Captain Keegan returns
14 Mar 2013
Keegan Daniel is back to lead the Sharks against the Brumbies.
Daniel is one of three changes to the starting line-up that overcame the Kings in Port Elizabeth last weekend. With Jean Deysel’s injury, Daniel’s return couldn’t have been better timed.
The other changes are in the backline where Charl McLeod starts ahead of Cobus Reinach while Odwa Ndungane is selected ahead of Lwazi Mvovo. These changes might be seen as rotation, but personally I think John Plumtree wants the most experienced side on the park against a tough Brumbies team.
The tinkering in the backline indicates a greater focus on the Brumbies’ kicking game, with Odwa Ndungane notoriously better than Mvovo under the high ball, and with his stints at fullback, will be a second for Louis Ludik. McLeod’s inclusion over Reinach could be purely on form after the youngster battled against the Kings, being substituted for the last quarter of the match, where McLeod showed some good form.
The bench sees the two dropped backline players take their spots, while Jacques Botes’ cracked wrist must not be too serious as he takes his place as backup.
Sharks: 15 Louis Ludik, 14 JP Pietersen, 13 Paul Jordaan, 12 Francois Steyn, 11 Odwa Ndungane 10 Patrick Lambie, 9 Charl McLeod, 8 Ryan Kankowski, 7 Keegan Daniel (captain), 6 Marcell Coetzee, 5 Franco van der Merwe, 4 Anton Bresler, 3 Jannie du Plessis, 2 Craig Burden, 1 Tendai Mtawarira.Substitutes: 16 Kyle Cooper, 17 Wiehahn Herbst, 18 Pieter-Steph du Toit, 19 Jacques Botes, 20 Cobus Reinach, 21 Meyer Bosman, 22 Lwazi Mvovo.
By Richard Ferguson

236 Comments
14 Mar 2013, 10:43 am
Captain Keegan returns http://t.co/k8xeF77zs4 via @sharethis Three changes for Sharks ahead of Brumbies clash
14 Mar 2013, 11:02 am
Now what happens when Alberts comes back?
As much as I like Marcell Coetzee he’s not effective enough as a ball carrier for me, although I’d start him ahead of Daniels.
6) Coetzee
7) Alberts
8) Kankow
Pow pow!
14 Mar 2013, 11:12 am
@Bagel-2:
When you do that, who do you make captain?
Thing is, the Sharks have this depth at loose forward, but it is always tested, because Deysel and Alberts will at all times have some sort of niggle that will keep them from playing a full 80 minutes.
With all fit and well, I would start with Daniel and Alberts and bring Coetzee on later, as you say, he has not been as effective this year as a ball carrier. That said, Alberts hasn’t been effective for a season now?
14 Mar 2013, 11:16 am
The best Sharks loose trio over the last few seasons was:
Daniel c
Kanko
I think that’ll be the trio going forward with Coetzee rotating with Alberts as soon as he is fit.
14 Mar 2013, 11:19 am
Uh oh…..
This is going to get messy.
I better put my raincoat on.
14 Mar 2013, 11:20 am
The Christian Cullen of loosies returns!
14 Mar 2013, 11:21 am
@Richard Ferguson-3: Rather the other way around…
Start with Coetzee and then bring on Alberts… Counter intuitive in terms of starting the whippet first, followed by the Mastiff…
But as Alberts showed when playing under Dippy Div, with one game particularly in mind – Wales vs Boks at Millenium Stadium, Alberts is an impact match winner…
Start with Coetzee to do the mountain of work… Lay siege to the opposition fort as such… and then bring on the Alberts bunker buster to lay waste…
If Kanko, Coetzee and Daniel play anywhere near as well as they did for the last 5 games last year then like last year Alberts might have to fit in at lock even…
14 Mar 2013, 11:23 am
Once all the loosies are fit, I would be inclined to have a 5 / 2 split amongst the forwards, start with Keegan, Alberts and Kanko. Bring on Coetzee for Keegan and Deysel for Alberts.
That way the bashers split the load and you can slowly phase in another captain in case something happens to Keegan.
14 Mar 2013, 11:24 am
If Keegan fully fit then the starting loose trio is without doubt
Daniel
Coetzee
Kanko
Alberts either on in last 30 to finish the on field stalemate argument or explode what resistance might be remaining… or on from the start at No 4 lock…
Big options.
14 Mar 2013, 11:26 am
@Heavens Game-7:
Do you then drop Bresler or van der Merwe?
I don’t agree with making place for a player in another position. Alberts as a lock is just not as effective.
Coetzee does the donkey work, but with Kankowski tightening up his game as he has, it does allow you to leave Coetzee off to run at the opposition later in the match. On the point of Coetzee, someone needs to teach this kid to pass a ball once a match!
Your point regarding Alberts off the bench is valid, and I do agree with you. Giving him 20 minutes a match will almost certainly extend his career..
14 Mar 2013, 11:29 am
Hi Rich
“With Jean Deysel’s injury, Daniel’s return could have been better timed.”
this is from the first para and needs correction bud as i am sure you meant “couldn’t”?
apologies for being pedantic.
14 Mar 2013, 11:32 am
Botes’ wrist surely can’t be cracked ! No ways he’ll be able to play like that. Did they in fact have X-rays taken ?
14 Mar 2013, 11:33 am
@The Rangerman-11:
Apologies
14 Mar 2013, 11:34 am
@Richard Ferguson-13: no worries just helping out a fellow sharkie.
14 Mar 2013, 11:35 am
@CharlesM-12:
It was a suspected cracked wrist with scans to reveal the full extent.
Seems scans came through that is wasn’t as serious:
“Jacques Botes was initially diagnosed with a cracked wrist, but on later examination we discovered that he has had it for a long time, that it was a previous injury, it just shows that the older you get, the tougher you get,” said Sharks coach John Plumtree after Wednesday’s training. “It’s not a new injury but he’s alright and that’s good news for the team.”
14 Mar 2013, 11:36 am
the web is an extraordinary tool.
a change to the database once published is immediately available to all as rich has just shown.
thats why all software will one day be web based, sooner than most realise.
even microsoft have gone that route with their online store and the phasing out of cd-rom or dvd drives in laptops, google docs etc etc.
it just makes so much sense. my clients dig it too
14 Mar 2013, 11:37 am
@Richard Ferguson-15: so the yster has been playing with a cracked wrist for ages?
whattaman!
14 Mar 2013, 11:39 am
@The Rangerman-17:
Just goes to show, the oke is a legend.
All the talk above about loosies, and we never include him in anything, yet he keeps playing..
14 Mar 2013, 11:41 am
@Richard Ferguson-10: Not effective you say?
It seems you forget how non-effective the Daniel, Coetzee, Kanko combo with Alberts at lock truly was last year…
Granted, lock was slightly problematic and Alberts did a great fill in job… But at 4 he is a decent option, especially at scrum time…
If Alberts at 4 he would replace Bresler…
I dont buy the bring Coetzee on as impact in 2nd half (Heyneke) nonsense and I am glad Plum doesn’t either… Because of his workrate, Coetzee is more effective from the start… The energizer bunny wears down the other team… This will not be the same when bringing him on in the 2nd half…
Alberts however is a machine when coming on as a momentum shifter all on his own… He gets worn down if he starts, and the opposition watch him closely…
Daniel is more “switchable” with Kanko rather than Coetzee, who I believe is almost becoming the bedrock of the Sharks game…
A more viable loosie option if Alberts starts is, Coetzee Alberts and Daniel at 8… With Kanko replacing Alberts in the last 20 and Daniel moving to the side…
This was quite successful last year too.
14 Mar 2013, 11:41 am
@Richard Ferguson-18: ja he was unfortunate to play in the time of schalk and juan but like wayne fyvie, he is one of the rocks around which the sharks have been built.
and having him for all the cc duty when the boks were away was a real luxury.
