Just why SARU sucks
18 Mar 2013
No one from the SARU executive attended the Kings Super Rugby debut. There was nothing official by way of congratulations. But the custodian of the game was quick to speak out when the Kings fielded three instead of two foreigners in the match 22 against the Chiefs.
The absolute desire to see the Kings fail from within the national executive is disgusting.
The haters of the Kings have a right of choice, opinion and expression of speech, however limited and demeaning it may be in articulation and expression, but the national governing body could surely show a bit more class instead of the obvious crassness we’ve seen since they were forced to include the Kings in Super Rugby when they cocked up a promise to the Lions that the Kings would be there because of a tournament expansion.
This franchise is the good news story in a unified South African rugby. It is the rainbow story, by choice and not construction. More than 100 000 of all cultures have attended the Kings three home games. Australians and New Zealanders can’t stop talking about the romance of the Kings’ debut month.
Every South African rugby writer who has made the trip to Port Elizabeth has written of the energy of the crowd, of the diverse cultural representation of the crowd, of the atmosphere at the ground and of the incredible spirit of those who play in the Kings’ jersey.
SARU’s national executive failed to see the significance of the Kings debut. All they see is the irritation of it. Typical of cowards there has been nothing but silence as the Kings have won the hearts of so many through the courage of their performance.
SARU hasn’t thanked them for adding a dimension to the game in South Africa but those who double as the custodians have demanded a report as to why the Kings fielded three foreigners in their match 22 against the Chiefs, when the SARU regulation limits all South African franchises to just two players.
The Kings, in their debut match, started with 15 South Africans and injury to captain Darron Nell in the warm-up of the Chiefs match forced a last minute call-up to a third foreigner.
SARU wants a report about it and were very quick to make public that they wanted this report.
They weren’t as quick to wish the Kings well prior to their first game and they weren’t rushing to congratulate the Kings on becoming the first tournament newcomer to ever win on debut.
The Kings represent the future of the game in this country. SARU is the relic that represents everything despicable about the past.

854 Comments
Pages: « 1 … 8 9 10 11 12 [13] 14 15 16 17 18 » Show All
18 Mar 2013, 17:02 pm
@shooter-600:
Not as long as he’s rooting everything in sight
18 Mar 2013, 17:14 pm
@gunther-568: @katman-576:
Quality!
18 Mar 2013, 18:10 pm
@Angostura-599: Innocent banter.Why take offence?
18 Mar 2013, 18:25 pm
@Angostura-599: I do not do insults but
very tempted in the light of your post
18 Mar 2013, 18:40 pm
@ryecatcher-604: When I started off in here I too was a polite poster lol, till I met Skop and his brigade.
Ranger was right this afternoon, I am just gonna take his advice and ignore these fuggers, no use dropping to their levels.
18 Mar 2013, 18:45 pm
Must be the first time I could not get past 20 comments on a thread on this site.
18 Mar 2013, 19:00 pm
@PissAnt-606:
You such a pompous doos.
Then don’t post and f-off.
If you added any meaningful value I would’ve given you the benefit of the doubt.
18 Mar 2013, 19:07 pm
@ryecatcher-604:
The word, “insult” wasn’t directed at you
but rather
at those flinging about insults today such as “the jew” with obvious contumelious intent.
I had earlier posted that I felt “The Greek”, referring to Demetri, was in the same category.
Referring to that post you asked me whether “El Greco” would be OK, & I suspected it was just banter from you, & I gave my honest opinion on that.
Your post did not offend me, since I’m not Greek, nor do I really know how Greeks would feel being referred to in this fashion.
But I note that you now appear to be offended & tempted to insult – there is nothing I can do about that other than explain myself as I had done above & in my previous post to you.
18 Mar 2013, 19:13 pm
@Angostura-608: All ok thanks.
18 Mar 2013, 19:36 pm
Sjoe! What a thread
Some Sharkies very touchy today – with gud ol Tyrone leading the way – I wonder why?
