a forward pass.
9 Mar 2013, 18:18 pm
hard call on habs that one
9 Mar 2013, 18:18 pm
To all you rugby Nostradamusi and rugby Einsteins:
Give me an in form Bekker any time. Stormers/Boks
In my most humble opiniom Spies and Vermeulen not on the same page. Vetgat can walk 10 meters with half the Chiefs on his shoulders
Kolisi is like Uli Scmidt, not the biggest, bur ceryainly punches way above his weight
Stronf Elstadt still faces the attack uproght. Where the coacjes?
Did I see a shoulder charge noarm butch james fellinfg of Pietersen from a kick off?
I do not think the first Chiefs try was a try. Didn’t look like control and downward pressure. But then again I’m sitting on a couch.
Even Ginger looks fired up today. Go Vlamme
And Curse, I heard on the radio, during a talkshow, that pessimistic (read negative) people live longer than optimistic0people
Not sure about the spellingn the font on my BB must be half a micro mm
9 Mar 2013, 18:19 pm
That’s no penalty. Habana got back to his feet.
@mikeybrass-63: Tx Mikey. vipbox new to me. Watched the end of Wales vs Scotland. Good comeback from MOM Warburton.
Oh no, the second-best hooker in the country has a boo-boo on his nose
9 Mar 2013, 18:20 pm
@Fern-100: Shut it, idiot.
9 Mar 2013, 18:20 pm
I hope the stats guys can come back to us. But I think Bekker must be the tallest centre in the history of the game
9 Mar 2013, 18:21 pm
@DontThinkJustWonder-104: Missed it.
@the curse-101: Yeah but it was the right call.
9 Mar 2013, 18:21 pm
It’s a real nailbiter. Great when they play like this.
9 Mar 2013, 18:22 pm
Some running by Stormers. By time
@Fern.
Thoroughly entertaining boet.
See Stormers, you can bloody attack!!!!!!!!!
9 Mar 2013, 18:23 pm
Siya Kolisi would be a useful impact player for the Springboks.
9 Mar 2013, 18:24 pm
GGRRRROOOOOOOOOOOOOOMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMM
9 Mar 2013, 18:25 pm
Good try Groom! Been better then I thought him capable of.
Skop hulle gatte.
stormers deserve their lead. playing the better rugby.
fark double movement try…
Only way to play Chiefs is to deny them ball by keeping the ball in the hands and Stormers are doing it brilliantly
Awesome play Stormers
Groom you beauty!!!!
Well done boet! You have played brilliantly!
9 Mar 2013, 18:26 pm
@Fern-117: Shut it you ignorant doos.
@hendrikp-113: all of the Stormers loosies could be the Bokke loose trio but then we have some great lossies in SA
@hendrikp-113: Kolisi is simple awesome. He has bulked up and the impact he makes is impressive.
9 Mar 2013, 18:27 pm
The Cape Chiefs changed jerseys at halftime I see
@Fern-117:
You’re actually behaving like a girls blouse now.
Pauliasi Manu doing his team any favors today. Rebels won’t regret that decision on todays performance.
@hendrikp-111:
Ek het in Paekakariki gesit en homesick gevoel toe spoor ek die sait op die interwebs op.
Ek het al Griffin en Chopper Charlie ontmoet.
Cool seuns.
9 Mar 2013, 18:28 pm
@mikeybrass-122:
You are what you eat,yes I am a doos.
@the curse-116: Grant10 must be cursing deciding not to go to Newlands
Why can’t the Boks play like Stormers?
9 Mar 2013, 18:29 pm
Stretcher being called,always very sad.
I hope Habana is okay.
9 Mar 2013, 18:29 pm
@hendrikp-127:
**not doing
@mikeybrass-124:
Probably the Stormers best player with Etzebeth out.
Still wouldn’t be confident starting him, but with bench playing such a big part, and soon to be 23 players as well, guys like him, Coenie Oosthuizen, Francois Hougaard would be ideal candidates for the last 20-30 minutes.
9 Mar 2013, 18:30 pm
Oh no Habana
9 Mar 2013, 18:30 pm
Mikey
been a great game regardless of result.
9 Mar 2013, 18:31 pm
that try looked easy peasy
we still have a game folks
9 Mar 2013, 18:31 pm
Scored a few tries but they can’t defend to save their lives today.
9 Mar 2013, 18:32 pm
Dammit
Beautiful rugby by Chiefs, can’t help to praise it.
Pleasantly surprised Stormers playing enterprising rugby. Well done okes.
Nevertheless, GO CHIEFS!!!
@the curse-135: Thoroughly enjoying it.
@hendrikp-137: It’s extremely difficult to defend against the Chiefs.
9 Mar 2013, 18:33 pm
That’s the danger of the Chiefs. That was too easy. Eish. Poor communication between centres there. Whatever the result I’m just glad that the brand of rugby by the Stormers is truer to their style of play.
9 Mar 2013, 18:33 pm
Grant10 must never go back to Newlands.
9 Mar 2013, 18:34 pm
@W.P-142:
sensing a choke?
@mikeybrass-141:
It is when you give them so much space yes.
It’s just poor defense my man, nothing else.
Oh, fark, Stormers are on the verge of scoring 4 tries in a Super game since .. erm … Elvis died?
And that’s against the defending champs, not bad at all.
9 Mar 2013, 18:36 pm
A tense few minutes ahead for the Stormers. These Chiefs can score 14 points in 2 minutes!
9 Mar 2013, 18:36 pm
@kaksioek-143: Fark, what an irony. Boycotted for the first time since dinosaur era and they play the best rugby I can recall.
9 Mar 2013, 18:37 pm
@polaris-148: Were you the other one? Rugby viewers everywhere appreciate your sacrifice.
9 Mar 2013, 18:38 pm
What’s with the Fern chap? Sook jy aandag? Go have a lekker dop.
9 Mar 2013, 18:38 pm
@polaris-148:
So her red speedo wearing mangina strutting drama queen fallout was for nothing.
9 Mar 2013, 18:39 pm
Good decision to go for posts.
@hendrikp-145: We’re getting a good balance between attack and defence today against such a quality attack.
@W.P-150:
Calling it straight down the middle.
@kaksioek-149: Nope, it’s about poor Grant. As for me, I have never been Stormers supporter – good on them anyway for nice playing.
@polaris-148: Long may he stay away from Newlands if this is what we produce
Grannntttt, where are you my man?
9 Mar 2013, 18:40 pm
OMG the Stormers are on the verge og scoring 4 tries for the first time in about 2 years!
They have played well.
9 Mar 2013, 18:40 pm
***** how the Chiefs are obstructing.
9 Mar 2013, 18:42 pm
Chiefs forwards not in it today.
9 Mar 2013, 18:42 pm
@ShaunB-156:
Kings Park will be empty on the stands now,most people will be on the outfields having a braai.
9 Mar 2013, 18:44 pm
Is there a game at kings park
9 Mar 2013, 18:45 pm
@W.P-150: Fern, Skop, Sharks will bite you, Bakkies’ lover and Hondo are major conspiracy theorists. They’re not into reality.
9 Mar 2013, 18:46 pm
@Fern-159:
My bad,it is not a home game.
9 Mar 2013, 18:46 pm
One noticeable difference in Kolisi’s game has been his carrying this season. He’s fast becoming the complete package.
9 Mar 2013, 18:47 pm
I guess that knock-on was Elton’s fault.
9 Mar 2013, 18:52 pm
Well worked BP try.
9 Mar 2013, 18:52 pm
great try
9 Mar 2013, 18:53 pm
S’s attacking play has lost its edge since Elton went off.
Nice try Chiefs.
9 Mar 2013, 18:53 pm
Can the Stormers hold out here against these Chiefs? What’s happening with their defence? This must be the first time they’ve conceded 4 tries in a LONG time.
9 Mar 2013, 18:54 pm
It is squeaky bum time.
Fark Chiefs score. What a game though! C’mon Stormers!!!!!!!!!
Let Peter Grant have this shot at goal PLEASE!
@mikeybrass-167: Un-possible. Elton is a mercenary double agent who has been holding the Stormers back – Skop told us.
9 Mar 2013, 18:55 pm
@hendrikp-171:
And they go for touch. Wow.
9 Mar 2013, 18:56 pm
chiefs are deadly on the counter
peyper sealing his mom award with that yellow.
9 Mar 2013, 18:56 pm
Poep, wherever you are…
Peyper is onto you cheaters.
9 Mar 2013, 18:57 pm
@I am a stormer-169:
typical bent stormers supporter comment
Peyper is a legend.
@kaksioek-172: Stormers finally adjusted their patterns to accommodate Elton and it paid dividend.
9 Mar 2013, 18:58 pm
@Fern-176: Stop paying attention to his bum, you bum.
9 Mar 2013, 19:00 pm
Peyper doing his best to end the contest
shame
9 Mar 2013, 19:00 pm
Come on Stormers. One more try.
Need to maul it here.
9 Mar 2013, 19:01 pm
Peyper got Bakkies’ memo. This could be a game-changer.
9 Mar 2013, 19:02 pm
@the curse-180:
By refereeing a game fairly for a change? Chiefs lucky to only get 2 cards in this game.
Stormers still in trouble here.
9 Mar 2013, 19:02 pm
@the curse-180: Do you disagree that Brodie was offside at the maul?
9 Mar 2013, 19:03 pm
Danger…
9 Mar 2013, 19:04 pm
Thank fark.
9 Mar 2013, 19:04 pm
hometown decision
was need on hi feet
cheating filthy scum saffa ref
9 Mar 2013, 19:05 pm
YYYYYYYEEEEEEEEEESSSSSSSSSSSSSSS
Off to the Sharks thread and some real rugby.
Stormers!!!!
I had the Stormers by ….. TWO!
That was entry from the side ref. Let’s be fair about that call. BS call.
9 Mar 2013, 19:06 pm
Well done Stormers.
What a spectacle of a game of rugby. Why can’t it be played like that most of the time?
Why was Messam furious at the last decision of the ref. Nobody was on their feet at the ruck and yet the ball magically pops out of the ruck on the Chiefs side. Geez these NZ teams really niggle around @ ruck and maul time.
congrats stormers fans
some strange decisions though
who paid the peyper indeed.
9 Mar 2013, 19:07 pm
@the curse-187:
You’re blind then.
I’d be more concerned that he came in from the side more then anything… but then was it a ruck? Probably not.
Next time keep Jantjies on the field for longer, AC. Grant brought nothing and neither did DD.
Fark.
Congrats, Stormers, held on. On a bright side still no bonus point for them and 2 bagged for chieftains.
The most entertaining game played in SA this season, cudos to both teams.
Well Stormers. Job done.
And plaudits to the Chiefs. It was an enterprising game to watch.
