Brumbies’ toughest task
12 Mar 2013
Sharks coach John Plumtree wants his charges to make life difficult for the Brumbies.
Plumtree was quoted as saying that he wants to give the Brumbies their toughest match of the season so far. Plumtree is of the opinion that the Brumbies are a side that do a lot of things very well, and the Sharks will have to be defensively organised to compete. The Brumbies’ ball retention is good and if the Sharks kick poorly, Jesse Mogg will take full advantage of that.
The game plan against the Brumbies will not differ too much from the Kings match, especially given the Durban humidity. Do not expect the team to run the ball from their own tryline, but you can expect the tactical kicking to continue. The coach does expect more running rugby from his team as the Durban heat subsides.
The Sharks preparations have taken a knock though, with news of two injuries amongst the loose forwards. Jean Deysel, as expected, has been ruled out for four weeks with an ankle injury, while Jacques Botes has a cracked wrist and is also ruled out for four weeks.
Good news though is that Keegan Daniel trained well with the Sharks so far this week and is expected to start the match as well as take back the captaincy. With three flankers now crocked, Plumtree will resist the temptation to shift Pieter-Steph du Toit to the side of the scrum, letting the youngster settle in his preferred lock position.
Frans Steyn is also back to full fitness after not feeling 100% against the Kings, explaining the early substitution. Steyn had a neck problem during the match which led Plumtree to bring on Meyer Bosman.
Plumtree hinted at backline changes, where we might see Charl McLeod get his first start of the season, while Odwa Ndungane could come in for Lwazi Mvovo. The team is expected to be announced tomorrow.
By Richard Ferguson

16 Comments
12 Mar 2013, 14:29 pm
Brumbies’ toughest task http://t.co/0ipmGVGrTw via @sharethis Keegan to tackle Brumbies as Deysel and Botes miss out.
12 Mar 2013, 14:42 pm
Didnt realise Daniel was fit already.
So he’ll play 6 with Coetzee at 7 and Kanko at 8. Much more balanced, if a little on the light side.
Also happy to have him back as Cappie. Frans not a good captain in my mind.
12 Mar 2013, 14:44 pm
@John Galt-1:
It was a bit of a shock when he said Keegan was fit..
I am not completely sure that Keegan will start, but I don’t think there are other options in terms of flanks.
12 Mar 2013, 14:50 pm
@Richard Ferguson-2:
Just hope they dont rush him back too early.
Its as bad as it can get for Plum though. Coming up against a wily fetcher like Smith and every single one of our fetcher types are injured.
His hand might be forced here.
12 Mar 2013, 14:54 pm
@John Galt-4:
My concern as well..
I’d rather not risk Keegan for the entire match, but what do you do if you have nobody else.
His only other options are Francois Kleynhans, who has no super rugby experience, or shifting Piet Steph du Toit to the blindside – but this is clearly not what Plumtree wants to do to the youngster.
12 Mar 2013, 15:10 pm
Think this could well be an 0 from 4 week for the SA teams.
- Kings haven’t got a hope in hell.
- Cheetahs are facing a desperate Waratahs team. Can they invent tries as they aren’t going to get breakout turnovers each week?
- Bulls are playing in Christchurch, where as said elsewhere no SA super rugby team has won in 17 years.
- Sharks are playing a Brumbies team that is on a roll, and they’re coming off a poor performance.
How quickly your fortunes can change.
12 Mar 2013, 15:15 pm
@hendrikp-6:
Looks like a bleak weekend.
The Sharks at home have a chance, but it will take a big turnaround from them, and a tired Brumbies side to help things along.
As for the other teams, the Cheetahs have the best chance against a really bad Waratahs team, but as you say, it will be tough to get the five pointers.
12 Mar 2013, 15:19 pm
@hendrikp-6: The Brumbies haven’t played a great defensive side yet. I predict another ‘boring’ win for the Sharks.
12 Mar 2013, 16:16 pm
Brumbies’ toughest task http://t.co/592DuxRHFj via @sharethis Sharks on the showdown with Brumbies
12 Mar 2013, 16:23 pm
I can’t see the Sharks winning this one. There is absolutely no form to speak of. Unless the Cheetahs, Stormers but especially the Kings are better than we think – the Sharks might have 3 from 3, but it is a bit of a false start in my opinion. Against a better opponent the cracks will start to show.
Brumbies by 10 to 15.
Sorry my boys – but with all the injuries and the indifferent performances, you okes are going to lose to the motivated, rejuvenated Brumbies. I hope I will be eating humble pie come Monday.
12 Mar 2013, 16:27 pm
RT @mark_keohane: Brumbies’ toughest task http://t.co/592DuxRHFj via @sharethis Sharks on the showdown with Brumbies
12 Mar 2013, 16:30 pm
@Dusky-9: I think you’re almost right. Cheetah’s. Stormers and Kings are better than we think. Before this weekend, everyone, including myself gave Stormers, cheetah’s, Bulls and Kings no chance and all showed they cannot be underestimated. Sharks will win easily.
12 Mar 2013, 16:35 pm
I find it very disappointing that this trend exists EVERY YEAR with the Sharks while they have a professional coaching & conditioning team to prepare a side over a period of 4 months.
I simply cannot understand why the Sharks start every season with this list of injuries to pivotal players and are then forced to scrape the barrel to find guys that would ordinarily be 5th and 6th choice players.
I also cannot understand why they persist with players like Jean Deysel that as I said previously must be the most expensive player in SA per actual minutes played. If I was one of the Sharks shareholders I would be complaining.
I dont get it and to me it is unacceptable. Personally, I think the difference between New Zealand rugby and South African rugby is that they take it way more seriously than us. I think our boys arrive at the training field, run around a bit, play a bit of touch rugby, Lambie kicks a few at the posts and then they all end up on the beach for a shirtless photo shoot for SA rugby and the Sharks magazine. Lekker by die see…..
It looks like a f$%ken shambles to me and it is time the business owners step in and ask what is going on. But these okes also probably sit and dop brannewyn and coke all day in their lavish, Sharks sponsored Ballito homes. Not that important to them – certainly not as important as it is to their loyal fans.
I am getting p’d off.
12 Mar 2013, 16:37 pm
@FrenklyMuDeah-10: I hope you are right and I am wrong. I am getting annoyed with these indifferent displays by the Sharks. Also the long injury lists….ridiculous. What are they doing in Durban to prepare these guys ?
12 Mar 2013, 16:44 pm
@Dusky-12: Not just Sharks, all teams having injury problems (Pocock, Ritchie-rested, Schalk, Luke, de Jongh). Guys are playing too much rugby and trying to make contact instead of making ball do work. think they should whack anyone across the head that takes crash ball up instead of passing.
12 Mar 2013, 16:44 pm
@Dusky-11: