Brilliant Brumbies slaughter Sharks
16 Mar 2013
The Brumbies delivered a master class to embarrass the Sharks 29-10 in Durban.
The Brumbies scored four tries within 30 minutes with a stunningly aggressive and intelligent display.
Rarely has an Australian team so physically pummeled a South African side, but the Brumbies crushed the Sharks in the collisions. Brumbies No 8 Fotu Auelua terrorized the Sharks defence in the opening quarter and the sustained aggression and amazing ball control left the hosts and their supporters shell shocked.
I had the Sharks to beat the Brumbies but I also expected the Sharks to actually turn up at the scheduled kick-off and not 52 minutes into the game.
The Brumbies stunned the Sharks with the manner in which they used the ball, but no one outside of the Brumbies would have expected the physical battering delivered in every contact situation, be it a collision or in the scrums.
The Brumbies were too good by a long way and this ranks as a humiliation.
The Brumbies, with loose-forwards Auelua, captain Ben Mowan and veteran George Smith outstanding, also won for a tournament record seventh successive time away from home.
Springbok 2007 World Cup-winning coach Jake White cannot be applauded enough for what he has done with a Brumbies franchise that was a joke in 2011. Last year he took no name brands and youngsters and turned them into one of the more exciting teams in the competition. This season he has added a bit of experience and mongrel to the set piece, attack and defence and turned them into championship contenders.
The ball control in difficult conditions was near perfect in the first 30 minutes but it was the absolute physical domination of the Brumbies that few among among the home crowd would ever have thought a possibility.
The Brumbies were brutal; the Sharks were passive in defence and in the opening 30 minutes the Sharks missed as many tackles as the Brumbies were forced to make.
The Sharks made 73 tackles to 25 in the first 30 minutes as the Brumbies set the platform for a first win in Durban in six years. It was a record-breaking result and the best team display in the tournament so far.
The attack was awe-inspiring in the first half but nothing in defence was compromised and after four matches the Brumbies have conceded just 35 points.
The Sharks showed more intent in the second half and replacement hooker Kyle Cooper and lock Pieter-Stef du Toit showed enthusiasm and commitment that was absent in the first 40 minutes. Loose-forwards Ryan Kankowski and Marcel Coetzee also were more of a menace in the second half but it proved meaningless after the impotency of the first half.
The Brumbies, from Jesse Mogg at fullback to the front row, were brilliant. You find the appropriate adjective to describe the Sharks and make sure you use an equally appropriate expletive.

1,035 Comments
Pages: « 1 … 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 [21] Show All
17 Mar 2013, 23:00 pm
Jake without Jones was a nobody waiting to stagger off his nobody’s stage. Just like Meyer needed Louden and Muir needed Campese to get to top dog status in 2007 so did White need Jones otherwise with Smal and Coetsee providing the strategic backups White was absolute toast and boy did he only but know it only too well. White provide the traditional Christie Woodward hardcore bigger ball carry defence oriented game just like Meyer buys into that same philosophy also and the Aussie skills and handling and far more astute line running and continuity gain line breaking strategy is what become the embellishment around that basis just as David has said.
But the bust a gut traditional single dimension saffa defence oriented game is not sufficient to be successful in modern rugby under tweaked modern laws. Hence the necessity for the astute Aussie input plus the advantage of the slick assimilation of handling and running links and skills.
This is what Jones gave White in 2007 and what Larkham Gregan Fischer etc are giving him now. Without Jones or the current backroom staff White would be as ineffective as he was when it was him Smal and Coetsee going nowhere in any hurry in 2006 & 07 and losing by 49-0 and the rest of it.
17 Mar 2013, 23:02 pm
@Hurricane-996: save it bro, not worth the effort with bakkies..
He comes from a country where, unfortunately, corruption is the rule not the exception, so he sees dead people where there are none..
the Bok have won approx. 3 games of the last 18 versus the Austrtalasians, thats some fine conspircay indeed..
take the last game at Soccer City, the Bokke werent penalised for almost 60 minutes (shades of France 07), yet Bakkies will tell you that that was fair officiating, yet even with that leg up, they got outscored 2 points to 1, and conceded 20 unanswered points in the second half… its lautghable in the extreme.
Remember the head high penalty the Blues conceded against the Bulls? soon as it happened bakkies was back to his filthy, cheating scum mantra, yet replays clearly showed the tackle was around the chest and ball… not one retraction from he who sees ghosts everywhere, but not surprising in the least.