Pity the Stormers didn’t get their 4th try but right now the win was more important.
@W.P-194: Furious they couldn’t steal victory with their usual cheating
@hendrikp-196:
Just rewinded it on MySky… no Chiefs players involved except the ball-carrier so it was not a ruck.
Can’t complain poep.
9 Mar 2013, 19:08 pm
Lol. Egg on NZINCHINA’s face after he called big scores against the Cheetahs and Stormers…..
More of the same, AC, only keep Jantjies on longer…
@Fern-189: @the curse-195: Learn the rules idiots
9 Mar 2013, 19:09 pm
Wp
Your winger won the ball from a side entry, thats why messam was fuming. Buy hey congrats to your lads. Every team going to get ****** calls this season. Its the reason why we’re all here on keo right? !
@CSI:Rugby-191:
Do you know what constitutes a ruck?
Clearly not.
@ShaunB-202: LOL
HAHAHAHAHA! Poppa the Cursed complaining about the ref! I thought only “whinging Saffas” complained about the ref! What a sour loser.
9 Mar 2013, 19:10 pm
stormers did it all night hendrik
sealed off
illegal entry
but only the chief were penaliaed for it
your assumption that SA ha good refs is wrong
knew you would never admit it though chiefs have every reason to be upset.
@the curse-187: the only cheating was from Chiefs … constant cynical stuff … Kiwis do it habitually now – seems like they can’t help themselves anymore … & they play such attractive, winning rugby, I don’t know why they have to resort to cheating
A shame really
@CSI:Rugby-205:
Side entry into what? Can’t be a ruck if the only players there are Stormers players and the Chiefs ball-carrier.
Learn the rules.
HendrikP
Definitely not a side entry
9 Mar 2013, 19:11 pm
Lol the Chiefs were taking defenders out at the fringes of the ruck and maul all evening.
At least Peyper put his foot down and took some action on it. The kiwi teams usually get away with this cheating.
9 Mar 2013, 19:11 pm
Seems Poppa the Cursed is a bit of a sore loser hey?
9 Mar 2013, 19:12 pm
@the curse-209:
Can’t be bothered with you poep. Just admit you’re wrong and know f-all about what you regularly talk about.
You’re passionate, but that makes you incredibly one-eyed.
@ShaunB-208: Hehe, damn sure as hell you’ll do next time.
@the curse-195:
You need to understand that Stormers always call for ‘The Pyper’.
3 STormers games, 3 Pyper appearances.
Stormers are known for their forward passes but somehow Pyper never looks for, nor sees one of them.
Don’t you think that strange?
Stormers can’t compete with good sides unless they have 18 men on the field.
Van den Heever came right in from the side in the final minutes – again Peyper ‘didn’t see it’ although it was very obvious.
Same against the Sharks last week, STormers wwere never penalised for holding back players – 2 (one right wing and one left) were try scoring opportunities for the Sharks.
hahaha.
two yellow cards to none.
says it all
cheating filthy saffa scum
how much was peyper paid to ensure the right result?
stormer got away with murder.
9 Mar 2013, 19:13 pm
@CSI:Rugby-212:
Good man. Don’t want you encouraging poep when there is nothing to complain about.
9 Mar 2013, 19:13 pm
Take the eye patch off and have another look. Winger side entry. Thats why messam went off. Baring on the game? Who cares. Its done with. But chiefs get done for the same infringement. Should be the same call for that play.
9 Mar 2013, 19:14 pm
Shaun’
just doings Bakkies impersonation.
@the curse-218:
So to make it fair he should’ve carded 2 Stormers players for no reason?
Hmmm.
Season starts now. Well done, @thestormers @BrewerDHL http://t.co/g6mAxdZfwZ
9 Mar 2013, 19:15 pm
@the curse-218: Hello Bakkies II
@CSI:Rugby-220:
Wow. I thought you were admitting you were wrong.
I’m watching it RIGHT NOW, and there is nobody else there. How can it be side entry?
Don’t be an idi-ot as well.
@the curse-218:
If you wanna talk home town ref, check tomorrow morning’s bullshit in Auckland.
9 Mar 2013, 19:16 pm
Stormers win and the haters come out to play.
SUCK IT UP BOYTJIES
imagine the result went the other way and it wa a kiwi ref
you’d all be singing a different tune
we know it.
Stormers !!!chiefs lucky to have ended up with 13 players. Chiefs are such a good team ,but they resorted to some despicable stuff today.
9 Mar 2013, 19:17 pm
@W.P-194: Because the Stormers player was off his feet when he won the ball back from the final ruck.
9 Mar 2013, 19:18 pm
@the curse-227:
If he’d let them get away with obstruction & going off their feet all day… yeah sure we’d be complaining.
hendrik
so you’ve already made your mind up about tomorrows ref?
ok then rugby Kenner
do you do tarot card readings or are you just psychic ?
lmfao.
what a chop indeed.
@Ho3n3r-225: By how many Bulls lost tomorrow, Nostradamus?
9 Mar 2013, 19:19 pm
An idi-ot, mate someone asked on here why messam was fuming. Here’s the law you know so well. Entering breakdown, must come thru the gate. Chiefs were guilty of not doing it and so was that substitute winger. But like I said. Its done with. Every team is going to get the short end of sheiza officiating. Now ease up with yhe big name calling words.
9 Mar 2013, 19:19 pm
@DontThinkJustWonder-229:
No, he was on his feet and had his hands on the ball.
Having excellent body position doesn’t mean you’re off your feet.
9 Mar 2013, 19:20 pm
Well done Stormers
We really needed that
Played much better and let’s hope they can continue
Very pleased with the win
9 Mar 2013, 19:20 pm
Milkey
the fish are biting
HARD!
lmao
this is what we kiwis have to put up with any time a saffa side loses, now you’re all complaining?
hahahahahaha
thanks for proving my point
hypocrites!!
9 Mar 2013, 19:21 pm
@the curse-231:
What are you talking about?
I’m talking about if it were a kiwi ref. Where did I talk about the Blues vs Bulls game?
Stop smoking that sh-it hey.
9 Mar 2013, 19:22 pm
Go u good gits
Anyway, gonna watch Sharks hand the Kings a proper hiding in peace.
Poep, get some sleep.
Sorry but the Chiefs were holding back defenders all night and killing the rolling mauls. That said if the Stormers were playing away I’m sure the ref would have been more forgiving on the Chiefs!
9 Mar 2013, 19:24 pm
hendrik
my mistake. read the name wrong
doesn’t change te fact you’re very one eyed
stormers also took men out, but none of you can admit it
fair enough
you guys need this, the way kiwi rugby has emasculated you over the years ill let you have your moment in the sun.
9 Mar 2013, 19:25 pm
@W.P-240:
I agree
I thought neutral refs were the order of the day, so why not an Aussie ref if SA vs NZ teams play, or a SA ref for Aus vs NZ etc?
I realize home ground counts a lot, but it seems like the visiting teams sometimes get the short end of the stick.
Still pleased with the win though
9 Mar 2013, 19:26 pm
Oh, fark, another post-mortem brawl.
Despite being disappointed with the result sincere congratulations to SA fans in general and Stormers fans in particular. Good game of rugby it was, Stormers were long overdue to deliver and actually entertain. Plus Chiefs still got 2 points.
Out to the PE game. Cheers all.
9 Mar 2013, 19:27 pm
@the curse-241:
Hey pops, celebrate with me for a change
Not to often that happens
Our Superbru is seriously stuffed up this weekend
Stormers are back to their usual winning ways. Us Stormers are used to beating Kiwis
It was an excellent excellent match, the Chiefs’ cheating aside.
no ones mentioned petersens attempted trip on the chiefs winger in the first 10 minutes?
thought you guys were all for the rules
9 Mar 2013, 19:28 pm
@polaris-243: Yes, it’s been too long since we ran the ball. Watching the PE game too.
9 Mar 2013, 19:28 pm
@the curse-246: 1:100
Here, have a beer and let’s all enjoy the next match
9 Mar 2013, 19:29 pm
@mikeybrass-247: Yes. Glad for them, even if they are “the enemies”, lol.
9 Mar 2013, 19:30 pm
@mikeybrass-245: “Us Stormers are used to beating Kiwis”
Let me quietly whisper two words.
“the crusaders”
9 Mar 2013, 19:31 pm
Nortie
congrats mate. pleased for you. your team played really well. I have no qualms congratulating you and your team. it’s just these other fckers who only ever complain about kiwi cheating but can’t admit their teams do it too
as I told mikey, the fish are biting hard.
9 Mar 2013, 19:32 pm
@nortierd-244: Special congrats to you, as you’ve been suffering long enough.
This should cheer you up big time.
9 Mar 2013, 19:32 pm
@polaris-250:
Going to be difficult calling Stormers v Crusaders
Crusaders will now also start getting desperate after 2 losses
They do enjoy playing at Newlands, but Stormers will be fresh after the break
9 Mar 2013, 19:34 pm
Absolute nail biter of a match, very glad the stormers managed to take it. The chiefs however, look really good still. Any team that can push that far and hard despite the travel etc deserves serious respect.
9 Mar 2013, 19:35 pm
@the curse-251:
Thanks
Was nice to see
I agree and to be honest, I also dislike the current reffing.
I think an Aussie should blow NZ v SA sides, and a SA ref Aus v NZ etc., but nothing we can do to change that
polaris-252:
Thanks bud
Was really an important win, so I am very happy and relieved
9 Mar 2013, 19:35 pm
@nortierd-253: Indeed, since the whipping in CT’2010, Saders firmly have the wood over them, however when Stormers are on fire, the opposition need a huge dose of firefighters. I have no illusuions, Saders are for a really tough assignment there.
9 Mar 2013, 19:36 pm
@Tartan-254:
Very well said
Major respect
Not often anyone scores 4 tries against the Stormers, and you are right, with the travel to get away with 2 bonus points is brilliant
9 Mar 2013, 19:37 pm
@nortierd-255: I agree boet, its a shame that the focus is taken off the rugby and the man in the middle becomes the reason/angst/excuse for why teams lose..
seems many of your countrymen dont like it when we c9omplain about your refs, but remain so quiet when the reverse is true..
I love pointing it out though…
I hope you are drinking that leftover beer from the bulls game and savouring every drop
9 Mar 2013, 19:38 pm
Fark, how mighty Frogs have fallen. Dissipating quickier than a corpse in the acid.
9 Mar 2013, 19:39 pm
@polaris-250: Them aside, though we beat them in ’10.
9 Mar 2013, 19:40 pm
Yip hometown decisions are the order of the day. It happens all the time. As I said the Chiefs were cynical today but if they played at home with a different referee the Stormers would not have got some of the decisions awarded to them.
