Bulls bully Blues

The Bulls physically battered the Blues into submission to win for the first time in Super Rugby history at Auckland’s Eden Park.

The Bulls won 28-21 against a home team that physically took a beating.

Blues coach Sir John Kirwan made six changes to his starting XV and the powerful Bulls approach never allowed the newcomers to settle.

Kirwan at halftime bemoaned his side’s lack of passion, pride and commitment, but the Bulls were physically too strong for the Blues youngsters, who got their first taste of Pretoria’s finest.

The Bulls, as the Cheetahs did against the Highlanders, showed greater control, composure and appreciation for field position in giving the hosts a Super Rugby lesson. The South Africans were also physically imposing and did brilliantly to last the 80 minutes, given they only arrived in Auckland from Pretoria on Wednesday.

The Blues, under pressure throughout, fought back from 15-6 to momentarily lead 16-15 on 53 minutes. But the Bulls scored through flanker Arno Botha from the resulting kick-off to restore order and Morne Steyn ensured the victory with a penalty from the last kick of the game.

The Bulls scored three tries and could have had a few more. They played with enterprise and always looked dangerous on attack. The midfield of Wynand Olivier and JJ Englebrecht was strong but it was the strength in the contact that was decisive.

Rene Ranger played well for the Blues, as did captain Ali Williams and fullback Charles Piutau, but the rest were a shambles.

Williams described the effort as ‘piss poor’ and said the team would have lost respect with the performance after working so hard in the season’s first two games to win back respect.

The win is the first for every Bulls player, be it at Super Rugby or for the Boks, at Eden Park.

It completed a South African 3-0 clean sweep weekend against New Zealand teams, which like a Bulls win in Auckland doesn’t happen often. Enjoy it because it was fully deserved.

852 Comments

Pages: « 12 3 4 5 6 [7] 8 9 10 11 1218 » Show All

• 301.Gumboots: Reply to this comment

Yeah! So good to see SA rugby performing – BUT it has to be on more consistent basis.

I’m so glad to see the Kings performing and supporting their team. Already they have proved they deserve to be in the big league…

• 302.TheTackler: Reply to this comment

@W.P-286: That’s quite rare.

• 303.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Looking for Carol in Cycle Tour …

Can’t find her

• 304.blueboy: Reply to this comment

Well played my beloved bulls to beat the blues away is a great result for the team and the fans,well done it is good to be able to hold our heads up this morning,as the amount of negativity that has been written about the bulls on this site is rubbish.So to all you bulls haters out there who love to see the bulls getting beat UP YOURS as you deserve it.GO BULLS.

• 305.Sharks_are_gonna_get_you: Reply to this comment

Congrats to the Bulls, what a fantastic result, I will say it again anyone writing off the Bulls will do so at their peril.

And like i said long ago, Sharks are not the favourites, Stormers are and deserve to be but Bulls i think will run neck and neck with them.

Now i wonder as Jantjies had to take the fall for when the Stormers lost? will he be given the credit as to the reason why they won?? ( somehow i do not think he will)

As for my team? Pathetic and they have gone backwards, Lambie kicks 100% yes but he is playing for HM, Lambie is now a mini Morne

And so a coach fcuks up another career. From a player that played attacking rugby to A KICKING CLONE.

LAmbie now stays deep in the pocket which proves that point, My other concern is that i wonder if the captaincy is effecting F Steyns own game?

• 306.papaown: Reply to this comment

With the Bulls win it’s SA 3 – 0 NZ this weekend, 2of the games away. This is why I don’t tolerate excuses from Heyneke Meyer, cos we are as good or if not better than these okes dammit

• 307.Gumboots: Reply to this comment

Jeez its no longer about rugby but about who hates who. No wonder so many good people have left. Where is the sportsmanship of the past… Eish…

• 308.shooter: Reply to this comment

@Sharks_are_gonna_get_you-305: Lambie last saw HM 3 months ago. in the meantime he’s been getting coached by the Plumtree and co.