The cheetahs/tahs game, Brussouw was clearly playing the ball on the ground off his feet, something McCaw is ostracised here for, but there was nary a mention from anyone regarding this..
take it from where it comes, Bakkies has become so emasculated by the “greater physicality” of SA sides he cant understand why they cant beat teams because of this supposed physical superiority… yet it is skills that set NZ/Oz apart from SA, our players look to keep the ball alive, draw in defenders and let the ball do the work (rugby basics 101), not try to stamp our authority by means of brute strength..
even his own countrymen laugh at him now, yet he is too blind to see this..
what amazes me is he can formulate these opinions yet he doesnt watch super rugby anymore?????
seriously, just ignore the fool..
17 Mar 2013, 23:05 pm
Brumbiesboy
congrats on your teams performance, they were wonderful to watch… that first half was sublime..
17 Mar 2013, 23:05 pm
@skopdiekan-1001:
Jeez but you are a boring old stuck record!
17 Mar 2013, 23:13 pm
hello Poppa, my old interweb ‘acquaintance’…
nice of you to join us.
you have been scarce, busy?
i must admit i too am busy at times and cannot do our relationship justice.
i will engage for a while but really am running late and should turn in soon, early morning and all that.
have you heard from China yet?
hope he’s alright.
17 Mar 2013, 23:13 pm
This is not engineering banana boy this is rugby and there are allegiance like pride and patriotism where the country and district you hail from means something in a group joint effort. It is not about individual self seeking gain for monetary or other self sought ends it’s about the allegiance to a patriotic foundation otherwise what anybody play team sport for. Its about representing a team which comes with passion and committed patriotism. So Jake is seeking to rip off south African talents for his own little foreign legionaires empire trying to build up there. Fck him let him build from their sources and their own development he’s an unscrupulous little self seeking opportunist always was and always will be and any saffa signs up with that setup they got zero traditional integrity left anywhere running through their veins just like White don’t.
17 Mar 2013, 23:17 pm
Why don’t you continue with your tethering tete tete with poppa whatsoever dude then you don’t have to read what I have to say about your fake messiah Jake.
17 Mar 2013, 23:30 pm
ok
that’s me for the night
cheers all
17 Mar 2013, 23:32 pm
@skopdiekan-1007:
You clogg up the space with the same ol bulls hitte day after day………..f uk you must bore your family to death if you the same at home
How about something new? Try it, it may be an uplifting experience
17 Mar 2013, 23:41 pm
@the curse-1003: Thanks mate, yeah that first half was really good to watch and gave me some faith back in what a spectacle the game can be!
Was truly magnificent and I had to keep pinching myself! Don’t want to get to carried away but I actually wonder if even any Test sides could’ve countered it on the day?
17 Mar 2013, 23:45 pm
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-1008: Cheers, sleep well, if you can’t try counting wild horseys!
17 Mar 2013, 23:46 pm
@BrumbiesBoy-1010:
Do that again on Sat v the Stormers and you may have a point. That guppies side is seriously overrated and have been winning by the seat of their pants over the last few weeks. A big hammering was due and yes it was good to see
Boooom
17 Mar 2013, 23:54 pm
@whatthe-1012: That would be rather nice only the village idiot will still ramble on with his verbal diarhhea about Jake’s support staff carrying him to glory etc etc etc.
18 Mar 2013, 00:00 am
OK, that’s me out, work awaits, cheers all.
18 Mar 2013, 01:02 am
Jake the Magician!
18 Mar 2013, 06:24 am
@whatthe-1012: Have to agree, serious lack of commitment from shark players and where was the structure ?
I guess we had another lesson on no8 play this weekend, both Spies and Kanko way off the pace.
Hope to see DV and Stormers beat these guys but frankly with JW there he knows how to beat SA teams … And yes he can coach !!
18 Mar 2013, 06:32 am
Am curious, why is Jake White a 2 faced snake ?
18 Mar 2013, 06:55 am
For a sombre someone who can recognize a black mamba from a boom slang from a cape cobra from a rinkals from a puff adder from a mole snake if they can’t recognize a 2 face snake from a true hero then they don’t know their snakes from a sanitary solvency solution.
18 Mar 2013, 07:15 am
No Skop, I want to know what he has done that he is called a 2 face snake, you keep saying so and I want to know why.
Just answer the question, no fancy footwork, a simple question requiring a simple answer, I have found when people are questioned/confronted about issues and they get aggressive and defensive, they are involved somehow (this concerns animals related questioning) also when they make statements but don’t have any facts and it is just personal.
One day some one is going to nail you for libel or crimen injuria. You have to be care what you say in a very pc world. What you put down in writing will always stand as proof on the internet.
If I can get nailed for calling some one a feckwit (deservedly) and get charged crimen injuria (was chucked out of court and a while ago) they will have a field day with you.
So again, why do you keep saying “Jake is a 2 faced snake”
18 Mar 2013, 07:22 am
A 2 face snake is what it is open your eyes and recognize it. Spelt it out plenty enough here ad nausea I know a 2 face when I see one if you can’t recognize it then look closer or harder.