14 Mar 2013, 11:42 am
@Heavens Game-19: how non-effective should be how effective…
14 Mar 2013, 11:44 am
@Heavens Game-19: i like your reasoning regarding marcels ability to wear down the opposition because the lad has more energy than a staffie on speed (no animals were harmed in the crafting of this analogy).
14 Mar 2013, 11:45 am
@Heavens Game-19:
I would rather bring Alberts on as impact player, as you say, than to play him at lock, where he is keeping a talented bloke like Bresler out of the team.
We can go on for hours about the loose trio, fact is, they are never all fit.. So we will have to do with what is available.
14 Mar 2013, 11:45 am
@Richard Ferguson-15: Thanks Richard – it just seems that nowadays coaches sometimes speak too soon about damage to whatever body part and I think how is it possible that the guy can be back so soon ?
When Etzebeth was injured, AC said 6 to 8 weeks out. Now it seems that 10 weeks will be a conservative estimate……and let’s not even begin to discuss Schalk Burger !
14 Mar 2013, 11:50 am
@CharlesM-24:
I would rather blame the media than the coaches, to be honest.
Plumtree made it clear that it is a suspected cracked wrist and that he could miss the game, but that scans were going to reveal all the next day. We all jumped to conclusions and ruled him out of the match, and that comes down to the reporting.
Coaches should really try and refrain from giving a set return date, or period of non-availability, because we read that the player will return to the match after four weeks out, while that is only the date that he returns to training, where the fitness needs to be tested and recurring problems can be found.
It is a tricky to balance it though, because you don’t want to give the opposition too much information either.
14 Mar 2013, 11:50 am
The Brumbie centers can do a lot worse than look at JdJ plonking The Cullen of Loosies on his over-rated arse
14 Mar 2013, 11:52 am
reinach p i s s ed me off last weekend something chronic.
poor decision making, stupid kicking away of possession and one particularly idiotic refusal to clear a ruck when clearly it was on left with overlap and all but he waited and waited and if i recall thats what left mvovo with the man on man when he was held up?
the lad has promise so i dont want to be too harsh but ffs he must wake up and realise that lambie is the general and he is the ruck clearer ffs.
14 Mar 2013, 11:54 am
@The Rangerman-27:
Agree completely!
The week I do an article praising him he plays like that and makes me look like a tool!
Hopefully Charl will help him grow into the role, and he doesn’t do the three step pass that frustrates us all!
14 Mar 2013, 11:54 am
@mikeybrass-26: well teams playing the stormers could have a look at how JPP made jdj and jdv look like overrated geriatrics as he breezed past them at newlands in the semi last year.
whoop, gangnam style
14 Mar 2013, 11:57 am
Toomus and Lealifano are decent types…….Frans Steyn will try and bully the Brumbie 12 , he is twice his size….
Mogg a dangerous bliksem.
But Sharks at the tank are a tough ask…..and I have a feeling Lambie is due a big 1 …..
14 Mar 2013, 12:00 pm
@The Rangerman-29:
ranger, you are quicker on the draw than the “ruiter in swart” today
14 Mar 2013, 12:03 pm
toomua
14 Mar 2013, 12:04 pm
@Richard Ferguson-28: ja he is young still but that performance vs the kings was diabolical and reminded me of his shocker in the cc final last year.
i hope he isnt a player with no bmt because its possible the kings crowd got to him?
@Sharks_are_gonna_get_you-31: hehe, as mikey soek dan sal hy kry.
14 Mar 2013, 12:06 pm
@The Rangerman-33:
14 Mar 2013, 12:09 pm
@The Rangerman-29: JPP… Legend… Sharks knife through Stormers butter at Newlands…
Schweet as.
14 Mar 2013, 12:11 pm
Sharks Bukkake Thread!
14 Mar 2013, 12:12 pm
@Heavens Game-35: ja JPP is probably my favourite player and i have said this for years.
he is a game changer even though he plays on the wing.
14 Mar 2013, 12:13 pm
@WP-Forever-36: sies man!
14 Mar 2013, 12:13 pm
@mikeybrass-26: Am sure Lambie will find it easier – if it could be any easier – to put George Smith on his arsewhole, than he found putting the Incredible Schalk on his dutpipe after a brisk little handoff on his way to scoring under the poles once…
The look on Schalks eyes was memorable to this day… Fear!
14 Mar 2013, 12:14 pm
@The Rangerman-37: Best backline player in SA for years…
Other than Frans Steyn of course….
14 Mar 2013, 12:16 pm
@WP-Forever-36:
Tsk tsk
Don’t be nasty
Let them enjoy this momentous occasion.
The Sharks are standing on the threshold of greatness.
If the Bulls lose they might top the conference of the SA teams after week 5.
O happy day for so many
Please, let us not spoil that.
Sharks for conference leaders!!
14 Mar 2013, 12:16 pm
@Richard Ferguson-28: I wont say any “I told you so” about Reinach and McLeod either…
Promise…
14 Mar 2013, 12:18 pm
Captain Keegan returns http://t.co/1EwBbwCoWW via @sharethis
14 Mar 2013, 12:19 pm
@Heavens Game-42:
I appreciate it! lol
14 Mar 2013, 12:19 pm
@nortierd-41: It will be a first since 2007 I reckon… And we all know what should have happened in 2007… Notwithstanding the rather “freakish” results for the Bulls to even get to the KP final and then jonja the farken Cup that was rightfully the Sharks in the first place…
14 Mar 2013, 12:22 pm
heres a nice little photo for mikey:
http://you.co.za/hot-curried-lambie/
and another set, images 4 and 7 are quite nice though image 6 is also interesting.
http://www.sport24.co.za/Multimedia/Photos-Of-The-Month/October-2010-20120425
14 Mar 2013, 12:23 pm
@grant10-30: “Frans Steyn will try”…?
You mean “will”… Simple as that.
Fransie owes the Sharks a biggie… Lambie too.
I reckon its one week to early for the “click”… But I shityounot you will see signs this weekend…
And McLeod, Daniel will be key.
14 Mar 2013, 12:24 pm
@Richard Ferguson-28: lol
” The week I do an article praising him he
plays like that and makes me look like a
”
reinach for Boks kwaaaaaaaaas
14 Mar 2013, 12:24 pm
@Heavens Game-40: haha, nama will be here in a few moments.
14 Mar 2013, 12:28 pm
@Heavens Game-44
Lol
I remember my daughter doing a happy dance when the Sharks were leading and I told her to stop with the victory jig until the final whistle.
Still can’t believe you guys lost that one
I was gutted.
You have no idea how many weeks I had to endure blue milk tart and boerewors and bread.
Pretoria is another planet when they win, and if you are a foreigner from Cape Town like me, you must suck it up and take it on the chin
14 Mar 2013, 12:30 pm
@Heavens Game-46: shame, jantjies got the stuffing knocked out of him by fransie at KP and it put him off his game completely imo.
14 Mar 2013, 12:31 pm
@nortierd-49: haha, try being a sharks fan bud.
that fu k head steve walsh will never be forgiven.
14 Mar 2013, 12:33 pm
fransie was kak bang here in PE, no barging over the Greek! we shut him down…
14 Mar 2013, 12:35 pm
Brumbies team to face the Sharks..
Scott Sio, Stephen Moore, Ben Alexander, Peter Kimlin, Sam Carter, Ben Mowen (c), George Smith, Fotu Auelua, Nic White, Matt Toomua, Joe Tomane, Christian Lealiifano, Tevita Kuridrani, Henry Speight, Jesse Mogg.
Reserves: Siliva Siliva, Ruaidhri Murphy, Scott Fardy, Colby Faingaa, Ian Prior, Robbie Coleman, Clyde Rathbone.
