Bulls bully Blues

The Bulls physically battered the Blues into submission to win for the first time in Super Rugby history at Auckland’s Eden Park.

The Bulls won 28-21 against a home team that physically took a beating.

Blues coach Sir John Kirwan made six changes to his starting XV and the powerful Bulls approach never allowed the newcomers to settle.

Kirwan at halftime bemoaned his side’s lack of passion, pride and commitment, but the Bulls were physically too strong for the Blues youngsters, who got their first taste of Pretoria’s finest.

The Bulls, as the Cheetahs did against the Highlanders, showed greater control, composure and appreciation for field position in giving the hosts a Super Rugby lesson. The South Africans were also physically imposing and did brilliantly to last the 80 minutes, given they only arrived in Auckland from Pretoria on Wednesday.

The Blues, under pressure throughout, fought back from 15-6 to momentarily lead 16-15 on 53 minutes. But the Bulls scored through flanker Arno Botha from the resulting kick-off to restore order and Morne Steyn ensured the victory with a penalty from the last kick of the game.

The Bulls scored three tries and could have had a few more. They played with enterprise and always looked dangerous on attack. The midfield of Wynand Olivier and JJ Englebrecht was strong but it was the strength in the contact that was decisive.

Rene Ranger played well for the Blues, as did captain Ali Williams and fullback Charles Piutau, but the rest were a shambles.

Williams described the effort as ‘piss poor’ and said the team would have lost respect with the performance after working so hard in the season’s first two games to win back respect.

The win is the first for every Bulls player, be it at Super Rugby or for the Boks, at Eden Park.

It completed a South African 3-0 clean sweep weekend against New Zealand teams, which like a Bulls win in Auckland doesn’t happen often. Enjoy it because it was fully deserved.

852 Comments

Pages: « 16 7 8 9 10 [11] 12 13 14 15 1618 » Show All

• 501.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

loved the way Tarzan came on and made Luke Braid his Jane

• 502.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@RL-459: are you denying that you predected a ‘raping’ for the Kings? nothing less than 50pts?

be honest

• 503.S_K: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-496: you find him more attractive ? :D

• 504.nortierd: Reply to this comment

@skopdiekan-498:
    And they only missed the 100 point win over the whipping boys by a mere 91 points.
    Maybe the ref ended the game to soon, they were on the brink of peaking.

• 505.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

Agile T where are you?

Deon Stegmann was a revelation

that boy has just booked the Bok no.6 jersey

• 506.I am a stormer: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-496:

Samson reborn?? More like Delilah. :D

The kiwi commentators response was that Pretoria has run out of peroxide. hahaha

• 507.S_K: Reply to this comment

@nortierd-504: :D . Tyrone is itching to get onto the blog. :D

• 508.nortierd: Reply to this comment

@I am a stormer-500:
    Went for Brumbies and Saders
    But I am jinxing the sides I pick, so now I am sorry :-)
    Brumbies playing SA direct rugby with some flair thrown in, looking impressive, and I have always had a soft spot for the Saders.
    They must come good sometime

• 509.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

Pierre Spies…. wow!

wow!

captain in(flippin)credible

so direct today i was concerned for some of the Blues players welfare

• 510.ShaunB: Reply to this comment

Lol. The irony. Stormers fans offering advice to the Sharks about scoring tries……. when their team STILL has not scored 4 tries since 18 June 2011 :-)

Keep showing us the way lads :-)

• 511.nortierd: Reply to this comment

@S_K-507:
    Lol
    The funny part is, they can’t crow about the victory, because not much to crow about if you predicted a try fest with bonus point

• 512.ShaunB: Reply to this comment

Lol check the Stormers backing any team but the Sharks :-)

We all know Stormers fans get more joy from seeing the Sharks lose than seeing their own team win :-)

• 513.xtremebull: Reply to this comment

Maybe visser swaping with zane? And serfontein replacing fouche? Visser 2 cover flyhalf as well.

• 514.RL: Reply to this comment

These brokebacks suddenly rate the Lion Jantjies – getting them to score 3 tries in a match – a farking miracle!

nc nc nc nc brokeback boys he aint no brokeback that’s why he can get a backline going. Personally I’d rather see Elton sitting on the bench watching the kak and limited Grant stumble with the rest of the clueless brokeback backs playing “typical WP” rugby.

These defensive brokebacks have spilt their milk onto their EC ilk who too only look to defend and score the odd penalty (spoiling and conceding penalties is part of the plan). These rubbish defense Cape teams are poison to all that is good in SA rugby.

