Bulls bully Blues
10 Mar 2013
The Bulls physically battered the Blues into submission to win for the first time in Super Rugby history at Auckland’s Eden Park.
The Bulls won 28-21 against a home team that physically took a beating.
Blues coach Sir John Kirwan made six changes to his starting XV and the powerful Bulls approach never allowed the newcomers to settle.
Kirwan at halftime bemoaned his side’s lack of passion, pride and commitment, but the Bulls were physically too strong for the Blues youngsters, who got their first taste of Pretoria’s finest.
The Bulls, as the Cheetahs did against the Highlanders, showed greater control, composure and appreciation for field position in giving the hosts a Super Rugby lesson. The South Africans were also physically imposing and did brilliantly to last the 80 minutes, given they only arrived in Auckland from Pretoria on Wednesday.
The Blues, under pressure throughout, fought back from 15-6 to momentarily lead 16-15 on 53 minutes. But the Bulls scored through flanker Arno Botha from the resulting kick-off to restore order and Morne Steyn ensured the victory with a penalty from the last kick of the game.
The Bulls scored three tries and could have had a few more. They played with enterprise and always looked dangerous on attack. The midfield of Wynand Olivier and JJ Englebrecht was strong but it was the strength in the contact that was decisive.
Rene Ranger played well for the Blues, as did captain Ali Williams and fullback Charles Piutau, but the rest were a shambles.
Williams described the effort as ‘piss poor’ and said the team would have lost respect with the performance after working so hard in the season’s first two games to win back respect.
The win is the first for every Bulls player, be it at Super Rugby or for the Boks, at Eden Park.
It completed a South African 3-0 clean sweep weekend against New Zealand teams, which like a Bulls win in Auckland doesn’t happen often. Enjoy it because it was fully deserved.

852 Comments
Pages: « 1 … 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 [17] 18 » Show All
11 Mar 2013, 03:38 am
still biting fishy?
too friggin easy
11 Mar 2013, 03:39 am
@Hurricane-797: I was quite angry with Poppa, i need to calm down.@whatthe-798: Howzit man? Bokke supperter i guess.
11 Mar 2013, 03:41 am
you’re the one crying
aye hypocrite. you don’t like me saying things about saffas, yet never ever say to your countrymen that what they’ve said isn’t on
strange that
hypocritical fishy still biting.
11 Mar 2013, 03:43 am
so no answer to the dead mum jokes markel?
3 weeks after she dies it was hilarious on this blog
11 Mar 2013, 03:43 am
@the curse-799: Poppa Poppa Poppa, as i said dont play the saint here. You are quite troll and you know it.
11 Mar 2013, 03:44 am
so it’s okay markel for people to say things like that but I can’t ?
join the hypocrites mate. I can admit to my mistakes and have done so previously
your silence on this tells me all it needs to
11 Mar 2013, 03:44 am
@the curse-803:
“aye”……….? do you also pull gangster signs and wear your truckie on sideways?
******!
@Markel77-802:
Yup
11 Mar 2013, 03:45 am
@the curse-804: What the hell!!! Did i say nothing about your family????
Coments about your mummy? absolutely disgusting, like your AIDS comments and my quakes comments.
11 Mar 2013, 03:47 am
ah fishy
there’s that adult behavior again
seems I me tour trying to typecast maori there
still racist huh?
11 Mar 2013, 03:50 am
@the curse-806: I didnt read those comments about your mummy man!!! who the hell were those guys? My condolences anyway. I am a peace man relly but sometimes you can be sooooo……
11 Mar 2013, 03:50 am
anyways this is boring. later
11 Mar 2013, 03:52 am
@Markel77-810:
Yeah poppa you can be sooooo…. lol
11 Mar 2013, 04:05 am
sometimes I banter, though many think its always serious
sometimes I’m serious when certain subjects are used and the silence is deafening
but I can admit I’ve said things that haven’t been nice. sometimes though its the only way
if I have to cop flak for it so be it. but many who proclaim the moral high ground are just as bad, they’ll never admit that though
suicide rates, wife beating, incest etc about kiwis and were not supposed to respond?
I’d play nice if others played nice. but I doubt that would happen.
food for thought, though I’m probably just crying
11 Mar 2013, 04:09 am
@whatthe-807: Coño!!! now i can understand this “fishy” thing. ¡¡You are Sharks supporter!!!! Wow, what clever i am. jajaja
11 Mar 2013, 04:10 am
@the curse-809:
If you want to talk like a gangster thats your problem…………no one mentioned race……….seems you have preconcieved hang ups and ideas?