9 Mar 2013, 19:40 pm
@the curse-258:
Ha ha
Watching the SA champions outkick the whipping boys
Alarm is set for 4:30 tomorrow morning
You feeling confident with your boys?
This is the big one for you and TR
9 Mar 2013, 19:41 pm
@mikeybrass-260: True and that was a hell of a beating, but that was the last time. They are the bogeys.
9 Mar 2013, 19:43 pm
well well well…
9 Mar 2013, 19:44 pm
@nortierd-262:
Geez…Nortie…up to the Blues now to restore a little pride …alas my Bru is in tatters…Houston is to blame… Physically the Sa sides have monstered us…too good
9 Mar 2013, 19:45 pm
how unsurprising
if you simply apply the rules and blow them
you see them for the paper tigers they are
9 Mar 2013, 19:46 pm
@nortierd-262: not sure Nortie, think JK has made too many changes, why when we have the bye next week? cant understand it myself, am afraid we will lose the momentum and be dis-jointed with the different players coming in..
I am just searching the internet to buy my ear plugs and my sunglasses as I can already hear bakkies excuses if the blues win… take a look at the Cheetahs thread, and this from a man who doesnt watch super rugby anymore?
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-264:
And a special welcome to the Ministry of Referees
Welcome Bakkies
The NZ refs are having a clandestine meeting in Auckland right now rubbing their hands together and twirling their mustaches while planning the downfall of the Bulls.
Can you hear the wha ha ha laughing coming from their secret chambers
@Te Rangatira-265:
hallo TR,
i’m looking forrward to our buddy China’s next visit
9 Mar 2013, 19:48 pm
@Te Rangatira-265:
My friend, let’s not even go to Superbru
You have had one bad week, myself and pops are still looking for a good week
@the curse-267:
Strange, but I’m sure he knows what he is doing
9 Mar 2013, 19:49 pm
@Te Rangatira-265: chance for our boys to top the conference tomorrow bro, lets hope the ref has got his instructions yeah?
9 Mar 2013, 19:50 pm
This is it… The year that Keo’s predications finally come true
9 Mar 2013, 19:50 pm
@nortierd-270: maybe, I think he has picked a forward pack to counter the expected rolling maul of the Bulls, not sure I agree..
think Luatua is in his best position, and regardless of the result, think he will own Spies tomorrow, though thats not too hard
9 Mar 2013, 19:51 pm
@the curse-273:
Lol
If they give Spies an open game and space, you are going to regret that comment
9 Mar 2013, 19:52 pm
@fantasticbarnsmell-272:
Let’s not be too hasty. That’s a sign of the endtimes.
9 Mar 2013, 19:52 pm
you dont watch super rugby but you admit to watching a cheetahs replay?
what a paranoid kont you are
why dont you feck off
9 Mar 2013, 19:53 pm
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-269:
Morning Houston
You feeling chipper today…
9 Mar 2013, 19:53 pm
@nortierd-274: the bloke should be playing wing, his original position… could have been a great there, but is a poor poor 8th man.. imo of course..
9 Mar 2013, 19:54 pm
@nortierd-268:
nand se Nortie,
jy kan maar bly wees die skeidsregter het gekies om sy werk te doen vanmidag.
hoe vervrissend…
the Bulls are bad travelers and dont even need the usual kiwi ref against them in order to lose so i dont hold my hopes up.
just a good account of themselves is all i ask.
9 Mar 2013, 19:56 pm
is it just me or are the Sharks not attacking as much these days..?..
9 Mar 2013, 19:58 pm
@the curse-271:
Kia ora Bro…..I’m in re-assessment mode now…the Sa teams so far have done the basics very well and have taught Nz sides a lesson….Heres to the Blues running game doing the damage…
@the curse-278:
I agree nr 8 is not his position
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-279:
To many close calls go against the visitors IMO, but yes, I’m not complaining
I have previously said, if your team wins, the ref is great, if they lose, he was useless
Just the nature of the beast
The Bulls have done better in the last few years with travel, Cheetahs showed this morning anything can happen
@the curse-278: I think this observation is right. He is the worst Bok 8 of the post-isolation era.
9 Mar 2013, 19:59 pm
@nortierd-274: hehe, as Lennon once sung
“Give spies a chance”.
9 Mar 2013, 19:59 pm
hallo Poppa,
i admit i was intrigued by the final score and couldn’t resist taking a look.
you nuaghty boys not having it your way as easily as we all expected this season, hey..?..
@Te Rangatira-277:
same as any other day, boet
9 Mar 2013, 20:00 pm
@nortierd-270:
I’m happy for you Nortie that your team played with heart and got a deserved victory….Wonderful for the Tournament
9 Mar 2013, 20:01 pm
@Te Rangatira-281: Highlanders came off a bye, never conducive to being at your best, and they gifted Cheetahs two tries, regardless of what anyone says here..
Chiefs played well in patches, and could have won the game… no shame there, Stormers were the more desperate side and it showed.. they did provide the blueprint for everyone else playing the stormers, the little kick in behind the defense worked well, and Cruden gifted the Stormers a try weith a failed attempt at this tactic..
not convinced the Saffa teams are better at all, so will disagree with you..
9 Mar 2013, 20:01 pm
@polaris-284:
Lol
I think Imagine is still banned in Pretoria, so odds are Spies doesn’t know who Lennon is
9 Mar 2013, 20:03 pm
@Te Rangatira-286:
Thanks
Was a nice match from a spectator point of view
One day we will get that elusive 4 try bonus point
Huge respect for the Chiefs though, with the travel to still score 4 against a very good defense and pick up a losing bonus point, was really good
9 Mar 2013, 20:03 pm
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-285: tyournaments not won in March bakkies..
as noted above, the highlanders were their own worst enemies, gifting the cheetahs some very soft tries… seems they are struggling for cohesion with their new personnel, it happens..
Cheetahs turned up to play and did very well, full credit to them and the Stormers as well, both were committed and had serious intensity..
goes a long way to winning any game imo..
9 Mar 2013, 20:04 pm
@nortierd-282:
two yellow cards and multiple penalties is “close calls going against the visitors” ..?..
ja right
pull the other farkin one
9 Mar 2013, 20:04 pm
@nortierd-288: He definitely should. This is the oke who wrote “Lucy in the Sky with Diamonds”
(y’know the rumours about chemistry)
9 Mar 2013, 20:06 pm
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-291:
Ok, blatant calls against the visitors
Don’t complain if there are 2 yellows against the Bulls tomorrow.
9 Mar 2013, 20:07 pm
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-291: Wait. This is not the real Bakkies.
The real Bakkies “sees no evil, hears no evil” when it comes to reffing vs Keewees.
@nortierd-288: seen your comment re the hurricanes..
me too, first time I dont tip them and they win, I just knew theyd do it to me…
still, only way is up once you hit rock bottom..
seems karma is still paying me back
@the curse-287:
You have to give the Cheetahs forwards some credit..they were huge in defence and played with some mongrel. Same goes for the Stormers, backs against the wall….dug deep for the win….
9 Mar 2013, 20:08 pm
@polaris-293: no no no, as many here have told me, it was hereditary
at 21???
9 Mar 2013, 20:08 pm
@Te Rangatira-297: they were off side all day
9 Mar 2013, 20:11 pm
@the curse-296:
We suck at Superbru
But I always say next week is moving week
I reckon we must pick at least 2 games against the run of play, eg Cheetahs away while everything scream Landers etc
Got nothing to lose now
Kings over Chiefs next week?
9 Mar 2013, 20:12 pm
@the curse-290:
nobody said it was, Poppa… nobody said it was….
agreed the Cheetahs turned up for the full 80 but i was more amazed the ref blew the Highlanders as much as he did (i’m flippin serious when i say this).
there was definitely a lot of naughty stuff and the penalties were deserved but you’re right the Cheetahs were good to capitalise where they could.
Sopoaga was atrocious and Thorn’s age is starting to show maybe.
i will watch the hi-lites of the Stormers game because once again it seems i have good reason to check up on the refs behaviour. it seems it was a case of the Chiefs not getting away with ‘their usual game’ and failing to adapt adequately..?..
@Te Rangatira-287: are you a Chiefs man bud?
how do you know about two yellow cards?
you dont watch super rugby remember?
9 Mar 2013, 20:13 pm
@the curse-299:
hehe… they were desperate..which is a good thing…
9 Mar 2013, 20:13 pm
Rugby games are supposed to be non-fiction, not pre-scripted like wrestling. The refereeing in Brisbane (Hurricanes) and Newlands disrespects the sport. And, how come New Zealand teams are victimised year in, year out. Rhetorical question – it is punishment for being too good, but relatively too weak, poor, and voiceless.” Victories” like this one are a continuation of the century-long masturbation fantasy you SA types have about your rugby. Reality is not welcome.
I hope that rugby will become truly professional in your lifetimes.
9 Mar 2013, 20:14 pm
Nortie
lol. agree with going against what we think on bru
you just know you have to tip that call now, least it comes back to haunt you
9 Mar 2013, 20:14 pm
@Atreides-302:
No.. I’m a Blues supporter…but played some club Rugby in Hamilton…
9 Mar 2013, 20:16 pm
@the curse-306:
Well, they are keeping the SA hope of 2013 tryless
9 Mar 2013, 20:18 pm
@nortierd-294:
not necessary
Kiwis are so flippin bad that ‘they’re actually quite good’ at being blatantly subtle when they screw you.
9 Mar 2013, 20:18 pm
@nortierd-308: 12-3 is great for the kings, could you imagine Fern and Hg if they happened to lose to them..
wouldnt see their names for the dust their feet would kick up..
9 Mar 2013, 20:19 pm
@nortierd-308: also, i am NOT using your philosophy of putting my bru picks in after a bad weekend..
it has only continued my poor form in that regard
9 Mar 2013, 20:19 pm
@polaris-295:
i was being facetious
9 Mar 2013, 20:20 pm
@the curse-310:
Man, that thought is keeping me going
9 Mar 2013, 20:20 pm
@the curse-303:
http://sarugby.net/matchbreakdown.aspx?id=113771&category=&leagueid=0&homeid=15171&awayid=15151&fullview=true
went through the match report.
i actually regret not watching these two game live.
9 Mar 2013, 20:23 pm
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-312: LOL, for a moment I thought your dislike of Stormers got the better of your dislike of Keewees, so you suddenly DID SEE something about the ref.
Alas, we have to wait till the next time Saffas get beaten, to know everything about the oppo players, ref, camera angles, ighting, grass etc.
9 Mar 2013, 20:23 pm
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-309:
Sounds like a casino
@the curse-311:
Nothing is working
Too be fair, most experts also had many wrong this week
The guys who made what we consider weird or dark horse picks scored big time
9 Mar 2013, 20:24 pm
Evening all
The Cheetahs – well done fellas.
