Chiefs cut down courageous Kings
15 Mar 2013
The Chiefs won in Port Elizabeth but the Kings continue to win respect through courage and conviction.
Super Rugby’s 2012 champions were made to fight for the 35-24 bonus point victory and their decision to twice kick for posts in the last three minutes was acknowledgement of the Kings’ effort.
The Chiefs led 18-13 at half-time and stretched the lead to 32-13 on the hour before the Kings produced an inspired 10 minutes to reduce the deficit to just eight points.
Many predicted humiliation for the Kings pre the season and in the last two weekends the Kings have played last season’s finalists and won huge favour with their commitment.
Home ground advantage and the emotion of playing in front of a passionate crowd has aided the Kings, but they really are struggling for quality players and already they have a handful of frontline players to injury.
It didn’t get any better on Friday when stand-in captain Darron Nell got hurt in the warm-up. Lock Steven Sykes took over the captaincy and he also left the field in the 60th minute. The Kings, in three matches, have had three captains. The attrition rate will only get higher for a team who have already won the hearts of the Kiwis and Australian neutrals because of their passion and refusal to be intimidated.
A week ago the Kings kept the 2012 finalists, the Sharks, tryless but they were always going to be stretched against the more creative Chiefs backs, for whom winger Leila Masaga scored a hat-trick.
Chiefs fullback Gareth Anscombe kicked well and Liam Messam celebrated his 100th Super Rugby appearance with victory. But the greatest roar again belonged to teenage winger Sergeal Pietersen who scored through an intercept.
Demetri Catrikilis also impressed as did No 8 Jacques Engelbrecht.
The Kings leave for New Zealand on Sunday and while they will struggle in the month overseas the side has exceeded expectation in the opening month of tournament in beating the Force and losing to the Sharks (by nine points) and the Chiefs (by 11 points).

481 Comments
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 [10] Show All
16 Mar 2013, 01:37 am
@Angostura-325: Yeah, was thinking that after posting, in rugby terms I think they only had the two.
16 Mar 2013, 01:43 am
seems the emergence of the kings and current form of cheetas means no SA team is an easy beat at the moment. just grateful that sham that has been pretending to be a rugby union from joburg is no longer embarrassing our country with their feeble efforts.
sorry RL, but its true.
16 Mar 2013, 06:30 am
The Greek god produced yet another stable display against quality opposition.
He seems unfazed by it all.
16 Mar 2013, 06:33 am
@victoriabok-416:
A friend of mine who played that day, told me afterwards that he knew there was going to be big *****. There was a coloured guy at cenre, forgot the name now. Ha played many matches for WP.Said he saw the fear in the guy’s eyes when he passed the ball to him first time. haha
16 Mar 2013, 06:52 am
@Angostura 349
I think Holomisa played in the Mthata area which included other small towns like Tsolo, Libode and Ngqeleni.
I suspect he played for the Wallabies more or less at the same time as Ndungane senior.
He played under the Transkei Rugby Union which is now known as Border Country Districts.
16 Mar 2013, 06:56 am
This was a nice thread to read this morning.
Nice reminiscing from the guys
@nama1-446:
We who watched every match during that period at Newlands as lighties will never forget that era.
16 Mar 2013, 07:28 am
@Angostura-365:
Aah, Skip. A bear of a man. Was my Principal at Hugenote Boys when they still played decent rugby. Days of Japie Mulder and Chris Roussouw. He broke some touring All Black locks arm when playing for E-TVL or the Junior Boks.
@Tuna-430:
Is jy van Springs? Ja, die games teen springs Tek was altyd vooraf geloop met ‘n klomp jonges wat mekaar hard moer by die Vrydag aan sokkie of Van Riebeeck Hotel
@skopdiekan-412:
****, jy was seker hard gemoer deur die Dutchies. Jy is oeroud, het Pam Brink van so 1982 af gereeld besoek en sommer ‘n paar girls Sir Pierre, Girls high, Hugenote en Hans moore in die begrafplaas langsaan gepiets. Dit was my gunsteling gunsteling naaiplek aangesien ek hulle nie huis toe kon vat nie.
16 Mar 2013, 07:43 am
Again well done my Cheetahs big results and we backed up, Mothergoose looking good in fact the Cheetahs best defensive effort I have seen over the last two weeks. Johan Sadie, please lad just try to make the tackle lol but good otherwise.
Well done to the Kings huge manna boys, the gees is strong with P.E. every one in that crowd deserves a pat on the back, live in eternal hope that the rest of the Bloem okes will get it together when the pirates come home.
