Chiefs cut down courageous Kings

The Chiefs won in Port Elizabeth but the Kings continue to win respect through courage and conviction.

Super Rugby’s 2012 champions were made to fight for the 35-24 bonus point victory and their decision to twice kick for posts in the last three minutes was acknowledgement of the Kings’ effort.

The Chiefs led 18-13 at half-time and stretched the lead to 32-13 on the hour before the Kings produced an inspired 10 minutes to reduce the deficit to just eight points.

Many predicted humiliation for the Kings pre the season and in the last two weekends the Kings have played last season’s finalists and won huge favour with their commitment.

Home ground advantage and the emotion of playing in front of a passionate crowd has aided the Kings, but they really are struggling for quality players and already they have a handful of frontline players to injury.

It didn’t get any better on Friday when stand-in captain Darron Nell got hurt in the warm-up. Lock Steven Sykes took over the captaincy and he also left the field in the 60th minute. The Kings, in three matches, have had three captains. The attrition rate will only get higher for a team who have already won the hearts of the Kiwis and Australian neutrals because of their passion and refusal to be intimidated.

A week ago the Kings kept the 2012 finalists, the Sharks, tryless but they were always going to be stretched against the more creative Chiefs backs, for whom winger Leila Masaga scored a hat-trick.

Chiefs fullback Gareth Anscombe kicked well and Liam Messam celebrated his 100th Super Rugby appearance with victory. But the greatest roar again belonged to teenage winger Sergeal Pietersen who scored through an intercept.

Demetri Catrikilis also impressed as did No 8 Jacques Engelbrecht.

The Kings leave for New Zealand on Sunday and while they will struggle in the month overseas the side has exceeded expectation in the opening month of tournament in beating the Force and losing to the Sharks (by nine points) and the Chiefs (by 11 points).

481 Comments

Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 [8] 9 10 » Show All

• 351.Angostura: Reply to this comment

@David-345: Well Natal B was the Wildebeest as far as I can remember?

• 352.I am a stormer: Reply to this comment

@Angostura-348:

Fort Hare 3rds.

• 353.nortierd: Reply to this comment

Pakistan klapping us around at will
    As good as our test side is, the one day and 20 over version is in serious trouble
    No consistency there

• 354.nama1: Reply to this comment

@Angostura-344:
    When they played against a touring team. T’was like the “national Coloured” team playing against the touring side. Vokkit!!!

Wasn’t the Kwaggas like a age group representative side? Not sure.

The senior side was the Bokke. The junior Boks was also known as the Gazelles.

• 355.David: Reply to this comment

@Angostura-344:
    The WP Federation were mainly coloured players with a few whites from WP. It was a brave attempt at some form of integration and development at a time when apartheid was still the determining factor in rugby.

• 356.Angostura: Reply to this comment

@I am a stormer-351:
    Hahaha
    I doubt that – wasn’t Fort Hare in the Ciskei?

More likely he winged it for (& captained) the Transkei Defence Force 1st XV

• 357.victoriabok: Reply to this comment

@nama1-334:

I think O Tvl played in the CC or played a CC final once as well?

• 358.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@Ango…i recall my dad telling me that Bantubonke was a fast wing for St Johns College

• 359.David: Reply to this comment

The Quaggas were the SA equivalent of the Barbarians. Were they the same as Kwaggas. My mistake about Natal B, I think they were the Wildebeests.

• 360.Angostura: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-358: Thank you, Trans

• 361.David: Reply to this comment

@victoriabok-357:
    The Red Devils, I think that’s what O Transvaal were nicknamed, were a CC union.

• 362.nama1: Reply to this comment

@I am a stormer-349:

@David-354:
    Weren’t they just called The Federation? I’m not so sure about the WP part.

I know they changed it to WP Liga later when the Coloured clubs in the northern provinces and Natal complained that that team from the Cape was not wholly representative of all the Coloured players playing rugby under the banner of the Federation.

All these teams were suppose then to form a national Coloured side that played against touring sides like the ’80 Lions. They were then known as the Proteas. Not many, if any, Coloureds from the northern provinces made that side anyhow.

• 363.victoriabok: Reply to this comment

@David-361:

Red Devils played at the Pam Brink Stadium

• 364.victoriabok: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-358:

Which position did you play?

• 365.Angostura: Reply to this comment

@victoriabok-357: Yes it was a Currie Cup semi final I think, played at the Pam Brink stadium in the days of Skip Henderson, Ertjies Durrheim, Jan Els, Boesman Wilkenson, etc.

• 366.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

@Atlas-324:
    Sorry i dont drink and live in christchurch…..seems you have proven once a pea brain always a pea brain

• 367.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@nama: sorry broer…i’m @ the Kings pub with rosso & mates…just dissecting the game & enjoying the evening…

• 368.Peter Mkata: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-358:

Yes, he was at St Johns in eMthatha and the later the Transkei defence force. Remember most scholars from PE moved to the former Transkei in the 50s, 60s and 70s to attend boarding schools as they were the best run school – mostly missionary schools. That is how rugby moved to the greater Eastern Cape ie players from PE and surrounding areas. You will recall that most of these missionary schools were not in urban areas.