18 Mar 2013, 19:44 pm
@blue and white stripes-607:
And now?
Explain how you arrived at that conclusion?
18 Mar 2013, 19:46 pm
@blue and white stripes-607: That’s a bit rough boet, Morne is a professional journo who has a lot to contribute to the site and always does.
18 Mar 2013, 19:47 pm
@I am a stormer-611: Good question.
18 Mar 2013, 19:47 pm
Oooo die mense is deurmekaar vandag
18 Mar 2013, 19:50 pm
Even rye wants to fight with angostura
Totally misplaced
18 Mar 2013, 19:57 pm
@ 614 Dawn
Wragtag.
Amal spring in mekaa se kele af…
18 Mar 2013, 19:57 pm
@Dawn-615:
Saw that.
Must be full moon soon. You know how the moon affects certain people. They just loop-the-loop.
18 Mar 2013, 20:04 pm
@I am a stormer-617:
And by that comment,and before anyone takes offence, I refer to this whole thread.
Just put it down to another day at the keo pub.
18 Mar 2013, 20:04 pm
@I am a stormer-611: @stormersboy-612:
I know PA has been a valued contributor to this site over the years and my last sentence in post #607 was probably unjustified and posted in anger.
But I do feel that he has an over inflated opinion of not only his points of view but also of himself.
Just saying.
18 Mar 2013, 20:05 pm
@Dawn-614: What are you trying to insinuate by that!!!! Now youre also flinging insults around jirre ekse
18 Mar 2013, 20:11 pm
@blue and white stripes-619:
The thing is, it was his first comment here in a long while. And PA is not the one to get involved in slanging matches.
There would’ve been a follow-up rugby related comment from him. Of that I am sure. some guys make an introductory comment with more to follow.
I for one value his insights and debates with him.
18 Mar 2013, 20:14 pm
@I am a stormer-621: I´m impressed.
18 Mar 2013, 20:19 pm
Being PC about hidden repression of racist indignation is unnecessarily nonsensical. Specifically some these race embedded imbeciles who login with a new name because they were embarrassed about return under the old name knows everything about every one on personal level then pretends it isn’t who it is. Suppressed racist tendencies are insipid issues to deal with that’s why being PC about derogatory allegations is stupid rather allow the racist his avenue to vent his inner suppression than driving it back into the inherent subconscious where it seethes in suppressed states of underlayed malcontents.
18 Mar 2013, 20:24 pm
“What’s going here on”
18 Mar 2013, 20:29 pm
@Jeraldjay-624:
Same old kak. Just chewing the fat!
18 Mar 2013, 20:38 pm
@I am a stormer-625:
Howzit IAAS.
Hope you not betting against your team on the bru this weekend.
18 Mar 2013, 20:52 pm
@Jeraldjay-626:
A big decision. But I’ll more than likely go with the Stormers. Home games become crucial. The Stormers would’ve been sitting on the edge of their seats the way the Saders demolished the Bulls and the spanking the Brumbies gave the Sharks. It’s going to be a huge contest especially if the Brumbies play that no.8 they used against the Sharks.
18 Mar 2013, 21:01 pm
@I am a stormer-627:
There is no way they can perform at the level they played against the Sharks in the 1st half. Was actually beautiful to watch.
Will be an interesting game ’cause the coaches have worked together and each one knows how the other thinks.
18 Mar 2013, 21:04 pm
@blue and white @blue and white stripes-607:
He certainly adds value.
Et tu Brute?
18 Mar 2013, 21:13 pm
@Jeraldjay-628:
I reckon Jake has the upper hand what with the Brumbies now 4 from 4. The Stormers will have to strike early by putting points on the board. There will be some massive hits going in during the first 30 minutes or so.
What’s the humidity like in Cape Town, this time of year?
18 Mar 2013, 21:15 pm
@Jeraldjay-628: AC knows nothing about Fisher, Larkham’s gameplan that bamboozled the Sharks…the Brumbies ripped the Bulls like that at Loftus last year & the bulle were only helped by Marius Jonker & Lourens van der Merwe.
