Bulls bully Blues
10 Mar 2013
The Bulls physically battered the Blues into submission to win for the first time in Super Rugby history at Auckland’s Eden Park.
The Bulls won 28-21 against a home team that physically took a beating.
Blues coach Sir John Kirwan made six changes to his starting XV and the powerful Bulls approach never allowed the newcomers to settle.
Kirwan at halftime bemoaned his side’s lack of passion, pride and commitment, but the Bulls were physically too strong for the Blues youngsters, who got their first taste of Pretoria’s finest.
The Bulls, as the Cheetahs did against the Highlanders, showed greater control, composure and appreciation for field position in giving the hosts a Super Rugby lesson. The South Africans were also physically imposing and did brilliantly to last the 80 minutes, given they only arrived in Auckland from Pretoria on Wednesday.
The Blues, under pressure throughout, fought back from 15-6 to momentarily lead 16-15 on 53 minutes. But the Bulls scored through flanker Arno Botha from the resulting kick-off to restore order and Morne Steyn ensured the victory with a penalty from the last kick of the game.
The Bulls scored three tries and could have had a few more. They played with enterprise and always looked dangerous on attack. The midfield of Wynand Olivier and JJ Englebrecht was strong but it was the strength in the contact that was decisive.
Rene Ranger played well for the Blues, as did captain Ali Williams and fullback Charles Piutau, but the rest were a shambles.
Williams described the effort as ‘piss poor’ and said the team would have lost respect with the performance after working so hard in the season’s first two games to win back respect.
The win is the first for every Bulls player, be it at Super Rugby or for the Boks, at Eden Park.
It completed a South African 3-0 clean sweep weekend against New Zealand teams, which like a Bulls win in Auckland doesn’t happen often. Enjoy it because it was fully deserved.

852 Comments
Pages: « 1 … 7 8 9 10 11 [12] 13 14 15 16 17 … 18 » Show All
10 Mar 2013, 15:18 pm
@nortierd-541:
Who could he possibly pick from the Kings?
I can’t imagine it happening.
10 Mar 2013, 15:21 pm
@ RL
What’s all this about?
“Nice my bullies.
TBH I thought a 4 zip was on the cards for this tour. Now I feel that one more away win is on the cards.”
10 Mar 2013, 15:23 pm
@nortierd-547:
talking about best laid plans, where’s China?
10 Mar 2013, 15:23 pm
@nortierd-549:
cheers Nortie
10 Mar 2013, 15:30 pm
@I am a stormer-552: I can’t congratulate my bullies or my Cheetahs or my Brokebacks for their wins.
They are all like pets to me and deserve a pat on the back every once in a while.
Shiiit I don’t think you will find anyone, not even a Kings fan, who didn’t say the Force were going to drill the Kings (and you know it even though you are acting like the Oracle from the Matrix now
)
That last one was for our loss cheering friend Transie.
10 Mar 2013, 15:31 pm
hey RedGuppy/Bullie
381. RL said :
10 Mar 2013, 10:26 am
Nice my bullies.
TBH I thought a 4 zip was on the cards for
this tour. Now I feel that one more away
win is on the cards.
whose ‘bullies’? yes your RedSlut.
10 Mar 2013, 15:35 pm
@Transformation-558: what does that mean my boy
10 Mar 2013, 15:37 pm
@ShaunB-556: not a f.uck!
i said we can beat the force & many hear thought i was funny talking about a ‘Slaghuis’.
you & you doomsaying guppy posse were ready to piss yourself laughing at us being pasted by “40pts” which never happened so don’t cop out here and say nobody thought we”d be drilled…
ask Tac what my predictions for the Kings’ season are & he’ll confirm!
10 Mar 2013, 15:39 pm
more guppy misguided schadefreude
18. kaksioek said:
23 Feb 2013, 18:54 pm
This is going to be hilarious
20. Dilligafrican said:
23 Feb 2013, 18:55 pm
@ RL-12 : love it.
This gonna be fun to watch. Kings’ season is
going to be determined right here.
21. kaksioek said:
23 Feb 2013, 18:55 pm
Imagine what will happen when they play
against a real team?
