Captain Keegan returns
14 Mar 2013
Keegan Daniel is back to lead the Sharks against the Brumbies.
Daniel is one of three changes to the starting line-up that overcame the Kings in Port Elizabeth last weekend. With Jean Deysel’s injury, Daniel’s return couldn’t have been better timed.
The other changes are in the backline where Charl McLeod starts ahead of Cobus Reinach while Odwa Ndungane is selected ahead of Lwazi Mvovo. These changes might be seen as rotation, but personally I think John Plumtree wants the most experienced side on the park against a tough Brumbies team.
The tinkering in the backline indicates a greater focus on the Brumbies’ kicking game, with Odwa Ndungane notoriously better than Mvovo under the high ball, and with his stints at fullback, will be a second for Louis Ludik. McLeod’s inclusion over Reinach could be purely on form after the youngster battled against the Kings, being substituted for the last quarter of the match, where McLeod showed some good form.
The bench sees the two dropped backline players take their spots, while Jacques Botes’ cracked wrist must not be too serious as he takes his place as backup.
Sharks: 15 Louis Ludik, 14 JP Pietersen, 13 Paul Jordaan, 12 Francois Steyn, 11 Odwa Ndungane 10 Patrick Lambie, 9 Charl McLeod, 8 Ryan Kankowski, 7 Keegan Daniel (captain), 6 Marcell Coetzee, 5 Franco van der Merwe, 4 Anton Bresler, 3 Jannie du Plessis, 2 Craig Burden, 1 Tendai Mtawarira.Substitutes: 16 Kyle Cooper, 17 Wiehahn Herbst, 18 Pieter-Steph du Toit, 19 Jacques Botes, 20 Cobus Reinach, 21 Meyer Bosman, 22 Lwazi Mvovo.
By Richard Ferguson

236 Comments
Pages: « 1 2 [3] 4 5 » Show All
14 Mar 2013, 14:41 pm
@Heavens Game-94:
Copycat
Trans used that line.
And again ….
“And to get past a legend like Daniel – undoubtedly the most skillful loosie on the planet, if not the most skilled rugger player, bar maybe Sunni Bull “
14 Mar 2013, 14:41 pm
(Gert the vendor who’s made a life in NZ walks through the Christchurch stadium)
GERT:
whoop ***!
get your whoop ***!
selling here!
whoop ***!
get your whoop ***!
(little Kiwi boy siddles up and orders two cans with all the extras)
Gert to little boy:
sorry son but you can’t afford em.
awwwww
14 Mar 2013, 14:42 pm
i’ll try again:
(Gert the vendor who’s made a life in NZ walks through the Christchurch stadium)
GERT:
whoopass!
get your whoopass!
selling here!
whoopass!
get your whoopass!
(little Kiwi boy siddles up and orders two cans with all the extras)
Gert to little boy:
sorry son but you can’t afford em.
awwww
14 Mar 2013, 14:42 pm
“And to get past a legend like Daniel – undoubtedly the most skillful loosie on the planet, if not the most skilled rugger player, bar maybe Sunni Bull”
14 Mar 2013, 14:44 pm
@ryecatcher-100:
you could say so
14 Mar 2013, 14:44 pm
YESSSSSSSSSS PUNCHING MY FISTS IN THE AIR. Welcome back Cappie we missed you.
So pleased to see Keegan back and we still have Botes on the bench, brilliant.
Why is Keegan playing blindside and not openside? Just not sure about that.
14 Mar 2013, 14:45 pm
And one more for luck!
“And to get past a legend like Daniel – undoubtedly the most skillful loosie on the planet, if not the most skilled rugger player, bar maybe Sunni Bull “
14 Mar 2013, 14:48 pm
@Puma-106: Not sure make any difference. Probably playing left right?
14 Mar 2013, 14:50 pm
@Bagel-2: Keegan was brilliant last year. Would never leave him out, he never got Super Rugby Player of The Year for nothing. His style suits Super Rugby. Just pleased to see him back for this game.
We played our best rugby last year with Keegan at 6 Marcel at 7 and Kanko at 8. They were a bit light weight but heck they were ‘RED HOT’ playing together, super super fast. I like that about a loose trio in Super Rugby. Also remember Keegan had the 2nd most off loads to SBW last year and that was overall in Super Rugby. Marcel had 2nd most off loads in the saffa conference. Hope we get that style back once the humidity has gone. We can’t really play like that with the humidity as it opens us up for too many handling errors.
14 Mar 2013, 14:53 pm
@Dawn-107:
14 Mar 2013, 14:54 pm
Keegan Cullen, the “Lionheart”…geez has any player with only 3 Bok caps to his name been so showered with praise?
14 Mar 2013, 14:54 pm
@Dilligafrican-108: Yes just thought about it as well. See Botes is on the bench as well. Just punched my fists in the air when I saw Keegan and Botes name there, we will need Botes later when probably Keegan goes off. Well think it will be Keegs as this is his first game back in awhile.
Cant wait for this game now. Just hope no rain. Somehow would have liked to have seen Deysel’s name there starting with Keegan at openside. Anyhow it is not as bad as we first thought, quite good actually.
Bring it on Brumbies….. Sharks are waiting for ya! heheheheheh
14 Mar 2013, 14:56 pm
@Transformation-111: He is brilliant in Super Rugby Transie, especially when Sharks start to play their off loading game, we will need him fit and ready to start every game….
14 Mar 2013, 14:57 pm
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-95: How’s yours too…?
Wonderful traces of snoek and a blend of perlemoen, mixed with strands of wet Rottie…
aromatic ignorance…
Much like your rugby ignorance too…
14 Mar 2013, 14:58 pm
Read it and weep people!
14 Mar 2013, 14:59 pm
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-97: Ja…
The French Chronicles of Pooper and Slinkychink…
HBO reality hit in the making…
14 Mar 2013, 14:59 pm
On the planet, mense.
On the PLANET.
Nogal
14 Mar 2013, 15:00 pm
“And to get past a legend like Daniel – undoubtedly the most skillful loosie on the planet, if not the most skilled rugger player IN THE UNIVERSE, bar maybe Sunni Bull”
14 Mar 2013, 15:00 pm
@Dawn-101: Yes… But I changed the context completely… talking about cunning stunts.
14 Mar 2013, 15:01 pm
@Transformation-111: Frans Erasmus
14 Mar 2013, 15:03 pm
Okay going to put in my bru picks.
Cheetahs or Tahs … who, who, who to pick????
Bulls or Saders….. who, who, who to pick?????
@Heavens Game-116: What was your reason again going with Tahs? They were awful last week, is it because they have changes this week? Then not sure if they all game plan ready together. Cheetahs will have their confidence up and tails will be up for sure. They could be dangerous like that. So could Bulls, their confidence will be up too. So who to go with?
14 Mar 2013, 15:06 pm
@Dilligafrican-120: oh, and apparently Keegan has 5 caps.
That puts him alongside players such as:
Hempies du Toit
Vleis Visagie
heinrich Rodgers
Garry Pagel
and some chap called Saturday Knight…I kid you not.
14 Mar 2013, 15:07 pm
@Heavens Game-114:
When you insult me like that, I know you still love me. xxxxxx
It’s when the insults end that my wittle heart might bweak.
Give us your Bru pics for the weekend? I’ll just go complete opposite to what you’re taking.
14 Mar 2013, 15:08 pm
@Puma-121: Tahs will take it.
Not sure whether it will the Wara or the cheet tho
14 Mar 2013, 15:09 pm
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-123: you like hime talking dirty?
14 Mar 2013, 15:09 pm
Article By: Tony, Johnson
Tuesday, 12 March
2013 8:05 a.m.
Like Be the first of your friends to like
this.
After two weeks of upbeat talk about the
state of the New Zealand conference, a
harsh reality check, with three defeats in
as many games against South African
opposition.
An aberration, a bad weekend, or are we
not quite as good as we thought?
Certainly the Blues have been taken
down a notch after being completely
outmuscled, outmanoeuvred, and out
passioned by the Bulls.
It was an excellent performance from the
Bulls, especially given they’d just made the
big trip East.
The Blues played into their hands by
making an unnecessary number of changes
and exposing a lack of depth in their squad
by giving four rookies their first starting
role, and having another four on the bench.