18 Mar 2013, 21:29 pm
@I am a stormer-630: ” What’s the humidity like in Cape Town, this time of year?”
better get that ‘magic spray’ leallifano was applying on his hands…
18 Mar 2013, 21:30 pm
@blue and white stripes-607:
Pompous? Doos?
Well at least I am not called a Kings apologist anymore.
Clearly I need to visit more often than what I have been in recent months, seems I became a doos without even knowing.
@blue and white stripes-619:
I don’t seem to recall ever engaging with you in a debate, but I might be wrong. At what point or in what discussion was I being a complete doos in a conversation with you?
18 Mar 2013, 21:31 pm
I know this site has been through some changes but **** me, who let the drugs out?
18 Mar 2013, 21:35 pm
@Transformation-631:
Jake certainly knows how to get the best out of the Aussies.
He got the best out of Eddie Jones to win the RWC.
@PissAnt-634:
Just Monday blues, I guess.
Or put it down to the fact that the Stormers had a bye this last weekend.
@ryecatcher-609: ryecatcher
I’ve had occasion to reflect:
I know you to be a good man, a gentleman.
I was unnecessarily acerbic in my responses to you.
My sincere apologies.
G’nite, rye
G’nite all
18 Mar 2013, 21:40 pm
@I am a stormer-636:
Maybe I am simply not picking up on the Keo-trends anymore, I will make sure I read more often to get into the vibe!
18 Mar 2013, 21:44 pm
@PissAnt-638:
The more things change the more they stay the same. Anyway, good to see you back. Don’t be a stranger!
18 Mar 2013, 21:45 pm
As far as this piece goes, SARU sucks (tell us something we did not know Keo), Kings are victims (I love them but fuckit that line is getting old), and as far as legal numbers in teams goes, the kak going on in the Varsity Cup is much worse than what the Kings are getting up to.
18 Mar 2013, 21:45 pm
@PissAnt-633:
Couple of months back during the Pollard/Bulls debacle.
I said he had to be dropped from the WP U/19 team ’cause he betrayed his union and you obviously had a strong opinion about how loyalty plays no part in the professional era.
I remember you being quite arrogant about the matter.
18 Mar 2013, 21:46 pm
@I am a stormer-639:
Been a **** storm of activity on my side, always hop on here to browse the topics at least, but missing the views of the boys and girls in the comments. Should have more time in next month or so.
18 Mar 2013, 21:52 pm
@blue and white stripes-641:
Ah, I do recall that conversation.
So I am pompous doos for saying loyalty means nothing in pro-rugby?
You pissed at me or Pollard for betraying WP Rugby and me not giving a **** because he did?
From one WP supporter to another that is.
18 Mar 2013, 21:56 pm
pissant is a twitter freak these days, he is a twit-a-minute i tell you…
do u have one of those dict-a-tweet thingymebobs?
18 Mar 2013, 21:57 pm
Madiba just defeated Blue Bulls seconds 13-7.
18 Mar 2013, 21:57 pm
Madibas
18 Mar 2013, 21:58 pm
@PissAnt-640:
SARU have an amateurish approach to professionalism. And that is putting it mildly.
18 Mar 2013, 21:59 pm
@Transformation-644:
You have no idea dude, I might need to go to a group to get this kak sorted. At least you are following!
18 Mar 2013, 21:59 pm
@PissAnt-643:
Loyalty is the be all and end all of everything in life.
HM is selecting overseas based players at will. I reckon in 10 years time domestic rugby as we know it will be a thing of the past.
18 Mar 2013, 22:04 pm
@blue and white stripes-649:
If you want loyalty get a dog.
This is the professional era. Yes, we get peed off when our favourite players leave one province to go to another. That’s life.
Pages: « 1 … 8 9 10 11 12 [13] 14 15 16 17 18 » Show All