11 Mar 2013, 04:14 am
@Markel77-814:
Naah mate, thats a poppadoos thing………..he thinks he’s catching me……..hence fishing………..he thinks so anyway, poor little man…………………….Stormers are my team!!
11 Mar 2013, 04:17 am
@whatthe-816: Oooopsss, so im not very clever jeje.
Great team Stormers. Used to be my favourite saffa team. Now im neutral.
11 Mar 2013, 04:26 am
aye is gangsta talk lmfao
ok then. hahaha.
your comments on south Auckland previously show your true character whatever
now have a good man, am definitely out. things to do
11 Mar 2013, 04:42 am
@the curse-818:
windows and doors to check………
11 Mar 2013, 05:57 am
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-668: I guess you are correct, bakkies
Perhaps easier to work on scrummaging technique
11 Mar 2013, 06:35 am
Something Special:
http://www.sarugbymag.co.za/blog/details/sar-column-eastern-cape-energy-a-triumph
11 Mar 2013, 06:36 am
@the curse-818: why the heck is Kirwan a sir. Is he a pom.
Pfffft.
11 Mar 2013, 06:39 am
more more mense
has anyone heard from my buddy China?
this is very out of character for him
he’s never late with the post game synopsis
11 Mar 2013, 06:41 am
@Jeraldjay-698:
i hear you Jerry,
respectfully , i think the Bulls loosies were better.
11 Mar 2013, 06:43 am
@Hurricane-701:
hey buddy, how are you?
thanks for the congratulations.
your feelings on the reffing on the weekend?
you’re probably right, i’m sure you guys will be back on your horses soon enough.
11 Mar 2013, 06:49 am
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-823: you won’t see that braggart here for a bit…
11 Mar 2013, 06:53 am
@Transformation-826:
awwwww
well that’s a pity…
11 Mar 2013, 06:53 am
@Markel77-742:
That is uncalled for.
Really , to revel in the fact that NZ was hit by an earthquake because you hate their rugby or bloggers is seriously low.
11 Mar 2013, 06:56 am
@Angostura-820:
yes, probably.
or operate as a ‘slower’ ball carrying flank.
or just keep doing what he’s doing now, which is a bit hybridish and similar to Bismarck and Strauss’ games.
11 Mar 2013, 07:00 am
I find it sad that the NZ bloggers who blogged with us while the match was live congratulated the Bulls on the win, then almost a day later they are still being taken out.
How many SA bloggers picked or predicted the Bulls to win?
I know I didn’t, hell I even had the Chiefs over my own team.
Making a wrong prediction doesn’t mean you hate the other team, so if one goes for the Blues, it doesn’t mean I hate the Bulls.
We had a fantastic weekend for SA teams, and we can savor it, but it was still only one weekend.
11 Mar 2013, 07:02 am
Grant10, my friend, for your sake i hope you didn’t open the Sunday Times sport pages.
“everyone of the 23 players in your team squad must be able to play at the breakdown – as they will all be involved in atleast one on attack and one on defence during a match”
“in every match there are between 120 and 160 breakdowns. you will have to defend at anything from 60 to 80 breakdowns & you will have the same amount to attack. Therefore, it makes sense that the team with that have the best breakdowns should play the best rugby”
11 Mar 2013, 07:04 am
what a weekend hey, sjoe!
talk about blowing perceptions out of the water
where to begin in the cold light of day
one thing is certain, there is no perceivable gap between SA and NZ as far as skill, pace, fitness and ball handling is concerned but we are stronger and have the physical edge on the Kiwis. they’re gonna need to step up big time this coming weekend.
as far as the reffing is concerned, mildy satisfied so far on the basis of what i’ve seen but there is still a mountain of work to do.
11 Mar 2013, 07:05 am
@nortierd-830: Well said. Bulls and Cheetahs shocked me.
I had Stormers by 3
11 Mar 2013, 07:07 am
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-832: The Bulls scored some nice tries giving the ball air. Well played.
11 Mar 2013, 07:08 am
@nortierd-830:
there’s too much bad blood between some of us and unfortunately the innocent participants on both sides who do not have agendas get dragged in.