14 Mar 2013, 12:41 pm
@John Galt-54: geez, who is that 13?
*cue bryce_in_oz with a he was spotted in the cub rugby scene by jake..
14 Mar 2013, 12:42 pm
@Transformation-53: he left the field early with a neck issue which may have explained that but you will probably say it doesnt
14 Mar 2013, 12:42 pm
The Brumbies have opetd for a much larger pack against the Sharks.
That Fotu Auelua is a beast.
14 Mar 2013, 12:44 pm
@Transformation-55:
Im not sure. The Brumbies have put out a big side here.
14 Mar 2013, 12:45 pm
@John Galt-54: Thanks John.
Nice to see the impressive Fotu Auelua get a start, I’ll be watching him closely.
Built like a brick sh.thouse that one is.
14 Mar 2013, 12:45 pm
@The Rangerman-29: Or how JdV made Bosman his b**** in 2011 for when Bosman makes an appearance
(JPP oozes class)
14 Mar 2013, 12:47 pm
@Heavens Game-39: BBOM was the sound of Daniels’ ego deflating faster than his arse let out air from his dump
Poor soul hadn’t recovered by the time of the post-match interview, knowing his dump gave us the trophy.
14 Mar 2013, 12:48 pm
So Jake has played his hand.
Let the games begin.
The Sharks are going to have to be on their toes for this one.
14 Mar 2013, 12:49 pm
Fransie > SBW
Keegan > Cullen
14 Mar 2013, 12:54 pm
@Dawn-63: i must agree, fransie botha popped sbw’s nose like a grape
14 Mar 2013, 12:57 pm
@Transformation-48:
Maybe next week I should do a piece on Spies for Bok Captain, see how he reacts to it!
14 Mar 2013, 12:58 pm
@Richard Ferguson-65: well keo has already put the hook into the brumbies so maybe you could do the same for the chiefs for this weekend?
14 Mar 2013, 12:59 pm
Goosen compared to Carter
——————————————————————————–
by Brenden Nel 14 March 2013, 12:00
It may be to add more pressure onto his young shoulders, but Toyota Cheetahs flyhalf Johan Goosen was paid the ultimate compliment when one of New Zealand’s leading rugby magazines asked the question on their cover this week – “Is this the new Dan Carter?”
The 20-year old Goosen, currently in Sydney with his teammates as they prepare for their Vodacom Super Rugby match against the Waratahs on Friday, was given the honour by New Zealand Rugby magazine, Rugby News, who used the comparison to Carter, a World Cup winner and World Rugby player of the year, as the future of South African rugby.
Goosen has already played for the Boks and started against the All Blacks at FNB Stadium last year but his season was curtailed by injury and the youngster has played down comparisons to Carter in an interview in the magazine.
For one Goosen points out he is far from the wunderkind that everyone says he is, and believes his tactical kicking needs to improve significantly if he is to make the same sort of impact on world rugby that Carter did for the All Blacks.
“I think I must listen to that praise and let it come in and go out,” he told Rugbynews, “I must keep my head in the game and focus on what I am doing.
“(My tactical kicking) is a weakness in my game, so I am working hard on it,” adding he had taken many tips from working with veteran Morne Steyn during last year’s Castle Rugby Championship.
It was good to see the youngster slot all his kicks as the Cheetahs shocked the Highlanders in Invercargill on the weekend, and given the confidence he received from the win and his own resurgence in play, there is hope that if he stays injury free he could reach the heights others think he can.
For now though, he simply wants to play
@John Galt-54:
That might be a heavy pack, but its an inexperienced front rower in debutant starter Sio facing up to Jannie.
Not Jake’s style to leave a weakness like that?!
And dropping Clyde? Mind games!
oh my it would be poetic justice if the chiefs had to fly all over the globe in reaching a final or semi this year.
14 Mar 2013, 13:00 pm
Goosen > Carter
14 Mar 2013, 13:01 pm
@The Rangerman-66:
Cruden the new Carter?
I like it!
14 Mar 2013, 13:02 pm
@Richard Ferguson-71: yes something like that would be great.
the kings need all the help they can get.
14 Mar 2013, 13:10 pm
@grant10-67:
And there was Poep telling us we hype our rugby players too much.
14 Mar 2013, 13:11 pm
@gunther-73: glad its not us heaping the heat!
14 Mar 2013, 13:20 pm
@Richard Ferguson-65:
Do that article and Bakkies will be your friend for life
14 Mar 2013, 13:38 pm
@The Rangerman-51: Ja, Elton the speed bump…
A pity though – made him a bit of a scapegoat for the Capeys… Even though it was clear as daylight he is the best back in a Stormers jersey especially against the Chiefs…
14 Mar 2013, 13:41 pm
@mikeybrass-60: Ja, much like JPP making Donkey his bi.yatch last year, and pretty much every game ever after too…
Floundering, tackling a puff of dust, while JPP calmly puts the ball down over tryline… score…
14 Mar 2013, 13:49 pm
@nortierd-75:
if he wants a buddy4life he should rather do a piece on Kiwi cheating. he could focus on the Chiefs seeing as they’re so expertly conducted, like a Viennese orchestra, by W. Smith at the moment.
14 Mar 2013, 13:56 pm
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-78:
So rather something like Cheating Chiefs’ Cruden the next Carter?
14 Mar 2013, 13:58 pm
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-78: Looks like Pooper and NZChinky are “In France” at the moment…
“Cowardly” little sheepshaggers…
Quite endearing though…
14 Mar 2013, 14:05 pm
Sticky keyboards season: OPEN.
14 Mar 2013, 14:13 pm
@Richard Ferguson-79:
its a start…
@Heavens Game-80:
NZChina has backtracked himself all the way up his own arse.
Popps never was anything other than pure arse.
quand la merde devient vraiment réel, même la France n’est pas assez loin pour les gens fous cracheurs (google translate)
14 Mar 2013, 14:14 pm
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-78:
@Richard Ferguson-79:
Magic McCaw mesmerizes Mercenaries would be a better title
14 Mar 2013, 14:16 pm
@Richard Ferguson-79:
‘Cheating Chiefs crook called Cruden, the next Carter’
14 Mar 2013, 14:16 pm
@nortierd-83:

Brilliant Brumbies Bamboozle Bananaboys
Great title for Monday
14 Mar 2013, 14:19 pm
@Heavens Game-80:
if the Crusaders get rectally rearranged expect the endearment to go through the roof.
14 Mar 2013, 14:21 pm
@nortierd-83:
ugghhh blegh!
there goes my chewing tobacco
14 Mar 2013, 14:24 pm
@mikeybrass-61: Keegan is Legend… He needs no ego…
The Gangnam Gangster is a good player – except in CT it seems, where he sits on the bench…
Unlike in Cape Town, he is probably more appreciated in Kings Park… And to get past a legend like Daniel – undoubtedly the most skillful loosie on the planet, if not the most skilled rugger player, bar maybe Sunni Bull – then Gangnam De Jong must be farken good…
And that he is… Just you blonde obsessed Capeys dont even know it… Rather prefer Donkey and Joe to Juan and Apples…
14 Mar 2013, 14:27 pm
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-82: When sh it
gets real even France not far enough for people
HG PLEASE HELP Know that cracher is to spit. fous = foolish,mad By the way,hope you are well.
Go Sharks
14 Mar 2013, 14:28 pm
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-86: Lol… Permanent holiday “in France” then…
Two kiwis – a podgy maori and skinny pakeha – hitching lifts from Perpignan to Strasbourg and back for the rest of the year… learning hard how to wave the white flag with finesse
What a sight for sore Light Blue eyes… Magnifique!