The Stormers and Chiefs: what a brill game of rugga. Dodgy calls here and there, a few cynical moves, some confusion and a few other wobbly bits….BUT: the game was incredible. Shy te, even if the Stormers had lost it, I would have been celebrating the type of rugby played.
I do say that IF the Stormers had won those 1st 2 games in the traditional conservative manner, I doubt we would have seen the rugga we saw today……
Seems the guppies are trying to win the tournie on penalties this year, not the Stormers……
Funny that…..guppies happy with the close wins and penalties…..
And tommorrow morning….Spies’s sh y te gets real
9 Mar 2013, 20:24 pm
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-314:
Best you don’t watch the Bulls game too…you may jinx them…a bit like what you’ve done to my Super Bru
9 Mar 2013, 20:27 pm
@nortierd-313:
wouldnt it be just the best thing ever? I am seriously thinking of getting a coin, home team is heads, and see how it goes…why not
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-317: congrats Pedigree lady.. you must be brimming from ear to ear
9 Mar 2013, 20:28 pm
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-317: Agree, it was a great game.
9 Mar 2013, 20:28 pm
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-317:
Hi
Just very happy with the win
As Fern pointed out earlier this afternoon, we are mere amateurs
But he must explain why the professionals can’t score a try against the whipping boys
9 Mar 2013, 20:29 pm
PS say thank you to Andre Watson for today’s little gift.
9 Mar 2013, 20:29 pm
@polaris-315:
well no, not really
i’m semi-retired now and will only give breakdowns of the ref and opposition in one or two of the Bulls games.
for my sanity and yours.
you know the saying about insanity being ‘the act of bleating over and over again about the same facts of cheating and expecting a different result’ the next time it happens…
@nortierd-316:
hahahaha
ja, beslis
9 Mar 2013, 20:30 pm
Hi Nortie and co! I’m enjoying a stiff drink – was at Newlands today. Let’s say “a win is a win” but the Chiefs are a bunch of dangerous rugby players!! Cruden, Nanai-Williams etc are very talented players.
I’ve always had the feeling that the Chiefs would come back. Fortunately we survived!
9 Mar 2013, 20:30 pm
@the curse-319:
Nothing to lose
I hate those who don’t pick then get a bloodie default point and we get nothing
9 Mar 2013, 20:31 pm
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-323: Semi-retired? I hope it is thanks to a good reason, not due to bad.
And yes – sanity should be treasured. Like truth – spend it wisely.
9 Mar 2013, 20:31 pm
@Te Rangatira-318:
fark! you may be onto something here, TR
9 Mar 2013, 20:32 pm
@CharlesM-324: enjoy the moment Charles, would have been a great game to see live..
@nortierd-325: that was my other option
9 Mar 2013, 20:32 pm
@CharlesM-324:
Hi Charles, vibe looked great, you must be happy as well
Chiefs are awesome, to get 2 bonus points after traveling against a very good defensive side takes some doing
9 Mar 2013, 20:33 pm
@56boks-322: “only give breakdowns of the ref and opposition”
how about Bullies, too, just for a change?
9 Mar 2013, 20:34 pm
@the curse-319: Cheers Pops. To be honest, far happier with manner in which we played than with the win as such. Last year we had many wins, many conservative and dreadful wins that left me rather disenchanted.
What I saw today, gives me hope….There IS more than penalties
(Guppies have adopted this approach now….Lambie is the new Peter Grant
Yet, there is a deafening silence from the HG’s and BathroomFerns re: the guppies. (Yet they were rather vocal last year…)
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-323: Greetings Bakkies. You enjoying the S15?
Go the Kings!!!!! Loving this!!!!!!!!!!!! HG, Dusky, RL (fakefuckguppie) etc etc etc, the Kings haters.
9 Mar 2013, 20:35 pm
@nortierd-321: Fern is a drunk.
9 Mar 2013, 20:35 pm
Stormers sneak thriller http://t.co/8xZOJbeagF via @sharethis wonderful statement of what Sup Rugby should be about 70 pointer
9 Mar 2013, 20:38 pm
@polaris-326:
you can bet i will
@polaris-330:
is that for me?
you know better than to ask
Bulls are upstanding christians, they ref themselves.
9 Mar 2013, 20:38 pm
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-331: thought Jantjies did well today, created a great try for Aplon and led the team around the park well… As I said before, his preseason was disrupted completely and hadnt really had the time to spend with the team, as he plays more the natural understanding which is important between players will come..
9 Mar 2013, 20:40 pm
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-331:
hi Pedi,
ja, i am thank you
i didn’t watch either of these games but when i read the outcomes i couldn’t resist watching the hi-lites of the Cheetahs game and will probably do the same for the Stormers game.
9 Mar 2013, 20:41 pm
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-334: Sure thing, no wonder the proper Bakkies had to ask for forgiveness in advance before each and every game.
Yes, it was for you, my mistake there.
9 Mar 2013, 20:46 pm
@the curse-335: I was shattered with some of the comments and insults thrown his way after the first 2 games. The kid had played ZERO rugby since last year, lost his father, and joined a new franchise.
It was always going to take him some time, under dreadful circumstances as well
I thought his distribution was pretty damn good today, and his channel was not the ‘easy to attack’ channel it was in the 1st two games, so his ‘D’ is improving, and he certainly seems to be fitting into the ‘d’ system more, whilst certainly losing none of that natural attacking instinct many saw last year.
I’m a huge Elton fan, and I reckon come end season, he might have a few more – like Skop?????
What has been freaking me out though…all these KNEE injuries. Every game delivers a serious knee injury. Frightening.
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-336: Just watch thefuckinggames Bakkies. You’re missing some really good rugby. (I don’t include the shy te the guppies are currently dishing up in that statement)
9 Mar 2013, 20:47 pm
@polaris-337:
Bakkies does the Lords bidding.
the question the opposition needs to ask is what they’ve done to invite the Lords wrath
9 Mar 2013, 20:50 pm
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-338: he didnt have the opportunity to gain understanding with his new team, and players will always be better if they have that instinctual understanding that comes with regular game time with each other..
I hope he keeps improving…
9 Mar 2013, 20:53 pm
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-338:
@the curse-340:
If he is not there to kick, why pay 2 million Rand for him for 6 months?
9 Mar 2013, 20:53 pm
Hi Pops and Nortie, I don’t know what the commentators said but it was quite windy. Joe P kicked really well in the wind – was really gusty.
Joe made one huge mistake – that one knock after the kick-off.
it was nice to be at Newlands for a change yes and the vibe was great!
Our lineouts were good but the vital one lost with about 3 minutes to go, nearly cost the Stormers the match.
9 Mar 2013, 20:54 pm
@the curse-340: Today he and Groom looked a lot more comfy with each other….and his forwards did their job today, which made his job easier. He definitely looked more at ‘home’.
I’ve got the Blues by 28 on Bru
No jokes…………..
9 Mar 2013, 20:56 pm
@mark_keohane Stormers sneak thriller http://t.co/QEK45t0EFv via @sharethis wonderful statement of what Sup Rugby should be about 70 pointer
9 Mar 2013, 20:59 pm
@nortierd-341: I think he will kick again. I reckon they are just allowing him a few games now to find his mojo without that pressure. (which they should have done from the get go – game 1)
9 Mar 2013, 21:02 pm
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-344:
If Joe is kicking at 80 to 90 % why give Jantjies the ball to kick?
Just saying, it looks like fruitless expenditure considering the ones we lost permanently for one short term buy
9 Mar 2013, 21:04 pm
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-339: The obvious reason is 5 points bagged. That certainly gonna make Blue Lord angry.
9 Mar 2013, 21:33 pm
Good win.
Skop, Jantjies does belong at the Stormers and he will be the spark we have been searching for all these years.
Help him, help you, with positive thoughts and energy.
9 Mar 2013, 21:36 pm
Stormers didn’t put this game away like they should have.. Still lack that final killer instinct and the patience to be able to take the game by the throat and finish it off.. How many more missed chances in the opposition end zone we going to keep giving away when the cherry on the icing is waiting to get eaten.?
Too many wrong options in the final analysis of the finishing touches… better performance today by all and sundry and at least about 200% better outing by Jantjies.. still too many half chance pop kicks going nowhere compared to Cruden who makes some real magic with some deft out of hand kicking Jantjies does some things right and some things wrong and the way the cookie crumbles depends on if the way the wind doth blow at the time of the option taking at the point of departure off the boot.
The setup worked out inside pass to Aplon for first try was a little piece of magician-ship but this was orchestrated from the coaches manual. Stormers all played far better than last two weeks but should have had a bonus point 4 try hall for all the opportunities they gave away at the point where the last phase play was not converted. I can think of around 3 or 4 try scoring opportunities that went begging
1. at end of first half De Allende and Aplon going for line on the touch line.. De Allende should have broke inside and set up another phase 2 mts out rather than a half chance pop pass to Aplon already squeezed up on the touch line.
2. Fourie 5 mts out setting up one more drive from multiple phase forward power play and drops the ball right in the end zone.
3. Kolisi driving off the back of a line out maul held up 1 mt short and forwards unable to convert to a try letting Chiefs off the hook with a penalty turnover.
Least a few more issues to resolve but still far better performance all round. A 4 Try bonus should have been in the bag after how many opportunities were lost in the strike zone.
9 Mar 2013, 21:36 pm
@nortierd-346: I reckon Joe is going back to the bench when Taute is fit. Although….with Bryan H injured now (ligaments?) he might start on the wing? Joe P that is.
9 Mar 2013, 21:38 pm
This was the first time that Jantjies should have had a run on spot at Stormers he should have been eased in rather than chucked into the deep end.. If we’d have started either of the other options vs Sharks and Bulls and given Jantjies chance to settle like he has shown he’s doing only now 3rd game in then I reckon Stormers could have been 3 / 3 instead of 1 / 3 at this juncture.
9 Mar 2013, 21:38 pm
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-350:
I still don’t see what all the hype about Taute is, but maybe that’s just me.
I reckon if Jantjies is merely by us as a 6 months stopgap and not going to kick, then IMO we wasted 2 million and a polo and could have invested that money long term
9 Mar 2013, 21:40 pm
Joe P must retain his run on spot and not at wing.. Taute if ets better must share 13 with De Allende or JdV who would then go inside to 12.. though all 3 players are better at 13 than anywhere else on the field.. So De Allende JdV and taute are all actually 13 options with only De Jongh our real no 12 option.. Pietersen is better than Taute at 15 and also better than Jantjies with ALL the kicking duties.
9 Mar 2013, 21:59 pm
And for a second most ‘kenners’ thought Kolisi was a ‘one season wonder’.
9 Mar 2013, 22:02 pm
With Habana’s injury leaves door open to play De Allende at 14, Aplon 11, JdV 13 De Jongh 12 and Taute 13 or 15 off bench
Kolisi had mammoth game tonight if he would have scored off that back of the maul break where they kept him 1 mt out he should have been MOM.
