Stormers sneak thriller

The Stormers dramatically beat the Chiefs 36-34 at Newlands.

The win was vital for the Stormers who lost their first two matches and tournament champions the Chiefs will have the comfort of two bonus points, even if they will feel aggrieved at not having being awarded a kickable penalty with the final play of the game.

It was an unfortunate end to a wonderful contest in which both teams played with enterprise and conviction. The Chiefs were the more cynical and lost two players to to the sin bin for professional fouls.

The Stormers, disappointing against the Bulls and dour against the Sharks, finally produced a performance balanced in defence and attack.

Gio Aplon scored twice and Nic Groom finished off a sustained period of Stormers attack to take the Stormers past 30 points, but it needed a fifth Joe Pietesen penalty to give the Stormers a two score cushion in the final 10 minutes.

The Chiefs were outstanding in their attack variation and flyhalf Aaron Cruden unlocked the Stormers defence with astute grubber kicks. Two such kicks resulted in tries but another misfired and the Stormers scored through Aplon.

Stormers No 8 Duane Vermeulen was aggressive and determined as the home forwards fronted the physicality of the Chiefs. Siya Kolisi and Andries Bekker were equally prominent and with the pack playing with early momentum the Stormers halfbacks of Groom and Elton Jantjies played with authority. It was disappointing that both were substituted within an hour.

The Chiefs are a quality side and even on a day in which their discipline was dubious and there was no sustained fluency to their attack they could have scored a bonus point win.

There will be discussion about Pyper’s refereeing and the Chiefs will make an argument that the home team got favourable decisions, but that’s par for the course in this competition. Pyper was not the reason the Stormers won and he wasn’t the reason the Chiefs lost.

The neutral would have settled on a draw because of the entertainment value, but in the context of South Africa’s tournament challenge the home team will know it was imperative the spectacle ended with a win.

And fullback Joe Pietersen’s unerring boot, in kicking eight from eight, made the win possible, if only just.

471 Comments

Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 [6] 7 8 9 10 » Show All

• 251.polaris: Reply to this comment

@mikeybrass-245: “Us Stormers are used to beating Kiwis”

Let me quietly whisper two words.

“the crusaders”

• 252.the curse: Reply to this comment

Nortie

congrats mate. pleased for you. your team played really well. I have no qualms congratulating you and your team. it’s just these other fckers who only ever complain about kiwi cheating but can’t admit their teams do it too

as I told mikey, the fish are biting hard.

• 253.polaris: Reply to this comment

@nortierd-244: Special congrats to you, as you’ve been suffering long enough.

This should cheer you up big time. :)

• 254.nortierd: Reply to this comment

@polaris-250:
    Going to be difficult calling Stormers v Crusaders
    Crusaders will now also start getting desperate after 2 losses
    They do enjoy playing at Newlands, but Stormers will be fresh after the break

• 255.Tartan: Reply to this comment

Absolute nail biter of a match, very glad the stormers managed to take it. The chiefs however, look really good still. Any team that can push that far and hard despite the travel etc deserves serious respect.

• 256.nortierd: Reply to this comment

@the curse-251:
    Thanks
    Was nice to see
    I agree and to be honest, I also dislike the current reffing.
    I think an Aussie should blow NZ v SA sides, and a SA ref Aus v NZ etc., but nothing we can do to change that
    polaris-252:
    Thanks bud
    Was really an important win, so I am very happy and relieved

• 257.polaris: Reply to this comment

@nortierd-253: Indeed, since the whipping in CT’2010, Saders firmly have the wood over them, however when Stormers are on fire, the opposition need a huge dose of firefighters. I have no illusuions, Saders are for a really tough assignment there.

• 258.nortierd: Reply to this comment

@Tartan-254:
    Very well said
    Major respect
    Not often anyone scores 4 tries against the Stormers, and you are right, with the travel to get away with 2 bonus points is brilliant

• 259.the curse: Reply to this comment

@nortierd-255: I agree boet, its a shame that the focus is taken off the rugby and the man in the middle becomes the reason/angst/excuse for why teams lose..

seems many of your countrymen dont like it when we c9omplain about your refs, but remain so quiet when the reverse is true..