The Bulls cashed in on that mercilessly with
their trademark power forward power,
some really smart directional play and their
willingness to move the ball when they
needed to.
It’s not the end of the world for the Blues,
but they’ll need to get back into stride
quickly after the bye, when they play the
again-struggling Waratahs, and if they can
get back to what they did in their first two
games they’ll be fine.
The Cheetahs again showed what a spirited
high-octane side they are by rolling the
Highlanders up and smoking them.
They were in the sort of mood to be able to
turn almost every Highlanders mistake into
points.
Brad Thorn gave it everything, and Ben
Smith and Kade Poki kept trying and
succeeding in their endeavours, but there
were some very ordinary performances
elsewhere. They looked light in the loose
forwards without Nasi Manu, with Jake
Paringatai especially given a reminder of
the differences between Super Rugby and
club footy in Japan.
To be fair the Chiefs, having spent most of
the game in Cape Town testing the patience
of referee Jaco Peyper were the victims of
two poor calls in the dying minutes that
might have seen them snatch the game.
Peyper was quite right with his two sin-
binnings, but he missed a blatant illegal
steal by Gerhard van den Heever in the
dying moments, before rather harshly
penalising the Chiefs moments later.
Still, they created chances to win against
the normally miserly Stormers defence and
they did get two points, so if they can beat
the Kings this weekend they’ll come home
with 6 or 7 which is not the worst.
Ben Afeaki was colossal again, and is right
now New Zealands best performing front
rower.
And the Hurricanes kick started their
season, even if the winning try came on a
silver platter on a bed of lettuce with a
couple of slices of lemon.
Normally the Crusaders are the best team
in the business at closing games out, but
not this time.
They are always slowish starters, but the
pressure to get a win is mounting as they
face a confident Bulls side.
So far New Zealand sides have won just one
out of four games against overseas
opposition, and that needs to change pretty
soon, if they are to keep pace with the
South Africans, and the Brumbies and Reds
who are again making hay in the Australian
conference.
14 Mar 2013, 15:10 pm
KEEEEEGAN CUUUUULLEN
14 Mar 2013, 15:11 pm
@Dilligafrican-124: hehehe. Confusing that. But yeah one of the Tahs will definitely win.
Think Cheets have a very good chance if they play like last week against the W/tahs..lol. Who with Bulls/Saders do you think?
14 Mar 2013, 15:11 pm
@Puma-109: 100% Pooms…
Not for the Sharkies 3 substandard blindsides all forced into different positions like a cookie cutter gone wrong… 3 grunting “grafters” that can do farkall else than pretend to be warriors but end up being flat track bullies…
The Sharks have a division of manpower… different skills for different positions… Adaptable… Highly Skilled… Brave… and Fast…
Yep… The fastest, most highly skilled and energetic trio on the Planet…
I present:
Keegan Daniel… The Lionheart… The Rapier where others have blunt bludgeoning budzas…
Coetzee… The Hyperactive Hypersonic Wrecking Ball…
Kankowski… Sounds like an NHL legend, but has all the attributes to be one in Rugby… This is his time to show it all – Demonic Tackling… Pace, positioning and Aerial superiority…
And on the Bench… And at times on the start… Willem The Bone Collecter… Nuff said.
Ye… The Trio of Trial and Fear… Burning Bush… and Walk on Water
Literal Dynamite…
14 Mar 2013, 15:12 pm
@Dilligafrican-125:
Silly boy
That’s not talking dirty
That’s downright disgusting
S how he talk to his wife
That’s why she moer him
14 Mar 2013, 15:13 pm
“Yep… The fastest, most highly skilled and energetic trio on the Planet…
I present:
Keegan Daniel… The Lionheart… The Rapier where others have blunt bludgeoning budzas…”
KEEEEEGAN
14 Mar 2013, 15:13 pm
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-123: Have done… go back and find…
Sic ‘em Doggy…
14 Mar 2013, 15:14 pm
Plums fckd up advantage Jake the Fake 3 little lightweight poefta loosies against his seasoned hardcore vets Mowen and Smith gonna think Christmas came early with these lighties in knickerbockers standing in their way. Should have played Steff Du Toit at blind side with Daniel at 6 or 8. Kankowski or Coetsee off bench.