18 Mar 2013, 07:22 am
Oh the feckwit thing was the person deservedly being called one not me being charged.
18 Mar 2013, 07:26 am
Ok, now I get it. I thought there was a specific incident known to some but not me.
It is your perception that you keep pounding on as if it were fact.
18 Mar 2013, 07:28 am
@Treehugger-1017:
Who cares really…
Twice IRB coach of the year
3N holder
RWC holder
Now record holder for the most consecutive away wins in the history of Super Rugby.
Next stop Aus conference title and play-offs!
The man is an over-achiever in the game of rugby…
18 Mar 2013, 07:30 am
There plenty enough ‘incidents’ shrouded over with clever manipulation of vindictive vindication. Rather you just take a good close look then come to your own conclusion
18 Mar 2013, 07:59 am
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-852: Hi PED LADY.Worth a double post.Amazing to see the
encouragement from Stormers supporters after our loss.Good luck to your
team on Saturday.
18 Mar 2013, 08:02 am
@Treehugger-1019: Hope you get a rational answer.Regards.
18 Mar 2013, 08:07 am
‘fancy footwork’
18 Mar 2013, 08:11 am
@skopdiekan-975: You are such a farking dunce. JW took a Rudolph Strauli washed out bok team, who was the laughing stock of world rugby and turned them into champions in 7 games! Can you even comprehend the idiotic rambling you are spouting?
Why is he fake? He was the best thing to happen to SA rugby since Kitch and Mallet, that is a fact! The whole world recognises him as a top coach yet we have some idiot Saffas like you who think he is ****? Wake up and smell your our own **** you are spewing dripping down your chin!
18 Mar 2013, 08:58 am
I told you you can have Jake with cherries on top of your fantasy pandering cake he’s happy happening his homogeneous harpsichord brum brum bucking hIs broncos bragging how bravo his brevity is. There’s a reason he’s not welcome at SARU HQ or among some the players and people he’s crossed sword with in search of his manipulative opportunities for self seeking agendas and it got little to do with his sketching attributes of rugby attestation it got more to do with the level of personal persuasion of sketchy character credentials which in some people’s assessment counts for far more in credible credentials than some fake lucky packet achievements won on the back of other far more creditable coaching coordinates backstage.
18 Mar 2013, 10:56 am
skopdiekan – White won a tri-nations in 2004 without Eddie Jones. White also built major consistency over the 4 fours, yes Jones added the panache to that sprinbok team but he was given a settled team which White had built up over 4 years.
Your comments are typical saffar comment, no respect for a great coach etc etc. Maybe you shuold watch another sport coz you know **** about coaching!!!
18 Mar 2013, 10:58 am
skopdiekan – You probably hate Kitch Christie and Mallet as well. Whats wrong didums!!! Don’t you likesy whiksey bok coaches that win cups wupsys!! Or are you a SARU agent!!!
18 Mar 2013, 11:01 am
goodstuff – no use talking to this plonker, guys like him were asking for Mallets head when he hit a dry spot and was just comeing uot of out and then we were blessed with Viljoen and ultimately Strauli(worst bok coach in history), great call.
So what if White brought in other people, that is a sign of a man with a plan, aka Woodward!!!
White almost won back to back 3N in 2005 and that was all by himself, no Eddie Jones in sight!!
18 Mar 2013, 12:49 pm
Skopdiekan – Jones would be coaching an international side ditto Larkam and Gregan would be head coach at the Brumbies if they were the kingpins in deciding on strategy, recruitment and everything else that goes with coaching a successful side. I’m no Jake fan & I predicted he would see his *** at the Brumbies. I was wrong. He is obviously a brilliant coach and motivator of men.
18 Mar 2013, 14:53 pm
Hey skop, how did White win the 2004 Tri Nations and almost repeat it the next year, loosing in the last 10 minutes to the NZ’s with a Bok team that was 5th in rankings when he took over.. Eddie Jones comes in 2 months before the world cup and wins it, please dont talk rubbish. White showing his people skills and lack of ego, bringing in experience. How about last year, Brumbies were a joke 2011 and White lifted them to almost play offs with young in experienced players. Now the astute coach has added experience plus coaching depth (again no ego in him) and you dismiss his skills at selection plus player mangement. Take your racism to the political blogs, this is a pure RUGBY blog. Brent
19 Mar 2013, 09:56 am
@bmck-1034: Well said Brent.
I went off at him yesterday and others in here had a go at me crying Anti-Semitism, but for years now we have had to just keep quiet while this Juvenile delinquint says bad things about Christians, racial insults on a regular basis etc etc etc.
THe fool should be banned from anything public, all forums,WHY? BECAUSE HE IS MENTAL, Pure and simple.
Pages: « 1 … 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 [21] Show All