Chiefs cut down courageous Kings
15 Mar 2013
The Chiefs won in Port Elizabeth but the Kings continue to win respect through courage and conviction.
Super Rugby’s 2012 champions were made to fight for the 35-24 bonus point victory and their decision to twice kick for posts in the last three minutes was acknowledgement of the Kings’ effort.
The Chiefs led 18-13 at half-time and stretched the lead to 32-13 on the hour before the Kings produced an inspired 10 minutes to reduce the deficit to just eight points.
Many predicted humiliation for the Kings pre the season and in the last two weekends the Kings have played last season’s finalists and won huge favour with their commitment.
Home ground advantage and the emotion of playing in front of a passionate crowd has aided the Kings, but they really are struggling for quality players and already they have a handful of frontline players to injury.
It didn’t get any better on Friday when stand-in captain Darron Nell got hurt in the warm-up. Lock Steven Sykes took over the captaincy and he also left the field in the 60th minute. The Kings, in three matches, have had three captains. The attrition rate will only get higher for a team who have already won the hearts of the Kiwis and Australian neutrals because of their passion and refusal to be intimidated.
A week ago the Kings kept the 2012 finalists, the Sharks, tryless but they were always going to be stretched against the more creative Chiefs backs, for whom winger Leila Masaga scored a hat-trick.
Chiefs fullback Gareth Anscombe kicked well and Liam Messam celebrated his 100th Super Rugby appearance with victory. But the greatest roar again belonged to teenage winger Sergeal Pietersen who scored through an intercept.
Demetri Catrikilis also impressed as did No 8 Jacques Engelbrecht.
The Kings leave for New Zealand on Sunday and while they will struggle in the month overseas the side has exceeded expectation in the opening month of tournament in beating the Force and losing to the Sharks (by nine points) and the Chiefs (by 11 points).

481 Comments
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 [7] 8 9 10 » Show All
15 Mar 2013, 21:47 pm
Sliding down, I think.
15 Mar 2013, 21:47 pm
@Peter Mkata-277:
Didn’t you get the memo? The Force are the worst team in SR, while the Sharks and the Chiefs are not as good as everybody makes them out to be…
15 Mar 2013, 21:48 pm
Good call by Khan.
15 Mar 2013, 21:48 pm
@nama1-299: There we go … Any more?
15 Mar 2013, 21:49 pm
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-294: before I go
Poops said hi
Any word from China?
15 Mar 2013, 21:50 pm
@Angostura-303: Actually there was a Northern Natal union as well
15 Mar 2013, 21:51 pm
@victoriabok-292: Northern Natal.
15 Mar 2013, 21:52 pm
@mxhosa-301:
You saw that comment by Tac?
Even the Stormers beat them while the Kings gave them a run for their money.
How he wishes that the Bulls could play them this year.
I
15 Mar 2013, 21:54 pm
@nama1-297: Nee. Ek is nie gerook nie. Die goue reel is om al jou overs deur te kolf. Maak nie saak hoeveel overs daar is nie.
@Angostura-298: Maybe in tests not in ODI’s.
15 Mar 2013, 21:56 pm
@Angostura-303: Natal Country Districts.
15 Mar 2013, 21:57 pm
Bakkies and Atlas up a tree
K.i.s.s.i.n.g
Pathetic
Well done chiefs and also well done kings.
15 Mar 2013, 21:58 pm
@nama1-307:
We’ll beat the Bulls for sure! Maybe then Tac will be a believer.
15 Mar 2013, 21:59 pm
Except that in his last Test he batted no 11
15 Mar 2013, 22:03 pm
@Tuna-308:
Jy kan nie net daar staan en blok net om al jou beurte deur te kolf nie, of hoe?
Veral as dit die laaste paar beurte is. Moer die bal of gaan uit laat iemand anders kom probeer. Ons het 18 lopies in die laaste 5 beurte aangeteken. Steyn het in hierdie tyd 16 van die 30 balle ontvang.
Verbeel jou: 5 beurte oor en jy ontvang 16 balle sonder om ‘n lopie aan te teken want die goue reel se jy moet al jou beurte gebruik.
Maak nie sin nie.
15 Mar 2013, 22:05 pm
@mxhosa-311:
That, my friend, is just possible. The Blue Bulls used to struggle against EP in P.E.
15 Mar 2013, 22:07 pm
Namaqualand?
15 Mar 2013, 22:07 pm
@Angostura-288:
Yep
Limpopo is Polekwane, formerly Pietersburg?
Still a far cry from Bulls though
Yes, Stelleland I remember
Good old platteland rugby
15 Mar 2013, 22:08 pm
well done Chiefs on the win.
chuffed with my boys resilience against the defending champs, keep improving!
15 Mar 2013, 22:10 pm
@nama1-315:
The only problem here is that they are going to play them the week after they return from their tour. Will be very difficult especially if they pick up some injuries on tour.
15 Mar 2013, 22:11 pm
@Hurricane-311:
Hey Hurri
Your side keeps stuffing my Superbru up
1st 2 weeks had them to win, they lose, next 2 had them to lose, they win
What’s up with them?