• 369.victoriabok: Reply to this comment

@Angostura-365:

Wikipedia says it was the 1972 final against Transvaal at Pam Brink Stadium Springs

Transvaal won 25 – 19

• 370.Peter Mkata: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-367:

Ulilungu le Kings army?

• 371.I am a stormer: Reply to this comment

@Hurricane-366:

Nice win for your boys. Cheers. I’ve never done well punting the Landers.

• 372.nama1: Reply to this comment

@victoriabok-357:
    Yes, O. TVL. N.OVS and Namibia all played A-section at one stage or another as well, after dumping Natal to the B-section in promo/relegation matches. That list was probably true for about 1982.

Don’t think O.TVL played in a CC final. Maybe in a semi when the top team in the B-section played in a semi against the 2nd place team in the A-section. The winner of the A-section had a free pass to the final.

That was how Natal played their 1st ever CC final in 1984(I think) when they surprised in the semi after winning the B-section.

Calla Scholtz kicked us to victory with his white boots. I think the final score was 12-3 or something like that. It was a kak match.

• 373.I am a stormer: Reply to this comment

@victoriabok-369:

A final nogal!

• 374.Angostura: Reply to this comment

Red Devils was just a nickname for Eastern Transvaal
    same as Blue Bulls & Banana Boys were provincial nicknames before the advent of the professional era

• 375.victoriabok: Reply to this comment

@nama1-372:

> That was how Natal played their 1st ever CC final in 1984(I think) when they surprised in the semi after winning the B-section.

They won a relegation type game against Free State who came second in the CC and went through to the final

Their captain was Craig Jamieson

• 376.nama1: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-367:
    You do that boet… you have reason to…

The naysayers have been proven wrong…yet again. :lol:

• 377.the curse: Reply to this comment

Bakkies fok you you absolute w@nker..

filthy, dogs etc? shall I call you a fcken fat, brandy and coke drinking, stand by me khaki wearing dut.chboy? or just a neanderthal knuckle dragging saffa? Only ne person took you to task on your comments, well done Nortie, at least there is one decent Saffa on this site.. Also, you dont watch super rugby, so how the fck can you comment on it? by the scorelines again? :lol: what a total mamparra..

for all those complaining about the TMO, Meeswesun stepped over the boundaries of his legislation when the ABs played SA in 11, but you all praised him then… also, Brian Habana scored a forward pass try with the 22 line being the delineator showing how forward the pass was, but you all celebrated that one… ah thats right, Saffas never fcken cheat..

Brussouw yesterday was playing the ball on the ground,, perhaps you lot should open the OTHER eye when watching games..

• 378.Angostura: Reply to this comment

@victoriabok-369: Thank you, VB
    My mistake – it just seems incredulous after all these years that we had a final at Pam Brink

But then we did have that Currie Cup final in Ammosal’s heyday (was it 1970 or 71?) in Kimberley … what a team Griquas had then!

• 379.I am a stormer: Reply to this comment

@Angostura-374:

And the name Banana Boys somehow stuck. The Sharks just seems a misnomer. What do you think?

• 380.victoriabok: Reply to this comment

@I am a stormer-373:

Another of the smaller teams in a final was Boland in 1952 against Transvaal

Transvaal won 11 – 9

• 381.David: Reply to this comment

@Angostura-374:
    If I remember correctly, Eastern and Western Transvaal were the designated hitmen to injure the touring teams. EP was the other, although they weren’t designated. They did it to every team. :lol:

• 382.victoriabok: Reply to this comment

@Angostura-378:

Moenie dit invryf nie

• 383.nama1: Reply to this comment

@victoriabok-375:
    Not a “relegation type game,” VB.

They won the play off (semi final) to reach the final.

Can you imagine a competition where the 7th best team play a semi against the 2nd best team for a place in the final? That was in effect what happened.

Not so sure about Craig Jamieson. Try Wynand Claasen or something. Jamieson was captain in 1990.

• 384.Angostura: Reply to this comment

nope – Sharks is now a powerful brand that is well known & supported all over – it even transcends national borders

Old timers like me still think fondly of the nick banana boys, but even us have to admire the power of Sharks brand, & the relative success associated with it.

SHARKS it is …

• 385.Slumtown: Reply to this comment

Well after losing to the Lions and Griquas in pre season friendlies and generally not being amazing I have to admit I thought these guys were just being pushed in with no ability to back up their inclusion. They lost to the team they replaced in Super rugby and all in all SARU made a hash of their inclusion at the expense of an entire franchise. So yes I was vehemently opposed to their inclusion.

However they have fought tooth and nail and played some very good rugby since starting Super 15 and have some enterprising young players. I have to give credit where its due – theyre not getting hammered all the time – theyre competing very well and I have to congratulate them for it.

