Stormers sneak thriller

The Stormers dramatically beat the Chiefs 36-34 at Newlands.

The win was vital for the Stormers who lost their first two matches and tournament champions the Chiefs will have the comfort of two bonus points, even if they will feel aggrieved at not having being awarded a kickable penalty with the final play of the game.

It was an unfortunate end to a wonderful contest in which both teams played with enterprise and conviction. The Chiefs were the more cynical and lost two players to to the sin bin for professional fouls.

The Stormers, disappointing against the Bulls and dour against the Sharks, finally produced a performance balanced in defence and attack.

Gio Aplon scored twice and Nic Groom finished off a sustained period of Stormers attack to take the Stormers past 30 points, but it needed a fifth Joe Pietesen penalty to give the Stormers a two score cushion in the final 10 minutes.

The Chiefs were outstanding in their attack variation and flyhalf Aaron Cruden unlocked the Stormers defence with astute grubber kicks. Two such kicks resulted in tries but another misfired and the Stormers scored through Aplon.

Stormers No 8 Duane Vermeulen was aggressive and determined as the home forwards fronted the physicality of the Chiefs. Siya Kolisi and Andries Bekker were equally prominent and with the pack playing with early momentum the Stormers halfbacks of Groom and Elton Jantjies played with authority. It was disappointing that both were substituted within an hour.

The Chiefs are a quality side and even on a day in which their discipline was dubious and there was no sustained fluency to their attack they could have scored a bonus point win.

There will be discussion about Pyper’s refereeing and the Chiefs will make an argument that the home team got favourable decisions, but that’s par for the course in this competition. Pyper was not the reason the Stormers won and he wasn’t the reason the Chiefs lost.

The neutral would have settled on a draw because of the entertainment value, but in the context of South Africa’s tournament challenge the home team will know it was imperative the spectacle ended with a win.

And fullback Joe Pietersen’s unerring boot, in kicking eight from eight, made the win possible, if only just.

471 Comments

Pages: « 1 2 [3] 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 » Show All

• 101.the curse: Reply to this comment

hard call on habs that one

• 102.@whistle@blower@: Reply to this comment

To all you rugby Nostradamusi and rugby Einsteins:
    Give me an in form Bekker any time. Stormers/Boks
    In my most humble opiniom Spies and Vermeulen not on the same page. Vetgat can walk 10 meters with half the Chiefs on his shoulders
    Kolisi is like Uli Scmidt, not the biggest, bur ceryainly punches way above his weight
    Stronf Elstadt still faces the attack uproght. Where the coacjes?
    Did I see a shoulder charge noarm butch james fellinfg of Pietersen from a kick off?
    I do not think the first Chiefs try was a try. Didn’t look like control and downward pressure. But then again I’m sitting on a couch.
    Even Ginger looks fired up today. Go Vlamme
    And Curse, I heard on the radio, during a talkshow, that pessimistic (read negative) people live longer than optimistic0people
    Not sure about the spellingn the font on my BB must be half a micro mm

• 103.W.P: Reply to this comment

That’s no penalty. Habana got back to his feet.

• 104.DontThinkJustWonder: Reply to this comment

@mikeybrass-63: Tx Mikey. vipbox new to me. Watched the end of Wales vs Scotland. Good comeback from MOM Warburton.

• 105.kaksioek: Reply to this comment

Oh no, the second-best hooker in the country has a boo-boo on his nose :lol:

• 106.mikeybrass: Reply to this comment

@Fern-100: Shut it, idiot.

• 107.@whistle@blower@: Reply to this comment

I hope the stats guys can come back to us. But I think Bekker must be the tallest centre in the history of the game

• 108.mikeybrass: Reply to this comment

@DontThinkJustWonder-104: Missed it.

@the curse-101: Yeah but it was the right call.

• 109.playtheball: Reply to this comment

It’s a real nailbiter. Great when they play like this.

• 110.W.P: Reply to this comment

Some running by Stormers. By time

• 111.hendrikp: Reply to this comment

@Fern.

Thoroughly entertaining boet.

• 112.mikeybrass: Reply to this comment

See Stormers, you can bloody attack!!!!!!!!!

• 113.hendrikp: Reply to this comment

Siya Kolisi would be a useful impact player for the Springboks.

• 114.mikeybrass: Reply to this comment

GGRRRROOOOOOOOOOOOOOMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMM

• 115.hendrikp: Reply to this comment

Good try Groom! Been better then I thought him capable of.

Skop hulle gatte.

• 116.the curse: Reply to this comment

stormers deserve their lead. playing the better rugby.