@BrumbiesBoy-316: Praat jy met my?
@nama1-315:
That’s what I’m banking on…
And in other news, Shimlas captain Oupa Mahoje has signed with the Cheetahs till 2015.
15 Mar 2013, 22:12 pm
@BrumbiesBoy-316: Nope, Noordwes Kaap
15 Mar 2013, 22:15 pm
@Hurricane-310: even if I don’t care what you think. Your alcahol indused brain let you forget that I enjoyd the hosPitality NZ gave me. I’ll go back there anytime. Can u say the same
15 Mar 2013, 22:15 pm
@BrumbiesBoy-310: Natal Country Districts was the Cricket Sub Union
15 Mar 2013, 22:17 pm
@BrumbiesBoy-316:
Was part of NWC.
Another one for “Air Punch”
Chiefs cut down courageous Kings http://t.co/oOnTvCKSCp via @sharethis
Robin Peterson continues to pleasantly surprise
15 Mar 2013, 22:18 pm
@nortierd-317:
Remember East Free State. They were incorporated into the Northern Free State (Griffons). When I was in Bethlehem, they’re still pissed off with Verster, as they included Grey, which now falls into the Free State union.
15 Mar 2013, 22:21 pm
@mxhosa-302:
Eyi ndoda.
People’s objectivity being clouded by hatred and malice. Must say they have calmed down a little bit. They are in state of shoch and disbelief.
Up the royals!!!!!!
15 Mar 2013, 22:24 pm
Please enlighten me, will the Lions have their loaned out players for the playoffs?
15 Mar 2013, 22:25 pm
@David-328:
Lol
The Purple People Eaters
15 Mar 2013, 22:28 pm
What I can’t understand is the criticism about the Kings lack of backline experience, yet Strauss and Cooke are anything but inexperienced.
15 Mar 2013, 22:28 pm
Really your all impressed by the kings? 0 points from 2 home games? And after losing another 2 or 3 losses without points the heads will drop and the big scores will come… And there’s a tour as well..
15 Mar 2013, 22:32 pm
@Angostura-325:
I think there were about 24 or 27 “provincial” unions. Maybe best to name them all.
A-section CC:
N. TVL
TVL
WP
OVS
EP
Natal*
B-section:
N. OVS
O. TVL
W. TVL
Border
Boland
Namibia
Sport Pienaar:
Stellaland (Vryburg)
NOK (Cradock)
Oos Vrystaat
Laeveld
Verre N.TVL
Vaaldriehoek
Noordwes Kaap (Upington)
Noord Natal
Federasie (Coloureds)
Leopards (Blacks)
Others???
*Natal were relegated at some stage of course.
15 Mar 2013, 22:33 pm
@nortierd-331:
Yeah. Who was their brilliant kicking flyhalf? He had an english name.
15 Mar 2013, 22:34 pm
Go Bulls
Bulls by 4
15 Mar 2013, 22:36 pm
@Ngqawa-330:
Yes
@14261774-333:
“And after losing another 2 or 3 losses without points the heads will drop and the big scores will come…”
Some have been saying this since the start of the tournament. It seems you guys are postponing this “big scores” every week.
15 Mar 2013, 22:37 pm
@Ngqawa-330: yes they will, even if the Stormers or Sharks are in the finals.
15 Mar 2013, 22:37 pm
@ 335 David
Eric Herbert maybe?
15 Mar 2013, 22:38 pm
@David-335:
Eric Herbert?
15 Mar 2013, 22:38 pm
@14261774-333:
4 from 3, which includes 2 games against last years finalists. Not bad at all, considering their handicap in recruiting players.
15 Mar 2013, 22:39 pm
@Rage-339: @nama1-340:
Yes, thanks guys.
15 Mar 2013, 22:44 pm
@Transformation-338:
Are you back at home?
Your team did well against the Champs. 8 points gifted to the Chiefs imo. We’ll never know how things would’ve turned out if that was not the case. Pity you guys didn’t at least got a bonus point out of your last two games. They deserved it.
Now for the litmus test. Playing away from their vociferous fans against the likes of Saders and the Brumbies who were in the play offs last year.
15 Mar 2013, 22:44 pm
@nama1-334: Yip we got all of those except:
Vaaldriehoek
Leopards
Federation (Federasie)
Weren’t the Federation team known as the Proteas?
There was also some team known as the Kwaggas. Can’t remember which team that was. Can’T think which team that was. Can remember the Junior Springboks that toured Argentina on development tours were known as the Gazelles.
15 Mar 2013, 22:46 pm
@Angostura-344:
wasn’t Natal B the Kwaggas?
15 Mar 2013, 22:46 pm
Come on now Tsotsobe.
15 Mar 2013, 22:47 pm
Lopsy – umm. Not the same mistake thrice in a row.
15 Mar 2013, 22:47 pm
@mxhosa-322: @nama1-343: @Transformation-338:
Can any of you remember where Bantu Holomisa played his rugby?
15 Mar 2013, 22:49 pm
@nama1-346:
They’re treating him like an ATM.
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 [7] 8 9 10 » Show All