11 Mar 2013, 07:19 am
@Sasuke-834:
thanks Sasuke, it was a great match to watch for Bulls fans.
everything clicked and the attitude was top notch, urgent and busy but not hurried or nervy, when in possesion or defense.
Morne was flat a lot of the time and deep when needed and kicked smartly all game, he missed a few but nailed the ones that mattered. Bulls were good at moving the ball when it looked good to do so BUT the most crucial aspect of their game was their directness when taking it up the middle. the loosies rampaged, the locks were runaway freight trains, the props gave no ground, the midfield were hard and direct, the scrummie sniped and snarled…..
just the physicality of the boys was great to see. the Blues lost this game in the physicality.
11 Mar 2013, 07:22 am
@Sasuke-833:

Well done
Great pick
I am falling further and further
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-835:
Bakkies, I can understand that, but at some stage bygones must be bygones.
Dislike mostly stems from respect.
No one really takes the Cheetahs apart, because we don’t fear them as an opposition, but as soon as you know your team might lose against a better or equal side, the respect of the opposition turns to something more sinister.
Because I don’t like the Sharks, due to the fact that the beat the Stormers, doesn’t mean I must be happy if the Inkhata and the ANC fights and murders each other in KZN.
Maybe I’m wrong.
I can understand if are having a good natured go at the opposition fans, but some seriously cross the line IMO.
I find it funny that when the Stormers win 3 in a row without scoring 4 tries we are labelled as moffie, brokeback boring rugby players, but when the Sharks win 3 in a row by failing to score even one try in 2 of those matches they are the best hope to win the tournament for SA.
11 Mar 2013, 07:25 am
@Sasuke-833:
Bulls surprised me
Cheetahs (& the Landers) shocked me
& I had the Stormers spot on – by 2
nortierd – I told ‘you-Stormers-fans’ you are too pessimistic – you have a very good team, & that sooner or later it would all “synergise” – try a little faith, bru
11 Mar 2013, 07:33 am
@nortierd-837:
i hear you, Nortie… i hear you…
i can’t say much because i’m personally responsible for a lot of that.
i dont know if i can learn to like Poppa again or whether i will ever reach a point where i can accept Kiwi cheating (lets be honest about it) without taking it all too personally and ranting non stop about it.
11 Mar 2013, 07:38 am
@Angostura-838:
no mention of the ref doing his job against a kiwi team for a change?
to play against 14 men for one quarter of a match makes a moerse difference, just saying.
11 Mar 2013, 07:40 am
@Angostura-838:
Great picks
Yes, I should have followed my heart.
11 Mar 2013, 07:45 am
@nortierd-830: I did. You can check my Superbru.
I also picked the Canes to beat the Saders by 1. Worked out well for me.
11 Mar 2013, 07:47 am
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-840: when one makes picks one takes into account the match venue & the ref, among many other factors
& then hopes for a major dollop of luck …
PS: Super Rugby is well known for surprises
with that I’m not suggesting I’m great at the prediction game – I am NOT
11 Mar 2013, 07:51 am
@nortierd-837: “I find it funny that when the Stormers win 3 in a row without scoring 4 tries we are labelled as moffie, brokeback boring rugby players, but when the Sharks win 3 in a row by failing to score even one try in 2 of those matches they are the best hope to win the tournament for SA.”
Come now, nortie. When you win 3 in a row without scoring 4 tries we admit that the moffie brokeback boring rugby players are our best hope to win the tournament for SA.
11 Mar 2013, 07:59 am
@Taahirah-842:
You called it.
11 Mar 2013, 08:20 am
@Taahirah-844:
11 Mar 2013, 08:22 am
@Taahirah-842:
Man, that game made me swear like a old navy veteran.
My whole weekend was already spoilt by 10 am on the Friday morning
If Superbru gave points for half time scores I would be at the top not the bottom of the log
11 Mar 2013, 09:57 am
I have been away for a few days and didn’t have the opportunity to congratulate Saffa rugby, but the Bulls in particular.
Every Kiwi team over the weekend lost against expectations but that does a disservice to the winners in each match.
But the Bulls in particular did what no body expected – they ran the ball.
Brilliant!!
11 Mar 2013, 10:13 am
Posts 712 to 815 inclusive.(104) Most Peurile ever.Nice start to the week.
11 Mar 2013, 10:14 am
@Brad-848: Brads.Thanks.
Pages: « 1 … 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 [17] 18 » Show All