Lets go Bulls, c’mon boys, rolled the Blues History, roll the Canes Immortality!!!!!
16 Mar 2013, 07:45 am
@Captain Sam Vimes-458: Eeeps Sam far to much rum yesterday, hollystone the decks………………should read Saders not Canes
16 Mar 2013, 07:46 am
@nondoda-453: He is good – just imagine him behind a dominant pack like that of the Sharks, Bulls or Stormers …
not that I’m trying to suggest anything to them … hands off!
16 Mar 2013, 07:48 am
@Angostura-460: what about a GREEK fullback for the Boks?
16 Mar 2013, 07:49 am
@Angostura-460: has way more to offer than Kirchner and a more rounded player than Taute.
16 Mar 2013, 07:50 am
@nondoda-455: Thx for that, nondoba
16 Mar 2013, 08:03 am
I have really been impressed by the Kings this season.
Even though the team is made up by mercenaries (which completely defeats the purpose of starting the initiative in the 1st place) they have played with unmatched passion and the Eastern Cape faithful have bought into the euphoria.
If the Kings do play that promo relegation game against the Lions they will be favourites to win and then for the 2014 season they will have enough time to recruit players originally from the EC and breeding home grown talent.
Die Leeu’s het hulle kans gekry maar hulle het dit opgefok.
16 Mar 2013, 08:04 am
@Xkreni-WP-457: Yes, Skip & his Red Devils were fearsome – but also good (as in effective)
“some touring All Black locks arm” – that was the all time great, Sir Colin Meads:
” From 1957 until 1971 Meads was effectively an automatic All Black selection. The International Rugby Hall of Fame considers him to have been ‘the most famous forward in world rugby throughout the 1960s’. His strength and high threshold for pain became legendary — best illustrated when in a game against Eastern Transvaal in South Africa, in which he emerged from a particularly vicious ruck with his arm dangling horribly, with an obvious fracture, yet completed the match. When the doctor cut away his shirt and confirmed the break, Meads muttered, “At least we won the bloody game.”
Meads had the reputation of being “an enforcer” and was involved in some controversial incidents. In 1967, he was sent off by Irish referee Kevin D. Kelleher for dangerous play against Scotland at Murrayfield, and became only the second All Black suspended in a test match. The British Daily Telegraph newspaper said of the incident that ‘For one with Meads’ worldwide reputation for robust play, this was rather like sending a burglar to prison for a parking offence.’ In Australia he is notorious for having ended the career of Ken Catchpole by pulling Catchpole’s leg while he was pinned down, causing him serious injury.”
I might be wrong, but I have a recollection of Meads later on in that tour of SA continuing to play with a special arm brace (protection). The man is a legend.
16 Mar 2013, 08:35 am
Praising mediocrity? As I recall most also praised the Lions for playing a great running rugby, and how many times did they almost win just to lose the game in the dieing minutes and seconds of the game.
16 Mar 2013, 09:03 am
Ja ja exkrenie #457
Jy’s mos seker die oorwonderd ewege spyker koning van Pam Brink se begrafnis plaas
In 1966 het ek en my maatjie Jonathan Salt die jongste laat lammetjie van die Salt broers wie al drie vir Boys High rugby gespeel het in die 100 yds teen n jong reus van n sprinter van Hugenote gehardloop op inter schools by Pam Brink stadium. Ek was seker 5′ hoog toe ons o12 was, Jonathan Salt seker omtrent 5’8 en die Hugenote se laaitjie wie al klaar 13 jaar oud was omtrent miskien 6’0 hoog in sy sokkies. Al die Dutchie meisies het gedink hulle held die oorwonderd groot vinnige Goliath ons twee souties in sy stof gaat los. Ons het daai jare kaalvoet op die kort harde Pam Brink gras baan gehardloop. Jonathan het ek meestal net net geklop deur onse binne huis beeenkoms, hy was altyd net so n halwe tree vinnige as ek oor die 100 of die 150 yds wedloop.
Daai dag het ek n blitse wegspring gekry ek was eers uit d
16 Mar 2013, 09:06 am
@Treehugger-466: hahaha again i ask, what did cheeky watson do to you that you sit there every week with a mouth full of bile?
release the hate love, let love reign.
love for rugby.