14 Mar 2013, 14:30 pm
@Heavens Game-88:
“And to get past a legend like Daniel – undoubtedly the most skillful loosie on the planet, if not the most skilled rugger player, bar maybe Sunni Bull ”
There he goes again
14 Mar 2013, 14:30 pm
@ryecatcher-89: Oui oui… Bonjour Bonhomme…
14 Mar 2013, 14:32 pm
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-82: Hi Bakkies.
Gee hulle gas.
14 Mar 2013, 14:33 pm
@Dawn-91: Hey Prawny, how’s that fishing trawler’s deep freezer of yours…?
14 Mar 2013, 14:34 pm
@Heavens Game-88: Keegan? The most skilful loosie on the planet? Which planet would that be? Pluto? And only because he is the ONLY loosie on the planet?
Your PR machine rolls along like an Argie maul carrying a non-paying passenger……….
@ryecatcher-89: Howdy Rye. How are you doing? All good?
14 Mar 2013, 14:36 pm
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-84: Canterbury Crusaders’ Carter closes career as salivating centenary celebrations sees super Spies, seeking salvation, sprinting in six salacious solitary scores.
14 Mar 2013, 14:38 pm
@ryecatcher-89:
hi Rye, i’m good thank you.
hope you’re well, pal.
ja, that’s about right and i dont speak french, i just translated it
@Heavens Game-90:
that’s gold right there, HG
would make a great series
14 Mar 2013, 14:39 pm
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-81: Hello good lady.
14 Mar 2013, 14:40 pm
@ryecatcher-93:
sal doen, Rye
@Dilligafrican-96:
skitterend
14 Mar 2013, 14:40 pm
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-97: You did very
well.A cunning linguist?
14 Mar 2013, 14:41 pm
@Heavens Game-94:
Copycat
Trans used that line.
And again ….
“And to get past a legend like Daniel – undoubtedly the most skillful loosie on the planet, if not the most skilled rugger player, bar maybe Sunni Bull “
14 Mar 2013, 14:41 pm
(Gert the vendor who’s made a life in NZ walks through the Christchurch stadium)
GERT:
whoop ***!
get your whoop ***!
selling here!
whoop ***!
get your whoop ***!
(little Kiwi boy siddles up and orders two cans with all the extras)
Gert to little boy:
sorry son but you can’t afford em.
awwwww
14 Mar 2013, 14:42 pm
i’ll try again:
(Gert the vendor who’s made a life in NZ walks through the Christchurch stadium)
GERT:
whoopass!
get your whoopass!
selling here!
whoopass!
get your whoopass!
(little Kiwi boy siddles up and orders two cans with all the extras)
Gert to little boy:
sorry son but you can’t afford em.
awwww
14 Mar 2013, 14:42 pm
“And to get past a legend like Daniel – undoubtedly the most skillful loosie on the planet, if not the most skilled rugger player, bar maybe Sunni Bull”
14 Mar 2013, 14:44 pm
@ryecatcher-100:
you could say so
14 Mar 2013, 14:44 pm
YESSSSSSSSSS PUNCHING MY FISTS IN THE AIR. Welcome back Cappie we missed you.
So pleased to see Keegan back and we still have Botes on the bench, brilliant.
Why is Keegan playing blindside and not openside? Just not sure about that.
14 Mar 2013, 14:45 pm
And one more for luck!
“And to get past a legend like Daniel – undoubtedly the most skillful loosie on the planet, if not the most skilled rugger player, bar maybe Sunni Bull “
14 Mar 2013, 14:48 pm
@Puma-106: Not sure make any difference. Probably playing left right?
14 Mar 2013, 14:50 pm
@Bagel-2: Keegan was brilliant last year. Would never leave him out, he never got Super Rugby Player of The Year for nothing. His style suits Super Rugby. Just pleased to see him back for this game.
We played our best rugby last year with Keegan at 6 Marcel at 7 and Kanko at 8. They were a bit light weight but heck they were ‘RED HOT’ playing together, super super fast. I like that about a loose trio in Super Rugby. Also remember Keegan had the 2nd most off loads to SBW last year and that was overall in Super Rugby. Marcel had 2nd most off loads in the saffa conference. Hope we get that style back once the humidity has gone. We can’t really play like that with the humidity as it opens us up for too many handling errors.
14 Mar 2013, 14:53 pm
@Dawn-107:
14 Mar 2013, 14:54 pm
Keegan Cullen, the “Lionheart”…geez has any player with only 3 Bok caps to his name been so showered with praise?
14 Mar 2013, 14:54 pm
@Dilligafrican-108: Yes just thought about it as well. See Botes is on the bench as well. Just punched my fists in the air when I saw Keegan and Botes name there, we will need Botes later when probably Keegan goes off. Well think it will be Keegs as this is his first game back in awhile.
Cant wait for this game now. Just hope no rain. Somehow would have liked to have seen Deysel’s name there starting with Keegan at openside. Anyhow it is not as bad as we first thought, quite good actually.
Bring it on Brumbies….. Sharks are waiting for ya! heheheheheh
14 Mar 2013, 14:56 pm
@Transformation-111: He is brilliant in Super Rugby Transie, especially when Sharks start to play their off loading game, we will need him fit and ready to start every game….
14 Mar 2013, 14:57 pm
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-95: How’s yours too…?
Wonderful traces of snoek and a blend of perlemoen, mixed with strands of wet Rottie…
aromatic ignorance…
Much like your rugby ignorance too…
14 Mar 2013, 14:58 pm
Read it and weep people!
14 Mar 2013, 14:59 pm
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-97: Ja…
The French Chronicles of Pooper and Slinkychink…
HBO reality hit in the making…
14 Mar 2013, 14:59 pm
On the planet, mense.
On the PLANET.
Nogal
14 Mar 2013, 15:00 pm
“And to get past a legend like Daniel – undoubtedly the most skillful loosie on the planet, if not the most skilled rugger player IN THE UNIVERSE, bar maybe Sunni Bull”
14 Mar 2013, 15:00 pm
@Dawn-101: Yes… But I changed the context completely… talking about cunning stunts.
14 Mar 2013, 15:01 pm
@Transformation-111: Frans Erasmus
14 Mar 2013, 15:03 pm
Okay going to put in my bru picks.
Cheetahs or Tahs … who, who, who to pick????
Bulls or Saders….. who, who, who to pick?????
@Heavens Game-116: What was your reason again going with Tahs? They were awful last week, is it because they have changes this week? Then not sure if they all game plan ready together. Cheetahs will have their confidence up and tails will be up for sure. They could be dangerous like that. So could Bulls, their confidence will be up too. So who to go with?
14 Mar 2013, 15:06 pm
@Dilligafrican-120: oh, and apparently Keegan has 5 caps.
That puts him alongside players such as:
Hempies du Toit
Vleis Visagie
heinrich Rodgers
Garry Pagel
and some chap called Saturday Knight…I kid you not.
14 Mar 2013, 15:07 pm
@Heavens Game-114:
When you insult me like that, I know you still love me. xxxxxx
It’s when the insults end that my wittle heart might bweak.
Give us your Bru pics for the weekend? I’ll just go complete opposite to what you’re taking.
14 Mar 2013, 15:08 pm
@Puma-121: Tahs will take it.
Not sure whether it will the Wara or the cheet tho
14 Mar 2013, 15:09 pm
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-123: you like hime talking dirty?
14 Mar 2013, 15:09 pm
Article By: Tony, Johnson
Tuesday, 12 March
2013 8:05 a.m.
Like Be the first of your friends to like
this.
After two weeks of upbeat talk about the
state of the New Zealand conference, a
harsh reality check, with three defeats in
as many games against South African
opposition.
An aberration, a bad weekend, or are we
not quite as good as we thought?
Certainly the Blues have been taken
down a notch after being completely
outmuscled, outmanoeuvred, and out
passioned by the Bulls.