I love pointing it out though…

I hope you are drinking that leftover beer from the bulls game and savouring every drop :)

• 260.polaris: Reply to this comment

Fark, how mighty Frogs have fallen. Dissipating quickier than a corpse in the acid.

• 261.mikeybrass: Reply to this comment

@polaris-250: Them aside, though we beat them in ’10.

• 262.W.P: Reply to this comment

Yip hometown decisions are the order of the day. It happens all the time. As I said the Chiefs were cynical today but if they played at home with a different referee the Stormers would not have got some of the decisions awarded to them.

• 263.nortierd: Reply to this comment

@the curse-258:
    Ha ha
    Watching the SA champions outkick the whipping boys ;-)
    Alarm is set for 4:30 tomorrow morning
    You feeling confident with your boys?
    This is the big one for you and TR

• 264.polaris: Reply to this comment

@mikeybrass-260: True and that was a hell of a beating, but that was the last time. They are the bogeys.

• 265.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

well well well…

• 266.Te Rangatira: Reply to this comment

@nortierd-262:
    Geez…Nortie…up to the Blues now to restore a little pride …alas my Bru is in tatters…Houston is to blame… Physically the Sa sides have monstered us…too good

• 267.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

how unsurprising

if you simply apply the rules and blow them

you see them for the paper tigers they are

• 268.the curse: Reply to this comment

@nortierd-262: not sure Nortie, think JK has made too many changes, why when we have the bye next week? cant understand it myself, am afraid we will lose the momentum and be dis-jointed with the different players coming in..

I am just searching the internet to buy my ear plugs and my sunglasses as I can already hear bakkies excuses if the blues win… take a look at the Cheetahs thread, and this from a man who doesnt watch super rugby anymore? :D

• 269.nortierd: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-264:
    And a special welcome to the Ministry of Referees
    Welcome Bakkies
    The NZ refs are having a clandestine meeting in Auckland right now rubbing their hands together and twirling their mustaches while planning the downfall of the Bulls.
    Can you hear the wha ha ha laughing coming from their secret chambers

• 270.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@Te Rangatira-265:
    hallo TR,
    i’m looking forrward to our buddy China’s next visit :grin:

• 271.nortierd: Reply to this comment

@Te Rangatira-265:
    My friend, let’s not even go to Superbru
    You have had one bad week, myself and pops are still looking for a good week :-)
    @the curse-267:
    Strange, but I’m sure he knows what he is doing

• 272.the curse: Reply to this comment

@Te Rangatira-265: chance for our boys to top the conference tomorrow bro, lets hope the ref has got his instructions yeah?

• 273.fantasticbarnsmell: Reply to this comment

This is it… The year that Keo’s predications finally come true

• 274.the curse: Reply to this comment

@nortierd-270: maybe, I think he has picked a forward pack to counter the expected rolling maul of the Bulls, not sure I agree..

think Luatua is in his best position, and regardless of the result, think he will own Spies tomorrow, though thats not too hard

• 275.nortierd: Reply to this comment

@the curse-273:
    Lol
    If they give Spies an open game and space, you are going to regret that comment

• 276.Tartan: Reply to this comment

@fantasticbarnsmell-272:

Let’s not be too hasty. That’s a sign of the endtimes.

• 277.the curse: Reply to this comment

you dont watch super rugby but you admit to watching a cheetahs replay?

what a paranoid kont you are

why dont you feck off

• 278.Te Rangatira: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-269:
    Morning Houston
    You feeling chipper today…

• 279.the curse: Reply to this comment

@nortierd-274: the bloke should be playing wing, his original position… could have been a great there, but is a poor poor 8th man.. imo of course..

• 280.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@nortierd-268:
    nand se Nortie,
    jy kan maar bly wees die skeidsregter het gekies om sy werk te doen vanmidag.
    hoe vervrissend… :wink:

the Bulls are bad travelers and dont even need the usual kiwi ref against them in order to lose so i dont hold my hopes up.

just a good account of themselves is all i ask.

• 281.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

is it just me or are the Sharks not attacking as much these days..?..

