Bulls bully Blues

The Bulls physically battered the Blues into submission to win for the first time in Super Rugby history at Auckland’s Eden Park.

The Bulls won 28-21 against a home team that physically took a beating.

Blues coach Sir John Kirwan made six changes to his starting XV and the powerful Bulls approach never allowed the newcomers to settle.

Kirwan at halftime bemoaned his side’s lack of passion, pride and commitment, but the Bulls were physically too strong for the Blues youngsters, who got their first taste of Pretoria’s finest.

The Bulls, as the Cheetahs did against the Highlanders, showed greater control, composure and appreciation for field position in giving the hosts a Super Rugby lesson. The South Africans were also physically imposing and did brilliantly to last the 80 minutes, given they only arrived in Auckland from Pretoria on Wednesday.

The Blues, under pressure throughout, fought back from 15-6 to momentarily lead 16-15 on 53 minutes. But the Bulls scored through flanker Arno Botha from the resulting kick-off to restore order and Morne Steyn ensured the victory with a penalty from the last kick of the game.

The Bulls scored three tries and could have had a few more. They played with enterprise and always looked dangerous on attack. The midfield of Wynand Olivier and JJ Englebrecht was strong but it was the strength in the contact that was decisive.

Rene Ranger played well for the Blues, as did captain Ali Williams and fullback Charles Piutau, but the rest were a shambles.

Williams described the effort as ‘piss poor’ and said the team would have lost respect with the performance after working so hard in the season’s first two games to win back respect.

The win is the first for every Bulls player, be it at Super Rugby or for the Boks, at Eden Park.

It completed a South African 3-0 clean sweep weekend against New Zealand teams, which like a Bulls win in Auckland doesn’t happen often. Enjoy it because it was fully deserved.

852 Comments

Pages: [1] 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 1118 » Show All

• 1.mamma_lou: Reply to this comment

go kings

• 2.Angostura: Reply to this comment

Mornin punters

Go Blues!

• 3.Angostura: Reply to this comment

@Angostura-2: Blues for the Bru
    but
    BULLS for the heart!

• 4.Te Rangatira: Reply to this comment

Blues…..

• 5.nama1: Reply to this comment

Blues by 20+ against the Pink Bulls.

• 6.nortierd: Reply to this comment

Morning for those on the correct side of the planet.
    Afternoon TR
    Good luck to you and your side
    @Angostura-3:
    Precisely what he said

• 7.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

love the way the refs giving them license to do whatever they want at the breakdown.

• 8.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

Kiwi refs are disgusting

• 9.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

sorry

meant to say Kiwi refs disgust me

• 10.nama1: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-7:
    Are you watching the game?

• 11.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@Angostura-2:
    @nortierd-6:
    more more

• 12.nortierd: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-7:
    Now Bakkies
    Remember what I mentioned to you yesterday
    I don’t think either Peypers or Japhta will be getting fan mail from the Chiefs and Force respectively.
    I still believe an Aussie should be officiating in this match.

• 13.jet jungle: Reply to this comment

Vandag moer ons hulle pinkenblou! Go Bulls.

• 14.nortierd: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-11:
    More
    Dis te vroeg om opgewerk te word
    Nog baie tyd om te gaan

• 15.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

through the middle

ja right

• 16.nama1: Reply to this comment

Blues allowing the Bulls to play some rugby at the moment. There’ll come a time when they’ll “explode” into action and the Bulls will not know whatthefuckhappened now.

• 17.Te Rangatira: Reply to this comment

@nortierd-6:
    Hi Nortie….Thanks….Blues with 6 Debutantes in Super Rugby…huge task ahead

• 18.hendrikp: Reply to this comment

Bulls not looking good for this game.

Forwards useless outside of Flip & Arno.

Backs not much better.

• 19.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

ref doing his job

again

what a way to waste a game

• 20.Transformation: Reply to this comment

wynand crying…

• 21.nama1: Reply to this comment

Wynand met ‘n lekker “shiner.”