9 Mar 2013, 22:08 pm
Plenty Stormers fanboys said during the week that from supporting the Stormers since dinosaurs roamed the Earth they would not waste their money on tickets to Newlands to watch the team play. So where are these Roamin Gladiolis? These ‘Hi’Land FeintHearts? These Blights of the Bound Fable? These Sir Dancealofts? Where are these fairweather fanboys who condescend to support their team only if and when their team wins? These copycats of Keegan Daniel who will only attend a match if ‘they’ win?
Let me report to these flipfloppers that they were not missed at a crowded vibrant Newlands today when the Stormers played very good positive rugby. And oh yes, WE won. I am issuing these Sparletta 300s notice…
DBCNM
(Dont Bother Coming Next Match)
9 Mar 2013, 22:11 pm
@skopdiekan-353: you really are a nasty piece of work. The least you can do is to acknowledge Jantjies’ performance properly. He shoved your acidic word towards him right down your ***** *** throat.
The weakness in the Stormers is still Joe P. he was a bit better today, but take away his goal kicking and you not left with much. In fact, if you get your wish and replace Jantjies with Grant, Joe is even more of a luxury in the team. How was Joe’s fumble from the kick-off?
9 Mar 2013, 22:12 pm
For those who wrote off Andries Bekker. A fit Bekker is still the best lock in the country. Head and shoulders above all others and a quality inspirational leader on the field.
9 Mar 2013, 22:13 pm
@BudYza-356: easy there bud. 1 win. New lands is unlikely to be empty, because most of the fans go for the dancing girls and gees. The rugby is a distant second.
9 Mar 2013, 22:15 pm
what kind of a thoat is a ***** *** throat
Jantjies had a far better game and shows he shouldn’t have started either of the last 2 games where he cost Stormers 2 straight wins…
Stormers should have clinched this game within 60 minutes we should have had the bonus try wrapped up long before Chiefs were given open opportunities to get right back in it..
Joe P is not any liability in this setup.. he might be small and light but he makes up for it with a cool kicking head and courage in the tackle..
Thank goodness Joe P was taking the kicks tonight and not Jantjies otherwise it would have been another hopeless fiasco like the first game up where we went into half time 4 penalties missed from 4.
9 Mar 2013, 22:19 pm
Vermeulen – colossus
Kolisi – knight of shining armor
Bekker – colossus 11
Elstadt – colossus 111
Fourie – dancing dragon fighting tiger .. must just hold onto those last ditch try scoring opportunities better
Groom, Jantjies, Habana, De Allende, JdV, Aplon, Joe P. – work alike knights of the round table.
9 Mar 2013, 22:24 pm
Well done Jantjies. Keep putting these naysayers in their place. Fcking luv it.
De Allende was k4k 1st half but 2nd half a different player. Well done.
Stormers loosies was great tonight.
Good job.
I love a SA win over the Kiwi’s but Peyper shocking tonight. Chiefs could feel hard done by some of his calls.
Chiefs will be out for revenge next week. Get ready Kings.
9 Mar 2013, 22:27 pm
World thugby has a new face and new name. Its name is Brodie Retalick. 80 minutes of cheap cowardly off the ball hits charges blindsides illegal interferences and dirty play too many to enumerate. He fouled and infringed on Bekker all game but Bekker still outplayed him with ease.
Retalick was closely followed by many of his team mates and they were lucky to get just two yellow cards for repeated deliberate orchestrated and cynical fouls. The Chiefs showed a distinct lack of dignity and class when being outplayed by the Stormers in all departments. Obviously these players find it easy to be good guys when the tide ebbs in their favor but when it flowed against them today this ‘champion’ team resorted to every dirty trick they could muster. They are a disgrace to the competition and the sport.
Bakkies Botha has passed his bloody baton to Brodie Retalick.
9 Mar 2013, 22:34 pm
And those who think Elstadt should play 4. Watch this game repeatedly until it sinks through your skulls. Elstadt is a much better 7 than a 4. If he can deliver consistently he has every chance of making the Bok 7 jersey his own.
9 Mar 2013, 22:35 pm
RT @chrishwhelan: Season starts now. Well done, @thestormers @BrewerDHL http://t.co/g6mAxdZfwZ
9 Mar 2013, 22:37 pm
what dross. Peppers was dammit fair. The Chiefs clearly have it as part of their game plan to hold players in ahead of the ruck. a known about play too. Maybe Wayne Smith’s influence? Another clear tactic of theirs was to not have players rolling away after the tackle. And the clear instructions must have been to give away maul penalties as early as possible to give away less ground. They cheated so blatantly and so often that it almost gets embarrassing for the ref to penalise it Again. There was a stage where the Chiefs should have had about three men off the field. when they lost the first guy to not rolling away, then all of a sudden that tactic stopped, but then creeped in again towards the end. Very few ref’s would actually spot the obstruction that Peyper did. He is top class.
9 Mar 2013, 22:40 pm
Elstadt had a mammoth game tonight.. Elstadt finally starting to deliver the promise I saw in him at blind side flank beginning of 2011 already when I said he should become the next Juan Smith..
Though we pretty healthy in that department
Vd Walt, Viljoen and Labuschagne of Cheetahs today with P. Steff Du Toit, Kolisi, Louw, can all make big contributions to Boks alongside Alberts or Elstadt at No.7
Tough choice when you got 7 or 8 blind side flanks to choose from and you can only choose one or two.
9 Mar 2013, 23:00 pm
Stormers sneak thriller http://t.co/dMRuzFWG2E via @sharethis
9 Mar 2013, 23:31 pm
@nortierd-352:
“I still don’t see what all the hype about Taute is, but maybe that’s just me.”
You are not alone,
I am here with you…
I’ve been asking that question since last year already. Why did Mitchell AND Ackers prefer COETZEE at FB ahead of Taute?
I never got an answer. Some people tried to suggest that Taute has the POTENTIAL, I repeat, the POTENTIAL to become a great FB.
They said the same thing about Frans Steyn. I’m still waiting for him to show me WHY people thought that about him.
Btw, congrats on OUR team winning the game against the current champs. I know that Hondo will give credit to Peyper for the win and ignore the role that a guy like Aplon played. “lol:
No problem from my side.
5 points out of a possible 15 with two away games in the mix, is a good enough return for me. Before the tournament started, I was aiming for between 6-8, but I’ll take the 5.
9 Mar 2013, 23:33 pm
@skopdiekan-360: Fact: If Jantjies didn’t have the first to games he wouldn’t have had the game he had tonight.
Fact: Joe Pietersen, apart from his kicking was dire last week and tonight and cost the Stormers the first Chiefs try tonight
9 Mar 2013, 23:42 pm
@skopdiekan-367:
Skop, I’m sorry to say but I don’t agree with you. Elstadt for me was one of the players who did not stand up tonight.
I like the boy but he must impose himself way much more.
Bekker just continued where he stopped last week. What a game by the tallest outside centre in the world.
People who criticized him for not ever calling line out ball on him…their mouths were properly shut today. Today, he took responsibility for Stormers’ ball and sommer for Chiefs ball as well.
My Stormers MoM, two weeks in a row.
9 Mar 2013, 23:43 pm
@nama1-370: Look I am not a Bekker fan but he had a Stormer (sic) tonight
9 Mar 2013, 23:50 pm
@BudYza-364:
As a Stormers supporter, I don’t agree.
To play as a 7 for the Bokke, you measure yourself against 4 players imo. If you can measure up to those guys, by all means, then you are the right man for the job.
Gert Smal.
Ruben Kruger
Andre Venter
Juan Smith
You have to be at least close to their class to be considered for that position.
Elstadt still has a long way to go to get there.
9 Mar 2013, 23:57 pm
@Baylion-371:
He did.
Always good to hear someone giving a player his due even if he doesn’t “like” the player.
Bekker was great last week as well. Better than Deysel in the game imo. The Sharks won the game and Deysel got MoM.
So, if you are BAYlion, are you a Lion supporter vannie BAAI?
10 Mar 2013, 00:04 am
Congrats to the Stormers, majestic win. I am allways a little bit nervous about Peyper.Do not trust his bias judgement that much. Well done though for spotting and penalising the Chiefs of the ball infringements today. This practice of playing defenders off the ball must stop.
I think the Stormers showed the rest of the SA teams how to beat the chiefs. Strange though that the moment Duvenhage And Grant came on the tries dried up. Some Stormer supporters have still not put two and two together.
10 Mar 2013, 00:04 am
@nama1-373: Ja, but from the drinking village with a fishing problem, not PE
10 Mar 2013, 00:07 am
@nama1-373: My problem with Bekker is that he doesn’t do his jib in the tight phases but the way the Stormers scrummed shows he upped his game there as well
10 Mar 2013, 00:10 am
Congrats to the Sharks but the same old story as every year. Indifferent performances waiting for the magic click. With all that talent over the years you should have done much better and unlike the boomprophet and his blaffende hond I think the problem lie with Plumtree and co. Years and years of “just not good enough”
10 Mar 2013, 00:10 am
@jet jungle-374: Jantjies and Groom clicked tonight.. Jantjies plays so close to the advantage line that he pulls in two or three defenders opening space elsewhere while Grant hangs back and tries to make runs to a set defensive line
10 Mar 2013, 00:14 am
Lovely performance by the Cheetahs, but again dont they do it every year causing an upset or two. Hopefully with Goosen staying fit and Brussouw back in the team they can keep their snarl for longer this year. Last weeks last twenty against the Chiefs just made me sorry for the Cheetah fans.
10 Mar 2013, 00:15 am
Anyone who didn’t see Elstadt tear into and overpower some those big Chief 2nd row warriors tonight and carry the ball up with some menacing intent.. didn’t watch the same rugby game I watched. .. Elstadt was huge.. big contribution from the big ball carrying and hard crunching No.7 tonight.
10 Mar 2013, 00:16 am
@Baylion-378: Agree with you it is the only way your backline can be an attacking threat.
10 Mar 2013, 00:20 am
The Kings did well but i will be very suprised if they can keep it up. I would not start to gloat about them too soon. A long hard season ahead with limited talent. I like the way they kicked off though. Good luck to them.
10 Mar 2013, 00:21 am
@hendrikp-240:
“Anyway, gonna watch Sharks hand the Kings a proper hiding in peace.”
Did you enjoy the game?
@polaris-251:
There are 5 Kiwi teams in this competition.
Yes, we have a bad record against the Saders. Doesn’t mean we have a bad record against the Kiwis though. In fact, we have a great record against Kiwi teams the last 3 years or so.
10 Mar 2013, 00:25 am
Jantjies still put too much good ball on the boot.. and cost turnover that way.