Good to keep seeing new talent exposed not only at the Kings but at all franchises:

Kitshoff, Etzebeth, Kolisi, Carr, Groom, Jantjes, De Allende, Sp Marais, Seargal Petersen, Catrakilis, Jacques Engelbrecht, Adongo, Pieter Steph du Toit, Lambie, Paul Jordaan, Trevor Nyakane, Lappies Labuschagne, Piet van Zyl, Goosen, Rob Ebersohn (though he´s been around for a while), Raymond Rhule, Arno Botha, Jan Serfontein, Sampie Mastriet. future looking quite rosy for the Boks in my opinion with talent possibly coming from this group in future.

• 386.I am a stormer: Reply to this comment

@Angostura-378:

The AB’s toured SA that year. Griquas beat N Transvaal.

• 387.victoriabok: Reply to this comment

@nama1-383:

Natal was the winner of the B division

Free State was second in the CC A division

It might have been a playoff but it sounded more like a relegation type game when a lower division played against one higher

• 388.Peter Mkata: Reply to this comment

@nama1-354:

Nama I remember when I was a young star listening to Radio Xhosa in late 70s, when TV was not so readily available or only battery operated ones were available, listening to the big derbies those days. Leapards vs Proteas under Craven union in East London or PE’S Wolfson stadium or Cape Town. Morgan Cushe, Steve Matomela, Sonto brothers etc vs Lategan
    , Shields, Ronnie Louw etc. It was a marvel to listen to Peter Bacela of the cricket fame being the announcer and before him Given Ntlebi.

Then Saru took over in PE and we saw the mighty Kwaru of the seventies with Peter Mkata, Toto Tsotsobe and the Watson brothers in action at Dan Qeqe or Adcock stadiums. I f one can only turn back the clock.

• 389.I am a stormer: Reply to this comment

@Angostura-384:

I know.

Just that some of your brethren are softcocks. Still like to see HG slip on a banana piel! :D

• 390.nama1: Reply to this comment

Pakistan win.

Congrats.

SA needed to win all 5 matches to become no. 1 again. Guess that is out of the question now.

If they can just get some consistency in their performances before we play in the Championship Trophy, it will also help.

• 391.Angostura: Reply to this comment

@David-381: Oh, yes,
    ” hulle het so op die onkantlyn gelê”

nowadays, everybody defends like that …

• 392.Angostura: Reply to this comment

@I am a stormer-389: bwahahaaaa

ag, just give that man (HG) a bell end

• 393.David: Reply to this comment

@victoriabok-387:
    In those days the CC was split into two pools (divisions), not a genuine 1st and 2nd division as the terms A and B suggest.

• 394.skopdiekan: Reply to this comment

Pam Brink stadium was my tuis stadium waar ek rugby gekyk het toe ek n laaitjie was…

het Bokke gesien teen Frankryk 1965 op Pam Brink stadium.. die hele stadium vol boere uit Pretoria en Oos en Wes Rand en die res van die land het kom kyk hoe die sterk Bok span met Dawie De Villiers, Piet Visagie, Mannetjies Roux ens die no name Fransmanne gaat klop…

Die plek het baie stil geraak toe die blikskottle klip harde Franse boerseuns van Toulouse en suide Frans die ginstelinge Boke met 5-3 geklop het… Almal so stil stil uit hul sitplekke en die karpark terrein so moedeloos hul gatte uitgesleep.

• 395.I am a stormer: Reply to this comment

@nama1-390:

Suddenly it becomes a best of 3 series. That dynamic must get instilled in their brains. Where there is no mistake for error. It is good that pressure is exterted on this ODI team. They must learn.

• 396.nama1: Reply to this comment

@victoriabok-387:
    The B-division unions “forced” the SARB to adopt competition rules that would also give them a chance to win the CC. It was then decided that the winner of the A-division will go straight to the final while the 2nd place team will play the winner of the B-division in a play off or semi, to determine the other finalist.

I think you’ll find that after playing in the final that year, Natal then had to play against the bottom team of the A-division in a bid to gain promotion to the A-division. They lost against E. TVL, I believe. They never could win these promo/relegation matches. The SARB had to change the rules to let them back into the top flight some years later.

• 397.victoriabok: Reply to this comment

@David-381:

I remember after re-admission we still had touring teams play our provincial teams

They hated playing against the Purple People Eaters in Welkom

Those miners liked hurting them on the concrete hard field covered only with long dead, white frost killed grass

• 398.Stuart_Kings: Reply to this comment

RT @shane_keohane: Chiefs cut down courageous Kings http://t.co/oOnTvCKSCp via @sharethis

• 399.skopdiekan: Reply to this comment

Riaan Smit from Cheetahs is from Springs.. Red Devil country.

• 400.David: Reply to this comment

@Peter Mkata-388:
    This is something most bloggers are ignorant of, when they claim that EP has never won a CC and thus have no history deserving of a franchise ahead of the Lions. They believe that only the white CC unions have a history. It’s about time they woke up to the complete history of rugby in SA if they want to call themselves SA rugby lovers.

Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 [8] 9 10 » Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.