It was an excellent performance from the
Bulls, especially given they’d just made the
big trip East.
The Blues played into their hands by
making an unnecessary number of changes
and exposing a lack of depth in their squad
by giving four rookies their first starting
role, and having another four on the bench.
The Bulls cashed in on that mercilessly with
their trademark power forward power,
some really smart directional play and their
willingness to move the ball when they
needed to.
It’s not the end of the world for the Blues,
but they’ll need to get back into stride
quickly after the bye, when they play the
again-struggling Waratahs, and if they can
get back to what they did in their first two
games they’ll be fine.
The Cheetahs again showed what a spirited
high-octane side they are by rolling the
Highlanders up and smoking them.
They were in the sort of mood to be able to
turn almost every Highlanders mistake into
points.
Brad Thorn gave it everything, and Ben
Smith and Kade Poki kept trying and
succeeding in their endeavours, but there
were some very ordinary performances
elsewhere. They looked light in the loose
forwards without Nasi Manu, with Jake
Paringatai especially given a reminder of
the differences between Super Rugby and
club footy in Japan.
To be fair the Chiefs, having spent most of
the game in Cape Town testing the patience
of referee Jaco Peyper were the victims of
two poor calls in the dying minutes that
might have seen them snatch the game.
Peyper was quite right with his two sin-
binnings, but he missed a blatant illegal
steal by Gerhard van den Heever in the
dying moments, before rather harshly
penalising the Chiefs moments later.
Still, they created chances to win against
the normally miserly Stormers defence and
they did get two points, so if they can beat
the Kings this weekend they’ll come home
with 6 or 7 which is not the worst.
Ben Afeaki was colossal again, and is right
now New Zealands best performing front
rower.
And the Hurricanes kick started their
season, even if the winning try came on a
silver platter on a bed of lettuce with a
couple of slices of lemon.
Normally the Crusaders are the best team
in the business at closing games out, but
not this time.
They are always slowish starters, but the
pressure to get a win is mounting as they
face a confident Bulls side.
So far New Zealand sides have won just one
out of four games against overseas
opposition, and that needs to change pretty
soon, if they are to keep pace with the
South Africans, and the Brumbies and Reds
who are again making hay in the Australian
conference.
14 Mar 2013, 15:10 pm
KEEEEEGAN CUUUUULLEN
14 Mar 2013, 15:11 pm
@Dilligafrican-124: hehehe. Confusing that. But yeah one of the Tahs will definitely win.
Think Cheets have a very good chance if they play like last week against the W/tahs..lol. Who with Bulls/Saders do you think?
14 Mar 2013, 15:11 pm
@Puma-109: 100% Pooms…
Not for the Sharkies 3 substandard blindsides all forced into different positions like a cookie cutter gone wrong… 3 grunting “grafters” that can do farkall else than pretend to be warriors but end up being flat track bullies…
The Sharks have a division of manpower… different skills for different positions… Adaptable… Highly Skilled… Brave… and Fast…
Yep… The fastest, most highly skilled and energetic trio on the Planet…
I present:
Keegan Daniel… The Lionheart… The Rapier where others have blunt bludgeoning budzas…
Coetzee… The Hyperactive Hypersonic Wrecking Ball…
Kankowski… Sounds like an NHL legend, but has all the attributes to be one in Rugby… This is his time to show it all – Demonic Tackling… Pace, positioning and Aerial superiority…
And on the Bench… And at times on the start… Willem The Bone Collecter… Nuff said.
Ye… The Trio of Trial and Fear… Burning Bush… and Walk on Water
Literal Dynamite…
14 Mar 2013, 15:12 pm
@Dilligafrican-125:
Silly boy
That’s not talking dirty
That’s downright disgusting
S how he talk to his wife
That’s why she moer him
14 Mar 2013, 15:13 pm
“Yep… The fastest, most highly skilled and energetic trio on the Planet…
I present:
Keegan Daniel… The Lionheart… The Rapier where others have blunt bludgeoning budzas…”
KEEEEEGAN
14 Mar 2013, 15:13 pm
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-123: Have done… go back and find…
Sic ‘em Doggy…
14 Mar 2013, 15:14 pm
Plums fckd up advantage Jake the Fake 3 little lightweight poefta loosies against his seasoned hardcore vets Mowen and Smith gonna think Christmas came early with these lighties in knickerbockers standing in their way. Should have played Steff Du Toit at blind side with Daniel at 6 or 8. Kankowski or Coetsee off bench.
14 Mar 2013, 15:14 pm
“Coetzee… The Hyperactive Hypersonic Wrecking Ball…”
Where was he over the past coupla weeks I wonder
14 Mar 2013, 15:15 pm
@Puma-128: I’m sticking my neck out going for the Bulls. If they can dominate upfront Stain will put the territorial pressure on them.
But am scared of 2nd week syndrome.
“Kankowski… Sounds like an NHL legend, but has all the attributes to be one in Rugby… This is his time to show it all – Demonic Tackling… Pace, positioning and Aerial superiority…”
Who also wears the Cloak of Invisibility
@Dilligafrican-125: Not particularly. But I enjoy knowing that he admires me from afar
14 Mar 2013, 15:16 pm
@Dilligafrican-135:
“Wonderful traces of snoek and a blend of perlemoen, mixed with strands of wet Rottie… ”
You talk to your woman like this?
14 Mar 2013, 15:18 pm
Backline it’s advantage Jake the Fake Gregan/Larkham too. Only thing going for Sharkishits here is home town advantage and Jonathan Kaplan with his black white underpants showing through his pantaloons
14 Mar 2013, 15:19 pm
@skopdiekan-133: OK, so we go with a absolute newby against these “seasoned pros” as opposed to playing our own seasoned pros?
ja right.
14 Mar 2013, 15:19 pm
@Transformation-126: Blues deserved getting a klap from the Bulls by not respecting them. Making those kinda of changes just showed arrogance really. So pleased the Bulls gave it to them the way they done. Hard physical saffa rugby with speed to boot, loved watching that game on Sunday morning. Only watched the 2nd half as only got up at 6am then watched the earlier part later. Look that last penalty against Chiefs that Stormers got did look like they were hard done by. BUT Stormers was the best side on the day. They came at them from the start and good on them, the deserved their win totally as did the Cheetahs. Loved seeing 3 saffa sides giving it to the kiwi sides. Hope we can keep it up.
14 Mar 2013, 15:20 pm
@Dawn-138: Nope.
14 Mar 2013, 15:21 pm
@Puma-121: Tahs are better than their last couple of games…
Their fundamentals are pretty good for an Aussie team – set piece, spine and home ground… If Cheetahs can replicate last week it will be close, but I reckon this first game aginst Aussies might throw them… Also Cheika is a good coach despite their couple of losses…
Crusaders – nothing more than home turf desperation, and playing for pride, knowing that beating the Bulls will get some redemption… Backs against the wall stuff and expect quite a few hometown decisions from the Ref too…
Bulls going to have to run away with it and score early, because if it is close in the final 10 then Saders will win, if even by a penalty like the Stormers benefitted from against the Chiefs (Shadow Hurdles entry from the side and going to ground, that somehow ended up with a penalty against the Chiefs)
Howzat?
14 Mar 2013, 15:22 pm
@skopdiekan-133:
Howzit Skop
How do you see this match going?
For you it’s a lose lose situation?
Sharkies win, well you don’t want the mercenaries to win…
Brumbies win, well you don’t want Jake to pull a fast one…..
14 Mar 2013, 15:23 pm
@nortierd-144: He wants a 0-0 draw
14 Mar 2013, 15:23 pm
@skopdiekan-133: There is no Deysel this week or Alberts. So we play the loose trio that done the best for us last season. PSDT has STATED he only wants to play lock this year. Plum is repecting him and doing just that. If push comes to shove then suppose he would have played there this week if Keegs and Botes never got back from injury.