• 22.hendrikp: Reply to this comment

@hendrikp-18:

TBF, Spies looking good as well.

• 23.Angostura: Reply to this comment

BULLS!

• 24.nama1: Reply to this comment

Mooi drie Bulletjies.

• 25.hendrikp: Reply to this comment

And as I say that they do something good.

Come on BULLS!!!! 3/3 against NZ sides this weekend would be great.

• 26.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

nice

take that mr ref

whada ya gonna do about that

doos

• 27.nortierd: Reply to this comment

Nice move, nice try
    @Te Rangatira-17:
    Yeah TR, Pops mentioned that yesterday
    Strange decision to make that move this game?

• 28.the curse: Reply to this comment

man I hate the rolling maul

legalized obstruction.

try bulls

if you’re reading UFO, not happy with the number of changes made by JK. too many imo

• 29.Transformation: Reply to this comment

mapoe scores…

• 30.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@nama1-10:

i gave advance notice

@nortierd-12:
    kiwis will be counting the return for the weekends efforts
    so that aint gonna happen

• 31.the curse: Reply to this comment

Bakkies doesn’t watch super rugby

makes his “assessments” from the scoreline

• 32.nama1: Reply to this comment

@Te Rangatira-17:
    They’re resting some of their their best players for the game they nominated to win. Apparently it is the game against the Brumbies when they (the Brumbies) return from their tour in SA.

If they can leave NZ with 2 bonus points, they’ll regard their sojourn in NZ as successful.

• 33.hendrikp: Reply to this comment

BULLE!!!!!

Skop hulle gatte.

Turning out to be a very good rugby weekend.

• 34.Angostura: Reply to this comment

PAMPLONA!!!!

The Running of the BULLS …

• 35.nortierd: Reply to this comment

Nog een
    You see Bakkies, after 80 minutes you will be hanging posters of this ref on your locker door

• 36.nama1: Reply to this comment

Nice try Bulletjies.

• 37.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@nortierd-14:
    wie’s opgewerk ..?.. :grin:

• 38.hendrikp: Reply to this comment

@the curse-31:

Checked the rules on the end of the Stormers game.

Doesn’t matter whether it was a ruck or not, you can’t approach the tackle situation from the side. Should’ve been a penalty to the Chiefs.

My mistake.

• 39.Fern: Reply to this comment

@nama1-32:
    Jy is ouer as ek,nie geweet du Plessis het Reinach gewen in die 400m nie,interresant.

• 40.nortierd: Reply to this comment

@the curse-31:
    Morning/ afternoon Pops
    I won’t say good afternoon :-)
    Looking ominous at the moment
    Not a good team to play catch up rugby to

• 41.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@nortierd-35:
    its shocking he did something about Ranger

• 42.Transformation: Reply to this comment

blues back three are weak on the high ball. bulle will pepper them!

• 43.nama1: Reply to this comment

Ref having a good game so far.

He awarded two tries to the Bulls and even allow Kirchner to join the back line on both occasions. :lol:

• 44.nortierd: Reply to this comment

Here comes a red card

• 45.the curse: Reply to this comment

cheers Hendrik

all good, calls go against all teams, still think the stormers were the better side on the day

the way this games going, a very poor weekend for NZ teams. credit to the saffa sides who have played much better.

• 46.Hondo: Reply to this comment

The Blues backs have a serious problem with Morne Sryen’s flying coconuts descending on them from everywhere :)
    Brilliant :D

• 47.nama1: Reply to this comment

@Fern-39:
    Du Plesis het op daai stadium gekonsentreer op sy atletiek. Eers die jaar daarna begin rugby speel

• 48.nortierd: Reply to this comment

Ok, self inflicted
    Nice body slam WWF move

• 49.Transformation: Reply to this comment

liaki moli doing a ‘stage dive’ :D

• 50.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

oh i’m watching, Poppa

you’ll have a full report on the pathetic extent of your non-officiating of Kiwi ‘free flowing’ rugby (read: anything goes).

Pages: [1] 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 1118 » Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.