10 Mar 2013, 15:41 pm
@hendrikp-551:
True! Because the Bulls’ recruitment tag line in EC, is ‘come to Pretoria and we’ll make you a bok’. Now if they start picking Kings players, the youngsters here will start thinking, ‘hang on, I can get bok call-up even if I play for my home franchise’.
10 Mar 2013, 15:42 pm
@RL-559: do you refer to the Stormers as “your” stormers? bwahahahaha
i know there’s only one team i refer to as “my” & they are sitting @ #7 on the log.
10 Mar 2013, 15:43 pm
@mxhosa-562:
No no, I was referring to them still being sh-ite, despite Transie getting an erection over a 9-point loss.
10 Mar 2013, 15:44 pm
Never seen anyone puff themselves up so proud as a peacock to “only lose by [x] number of points”.
Eish.
10 Mar 2013, 15:44 pm
@Transformation-563: ok Transie…. tell us where on the log you think the Kings will finish the season?…..
10 Mar 2013, 15:45 pm
@mxhosa-562: touche`
10 Mar 2013, 15:45 pm
i’ve been hanging around all day waiting for my friend China to show
i have so much to talk about
*sigh*
does he not like me anymore..?..
what could i possibly have done..?..
10 Mar 2013, 15:46 pm
@ShaunB-566: 5th on the saffa log
10 Mar 2013, 15:47 pm
Arrogant China has disappeared??? Funny, he was here all last week with so much to say before the weekend???
10 Mar 2013, 15:49 pm
@hendrikp-564: look at you, where do you get off talking about erections?
f.uck you hendrik pienaar!
if you were part of the lot that predicted 50pts then take it!
10 Mar 2013, 15:50 pm
@Transformation-563: jealous cause I say nothing about your halot lot. Go further back into the archives and post the part where I said I support all SA teams “except for the harlot queens”
It is farking true Xhosa a lot of trouble
10 Mar 2013, 15:51 pm
is Hennie a Stormer? Why did I think he was a Cheetah fan?
10 Mar 2013, 15:51 pm
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-568:
Still banging his head against a wall wondering how a weekend like this was even possible.
10 Mar 2013, 15:52 pm
yes Shaunie, he has
to tell you the truth i’m a little worried about him
he’s usually never late with his pre and post match analysis.
i hope he’s ok.
10 Mar 2013, 15:53 pm
@Transformation-571:
I didn’t predict f-all. Seen those predictions turn into tight low-scoring derbies far too often in the past.
@ShaunB-573:
Always a soft spot for VRYSTAAAAAAT!
10 Mar 2013, 15:56 pm
Let’s not pretend the Kings were really that good in losing.
If this was the final round, and the Sharks needed a 4-try bonus point to make the play-offs, they’d have done so easily.
Not putting everything into a game you weren’t going to lose? Who cares.
10 Mar 2013, 15:56 pm
@hendrikp-574:
he must be crying into his rice wine
i wonder how he likes them egg noodles now
10 Mar 2013, 16:00 pm
Who thinks Lwazi Mvovo still would’ve gone over the tryline with such a terrible body position if it had been a high-tempo game versus a strong contender?
The Sharks treated it like a training-run. Let’s not pretend the Kings did anything special. They can’t do anything when they’ve got the ball… imagine what’s going to happen when they start slipping tackles.
10 Mar 2013, 16:01 pm
come to think of it
i havn’t seen my other buddy Hurricane either
what gives..?…
where are you guys..?…
Cane… TR… Hurri… Tackler… you there..?..
10 Mar 2013, 16:02 pm
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-578:
Hope he didn’t put his worldly possessions on 3 kiwi victories. Seemed so sure and all…
10 Mar 2013, 16:02 pm
Natal schoolboy results
DHS 67 8 KZN Development
George Campbell 10 7 St Charles
Northwood 0 30 Kearsney
Westville 24 19 M.College Warm-up
Hilton 81 0 Voortrekker (Pmb)
10 Mar 2013, 16:04 pm
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-580:
Hurricane made a quick appearance to remind us his team won.