Groom had a better game than last week also..
And Jantjies was only ready tonight definitely not 3 weeks ago where he single handed cost the game to Bulls.
Stormers first try was off a rehearsed team tactic close to Chiefs line where Jantjies took up the offensive draw position and popped it neatly inside to a storming in Aplon..
second try was from a miss grubber by Cruden that Eklstadt toed through for Aplon to pounce on.. and 3rd try was from a forward thrust movement which Groom rounded off close to the line…
Jantjies can be semi credited with the first try.. neither of the other 2.
Jantjies had a far better game as a result of all the pressure placed on him to deliver and needing to step out of his cocoon of over expectation… he is beginning to grow into the responsibility through sheer requirement to mature into the position. Thank goodness Pietersen is there to take the burden of the place kick responsibility off him else he could implode again like at Loftus.
10 Mar 2013, 00:33 am
@skopdiekan-384: Thanks to Pietersen the Chiefs scored their first try just as last week his poor high ball play cost he stormers at least 3 points.
10 Mar 2013, 00:34 am
@skopdiekan-384: @skopdiekan-384:Its only the brave flyhalves that plays on the gainline , so all that pressure come from the whole line standing closer to their opponents. You cannot give the Chiefs two or three metres, then its game over allready. It is only the talented flyhalves that play flat. You operate on instinct there.
10 Mar 2013, 00:38 am
@jet jungle-374:
“Strange though that the moment Duvenhage And Grant came on the tries dried up.”
Thank you for putting that into words.
For the life of me, why the hell was Groom subbed?
@Baylion-376:
If he is given that role, he’ll do it. Like in 2010 when he was assigned the role as “enforcer.” He did it with aplomb.
10 Mar 2013, 00:41 am
If it weren’t for Pietersens cool kicking head Stormers would have lost, the difference between Stormers and Chiefs tonight was the 8 kicks Pietersen converted otherwise Chiefs would have won.. if Jantjies was responsible for kicking like in Pta Stormers would have lost without doubt. Thank the god of rugby mercy it was Pietersen on the kicking tee and not Jantjies tonight.
Jantjies is a nuggety little player who must lose the attitude of entitlement he was fed on at Lions and then he will fit into the bigger team dynamic which he showed some definite attribute of gaining tonight. He must stop attempting half chance pop kicks and trust his outside backs which again he started doing better tonight.. The speed of service from Groom was far quicker and more efficient than last week which assisted the back line to get momentum off first and second phase ball.
10 Mar 2013, 00:45 am
@nama1-374:
Bekker shut me up tonight
He had a good game, but because the Chiefs contributed by allowing him to break tackles.
It looks good when he goes through gaps, but it doesn’t answer what the heck is he doing there in the centers or on the wing when the other forwards must fight in the mauls.
Against SA defenses they cut him down and we lose momentum.
Stil, as I said, tonight he looked very good and his line outs was exceptional
10 Mar 2013, 00:50 am
So all the 0 / 3 pundits.. Bulls and Sharks pundits declaring emphatically Stormers were going to emerge from today at a 0 / 3 devastating position .. where are they? Including the Philly fanny f’aggots who were baying with much enthusiasm how the AB Chieftains were going to slaughter the WP Stormers with gaylord abandon
10 Mar 2013, 00:51 am
nagmerrie tyd
10 Mar 2013, 00:51 am
@skopdiekan-389: Its what you call finding your feet. There is not a lot of humans out there that will walk into a new setup and start performing at optimum level, and I am sure there must be a little resentment from some members in the squad that he just walked in there. So the pressure is really on him. The entitlement issue I have never picked that up myself.
10 Mar 2013, 00:52 am
@skopdiekan-389: Maybe him and Grant should petition the IRB to create a kicker position like in gridiron football because apart from their kicking they’re not worth much
10 Mar 2013, 00:53 am
@nama1-388: Youre the one punting AC for the top job Nama
10 Mar 2013, 00:53 am
When Kolisi has a standout game, Stormers inevitably win.
10 Mar 2013, 00:55 am
@skopdiekan-391:
I’m relieved, more than anything.
I will confess I was not sure that we could pull this one off, but what I enjoyed most was the manner we played.
More purpose and intent and got some tries as well.
I hope we can break the 4 try bonus point hoodoo soon.
Also, credit and respect to the Chiefs.
To travel and score 4 tries against our defense is not something that happens often.
10 Mar 2013, 00:55 am
@skopdiekan-381:
Elstadt is a very good player, make no mistake. I rate him highly but he is no Smal, Kruger, Venter or Smith. That is the players to rate your 7 against.
Where do you rate him compared to the names I mentioned?
@skopdiekan-385:
Jantjies had a better game because the forwards (and Groom) had a better game. Much better protection of the ball by the forwards. Much better play by the loose trio. Much better service by Groom (because of the aforementioned points).
Grant cost us a bonus point when he went for the try with an overlap on his outside.
I’m still worried with the ease with which the Chiefs created and scored their tries. Says something about the lack of creativity from our side. What do you reckon?
10 Mar 2013, 00:56 am
@nama1-373: And the temper problem…. would not tune him k#k though.
10 Mar 2013, 01:07 am
@nortierd-390:
“…but because the Chiefs contributed by allowing him to break tackles.”
That’s not nice. Did the Saders “allow” Savea to break tackles yesterday?
Bekker is difficult to tackle because of his height. Where do you tackle him? His ankles, which is 2m from the ground or his hips, which is 5m from the ground.
He broke the tackles because, with his height, he is strong as well. Just watch his ability to keep opponents from going down to the ground when he is doing the tackling.
I just hope that he will last the full season without getting injured.
@jet jungle-395:
I’m one of those who say AC must vokkof from Stormers if we keep on playing the game, “not to lose” instead of playing to win.
No, my man. I don’t know where you get that from. Maybe from a Shark supporter. You are not one by any chance?
10 Mar 2013, 01:09 am
@nortierd-390: Never sure how I feel about him, but today he was a leader that galvanized the troops.
10 Mar 2013, 01:11 am
@nama1-400:
Fair point, let me rephrase.
He looked good because he managed to break tackles, but it doesn’t change the fact that he enjoys the fancy stuff more than the hard graft.
Maybe it’s their game plan, and he is supposed to be in the backline, who knows?
If so, then all good
10 Mar 2013, 01:14 am
@skopdiekan-392:
“nagmerrie tyd”
Gepraat van “nagmerrie tyd”.
Dis wat die Bulls ondersteuners nou deurmaak. Arme sotte.
Nadat Tac nou al die afgelope drie weke vir ons probeer vertel het hoedat ons 0/3 sal wees na die naweek, kry hy nou nagmerries oor hoe sy span op hul moer kry oor ‘n paar uur.
Ek het g’n simpatie nie. Mog die Blues hulle goed op hul moer speel.
10 Mar 2013, 01:15 am
Well played Stormers. Pity the neanderthals got two bonus points though. Will be great if the Kings could pull off an upset next weekend.
10 Mar 2013, 01:18 am
@nama1-400: We had this conversation Nama about giving AC another four years as HM had the same luxury or was I talking to myself, that happen sometimes. My wife worries about that.
10 Mar 2013, 01:23 am
@Dusky-404:
Thanks
Congrats to your team, 3 from 3 of which two were away games is a very nice start
10 Mar 2013, 01:23 am
@nama1-403: Wys jou net hoe kan jy jou misjudge met mense ek het altyd gedink jy’s n closet bull supporter. Ons bou op die oomblik ek hoop net ons bou om klaar te kry en nie om besig te bly…soos bv. die Stormers en Sharks.
10 Mar 2013, 01:24 am
@nortierd-402:
I think it is part of the plan. I don’t necessarily agree with it. I still believe that a tight forward must do the hard yards up front. If Schalk comes back, you’ll see him playing much tighter with Schalk taking up the ball where he does it at the moment.
PS: His father played like that. Scored a lot of tries on the wing. Hennie held the record for the most CC tries by a WP player for a while before Carel Dup broke it. Neil Burger then broke Carel’s record. It was an embarrassment for WP rugby that a forward was the try scoring record holder given the fact that WP was known as a province that played running rugby.
10 Mar 2013, 01:36 am
@jet jungle-405:
Another four years as Stormers coach?
Look, if Stormers continue to play the brand of rugby that they did last year AND in the 1st two games of this year, then he must vokkof.
I’ll rather lose… playing constructive, entertaining rugby than the kak that they dished up against the Bulls two weeks ago.
They did play a good brand of rugby tonight but we still did not get a try scoring bonus point while the Chiefs, despite our much talked about defence, did.
10 Mar 2013, 01:47 am
@nama1-409: They did leak tries but they scored tries as well. This was better to watch than any of those super defensive games last year. SBW cousie and co. would make any team leak though. With the Cheetah and Stormers games today I feel so much better about SA rugby. Can they keep it up? Kudos to Coenie O for all those steals and disruptions, they kept on confusing him with Brussouw.
10 Mar 2013, 01:50 am
@jet jungle-407:
Die Bulle gaan nog lank bou.
As die span nie die jaar die semi’s haal nie word Ludeke gefire en Victor word hoofafrigter. Dan kom hy weer met sy nuwe planne.
Intussen droom ouens soos Tac nog steeds dat FdP moet terug kom om ou, verlore glorie vir die Bulle te kom herstel.
Daai tyd is verby. Tyd om aan te beweeg.
10 Mar 2013, 01:53 am
You must absolutelty dominate the Kiwis up front to stand a chance. You got a junkyard dog forward pack in the making. If Eben and Schalk are back, Bekker stays fit, Elstadt stay away from the yellows, Kolisi keep performing. Scary sh.t.
10 Mar 2013, 01:57 am
@nama1-411: Sad but true. Ek is bly en respekteer FDP vir sy stance op die comeback wat HM voor gehoop het. Dit is tyd om aan te beweeg.
10 Mar 2013, 01:57 am
@jet jungle-410:
I heard that. Could not understand why, since Brussow had an orange scrum pet on and Coenie nothing. Just shows how perception wrt players can influence the commentators. When HB came on they talked about his abilities to create turn overs, so when it happened they sommer assumed it was him effecting the turn over.
I would like to see how he goes next weekend. I thought the Cheetah trio played very well together this morning before HB got on.
10 Mar 2013, 02:06 am
@jet jungle-412:
All we need is a front row, neh
Kolisi played well today but he is still no 6. If Pocock and George Smith play together against us in 2 weeks time, we’ll get fucked in the loose.
Of that I have no doubt.
Rather Carr at 6, Kolisi 7 and Vermeulen 8. That’s the only way how we’ll be able to compete against them on the ground and by extension, in the forwards. If not, Jakie will show the student that he is still the master.
I thought Rooikop did well today. Our hooker didn’t miss anything afa line outs were concerned, but that was probably because Bekker called every ball on himself.