16 Mar 2013, 09:08 am
Die blokke weg. Op 95 yds het Jonathan my ingehaal dit was n foto finish tussen ek en hom om te bepaal wie eerste geeindig het. Hy’t goud net net gekry ek het silwer geeis en die reus van Hugenote derde geeindig. Onse soutie meisies het hard gesing daai dag en die Hugenote meisies al pad huis toe gehuil.
16 Mar 2013, 10:16 am
@munkiboi. Are u serious. How many points did the chiefs take out of that match? Max? Get you facts right. Well see when the kings go touring how they will do and when injuries starts to take toll. Dont know if they have enough players. Dont get me wrong im all for sa teams doing well. But stop praising teams when they loose and give opposing team 5 points. If the lions played the exact same game would your comment be the same?
16 Mar 2013, 10:43 am
@Transformation-468: lol Sweetie, you seeing things, have hardly been on Keo for quite a while……welcome to the big league, you been dissiing Sharks and who ever takes your fancy for a few years now Kings are not the unfuckingtouchables, they are a team with professional players, I am on record here saying I would back the Lions over the Kings any day, that is my choice.
If I had to choose any team at the end of the season to play the relegation game against the Lions it would be the Kings, as far as I am concerned that would be fair.
I have no problem with the Kings players, I have a problem with the way your outfit was brought into the competition.
I have never been a fence sitter, and I don’t changes my opinions willynilly because its popular or unpopular.
SHARKSSSSSSSSSS
How’s them apples
16 Mar 2013, 11:49 am
Wonder if anything will be said about the fact that the Kings had 3 overseas players on the field at one stage.
Not on this site….
16 Mar 2013, 13:12 pm
@Treehugger-466:
Another description of mediocrity is –
scoring a paucity of tries & blaming humidity,
AND
most years flattering only to deceive, even with an abundance of poached talent at your disposal
if one is going to pronounce on mediocrity, at least be consistent …
16 Mar 2013, 13:19 pm
@Angostura-473:
In the Profession Era……………………………Poached Talent should not be seen as an insult.
Merely reality.
16 Mar 2013, 13:22 pm
@grrrr-472: The foreign player limitation is perplexing – every week I see a new description of it – I wish someone would just publish the rule so we all can see it!
Anyway, be that as it may, 2 is 2, & never 3
I was surprised when I saw 1 foreign player on the field & 2 on bench: On the last variation of the rule I heard/saw, I believed that to already be in breach of the rule. But to actually see 3! foreigners on the field, well, whichever way this is spun, it must be in breach of SARU’s rule
I guess it is up to SARU to enforce its own rules … or not
16 Mar 2013, 13:33 pm
@cane-474: Yes I see it as a reality, an irreversible reality, & I accept it as such
but
notwithstanding, when one franchise’s fan levels a charge of mediocrity against another (fledgling) franchise, one will be fully justified pointing out that the first fan’s franchise sports more players from the “mediocre” franchise (& several others, incidentally) than from its own homegrown human resources.
In fact, failing to stimulate & develop your own resources is another sign of mediocrity – in any era, whether professional or not. Long term it is short sighted.
16 Mar 2013, 16:01 pm
@Angostura-476: lol I don’t mind if you knock the Sharks, I wear my big girl panties on this site, my mediocrity team gives me a lot of pleasure, and isn’t to shabby.
16 Mar 2013, 16:14 pm
@Treehugger-477: But I’m not knocking the Sharks, just stating a few pertinent facts
Sharks normally give me lot of pleasure as well, but last two games less so …
But this S15 (thus far) nothing gives me greater pleasure than the Kings; and from what I see, hear & read many people feel the way I do, & this happy group is growing by the day …
anyway, Go Sharks!
16 Mar 2013, 16:34 pm
@Treehugger-471: really? you post & then praise your own words?
you are ofcourse entitled to preferring the surrendermonkeys over the Kings. Big bad Cheeky’s team must be worse than the Lions
16 Mar 2013, 20:00 pm
@David-355:
Every bit of this garbage is just not understood, confused, twisted and/or distorted and expresses a total lack of the comprehension of the profound principle of non-racialism in S.A. as developed and spelled out and propounded by SACOS.
Thus your words are eminently false and prostitutes the non-racial principles of people who made sacrifices you are totally incapable of ever making because of you unknown “racial background” and your lack of the culture of the S.African oppressed.
The debate before and after is mostly from more ignoramuses who admit to muddying the waters themselves as they confuse racist events with non-racist acts of political, sporting valour..
17 Mar 2013, 15:18 pm
http://www.rugby365.com/article/52678-kings-foreigners-back-in-spotlight
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 [10] Show All