• 515.nortierd: Reply to this comment

@ShaunB-510:
    Good on you Shaun
    I like that you are taking part in this banter.
    Yesterday their were many of your mates having a go, but they seem to have abandoned you.
    :-D

• 516.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@S_K-503:
    Wynand Olivier is right back into the Bok squad and he’s got unfinished business

look out world

• 517.Hondo: Reply to this comment

Reading the NZ rugby columns is refreshing today
    These hiding the Blues and the Highlanders suffered are today called “Thrillers” ?!
    The lack of structure and organizing defences are blamed on changes to the line ups, lack of ball handling skills not even mentioned, it seemed a taboo?
    Is the NZ rugby regressing?

• 518.I am a stormer: Reply to this comment

@nortierd-508:

I’ve punted the Saders twice now on consecutive weekends. And been disapointed. They’ve played 2 lost 2. The Bulls are played 3 won 3. But the Saders are at home. Might go Bulls after what happened today.
    Sharks v Brumbies will be a humdinger. Both sides are unbeaten so i’ll go with the home team. I think.

• 519.RL: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-502: be patient transformer – the Cape Chiefs will see a raping next week :grin:

• 520.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@I am a stormer-506:

the peroxide was stunting his attack

• 521.nortierd: Reply to this comment

@ShaunB-512:
    Nope, the Sharks are the only team that has given me 3 wins from 3 picks so far, so thanks, I really appreciate all the points.
    This week I just feel the Brumbies might sneak it, they can play our game, but have that one or two X factor players who might make the difference.
    Nothing personal against your team.

• 522.nortierd: Reply to this comment

@I am a stormer-518:
    Also had the Saders wrong both times, Hurricanes wrong 3 times, Highlanders wrong twice……wait, let me rather tell you who I have had right, will save us lots of time :-)

• 523.I am a stormer: Reply to this comment

@ShaunB-510:

Shaunie. Let me ask you for some advice now. I have had Reinach and Lambie as my 2 halfbacks in my fantasy team on keo. Do I drop them this week? If so, with who? Or retain them?

• 524.skopdiekan: Reply to this comment

Lambiekins has definitely turned the corner he is now firmly in Herr Heyneke’s good books.. I mean ELEVEN successful kicks from only 2 piddle sticks outings he has definitely gone UP in the shoe in stakes for Bok fly half aspirations…

Morne Steyn 11.. that’s our wondrous fantastic slick handling slick pace setting running pivot the unflappable Lambie pambiekins.

between Lambie and Reinach we need not look any further the 2 rugby gods have materialized and Boks are in ‘safe’ hands in that department for the next .. say.. ELEVEN years or so.. no question.. we can all sit back and relax.. the sweated heat is off.. the 2 pronged pivotal messiah’s have landed… Bok half back woes are a thing of the past.. after all its Sharkshits that produce the very best rugby halfbacks in all of saffa land like they always have…

Goosen, Jantjies, Pollard, and even Morne Steyn or anyone else like Catrakillis Cronje Van Aswegen Coetsee Du Plessis etc that are even remotely considering at putting up their hand can put their feet up and relax and concentrate on franchise rugby because Bok fly half position is now filled.

Same with scrum half.. Reinach is firmly in the saddle…. Groom, Van Zyl, Pretorius, Hougaard, Duvenhage, Cronje, Vermaak, Schreuder, McLeod, Pienaar.. etc and etc.. can forget about green and gold for the next decade.. its a fait accompli.. Reinach has got the inside lane and definitely making the most of it.. after all he hails from Grey Bloem.. has an honors degree from that famous seat of academic proficiency Sharkshit Academy and his pappa was a famous green and gold clad 400 mts record holding sprinter.. who in any kind of stupid reason would ever even dream of looking anywhere else for the most perfect candidate for Bok scrum half for the next decade.. surly not I .. or anyone else for that matter?

• 525.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

Arnoldus Francois (Arno) Botha

Arno… Arno.. Arno.. Arno….

where do i even begin

hellls bells

the pace, the power, the skill

the shortest distance between two points is a straght line and boy… does he know how to get there…

get your suit fitted, son

• 526.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@Hondo-517:

NEW ZEALAND RUGBY IS KAK

• 527.skopdiekan: Reply to this comment

@nortierd-504: whats 91 points between a snot klap and a hammering? small change that.. just wait till next week they are bound to go down by at LEAST 150 points at our conservative estimation… the newbies vs the SR champs its bound to be a bloody blood bath of massive proportions.

• 528.hendrikp: Reply to this comment

Take it easy skop, our rugby would be a lot worse off if it weren’t for Grey Bloem.

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-505:

Good one :lol:

• 529.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

Lionel Mapoe

your blood is now blue my boy

keep it that way

• 530.RL: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-529: when Lionel scored did he put his hand on his head doing the chicken. ;)

Note the Lion in his name Bakkies.