10 Mar 2013, 02:09 am
@nama1-414: My wife and swaers are staunch cheetah supporters so that kind of make them my second team. The loosies were magnificent I think Labuscagny? was exeptional. Like I say the Kiwis cant perform when they get bullied up front. Tag tackling the whole game long. Somebody said that at least three or four of your forwards should look like they had their children for breakfast. They had that look about them.
10 Mar 2013, 02:11 am
@nama1-415: Pocock got injured, but George will be there. A wily old cat if ever I saw one.
10 Mar 2013, 02:22 am
Nama1 dont be a fool. Yes, Smal, Kruger, Venter and Smith were the greats of Springbok 7s but to say a player must be compared to them to warrant a being rated is idiocy. If that was the case we would only send out 14 Springbok players. Elstadt does not have to rate among the historically best ever 7s to earn present day selection. He simply has to rate among the best 7s currently playing and vying for the position. Which he does. But the fact that you have to haul out the names of four greats of the game to try and exclude Elstadt says more than you realise. You are the one bringing up and mentioning his name in the same sentence.
10 Mar 2013, 02:24 am
@jet jungle-416:
You’re are so right about the way to play the NZ teams. You must be in their faces all day long. Could not believe how the Highlanders made school boy like errors against the Cheetahs. When last did you see a NZ team pass the ball over the head/behind the wing into touch?
What did you think about Sarel Pretorius today? I always liked him but some esteemed rugby kenners like PA called him a “kak” player in the week.
I saw Pocock with an ice pack on his knee. Will that injury prevent him from touring to SA?
10 Mar 2013, 02:30 am
@BudYza-418:
“He simply has to rate among the best 7s currently playing and vying for the position.”
So, who in your esteemed opinion is the best no. 7 currently playing that he has to compete against?
Look, Elstadt was nowhere last week and the week before. I always try to rate my special players on how they perform when things don’t go well for the team.
Guys like Smith, Venter, Smal, Kruger always got a special mention even when their team did not perform well. Can you say the same about Elstadt?
Remember: I’m a Stormer supporter.
10 Mar 2013, 02:31 am
NortierD did you ever consider that Bekker broke the attempted tackles of the Chiefs? Bekker is huge and strong and ran with intent and determination today making it very difficult to bring him down. Chiefs did NOT ‘let’ any Stormers do anything and resorted to illegal and off the ball dirty tactics to try and stop and beat the Stormers. Ask anyone who was at the game.
10 Mar 2013, 02:31 am
@BudYza-418: Agree totalmente with you Buddy. Its like “Mats Hummels, hmmmm, not bad player but he is not Franz Beckenbauer so he is not good enough for the Mannschaft”
10 Mar 2013, 02:43 am
Nama1 so in your ‘esteemed’ opinion Zane Kirschner obviously rates amongst the greats of Springbok fullbacks to warrant his selection?
Dont be silly man. He only has to be the best of the current 15s in the current coaches opinion to earn his jersey.
The same with Elstadt. My original comment said ‘if’ he can do so consistently.
Also by your criteria you should rubbish Jantjies who had 2 bad games and ignore the fact that he had a good game today.
You should be honest and fair and judge all players by the same criteria. That is if you want to be seen as honest and fair of course.
10 Mar 2013, 02:43 am
Markel77 Exactly.
10 Mar 2013, 02:46 am
@BudYza-421:
Hey, Nortierd is a staunch WP/Stormer supporter.
He already corrected himself. “He looked good because he managed to break tackles,…” (P.402). Read through the thread before you try and “educate” everybody else. OK?
@Markel77-422:
Yes, you’re right. He is not good enough….AT THIS STAGE.
One good game out of three does not a Bok player maketh.
Even if he is a Stormers player.
10 Mar 2013, 02:50 am
@BudYza-423:
“Nama1 so in your ‘esteemed’ opinion Zane Kirschner obviously rates amongst the greats of Springbok fullbacks to warrant his selection?”
Please explain how you came to that earth shattering conclusion.
Don’t be shy. Give it straight up.
You seem to have a lot of preconceived ideas about me as a rugby follower and commentator on this blog. Elaborate, please. I don’t think you and I have been in conversation that much.
10 Mar 2013, 02:51 am
@nama1-419: Some say it might be a career ending injury, I dont know for sure. I rated Pretoruis as the next big thing before he went to OZ. Did not perform very well over there. Very, very opportunistic player, I think when you play against him there is no relaxing for the whole eighty.My perfect scrumhalf would be a combination of him and Hougaard with Fouries intelligence and boot.
10 Mar 2013, 02:55 am
@nama1-384: Fair enough.
10 Mar 2013, 02:57 am
@Markel77-422: Cheers, how’s life in Euskal Herria?
10 Mar 2013, 02:59 am
Nama1 so you are the policeman of this site telling people what they can and cannot say and if youre a staunch supporter youre okay? Get off your high horse man. Your comments on Elstadt were stupid and to divert attention you try and tell me I didnt read the thread. If no one ever made their own comments which repeated comments made by others these threads would be a lot shorter. Next time you post a comment already made by someone else should we assume you havent read the thread or show the tolerance of letting everyone everyone expressing their own opinion?
If you are the official thread Nazi have me censured.
10 Mar 2013, 03:03 am
@polaris-429:Cheers Polar. Not very well, we are still part of Spain hehe.
Sorry but ¿Are you Wooden Spoon?
10 Mar 2013, 03:03 am
@nama1-419: Most likely Pocock will miss whole season.
10 Mar 2013, 03:05 am
@Markel77-431: Nope. I am that Latvian oke, we had conversations before. I took a few months sabbatical after some farkers started to post under my old nickname.
10 Mar 2013, 03:11 am
@polaris-433: Uueeeeeehhhhh!!!!!!!!! Nils man, nice to “see” you!!
The nicest All Blacks blogger here. Congratulations, your team won the world Cup.
10 Mar 2013, 03:11 am
Nama1 stick to the point. Tell me who among the current players rates alongside Smal, Kruger, Venter and Smith to earn the 7 Springbok jersey?
Youre being silly again. I have responded only to your comments here. I dont care who you are and what your opinions on others issues are. I pointed out that your opinion that Elstadt is not good enough because he is not as good as past greats is not a valid reason for excluding him. And if it is a valid reason in your opinion then you should apply the same criteria across the board in all positions. If you only selected players who were as good as the greats in each position you would not find close to 15 Boks to play. The coach can only choose from what is currently available. He cant choose ‘ghosts’ of Springboks past.
10 Mar 2013, 03:22 am
@jet jungle-427:
“Some say it might be a career ending injury…”
Really??? I did not know it was that serious.
Would be a great pity. The boy is seriously talented and was busy rewriting the book wrt playing as a fetcher. A better player than guys like Mc Caw and George Smith at the same age imo.
Hope it isn’t so.
@BudYza-430:
What is it that I said about Elstadt that pissed you off, if I may ask?
You come accross as having another agenda because afa I can remember, I just did not agree with Skop that Elstadt had this GREAT game. Nowhere did I slate him as a kak player or something like that. Yes, I did say that he is nowhere filling the shoes of people like Smal, Kruger, Venter or Smith. But even that statement does not warrant your “attack” on me because it is merely my OPINION. All you need to do is tell me that you don’t agree with it and give me at least a reason/some reasons why.
Your consistent reference to things other than what I talked about give me reason enought to believe that you have another agenda. Be at least honest so that I can know how to defend myself because at the moment I am totally kontfuse.
10 Mar 2013, 03:30 am
@BudYza-435:
You see that little arrow on the right of a comment?
Click on it so that I can know which one of my comments you are referring to.
So, I ask again. Who, in your opinion is the players competing for the no.7 jersey at the moment? It can’t be that difficalt.
Sharks have: Deysel and Alberts
Cheetahs: Labuschagne
King: F.uck Knows
Stormers: Elstadt
Bulls: Tarzan Potgieter
Make your pick.
10 Mar 2013, 03:30 am
@nama1-436: Yes the English commentaters in the studio were talking about who’s gonna fill his boots in the Lions tour, and because the fetchers get injured so much, they critisized Deans because he said George Smith was defnitely not in his Lions plans.
10 Mar 2013, 03:34 am
@jet jungle-438: But really how serious can it be when he was sitting next to the field with a icepack on his knee. It might be wishfull thinking from the Brits.
10 Mar 2013, 03:41 am
I think Elstadt should play 4 rather, he can look cumbersome trying to get around the park sometimes. Kolisi should be the Stormers blindside if they want to play with a fetcher. Though I missed most of the game today.
10 Mar 2013, 03:46 am
@jet jungle-438:
They still have Hooper though.
I don’t think Deans will use George Smith as he will not be in the reckoning come the 2015 RWC.
That’s why I am so surprise that it could be a career ending injury. He sat with the reserves with the ice pack, not looking in great discomfort. I thought it was just a twist of the knee or something like that.
*I did not watch the game. Only saw some highlights
10 Mar 2013, 03:50 am
@lightie-440:
Rather you say it because when I say it, I apparently have some freakin agenda.
Miskien is daai vokken jong net gesuip.
Carr at 6
Kolisi at 7
Vermeulen at 8.
Elstadt in the 2nd row.
10 Mar 2013, 03:51 am
@nama1-441: Yes Hooper and another upcoming youngster. In some ways Hooper is more dangerous in my opinion, he’s very fast and strong with the same turnover ability as Pocock. Dont know how Jake allowed him to get away.
10 Mar 2013, 03:52 am
@nama1-442: From Budwisers?
10 Mar 2013, 03:53 am
@nama1-442: “Elstadt in the 2nd row” and when Etzebeth is back? justasking
10 Mar 2013, 04:01 am
@jet jungle-443:
Jake is very one track minded.
He wanted Pocock so…
@Markel77-445:
We need depth. Can’t play Elstadt for 16 games like last year. That is why he is crocked now. Too much rugby.
Give him and Bekker some breathers with Elstadt also an option in the 2nd row.
10 Mar 2013, 04:04 am
@jet jungle-444:
Most probably.
Nothing that can make you as Y’s as a few doppe.
10 Mar 2013, 04:05 am
@Markel77-445:
On the bench? They need to rotate Etzebeth better when he’s back, can’t let him over work his young body and pick up injuries which will haunt him.
10 Mar 2013, 04:07 am
@nama1-446:
Oh snap, great minds and all that…
10 Mar 2013, 04:07 am
@nama1-447: Getting Y,s from Buds make you a lightweight though. Nothing against buds , but its a before breakfast beer.
10 Mar 2013, 04:21 am
@lightie-449:
@jet jungle-450:
You’ll have people telling you that it is such a great beer because it is imported.
The disappointment is so much bigger then.