“Now i wonder as Jantjies had to take the fall for when the Stormers lost? will he be given the credit as to the reason why they won?? ( somehow i do not think he will)”

So if Lambie has a better game next round, and the Sharks start playing like they should, when they’re not involved in a negative game like the one they played yesterday… Please do remember to give HM all the credit too.

• 309.papaown: Reply to this comment

Just finished the game, had pvr’d the game. Proper Champagne rugby!!

• 310.blueboy: Reply to this comment

@ the tackler you had better take some sugar to take the taste of sour grapes out of your mouth,HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA.The blues got beat and battered,i just love to see a kiwi team getting stuffed.

• 311.shooter: Reply to this comment

@Gumboots-307: Well said.

• 312.jet jungle: Reply to this comment

@Gumboots-307: Aint no love in the heart of this city. It sure is a pity…. Bobby Bland

• 313.Tacitus: Reply to this comment

Hell yeah!

The Bulls sure as hell surprised me today. Great stuff boys.

Must say I loved Naas’s comment after the game.

“To the peope from Cape Town who just woke up, no, it’s not a nightmare. The Bulls really did win this morning!”

Classic.

• 314.papaown: Reply to this comment

As Owen stated, Hougaard came on as a wing in this half and what does it say for his future?

• 315.Sharks_are_gonna_get_you: Reply to this comment

@shooter-308: YOu missing the point toptally, Lambie is playing to keep his Bok Spot, he never ever stood deep, and nor you or I know of what instructions HM gave him to work on.

Lambie was never a kick and chase artist, he sure as hell was not till he got coached by HM

• 316.papaown: Reply to this comment

How did u guys rate Vermaak’s performance?

• 317.Brinky1: Reply to this comment

RT @mark_keohane: Bulls bully Blues http://t.co/mIE4Ym1uOc via @sharethis Clean sweep for SA teams v NZ. Something to celebrate today!

• 318.Gumboots: Reply to this comment

The more competetive teams we have the better for SA rugby. To become the best we need to have very strong provincial sides.

• 319.Sharks_are_gonna_get_you: Reply to this comment

@Tacitus-313: :lol:

• 320.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Jungle I dig that song!!!!!

• 321.Dawn: Reply to this comment

We love the BULLS!

• 322.Gumboots: Reply to this comment

@Tacitus-313:

Well done Tac. Your team was great. Vermaak was quite outstanding and Botha is a star in the making… A game I thoroughly enjoyed and I always love to see a SA side beat a Kiwi team – away even better…

• 323.papaown: Reply to this comment

I still find it humorous how the Kings are still higher than the Stormers on the log, nice one Transie

• 324.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Tac said HELL YEAH!

• 325.papaown: Reply to this comment

Seeing the highlights again and it was quite impressive the deception employed by Janjties for the 1st try and had good touches in moving the Stormers back line forward, WHAT A GREAT WEEKEND for Saffa rugga

• 326.shooter: Reply to this comment

@Sharks_are_gonna_get_you-315: no man… Plum will tell him where to stand and to play the gameplan he wants him to… you can be sure.
    Really. Blaming HM at this stage is not realistic. Maybe if it was after the June/ July Bok games and he’s had time with the Boks and all that, you can start thinking about such allegations, but not at this stage.

• 327.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Lotsa portly people riding the tour

• 328.shooter: Reply to this comment

@papaown-324: almost perfect… pity the (cape) Crusaders lost :)

• 329.Tacitus: Reply to this comment

I can clearly see Matfield’s influence on this team. He is the attack coach, but it’s not so much specific moves or plays that impress me, rather it’s the improved decision making and the decisive way we take the ball wide when it’s on.

A try by each of our wings, and a try out wide for Botha which could just as well have been a second try for Ndungane.

Great stuff.

This team is growing as far as cohesiveness is concerned. They are going to get better.

No, this game does not mean that we are suddenly title contenders. But we sure are looking a whole lot better than before this tour started.

Psychologically this could be a breakthrough game for us. Hell, I actually picked the Blues on Superbru. That’s how unlikely I thought this victory to be.