14 Mar 2013, 15:14 pm
“Coetzee… The Hyperactive Hypersonic Wrecking Ball…”
Where was he over the past coupla weeks I wonder
14 Mar 2013, 15:15 pm
@Puma-128: I’m sticking my neck out going for the Bulls. If they can dominate upfront Stain will put the territorial pressure on them.
But am scared of 2nd week syndrome.
“Kankowski… Sounds like an NHL legend, but has all the attributes to be one in Rugby… This is his time to show it all – Demonic Tackling… Pace, positioning and Aerial superiority…”
Who also wears the Cloak of Invisibility
@Dilligafrican-125: Not particularly. But I enjoy knowing that he admires me from afar
14 Mar 2013, 15:16 pm
@Dilligafrican-135:
“Wonderful traces of snoek and a blend of perlemoen, mixed with strands of wet Rottie… ”
You talk to your woman like this?
14 Mar 2013, 15:18 pm
Backline it’s advantage Jake the Fake Gregan/Larkham too. Only thing going for Sharkishits here is home town advantage and Jonathan Kaplan with his black white underpants showing through his pantaloons
14 Mar 2013, 15:19 pm
@skopdiekan-133: OK, so we go with a absolute newby against these “seasoned pros” as opposed to playing our own seasoned pros?
ja right.
14 Mar 2013, 15:19 pm
@Transformation-126: Blues deserved getting a klap from the Bulls by not respecting them. Making those kinda of changes just showed arrogance really. So pleased the Bulls gave it to them the way they done. Hard physical saffa rugby with speed to boot, loved watching that game on Sunday morning. Only watched the 2nd half as only got up at 6am then watched the earlier part later. Look that last penalty against Chiefs that Stormers got did look like they were hard done by. BUT Stormers was the best side on the day. They came at them from the start and good on them, the deserved their win totally as did the Cheetahs. Loved seeing 3 saffa sides giving it to the kiwi sides. Hope we can keep it up.
14 Mar 2013, 15:20 pm
@Dawn-138: Nope.
14 Mar 2013, 15:21 pm
@Puma-121: Tahs are better than their last couple of games…
Their fundamentals are pretty good for an Aussie team – set piece, spine and home ground… If Cheetahs can replicate last week it will be close, but I reckon this first game aginst Aussies might throw them… Also Cheika is a good coach despite their couple of losses…
Crusaders – nothing more than home turf desperation, and playing for pride, knowing that beating the Bulls will get some redemption… Backs against the wall stuff and expect quite a few hometown decisions from the Ref too…
Bulls going to have to run away with it and score early, because if it is close in the final 10 then Saders will win, if even by a penalty like the Stormers benefitted from against the Chiefs (Shadow Hurdles entry from the side and going to ground, that somehow ended up with a penalty against the Chiefs)
Howzat?
14 Mar 2013, 15:22 pm
@skopdiekan-133:
Howzit Skop
How do you see this match going?
For you it’s a lose lose situation?
Sharkies win, well you don’t want the mercenaries to win…
Brumbies win, well you don’t want Jake to pull a fast one…..
14 Mar 2013, 15:23 pm
@nortierd-144: He wants a 0-0 draw
14 Mar 2013, 15:23 pm
@skopdiekan-133: There is no Deysel this week or Alberts. So we play the loose trio that done the best for us last season. PSDT has STATED he only wants to play lock this year. Plum is repecting him and doing just that. If push comes to shove then suppose he would have played there this week if Keegs and Botes never got back from injury.
14 Mar 2013, 15:24 pm
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-137: Its got to be from afar darling… Olfactory overload prevents any cunning stunt inspection from close otherwise…
@Puma-141:
You watch Reunion last night?
Tony Johnson full of praise for Saffas
They were quite nice about our brutal playing style
@Dilligafrican-135: didn’t th cheetahs show ’2nd week syndrome’ to be a load of hogwash?
14 Mar 2013, 15:25 pm
@Dilligafrican-145:
Watch football
Actually, 0-0 half time score vs Stormers.
You never know
Pages: « 1 2 [3] 4 5 » Show All