Koop Suid Afrikaans of as jy dan nou moet “buiteland” toe gaan… gaan Namibiaans.
My cousins wife worked at the Namibian Breweries for a few years. Boet…did we enjoy it.
His garage was stocked because the workers on the factory floor got a case per month as a reward or something like that. She then bought it from them for next to nothing because some of them preferred to have cash while some others did not drink at all.
It was very nice.
10 Mar 2013, 04:27 am
@nama1-451: More a whiskey fan these days, make me act my age as my wife would say.
10 Mar 2013, 04:27 am
@Hondo-8:
“The odds are nearly even at 10:11 for the Stormers to win, the Chiefs have a jet lag, travel fatigue against them while the Stormers will enjoy home field, Jantjies the Rlegator and Jaco Peyper in their line up
Should be close”
Seems as if Aplon, Habana and Kolisi had no role to play in the result.
Interesting!!!
What’s your verdict on Jantjies after the benefit of watching the game?
10 Mar 2013, 04:42 am
@jet jungle-452:
Have never been a Whisky lover. Just don’t like the taste of it.
Give me a brandy any day. A good one, preferably KWV.
Not a beer lover either. I only drink it when I’m in a pub where the brandy is way to expensive, like R20 a single or something stupid like that.
10 Mar 2013, 04:53 am
@nama1-454: I loved brandy when I was younger but those coke babbelaases got too much, combined with the habit to misbehave. Forced myself to drink whiskey, not a purist with ice and a little bit of water, keeps you hydrated. Try Jamesons, nice smooth whiskey and not that kasterolie smaak. Now its my drink of choice. Went through a Red Hart fase years back. The devils own drink.
10 Mar 2013, 05:10 am
@BudYza-421:
Yes, therefor see my retraction post 402
However, he doesn’t run with quite the same freedom in the local derbies?
He got the one break that he scored off against the Bulls, but that was pretty much when the match was finished.
The 75 minutes before that not to much.
10 Mar 2013, 05:14 am
@nortierd-456:
Vok hom (Budysa, that is).
He came in here with an agenda and sommer “attack” anyone.
10 Mar 2013, 05:28 am
@nama1-457:

Morning
No worries, I know the Chiefs didn’t “allow” us to waltz through, but I still think our SA defensive play is more difficult to break than the NZ teams.
10 Mar 2013, 08:13 am
@the curse-288:
You said you convinced SA teams are better than NZ teams and that Highlanders and Chiefs gifted SA teams tries.
Chiefs were awesome and showed that a grubber still works. As long as you dont grub straight into your opponent and turn over ball.
My points:
A gifted try is also a mistake, way you look at half full glass.
Shape of the ball, sometimes the bounce is lucky
Which team wants it most
That makes it interesting to watch. What’s good on paper does not necessarily translate into the theory on match day.
The All Blacks were not world champs for a long time, because they were never good enough during the world cup. Although on paper they should have won every match they play.
Give the winner of the day its glory. All these guys work and play hard for it. (you gave recognition, thank you
)
And no, can’t say SA teams are the best. Can say, Stormers played more enterprising running rugby and Cheetahs dished it up too. Any running rugby for a Safa is like gold. We have been starved of it.
10 Mar 2013, 08:18 am
Nama1 dont be so paranoid. If someone disagrees with you they must have an agenda? Get over yourself man. You made an idiotic statement that Elstadt must compare to former greats to warrant his consideration for a Bok place. I called you on it. Are you so know all that no one on this site may criticize you unless they have an antiNama1 agenda? Or someone only criticizes you because you have pist them off? Trust me you have come nowhere close to even annoying me mildly. You apparently hold yourself in much higher esteem than anybody else.
Why muddy the waters with such stupidity of agendas and appealing to others to speak on your behalf? Oh yes, so that you cloud the issues of your idiotic statements.
Dont be so precious about your big ego Nama1. It is obviously big enough to absorb a few hits from someone so way beneath your superior position on this site. Excuse me for addressing you. I will pass you by in future with downcast eyes for fear of being accused of not having an agenda and no opinion.
Man oh man oh man. Some people take themselves just a little too seriously.
10 Mar 2013, 08:42 am
Congrats Stormers!!!
What a display of wonderful rugby. One of the best games for quite some time.
Well done to Bulls, Sharks and Cheetahs…
A clean sweep against the AB’s…
10 Mar 2013, 09:24 am
Nama buddy, you have it wrong here with BudYza.
You set down a criteria of Smal, Smit, Kruger and the likes for Elstadt to be measured against, before he could be considered Springbok material.
BudYza’s argument is that if he does not measure up to them does it mean he could not play for the Boks? What if no one measures up to them, does it mean the position would be vacant until someone turns up.
He then went to say does that mean Kirchner measured up to say “Johan Heunis, Andre Joubert (my own examples).
He simply said, ‘NO’, but the the selectors at the time have to choose from what they have in front of them and who in their opinion would fit in best.
He continued by saying that you should use the same criteria for all positions. And based on that assumption your criteria failed.
Sjoe! Now I’m tired. But I hope the air is cleared. Smoke a peace pipe
10 Mar 2013, 10:29 am
It should be clear to everyone now that Grant/Duvenhage were a big part of the problem in previous years. Jantjies is a better flyhalf, he is stlil behind Goosen and Lambie for the Boks, but he is a good attacking flyhalf and a good loan for the Stormers.
Shame about Taute, need him at the back.
10 Mar 2013, 10:58 am
Very succinctly expressed @whistle@blower@. Thank you.
And no hard feelings Nama1. (And no agendas either. Promise.) Let’s smoke whsitleblower’s pipe and move on.
11 Mar 2013, 06:36 am
I am so glad that some of the ref’s have started picking up the AB and Chief’s nonsense. the pulling back ahead of teh rucks, the dropping the mauls, the not rolling away, the entreing from the sides. Vok, it never stops!
The thing is that it has been so trained into the Kiwis, and especially the AB’s, that sometimes they cannot stop it even when on a warning. Even with man missing already!
The next challenge is for SA teams to wise up and keep hitting them on their weak spots – maul them into the ground, and let them keep bringing it down, while alerting the ref to their continued infirngements, until only the backs are left to maul with….
The next challenge to the refs is to have the balls to not have pity on them for being a man down, recognise cheating wfor what it is, and keep sending the buggers off, until they man up enough to stop the mauls. They can be stopped with goood technique.
The Kiwi whingeing about mauls is ridiculous – “officialy endorsed obstruction” blah balh. But so is the scrum. Its the laws, and why we play rugby union and not league.
11 Mar 2013, 09:23 am
The only suggestion I have on rules of maul is that if the defending team is pushing back the attacking team, let the ref call use it. If the attacking team keep the maul and try and “reset” the maul they should lose the ball. I saw a few times where a maul is being driven back by defending team which is good work, only for the attacking team to shift the line and reset the maul and drive again. This does not reward the defending team for pushing back the maul, and in most cases it counts against them since the attacking team will just shift the line and reset.
The use it once is not working. it gives that opportunity to reset all the time.Just a suggestion?
11 Mar 2013, 11:57 am
@nama1-398:
“@skopdiekan-381:
Elstadt is a very good player, make no mistake. I rate him highly but he is no Smal, Kruger, Venter or Smith. That is the players to rate your 7 against.”
@BudYza-418:
“Nama1 dont be a fool. Yes, Smal, Kruger, Venter and Smith were the greats of Springbok 7s but to say a player must be compared to them to warrant a being rated is idiocy….”
@nama1-420:
“Look, Elstadt was nowhere last week and the week before. I always try to rate my special players on how they perform when things don’t go well for the team.
Guys like Smith, Venter, Smal, Kruger always got a special mention even when their team did not perform well. Can you say the same about Elstadt?”
@BudYza-460:
“You made an idiotic statement that Elstadt must compare to former greats to warrant his consideration for a Bok place.”
Nowhere did we even talk about the Boks.
It is natural that players will be compared to the greats of the past when they start out. How many times have you read/heard about Hougaardt not being FdP. Etzebeth and v/d Merwe/Kruger were constantly compared to Bakkies and VM. JdV at outside centre to Jaques Fourie.
The main gist of MY comparison was that those players from the past stood out even when their teams played badly. Not so Elstadt in the games vs the Bulls and the Sharks.
When someone is using descriptive words/phrases like:
- “fool”
- “idiotic statement”
- “you are the policeman of this site telling people what they can and cannot say…”
- “Get off your high horse”
- “Your comments on Elstadt were stupid”
- “If you are the official thread Nazi have me censured”
- “Youre being silly…”
…because of a slight difference of opinion, one asks yourself whether he has another agenda. There are ways of putting you difference of opinion across without resorting to the kind of drivel that you did.
Post 460 of course speaks for itself.
Oh yes, lest I be called “oversensitive” (another catch phrase these days) know that I’m not.
11 Mar 2013, 12:25 pm
Shame poor little Nama1 has had his sensitivities bruised. The longer the explanation the more the BS it needs to cover up. You complain about phrases I used and all that longwinded boor from the person who posted:
457.nama1:
10 Mar 2013, 05:14 am @nortierd-456:
Vok hom (Budysa, that is).
He came in here with an agenda and sommer “attack” anyone.
Now that does speak for itself. You’re all class Nama1. Ketchup with those chips?
11 Mar 2013, 12:48 pm
Nama1 if you were honest you would have included my original post about about Elstadt where i acknowledged his inconsistency by saying ‘If he can deliver consistently’.
364.BudYza:
9 Mar 2013, 22:34 pm And those who think Elstadt should play 4. Watch this game repeatedly until it sinks through your skulls. Elstadt is a much better 7 than a 4. If he can deliver consistently he has every chance of making the Bok 7 jersey his own.
Then you say that nowhere did you even talk about the Boks but conveniently left out your post 373 in which you clearly stated that to play for the Bokke you measure yourself against 4 players.
373.nama1:
9 Mar 2013, 23:50 pm @BudYza-364:
As a Stormers supporter, I don’t agree.
To play as a 7 for the Bokke, you measure yourself against 4 players imo. If you can measure up to those guys, by all means, then you are the right man for the job.
Gert Smal.
Ruben Kruger
Andre Venter
Juan Smith
You have to be at least close to their class to be considered for that position.
Elstadt still has a long way to go to get there.
Nama1 a lie by omission is still a lie and an outright lie is of course a lie and you have demonstrated you are an honest person.
11 Mar 2013, 14:42 pm
@BudYza-468:
Hahaha…
No surprises there.
14 Mar 2013, 12:11 pm
many kiwis moaning about peypers last penalty. I don’t see why? Gerhard joined when it was still a tackle. He picked it up and was tackled. He was not allowed to place the ball. A ruck had formed. The chiefs defender went off his feet, and played the ball backwards on the ground. voila penalty.