Chiefs cut down courageous Kings
15 Mar 2013
The Chiefs won in Port Elizabeth but the Kings continue to win respect through courage and conviction.
Super Rugby’s 2012 champions were made to fight for the 35-24 bonus point victory and their decision to twice kick for posts in the last three minutes was acknowledgement of the Kings’ effort.
The Chiefs led 18-13 at half-time and stretched the lead to 32-13 on the hour before the Kings produced an inspired 10 minutes to reduce the deficit to just eight points.
Many predicted humiliation for the Kings pre the season and in the last two weekends the Kings have played last season’s finalists and won huge favour with their commitment.
Home ground advantage and the emotion of playing in front of a passionate crowd has aided the Kings, but they really are struggling for quality players and already they have a handful of frontline players to injury.
It didn’t get any better on Friday when stand-in captain Darron Nell got hurt in the warm-up. Lock Steven Sykes took over the captaincy and he also left the field in the 60th minute. The Kings, in three matches, have had three captains. The attrition rate will only get higher for a team who have already won the hearts of the Kiwis and Australian neutrals because of their passion and refusal to be intimidated.
A week ago the Kings kept the 2012 finalists, the Sharks, tryless but they were always going to be stretched against the more creative Chiefs backs, for whom winger Leila Masaga scored a hat-trick.
Chiefs fullback Gareth Anscombe kicked well and Liam Messam celebrated his 100th Super Rugby appearance with victory. But the greatest roar again belonged to teenage winger Sergeal Pietersen who scored through an intercept.
Demetri Catrikilis also impressed as did No 8 Jacques Engelbrecht.
The Kings leave for New Zealand on Sunday and while they will struggle in the month overseas the side has exceeded expectation in the opening month of tournament in beating the Force and losing to the Sharks (by nine points) and the Chiefs (by 11 points).

481 Comments
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 [5] 6 7 8 9 10 » Show All
15 Mar 2013, 20:36 pm
**** bob skinstad is a wanker of a commentator he’s got a fckn crush on the chiefs, praising their illegal play
15 Mar 2013, 20:36 pm
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-195: TMO is a Saffa. I know, he just got confused and thought it’s the ABs playing in black, so the oppo needs helping hand.
15 Mar 2013, 20:37 pm
Nama, I think most of us are hoping on the Kings boet. Just finding a whole lot of dodgy kak websites with flash ads all over the screen…looks like crictime is a good option to watch the odi.
15 Mar 2013, 20:38 pm
@polaris-197:
That’s one way of looking at it, I guess.
Will they be able to do a Stormers on them and beat them?
I hope so.
filthy filthy kiwis
Give another yellow. Another penalty in the red zone ! Flippin cheating Kiwis.
15 Mar 2013, 20:39 pm
@polaris-202: very on point mmmmm
15 Mar 2013, 20:39 pm
Good decision taking the points, cappie.
15 Mar 2013, 20:40 pm
@polaris-202:
they are disgustingly dirty, these kiwis.
15 Mar 2013, 20:41 pm
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-200:
Are you watching the game? The Bulls are not playing.
15 Mar 2013, 20:42 pm
Wtf man…….why did the rest of the backline hang back like that ?
15 Mar 2013, 20:42 pm
Maku jou p……
15 Mar 2013, 20:43 pm
That’s what happens when a prop passes the ball to a hooker in the back line.
Peterson the next Breyton Paulse, only good thing to come from this Kings season
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-209: Ahem … I am not sure the man who is one of the most hard-boiled players in this generation, will appreciate the fact that his name is being wown by the oke who squeals 24/7/365 like a sissy.
15 Mar 2013, 20:44 pm
@SWABok-185:
http://www.vipboxsports.me/rugby/129281/1/super-rugby:-southern-kings-vs-waikato-chiefs-live-stream-online.html
@14261774-214: He has missed a whole boat load of tackles dude. Keep it real.
@suffer_guy-212:
Maybe you can blame the passer also.
Oh wait…you’re not going to do that, are you?
@nama1-210:
ag i thought i’d just catch a bit of the 2nd half, Nama
see if the refs are man enough to deal with these dogs.
15 Mar 2013, 20:45 pm
@nama1-210: I am not sure he ever watches, as the same old wailing comes over and over ad nauseam, no matter who plays who.
Off topic
Tac. Keo says he’s a bulls fan. Do you believe him?
I remember after a win by the bulls (be it SR final ’07 or CC final).
A reporter asked HM how he inspired the players.
HM said he printed keos’ articles and pasted it on the walls for the players to read.
All the negative shiate did work.
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-209: bakkies
how do you like Meeuwie the Gorgeous?