14 Mar 2013, 15:24 pm
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-137: Its got to be from afar darling… Olfactory overload prevents any cunning stunt inspection from close otherwise…
@Puma-141:
You watch Reunion last night?
Tony Johnson full of praise for Saffas
They were quite nice about our brutal playing style
@Dilligafrican-135: didn’t th cheetahs show ’2nd week syndrome’ to be a load of hogwash?
14 Mar 2013, 15:25 pm
@Dilligafrican-145:
Watch football
Actually, 0-0 half time score vs Stormers.
You never know
@Transformation-149: ja, but Kings confirmed it
“Ye… The Trio of Trial and Fear… Burning Bush… and Walk on Water
Literal Dynamite…”
Say
No
MORE!
@skopdiekan-133: Also remember we use Fransie as a extra flank as well. We got it covered don’t worry about us. We do have PSDT on the bench and Botes and like I said above if push comes to shove and Plum thinks we need PSDT at flank then he will play there for this game, but he really does not want to play flank but lock. We also have Botes on the bench.
We sorted. Just wish we never lost Deysel to injury he was playing some terrific rugby, especially against your Stormers.
14 Mar 2013, 15:26 pm
@Heavens Game-147: no man.
14 Mar 2013, 15:27 pm
@puma: ” Look that last penalty
against Chiefs that Stormers got did look
like they were hard done by. BUT Stormers
was the best side on the day. They came at
them from the start and good”
i know you would be crying tears if that was done on the Sharks by Peyper
14 Mar 2013, 15:29 pm
@Dawn-152: ja…die trio van terreur…Aspoestertjie…Waterwandelaars struesbob plofstokke……
14 Mar 2013, 15:29 pm
Still talking about Keegan?
He’s a 70-80 post kind of player.
Mac.
14 Mar 2013, 15:30 pm
Max.
Fat fingers.
@Dilligafrican-151: missed!
we haven’t toured yet lol…
’2nd week syndrome’ ——> guppy fiction?
@Dilligafrican-154:
Ooooh yes.
14 Mar 2013, 15:31 pm
@Transformation-155: Yes for sure. But really you have to get some luck and believe me teams get some and some don’t. Its part of the game. Chiefs left it too late, Stormers came at them from the start and I loved it. Wanted Stormers to beat the Chiefs and they did.
Now what will the Kings do Transie? Hope your defence is as great as last week, because for now that is your biggest weapon. My feeling your boys are gonna be just too tired after making so many tackles last week against the Sharks. Also against my team they had loads of stamina to do that as they had a bye the week before, had they played another team the week before and tackled like that they would not have kept it up agains the Sharks. They will need to play more than that bud. Still supporting them against the Chiefs and hope they hang in there and give it to them too, or at least stop them from scoring the 4 tries. Go Kings just do it!
14 Mar 2013, 15:32 pm
@Dilligafrican-156:
Boom.
@gunther-157:
How dare you besmirch Keegan’s name
14 Mar 2013, 15:32 pm
@gunther-157: the Stormers have a bye, so all the post reserved for dissing them are being put to use to lick Lionheart’s bottom
14 Mar 2013, 15:34 pm
@Transformation-163:
I can always dis the Stormers.
Bye or no bye.
Bye the bye.
14 Mar 2013, 15:34 pm
@nortierd-148: Hi pal.Old fashioned Blue Bull
grunt
14 Mar 2013, 15:36 pm
@Transformation-159:
_______/\____\o/_____
14 Mar 2013, 15:36 pm
@nortierd-148: Yes I did watch and they were honest there. Though they thought the Chiefs were hard done by, expect Wilson. He thought the Stormers deserved it anyway like we all think Stormere deserved it. I enjoyed watching Stormers beat them, very much. Brought them down to earth a bit there can’t just come to saffa land and expect to beat us saffas here. Pleased all a 3 teams playing kiwi sides won. Awesome actually.
14 Mar 2013, 15:37 pm
@Dilligafrican-166:
Is that Transie being eaten by a shark?
14 Mar 2013, 15:38 pm
@Dawn-152: Hi Dawn.You have to admit
that HG has a turn of phrase.Go well
@Dilligafrican-166:
@Puma-161: well Matt has been talking up ball-in-hand approach the whole week, Chiefs are not as physical as the Sharks so our forwards can try muscling them plus the Chiefs are sore from being bashed by Stormers. Retallick, Ngatai on bench.
if we match them at the collisions then we’ll be there or there about.
@Puma-161: Good to have a real kenner back… One of the very few.
Umfanawami is now speechless
14 Mar 2013, 15:39 pm
@gunther-168: hahahahahaha. I thought so too…..
@Heavens Game-172:
@ryecatcher-169:
His phrases turn her stomach.
My rottie just over 3 months now ……beast….dog trainer every Sunday, Oke is bloody clever……5 more months and that Alsatian that gave me grief all these last few years is gonna ger a fright of his canine life…..
Problem is the damn Rottie is so well socialised he may end up being the Alsatians best mate…
@Dawn-152: What you whining about now, wench?
Oink, oink…
14 Mar 2013, 15:41 pm
@gunther-175:
On the money
14 Mar 2013, 15:41 pm
@gunther-175: LOL.Very
14 Mar 2013, 15:42 pm
@gunther-168: no that’s Dilli celebratin an e.rection after years of flaccid- ness
14 Mar 2013, 15:44 pm
@grant10-176:
Just keep it away from our Irish friend.
14 Mar 2013, 15:47 pm
@gunther-181: huh??
14 Mar 2013, 15:52 pm
@gunther-175: Yes… This humble janitor induces butterflies in her tummy
14 Mar 2013, 15:53 pm
@Transformation-171: Thats good news Transie. I wish them well and hope they can stop them or at least stop them getting the 4 tries. You going to the game? Vibe looked brilliant there. Taking away that fight of cousrse, but it never affected the whole stadium and we here looking on tv just saw the happy crowd.
14 Mar 2013, 15:54 pm
@grant10-182:
Rory O’Capo.
14 Mar 2013, 15:55 pm
@grant10-176: hahaha. Sounds like you have found yourself a great friend there. They massive dogs, remember our neighbour many years back had one, almost the size of a pony really….hehehe. Think he will be taking you for a walk and not the other way round if you take him on a leash…..
14 Mar 2013, 15:57 pm
@gunther-185: LOL…..every day beach for an hour, the pup has more mates than Lambie in Balito and is big mates with the neighbours 2 x cats and all the kids dig him…..may lick Capo to death…..farken as much guard qualities as Naas Botha come tackle time….
14 Mar 2013, 15:57 pm
@gunther-185: Seamus??
14 Mar 2013, 16:01 pm
@Puma-186: Have a real dog guru trainer in every Sunday…..the pup walks on leash since 8 weeks already….disciplined completely…..quite amazing…..
costs a small fortune for trainer but doing a full 12 week and may even do a bit of advanced stuff…….got to or else they end up hurting someone or some other dog…….so best to invest in the Brute…..cant believe the growth in 5 weeks I have had him…..
and he eats like a Tyrannosaurus Rex……[ farken food so bloody expensive too ! ]…
But I dig him…..no softness there, just all character and swagger……very cool oke…
14 Mar 2013, 16:01 pm
@Puma-184: there’s no way i’m missing any of the games!
yesterday they’d sold more than 12 000 tickets, it’s late friday kickoff so.we’ll see how the turnout is…
14 Mar 2013, 16:02 pm
@gunther-168: Transie, The Kings, or their supporters
14 Mar 2013, 16:12 pm
@grant10-187: “farken as much guard qualities as Naas Botha come tackle time….”
A G10 classic!