• 282.Te Rangatira: Reply to this comment

@the curse-271:
    Kia ora Bro…..I’m in re-assessment mode now…the Sa teams so far have done the basics very well and have taught Nz sides a lesson….Heres to the Blues running game doing the damage…

• 283.nortierd: Reply to this comment

@the curse-278:
    I agree nr 8 is not his position
    @i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-279:
    To many close calls go against the visitors IMO, but yes, I’m not complaining
    I have previously said, if your team wins, the ref is great, if they lose, he was useless
    Just the nature of the beast
    The Bulls have done better in the last few years with travel, Cheetahs showed this morning anything can happen

• 284.mikeybrass: Reply to this comment

@the curse-278: I think this observation is right. He is the worst Bok 8 of the post-isolation era.

• 285.polaris: Reply to this comment

@nortierd-274: hehe, as Lennon once sung

“Give spies a chance”.

• 286.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

hallo Poppa,

i admit i was intrigued by the final score and couldn’t resist taking a look.

you nuaghty boys not having it your way as easily as we all expected this season, hey..?.. :wink:

@Te Rangatira-277:
    same as any other day, boet :wink:

• 287.Te Rangatira: Reply to this comment

@nortierd-270:
    I’m happy for you Nortie that your team played with heart and got a deserved victory….Wonderful for the Tournament

• 288.the curse: Reply to this comment

@Te Rangatira-281: Highlanders came off a bye, never conducive to being at your best, and they gifted Cheetahs two tries, regardless of what anyone says here..

Chiefs played well in patches, and could have won the game… no shame there, Stormers were the more desperate side and it showed.. they did provide the blueprint for everyone else playing the stormers, the little kick in behind the defense worked well, and Cruden gifted the Stormers a try weith a failed attempt at this tactic..

not convinced the Saffa teams are better at all, so will disagree with you..

• 289.nortierd: Reply to this comment

@polaris-284:
    Lol :-D
    I think Imagine is still banned in Pretoria, so odds are Spies doesn’t know who Lennon is

• 290.nortierd: Reply to this comment

@Te Rangatira-286:
    Thanks
    Was a nice match from a spectator point of view
    One day we will get that elusive 4 try bonus point :-)
    Huge respect for the Chiefs though, with the travel to still score 4 against a very good defense and pick up a losing bonus point, was really good

• 291.the curse: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-285: tyournaments not won in March bakkies..

as noted above, the highlanders were their own worst enemies, gifting the cheetahs some very soft tries… seems they are struggling for cohesion with their new personnel, it happens..

Cheetahs turned up to play and did very well, full credit to them and the Stormers as well, both were committed and had serious intensity..

goes a long way to winning any game imo..

• 292.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@nortierd-282:
    two yellow cards and multiple penalties is “close calls going against the visitors” ..?..

ja right

pull the other farkin one

• 293.polaris: Reply to this comment

@nortierd-288: He definitely should. This is the oke who wrote “Lucy in the Sky with Diamonds”

(y’know the rumours about chemistry)

• 294.nortierd: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-291:
    Ok, blatant calls against the visitors :-)
    Don’t complain if there are 2 yellows against the Bulls tomorrow.

• 295.polaris: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-291: Wait. This is not the real Bakkies.

The real Bakkies “sees no evil, hears no evil” when it comes to reffing vs Keewees. :D

• 296.the curse: Reply to this comment

@nortierd-288: seen your comment re the hurricanes..

me too, first time I dont tip them and they win, I just knew theyd do it to me…

still, only way is up once you hit rock bottom..

seems karma is still paying me back :)

• 297.Te Rangatira: Reply to this comment

@the curse-287:
    You have to give the Cheetahs forwards some credit..they were huge in defence and played with some mongrel. Same goes for the Stormers, backs against the wall….dug deep for the win….

• 298.the curse: Reply to this comment

@polaris-293: no no no, as many here have told me, it was hereditary

at 21???

• 299.the curse: Reply to this comment

@Te Rangatira-297: they were off side all day :wink:

• 300.nortierd: Reply to this comment

@the curse-296:
    We suck at Superbru :-)
    But I always say next week is moving week
    I reckon we must pick at least 2 games against the run of play, eg Cheetahs away while everything scream Landers etc
    Got nothing to lose now
    Kings over Chiefs next week?

Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 [6] 7 8 9 10 » Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.