• 531.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@RL-519: you keep postponing these ‘rapings’.

if the bulls are your team, as per this thread, have you now divorced the bok-laden guppys for failing to score a lousy try against the Kings?

• 532.ShaunB: Reply to this comment

@I am a stormer-523: I reckon Plumtree will start McLeod next week. You may want to change Reinach?

The Sharks are going to let rip soon though, all h*ll will break loose, so you may not want to lose too many Sharks players….

• 533.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@RL-530: no he didn’t, he dotted down & went back…he only made it afterwards gesturing to one of the bulls plaaye

• 534.nortierd: Reply to this comment

Sing saam……” Maak die Bulle almal Bokke, maak die Bulle almal Bokke”

• 535.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@ShaunB-532: lol will that be in the same way you predicted the Force will let loose on the Kings?

• 536.skopdiekan: Reply to this comment

Bok Span

15 is the only position without an heir elect

Taute, Ludick, Marais, Coetsee, Pietersen, Aplon, Daniller, Wille Le Roux, Kirchner

who your choice because I don’t have one.. perhaps a nobody like Marais on recent showings though I would actually consider putting JPP there in my span.

then
    14 JPP or who??
    13 JdV (c) / Jordaan
    12 ???? Frans Steyn ??? no thank you maybe shift him back where he belongs to back of the bus No.15.. so I go with Juan de Jongh
    11 Aplon (Habana crocked)
    10 Goosen
    9 Van Zyl
    8 Vermeulen / Botha
    7 Elstadt, Alberts, Ps Du Toit, Viljoen, Labuscagne, Vd Walt, Kolisi, Louw, Coetsee, Deysel… ???
    6 Coetsee, Kolisi, Daniel, Brussow, Stegman, Viljoen, Minnie, Fourie, Carr ???
    5 Bekker, Vd Merwe (Fr), Etsebeth
    4 Etsebeth, Vd Merwe (Fl), Bresler, Elstadt
    3 JdP, Kirsten, Kruger, Oosthuizen
    2 Bismark, Burden, Fourie, Chili, Strauss, Liebenberg
    1 Beast, Meller, Kitschoff, Oosthuizen

• 537.Transformation: Reply to this comment

119. ShaunB said:
    23 Feb 2013, 19:45 pm
    reckon the force will take this by about 40
    in the end.

• 538.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@RL-530:
    RedGuppy, it would be a shame to send him back to the Coke Tin.
    his heart is now firmly at Loftus, you can see it in the way he plays.
    he is a Bullion of note :-)

• 539.RL: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-531: show me where they are my team :)

You think the Chiefs are not going to rape the queen next weekend.

nc nc nc my boy

• 540.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-533:
    there is a culture at the Bulls, Transie
    and the boy respects that.

@nortierd-534:

@skopdiekan-536:
    you honestly think after the games so far that Morne is not in HM’s team?

silly old man.

• 541.nortierd: Reply to this comment

@skopdiekan-536:
    If the Kings can continue like they are, HM will have to look at some of their players as well.
    He made allowance for some Lions players, so he will have to extend them the same courtesy.

• 542.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

Flip vd Merwe to Juandre Kruger: “Eben who?”

• 543.nortierd: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-540:
    Hy geniet die boekevat
    Steyn is not going to be here, playing in France remember.
    But they are on ESP wavelength with each other, all HM must do is think hard enough and Steyn will board the plane.

• 544.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@nortierd-541:
    Kings are playing good rugby so far and a few players have definitely put their hands up.
    the only screw up is the ’5 point plan’ seems to have gone out the window.
    stupid Kings :lol:

• 545.hendrikp: Reply to this comment

@skopdiekan-536:

Would love to see Etzebeth & Flip vd Merwe combine as locks.

Arno Botha maybe our best blindside? Bigger workrate then Willem Alberts (who would be great off the bench). Can’t quite give up the pace of Pierre Spies at number-eight if he performs like he did against the Blues. Think Duane Vermeulen’s days are numbered.

• 546.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@nortierd-543:
    honestly, if he keeps his form i dont doubt HM will pick him, which is the way it should be for him and every other form 10.

i am wary of the danger of picking overseas players though.

• 547.nortierd: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-544:
    A yes, Mr. Bakkies ” the Kings will give the other SA sides 10 points” therefor we are better off than the NZ and Aus sides.
    Even the best laid plans goes astray Bakkies.

• 548.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@nortierd-547:
    Cheeky Watson is as divisive as ever :lol:

• 549.nortierd: Reply to this comment

Cheers vir eers
    Lekker gewees om stront te praat
    Catch up later

• 550.RL: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-538: I don’t think he will come back to the den. Ludeke has mesmerised him and turned him – well that or he was bitten blue. :razz:

Pages: « 16 7 8 9 10 [11] 12 13 14 15 1618 » Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.