14 Mar 2013, 16:12 pm
@grant10-187:
More mates the Lambie in Ballito?
Well make sure Rory doesn’t pull a Tyrone on him.
14 Mar 2013, 16:13 pm
@grant10-182: Capo.
14 Mar 2013, 16:20 pm
@grant10-189: Great that Grant. You have got it spot on getting trainer for a bigger dog like that, especially while young they learn discipline. I had so many, many years back a German Sherpard, Bull Terrier and Boxer they were all trained young and it paid off, all were very disciplined even into old age. After they passed on I got myself Pugs and have had that breed now for about 27 years. As one passed I got another. Lost my older pug just before we went on vacation to Cape Town in Feb. Miss him a lot, now only have one left, then that is me. Not getting anymore. Felt just to cut up about losing my lost male.
Enjoy your Rottie he sounds great though.
14 Mar 2013, 16:20 pm
@gunther-193: Fark
A Gunther classic…
14 Mar 2013, 16:22 pm
@gunther-193: bwahahahaha
this is sure to induce a md… hehehe
14 Mar 2013, 16:24 pm
@Transformation-190: Good on you Transie getting to the games. Enjoy it. Hope we have a full tank on Saturday, but with the humidity I know some will not go as it is a 5pm kick off and sun still out. Just so hot sitting there this time of year. I will wait for it to get cooler and go to a few games. Still don’t have a season ticket as the seats available are not great, so just wait for the games I want to go to and get tickets for those.
14 Mar 2013, 16:24 pm
@Puma-195: thanks Puma….Yes, this okes dad is a 72 kg monster….and mom not much smaller….8 to 14 weeks is the best train times…..I have read so many books about the breed so understand him well……serious okes…makes a great mate but always needs to know who is the boss…..so I am strict with him….amazing how they learn things….truly are a lot more cleverer than I imagined.
14 Mar 2013, 16:25 pm
@stormersboy-194: can you verify? between yourself & ufo this was your daily bread.
“It’s taken 22 matches for Super rugby to reach the 500,000
spectator mark.
In 7 seven matches, South Africa make up
for 233,000 of those spectators.
The Kings 2 games make up 33% of that
total and thus far have had the biggest
attendance.”
14 Mar 2013, 16:25 pm
@stormersboy-194: can you verify? between
yourself & ufo this was your daily bread.
“It’s taken 22 matches for Super rugby to
reach the 500,000 spectator mark.
In 7 seven matches, South Africa make up
for 233,000 of those spectators.
The Kings 2 games make up 33% of that
total and thus far have had the biggest
attendance.”
14 Mar 2013, 16:27 pm
@Puma-195:
typo meant – German Sheperd
14 Mar 2013, 16:29 pm
@Puma-202: let me try that again
German Shepherd
14 Mar 2013, 16:29 pm
@Transformation-201: how big PE stadium?
14 Mar 2013, 16:32 pm
@Dilligafrican-204: Transie will tell you, but think it holds 42 0000
14 Mar 2013, 16:35 pm
@Dilligafrican-204: 42 000
14 Mar 2013, 16:39 pm
As a naysayer I will gladly admit the Kings have bowled me over.
Thought they would win a couple, but was also guilty of prejudging them.
After the last few weeks I have no qualms in admitting I was hasty in my judgement and I am currently loving the PE vibe, the guts of the players and everything about how they went about after the hand they were dealt.
Transie, you true blood supporters have a lot to feel proud of, keep it up
14 Mar 2013, 16:46 pm
@nortierd-207: thank chap.
all we ever wanted was a shot to play, not at anyone’s expense, the problem is that some in our country would rather monopolise the pie rather than share it.
what i find strange is how the aussies are willing to EXPAND their rugbyfoothold & how everyone is gung ho for the argies to join sanzar but vok die oos kaap.
our team will struggle, they will take big scores at sime point but rome wasn’t built in one day.
thanks again.
kings 4 life
14 Mar 2013, 16:50 pm
@Puma-161: The Kings cannot afford to be “too tired” this early in their campaign … They’ve been given the worst schedule & itinerary of all franchises in SR 2013: one game on, a bye, then a sequence of 10 games on the trot, including their maiden tour abroad! S_hyte!
Fark knows how they’re going to manage that, especially with their depth not comparable to that of other franchises.
The Kings cannot afford to play (into the ground) the same players week after week – they have no choice but to commence astute player rotation pretty soon:
Their aim must be to somehow conserve & stretch their scarce resources & secure 3 victories & some bonus points along the way. They will have to target certain games such as the Rebels & Cheetahs away, & the Waratahs & Cheetahs at home. The rest of their maiden campaign will likely be tough, & that is putting it mildly.
But so far, so good … they’ve made us proud – may it last.
14 Mar 2013, 16:50 pm
@Transformation-206: so 90% full both games?
And they sold seats twice too.
14 Mar 2013, 16:51 pm
@Transformation-208:
Your attendances are real
The Lions used to count Jimmy Abbott’s 4 seats to seat 1 as sold 4 to push the numbers up
14 Mar 2013, 16:58 pm
@Dilligafrican-210:don’t know.
@nortierd-211: don’t diss the lions. they are in the financial capital of SA but their fans abstained from attending games for some reason, could also be because many of the affluent are not necessarily lions fans bit migrant labour…
14 Mar 2013, 16:58 pm
bit – but
14 Mar 2013, 16:59 pm
@Transformation-208: Ja, but to be fair, due to literally decades of corruption, ineptitude and plain uselessness at Union level that made the Lions rugby union seem paragones of virtue, the Oos Kaap hasn’t exactly inspired any need to expand there either… Only with the advent of McKeever’s Spears brainchild, abused and then used and hijacked by SARU sickeningly to paper over their own crevices for sitting on collective thumb instead of meaningful development and the Watson political bandwagon that something has happened… at the expense of a Union that happen to be one of 2 SA past winners of Super Rugby though…
The players have been brave, honest and representative of the highest ideals of Rugby Union… They have surprised the likes of me and I find myself begrudgingly supporting them when I see them go and perform against the odds and battle tooth and nail inches right till the last second of every game… A pity the Kings as Union in their current oppurtunistic, bandwagon guise do not share the ideals that their players have shown on field…
14 Mar 2013, 17:01 pm
@Heavens Game-214: Old softie…
14 Mar 2013, 17:02 pm
@Angostura-209: They have done well so far, much better than I thought. Though their first bye came a bit early but it helped them agains the Sharks. This week they may just be a bit tired after that marathon tackling they had to make. Then they head off to NZ and face Sader. Going to be tough, but none of us expect them to win, so that really is a good thing for them. No pressure makes for a better tourney.
Remember last year and the year before Sharks had to play 10 straight games before even getting their first bye, really tough that as by that time players are getting injured and exhausted. Kings should just enjoy this year, lose or win just enjoy the experience of being in Super Rugby. Think they will get it together after 2015 with more time to prepare. They have unfairly have to play a relegation game this year and that too is very unfair to the Lions as well. Something else should have been worked out as it messes TWO teams about. Maybe they can come to agreement just for the remaining Super Rugby games until after 2015 that they can amalgamate, would make sense to save both teams and keep all those players in Super Rugby for the next two years. Then they can also go back to playing in Black and Red…..ahahahaha. Both sides colours! Think after 2015 there will be two tiers in Super Rugby and room for all.
Anyhow feel for both teams the relegation game will be tough of both. If Lions win the Kings lose as they never had enough time to really do much in one year they need at least 3. If the Lions lose that means they out until 2015 and that to is unfair. Want to see both teams in. Feel for the Lions and their supporters as well, as felt for EP when they had no team in as well.
14 Mar 2013, 17:03 pm
@Transformation-212:
Not dissing, joking
Not just the Lions fans that stay away when things go pear shaped for their teams.