• 330.shooter: Reply to this comment

@Dawn-326: just sub ‘lotsa’ for ‘plenty’ and ‘riding’ for ‘pedalling’

• 331.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Shame on you Tac

• 332.polaris: Reply to this comment

Wow! I thought game should be going just now.

Alright, big congrats to the Bulls fans, no way did I see that coming.

• 333.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Watsup shooter

Bellies hanging over handlebars

• 334.roobarb2: Reply to this comment

with Ndungane injured I think the fact that Hougaard went onto the wing is not as mysterious as people think. I dont think anyone should read too much into that.

if not for that I am pretty sure he would have come in for vermaak at about 60min.

• 335.polaris: Reply to this comment

Ahem, Keo, tell me how on the scoresheet Blues scored once but converted twice (and Ranger of all people). I did not see the game, so it is a bit confusing. ;)

Of course, I can do the math myself.

• 336.roobarb2: Reply to this comment

and for once an IRB rule is having a positive impact on the Bulls, as this new “use it” shenanigans is forcing them to “use it” and the next thing the wings are getting the ball and scoring tries.

who would have thunk it, but long may it continue.

• 337.I am a stormer: Reply to this comment

Great result for the Bulls. Well done to them. And a great weekend for South African rugby. There were some great tries scored this weekend. By most of the teams, that is.

• 338.nortierd: Reply to this comment

@polaris-334:
    Difficult to do a victory dance and maths at the same time :-)

• 339.Brigadier Van Zyl: Reply to this comment

@Tacitus-328:

i had a hunch that we might get a win this morning.

what Matfield does have the forwards doing is playing as an 8. Flip is really starting to put himself about and Arno I would already rate as worldclass. I think our frontrow is going to get really strong with a couple more games and they got screwed with a couple early engage calls this morning.

Wynand Olivier remains the finest superrugby 12 SA has produced in my opinion and JJ is starting to look the part..

• 340.shooter: Reply to this comment

“Bulls bully Blues”……….. i think you meant to say BULLDOZE
    or is that reserved to describe the tour? :funnyface:

• 341.roobarb2: Reply to this comment

and before anyone gets too carried away, that blues team was pretty ordinary this morning. how many unforced errors?

still, the opposition must put you away for making mistakes, and they dont always do that. so the bulls did well in that regard.

but for a great defensive effort and about 2cm Vermaak would have given them a bonus point, which would have been incredible.

• 342.Brigadier Van Zyl: Reply to this comment

@roobarb2-333:

was thinking the same thing. Owen thinks by default he is a genius because he is on the telly. I think he talks as much pish as naas does.

• 343.shooter: Reply to this comment

@Dawn-332: that’s a good one. all in the name of doing it hey. like in ‘i’ve done the argus’/… i’m not watching that. really, rather giveme a horse :)

• 344.Brigadier Van Zyl: Reply to this comment

@roobarb2-340:

…but a side can only play as well as they are allowed too. None of the Blues previous 2 games have they been attacked in contact. Same as with the chiefs yesterday, witness the Stormers pick and go tactic all afternoon long. a schoolboy rugby tactic for fcksake!!!

made the stormers forwards all look like supermen whereas the stormers pack has been put away themselves these past few weekends.

• 345.@whistle@blower@: Reply to this comment

@Sharks_are_gonna_get_you-305:

Is it my imagination, or does Lambie even look like Steyn when he boots those huge one. The action, body position everything

• 346.shooter: Reply to this comment

* now only if we can klap the Crusaders, Reds and Brumbies too.

• 347.shooter: Reply to this comment

@@whistle@blower@-344: :lol: even his hairstyle is exactly the same

• 348.grant10: Reply to this comment

maak al die bulle bokke!!

• 349.polaris: Reply to this comment

@nortierd-337: Hehe, it may be true. Unexpected as a korn for the blind hen. :)

Very big win for them and all Saffa supporters. Easily the most important of the comp sofar.

• 350.katman: Reply to this comment

Didn’t see the game. Blues must have been rubbish.

Pages: « 12 3 4 5 6 [7] 8 9 10 11 1218 » Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.