Took off quickly after that. Think they ration the internet in Wainuiomata.
this is gonna be a great week…
@Transformation-563:
Why do you entertain this bigot?
10 Mar 2013, 16:05 pm
@hendrikp-579: they are a very limited team – the game plan is to defend and defend and defend, to spoil and for Joburg born Zorba to kick the points.
Nothing special or exciting about the queens.
10 Mar 2013, 16:05 pm
Uusually our kiwi friends are so “chirpy”. It is strange (and yet blissful) not to have any on here…
10 Mar 2013, 16:07 pm
Poppa the Cursed
De Ranged
Hurric*nt
Cane the Cannibal
The Tickler
Where are they??? I hope they are ok…….
10 Mar 2013, 16:08 pm
Congratulations to the Hurricanes getting the only NZ victory this weekend.
10 Mar 2013, 16:08 pm
And don’t forget PRICKINCHINA
10 Mar 2013, 16:09 pm
@hendrikp-581:
i dont think you want to be owing a Chinese loan shark money, especially in China.
hope he’s alright
it just doesn’t feel right to celebrate without him
@hendrikp-583:
really? a sneeky appearance and not even so much as a ‘F-you’ my way..?..
10 Mar 2013, 16:14 pm
there you go HendrikP
if ands & maybes
if SARU had not sabotaged us by only announcing our participation on the 16 of August 2012 leaving us 6 months to put a team together, we’d be much more competitive.
You see HendrikP, everyone can make pie-in-the-sky statements.
The Sharks came to PE with their full compliment first XV to p.iss around in a ‘training run’? wow
the all-knowing hendrikp has spoken…tl tl tl
10 Mar 2013, 16:17 pm
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-591:
The lot of them will be back to remind us of their kiwi dominance as soon as they manage to win one.
Might have to wait a while.
NZ rugby is k@k. :lol
10 Mar 2013, 16:19 pm
@Transformation-592:
Ja I heard Cheeky had plans to recruit a team of coloured & black players.
What happened to the riches of black talent that he told us the EP has? Now they can’t find any of them.
If his plan was to steal players from other franchises, then why promote the Kings at all?
10 Mar 2013, 16:21 pm
And in other news the Brumbies have not conceded a second half point this year.
Long may it continue.
10 Mar 2013, 16:28 pm
Transformation/ShaunB why dont you post the names of keo bloggers who backed the Kings in the first game against the Force on Superbru. They are surely the only guys who genuinely backed the Kings against all odds. That should easily settle who really backed them and whos climbing on the gravy train to Kingstown.
10 Mar 2013, 16:31 pm
@hendrikp-593:
that is one of Poppa’s best humble pies ever
long may he eat it
@BrumbiesBoy-595:
Brumbies have only let in 1 try so far this season and scored 10 which is not bad but lets see how they travel. i dont see them coming away with any wins in the Republic, maybe one.
they’re still well off in the Oz conference though.
10 Mar 2013, 16:49 pm
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-505:
Haha, hier’s ek ou maat.
I particularly enjoyed that one-handed tackle and pop up over onto his feet Steggies pulled on Rene Ranger.
Our bloody wingers let us down so many times out wide, but Stegmann was there to clean up their mess on a bunch of occasions. One of the real heroes of the day- things could’ve started to steamroll if he wasn’t there for sure. I was very suprized by his fitness. Great sign.
Should’ve been left on for a bit more, but glad he got taken off to preserve him.
Glad to see Spies operating under pressure the way he did. Everyone put their heads down and you could see the urgency without the fuss.
Arno Botha seems to have lost a bit of speed, but he is a very fit bugger. This is definitely the best loosetrio.
Perhaps HM will reconsider.
10 Mar 2013, 16:56 pm
@ShaunB-556: kuk man. I had the Kings beating the Force in my Bru …
10 Mar 2013, 16:58 pm
@Angrystura-599: Hello Agrystura
You generally don’t like the things I say, don’t you?
It’s like I have a cyber-stalker all for myself…….
Yes, there were one or two crazies who went with the Force.
Pages: « 1 … 7 8 9 10 11 [12] 13 14 15 16 17 … 18 » Show All