Also, with so much rugby, many pick and choose which games will be best to attend.
Then the cost factor for a family to attend a live match
All adds up
14 Mar 2013, 17:08 pm
If Lions and Kings had amalgamated for this year and until 2015 it would have meant bigger depth to the team, they would have been one hell of a team that is for sure.
Something for Kings and Lions to think about. Then for now Lions are hurting and probably wont think of doing it. But it makes plenty sense until both can play as seperate teams after 2015. Keeps all the players playing until then. Both stadiums working as well.
14 Mar 2013, 17:12 pm
@Heavens Game-214: Very good post.
Think the Kings have won many of us over in their ‘Never Say Die’ attitude. Also still feel for the Lions though.
14 Mar 2013, 17:13 pm
Okay could not make up my mind and put Cheetahs and Tahs down for a draw. Wont happen I know one will win just had no idea who. Think it will be Cheetahs though.
Eventually put Saders by 4 and still think Bulls could win. Those two picks were the hardest.
14 Mar 2013, 17:18 pm
@Puma-216:
Re: “Kings should just enjoy this year, lose or win just enjoy the experience of being in Super Rugby. Think they will get it together after 2015 with more time to prepare.”
NO! They must plan to succeed (even though SARU planned for them to fail. One does not accept such an opportunity with failure in mind.
They can do it … but it requires strategic planning, esprit d’ corps, unsurpassed effort, discipline & single-minded purpose. And they have their people’s support.
OK, time for the ‘home run’
Ciao
14 Mar 2013, 17:19 pm
Hg: ” due to literally decades of corruption,
ineptitude and plain uselessness at Union
level that made the Lions rugby union seem
paragones of virtue,”
i don’t know about “DECADES” when we were playing Super 10 in ’94. be that as it may, FRANCHISE super rugby as seen in Aus & NZ should effectively be separate from the UNIONS! which is why even when the Otago Rugby Union was facing liquidation the NZRU still maintained that the franchise will remain in Dunedin.
in Aus what corrupt or non-corrupt union is attached to the rebels franchise?
SARU in 2005 made 6 franchises knowing they only have 5 licences, the fact that EP’s nanagement at the time was chaotic is a bullshir/convinient excuse!
14 Mar 2013, 17:19 pm
@Transformation-212: use your calculator
14 Mar 2013, 17:29 pm
@Angostura-221: I know that should be the case, but it will not be buddy. So for them not to have the pressure I think they will actually win more in that frame of mind. SARFU has now messed up two teams once the relegation game comes one is out. That is a shame again all over if it is Kings that are getting it together by then, much like Lions were getting it together towards the end. They bliksemed my Sharks remember at Ellis Park. Not many got that much against us except Canes and of course Chiefs at the end. Just a shame it has to happen that one will be out again end of the year. Both should have been in somehow. One year to prepare is most certainly set up to fail. Lions losing their players as well is set up to fail. Don’t see anything good from this right now. Except I am so enjoying watching that happy crown at PE. Just a pity about the fight there but that stuff will get sorted. None of us on tv saw it just saw a happy crowd really and full house was very good to see.
This whole debacle will only be truly sorted out after 2015 and a shame for which every team has to sit out next year. Feel for them both, also the reason I said Kings must enjoy it, if they lose there must not be that extra pressure on them from the Aouth African crowd pointing fingers at them. They should be allowed to lose like other teams are that are new to this tourney, just that saru has messed it up making them having to play a relegation game after only one year. Unfair that. So they might not be here next year so just have a damn ball this year and enjoy it. We all behind them for their heroic start. Also want to see Lions do well in the tourney they playing this year. Supporting them there too like we all must. These are South African boys we must get behind them all of us.
14 Mar 2013, 17:30 pm
@Dilligafrican-223: no need, unlike u i don’t get off on useless info…
14 Mar 2013, 17:32 pm
@Puma-224: crown – crowd
14 Mar 2013, 17:34 pm
Okay I am out of here.
Cheers everyone. Catch up tomorrow.
14 Mar 2013, 18:32 pm
Where’s PE stadium
14 Mar 2013, 18:44 pm
Who cares?
14 Mar 2013, 20:01 pm
@Transformation-201: Sorry boet been in the pool.
I don’t have the viewer stats for the season so far, is that what you are after?
14 Mar 2013, 21:45 pm
@stormersboy-230: yes.
14 Mar 2013, 21:45 pm
@Transformation-231: actually crowd attendances.
14 Mar 2013, 21:52 pm
@Transformation-231: from the Roar:
Super rugby crowd attendance figures
Super Rugby often receives a lot of
criticism from its supporters, so much so
you would think it is losing its appeal to
the rugby watching public in South Africa,
Australia and New Zealand.
But when you look at the spectator
numbers this year, it took only 22
matches and four rounds of Super Rugby
to reach the 500,000 spectator mark.
In only four derby matches in South Africa
attendances have already reached 142,086
spectators, an incredible average of
35,521 spectators per match. Non derby
matches account for 90,885 spectators, an
acceptable average of 30,295 per game.
In total South African spectators make up
232,971 spectators in a mere seven
matches.
In Australia, 121,265 spectators have thus
far attended the seven derby matches,
with the Reds being the best supported
stadium with 35,801 spectators in their
only home derby match this season.
The same trend is shown when it comes
to cross conference matches where the
Reds had 30,995 spectators when they
hosted the Hurricanes. In total, 152,260
spectators have attended eight matches in
Australia for an average of 19,032
spectators.
In New Zealand, 72,089 spectators have
watched the four derby matches in New
Zealand, at an average of 18,022
spectators per match.
The three cross conference matches have
yielded 43,305 spectators for an average
of 14,435 per match. In total the numbers
of spectators in New Zealand has reached
115,494 for an average of 16,499 per
match.
The surprise packet thus far has been the
Kings, who currently sit on top of the list
with an average of 38,928 spectators per
match, which is an indication of how
deserved the Eastern Cape is of having a
franchise in Super Rugby.
What would be interesting to follow for
the rest of the season is whether this
number will continue to rise or slowly
whittle away as results begin to count
against them and the hype of Super Rugby
fades.
As always the South African franchises are
well supported with the Stormers, Bulls
and Sharks all averaging in excess of
30,000 spectators per match.
In Australia it is clear that apart from the
Reds being very well supported (average
above 30,000) and the Brumbies
averaging around 18,500 per match, the
rest of the teams are relatively poorly
supported and are close to the 10,000
spectators per match mark.
In New Zealand, the Blues are on top with
an average just over 28,000.
The Force and the Crusaders are yet to
play a home game. I will look at the
spectator numbers again in the middle of
the season to see whether these trends
continue.
15 Mar 2013, 03:40 am
Lwazi Mvovo on the Bench! Keegan Daniel is back..
http://t.co/yYJQ7OnpbP http://t.co/v8xa8rZc8I
15 Mar 2013, 06:17 am
FORCE:
15. Will Tupou, 14. Pat Dellitt, 13. Winston Stanley, 12. Kyle Godwin, 11. Alfi Mafi, 10. Sias Ebersohn, 9. Alby Mathewson; 8. Richard Brown, 7. Chris Alcock, 6. Angus Cottrell, 5. Hugh McMeniman, 4. Toby Lynn, 3. Salesi Ma’afu, 2. Nathan Charles, 1. Pek Cowan (capt).
Reserves: Heath Tessmann, Tetera Faulkner, Phoenix Battye, Ben McCalman, Mick Snowden, Junior Rasolea, Jayden Hayward
Read more: http://www.smh.com.au/rugby-union/union-match-preview/queensland-reds-v-western-force-20130314-2g2cz.html#ixzz2NZuoY3dI
15 Mar 2013, 11:45 am
Captain Keegan returns http://t.co/dKNS876jMi via @sharethis