• 117.Fern: Reply to this comment

fark double movement try…

• 118.bananaboy: Reply to this comment

Only way to play Chiefs is to deny them ball by keeping the ball in the hands and Stormers are doing it brilliantly

• 119.Angostura: Reply to this comment

Awesome play Stormers

• 120.W.P: Reply to this comment

Groom you beauty!!!!

• 121.mikeybrass: Reply to this comment

Well done boet! You have played brilliantly!

• 122.mikeybrass: Reply to this comment

@Fern-117: Shut it you ignorant doos.

• 123.bananaboy: Reply to this comment

@hendrikp-113: all of the Stormers loosies could be the Bokke loose trio but then we have some great lossies in SA

• 124.mikeybrass: Reply to this comment

@hendrikp-113: Kolisi is simple awesome. He has bulked up and the impact he makes is impressive.

• 125.kaksioek: Reply to this comment

The Cape Chiefs changed jerseys at halftime I see :lol:

• 126.I am a stormer: Reply to this comment

@Fern-117:

You’re actually behaving like a girls blouse now.

• 127.hendrikp: Reply to this comment

Pauliasi Manu doing his team any favors today. Rebels won’t regret that decision on todays performance.

• 128.Fern: Reply to this comment

@hendrikp-111:
    Ek het in Paekakariki gesit en homesick gevoel toe spoor ek die sait op die interwebs op.
    Ek het al Griffin en Chopper Charlie ontmoet.
    Cool seuns.

• 129.Fern: Reply to this comment

@mikeybrass-122:
    You are what you eat,yes I am a doos.

• 130.mikeybrass: Reply to this comment

@the curse-116: Grant10 must be cursing deciding not to go to Newlands :-) :-)

• 131.Peter Mkata: Reply to this comment

Why can’t the Boks play like Stormers?

• 132.Fern: Reply to this comment

Stretcher being called,always very sad.
    I hope Habana is okay.

• 133.hendrikp: Reply to this comment

@hendrikp-127:

**not doing

@mikeybrass-124:

Probably the Stormers best player with Etzebeth out.

Still wouldn’t be confident starting him, but with bench playing such a big part, and soon to be 23 players as well, guys like him, Coenie Oosthuizen, Francois Hougaard would be ideal candidates for the last 20-30 minutes.

• 134.mikeybrass: Reply to this comment

Oh no Habana :-(

• 135.the curse: Reply to this comment

Mikey :lol:

been a great game regardless of result.

• 136.Fern: Reply to this comment

that try looked easy peasy
    we still have a game folks

• 137.hendrikp: Reply to this comment

Scored a few tries but they can’t defend to save their lives today.

• 138.mikeybrass: Reply to this comment

Dammit

• 139.Peter Mkata: Reply to this comment

Beautiful rugby by Chiefs, can’t help to praise it.

• 140.polaris: Reply to this comment

Pleasantly surprised Stormers playing enterprising rugby. Well done okes.

Nevertheless, GO CHIEFS!!!

• 141.mikeybrass: Reply to this comment

@the curse-135: Thoroughly enjoying it.

@hendrikp-137: It’s extremely difficult to defend against the Chiefs.

• 142.W.P: Reply to this comment

That’s the danger of the Chiefs. That was too easy. Eish. Poor communication between centres there. Whatever the result I’m just glad that the brand of rugby by the Stormers is truer to their style of play.

• 143.kaksioek: Reply to this comment

Grant10 must never go back to Newlands.

• 144.Fern: Reply to this comment

@W.P-142:
    sensing a choke?

• 145.hendrikp: Reply to this comment

@mikeybrass-141:

It is when you give them so much space yes.

It’s just poor defense my man, nothing else.

• 146.polaris: Reply to this comment

Oh, fark, Stormers are on the verge of scoring 4 tries in a Super game since .. erm … Elvis died?

And that’s against the defending champs, not bad at all.

• 147.Quota Selection: Reply to this comment

A tense few minutes ahead for the Stormers. These Chiefs can score 14 points in 2 minutes!

• 148.polaris: Reply to this comment

@kaksioek-143: Fark, what an irony. Boycotted for the first time since dinosaur era and they play the best rugby I can recall.

• 149.kaksioek: Reply to this comment

@polaris-148: Were you the other one? Rugby viewers everywhere appreciate your sacrifice.

• 150.W.P: Reply to this comment

What’s with the Fern chap? Sook jy aandag? Go have a lekker dop.

Pages: « 1 2 [3] 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 » Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.