15 Mar 2013, 20:46 pm
no yellow card and the kiwi feigns ‘confusion’ as to why the ref would blow his whistle
15 Mar 2013, 20:46 pm
Pale toe.
Am I imagining it or are the Kings getting stronger or are the Chiefs just protecting their lead. A dangerous tactic with about 10 minutes to go if that is the case.
15 Mar 2013, 20:48 pm
@polaris-215:
i call it like it is, Polaris
nothing more nothing less…
15 Mar 2013, 20:48 pm
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-219:
You should’ve watched the whole game man. Maybe it was just your aura that the Kings need to beat the Kiwis.
15 Mar 2013, 20:49 pm
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-219:
Jissie Bakkies
Filthy, dirty, cheating and dogs
Seriously?
These guys came to play and they throw the ball around the way we all wish our teams will do
I haven’t seen them head butt a player from behind or pray before trying to maim an opponent
15 Mar 2013, 20:50 pm
Come on Kings just do it.
They have played well tonight and strictly speaking Kings should only be on 22 points now. They got a try that should never have been given and the penalty that the Greek was supposed to have given away by tackling the player without the ball at the start was not a penalty as Kings fh was already in the tackle. Kings would have been in the lead here. Very proud of the Kings tonight, they have won the hearts of all of us.
GO KINGS GO!
15 Mar 2013, 20:50 pm
@Puma-228: Sorry should read – Chiefs should only be on 22 points now.
15 Mar 2013, 20:51 pm
@polaris-220:
15 Mar 2013, 20:52 pm
Chiefs going for poles!!!!
15 Mar 2013, 20:52 pm
@Angostura-222:
you’ll have to fill me in please, Angostura
i didn’t watched the first half
what did he do?
15 Mar 2013, 20:53 pm
This ref is playing 2009/10 rules at the break down.
15 Mar 2013, 20:54 pm
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-223: whenever you go the cheating Kiwis, you can now know The Atlas backs you
15 Mar 2013, 20:54 pm
The secret to using vipbox is patience. You gotta let the the pop ups and banners become closeable and wait for the maximise screen option to become available. I use it all the time for all sport and it is great.
CAMAAAAN KIIINGS!
15 Mar 2013, 20:55 pm
@nama1-226:
fark you’re right Nama
i didn’t watch any of the games except the Bulls last weekend and look how that turned out.
i think i jinxed the Kings.
@nortierd-227:
and this is me being diplomatic, Nortie
15 Mar 2013, 20:55 pm
@Atlas-221:
Don’t know but he did hype up the Stormers and trash the Bulls back in 2005, and they did use his articles to motivate them
It worked and we won 74-14
15 Mar 2013, 20:56 pm
**** ref!!!!!!! This ref is hond sh*t my word! Peterson on the ground not being released in front of him….
15 Mar 2013, 20:56 pm
@nama1-226:
i’m saying i should not have watched this game live, even if was just the 2nd half.
15 Mar 2013, 20:57 pm
Thiefs of side die hele dag
15 Mar 2013, 20:57 pm
Well played Kings. Still waiting for the pastings we were told of.
15 Mar 2013, 20:58 pm
@Puma-228:
Yep, and 90% of the bloggers here and on other sites swore that they’d support any team playing against them, and that they’d be an embarrassment.
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-225: Exactly Bakkies, I did not even imply anything else.
@Atlas-234:
absolutely, boet
the longer they are allowed to get away with this the more obvious it becomes.
emporers clothes and all that.
Score much much closer than I thought
Chiefs basically stopped worrying after they got the 4 th try
Mission accomplished and job done
15 Mar 2013, 20:59 pm
Bravely fought Kings.
What happened with the two international player limit?
Four on the field – 2x Argentina, 1x NZ, 1x Kenia
15 Mar 2013, 21:00 pm
@polaris-243:
thanks Polaris, you’re too kind.
15 Mar 2013, 21:00 pm
Fantastic game of rugga’s Kings punched way above their weight, hold your heads up boys, Chiefs girted ten points in this game but were the better side, Kings show this much grit in some other games and they are going to be winners at the racecourse!! the GREEK continues to impress me.
15 Mar 2013, 21:01 pm
undeserved victory to a dirty side
screw em
well done Kings
15 Mar 2013, 21:02 pm
Congratulations Chiefs. Going away with 7 points from SA. A very good return for your effort.
Well played Kings. You have now played the two finalists of 2012 and have not been disgraced at all. In fact, you gave both of them (and their supporters) a big fright.
Pity you did not play some of the weaker teams on your home ground before the inevitable injuries start to hit your camp.
Hope your tour goes well.
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 [5] 6 7 8 9 10 » Show All