Just why SARU sucks

No one from the SARU executive attended the Kings Super Rugby debut. There was nothing official by way of congratulations. But the custodian of the game was quick to speak out when the Kings fielded three instead of two foreigners in the match 22 against the Chiefs.

The absolute desire to see the Kings fail from within the national executive is disgusting.

The haters of the Kings have a right of choice, opinion and expression of speech, however limited and demeaning it may be in articulation and expression, but the national governing body could surely show a bit more class instead of the obvious crassness we’ve seen since they were forced to include the Kings in Super Rugby when they cocked up a promise to the Lions that the Kings would be there because of a tournament expansion.

This franchise is the good news story in a unified South African rugby. It is the rainbow story, by choice and not construction. More than 100 000 of all cultures have attended the Kings three home games. Australians and New Zealanders can’t stop talking about the romance of the Kings’ debut month.

Every South African rugby writer who has made the trip to Port Elizabeth has written of the energy of the crowd, of the diverse cultural representation of the crowd, of the atmosphere at the ground and of the incredible spirit of those who play in the Kings’ jersey.

SARU’s national executive failed to see the significance of the Kings debut. All they see is the irritation of it. Typical of cowards there has been nothing but silence as the Kings have won the hearts of so many through the courage of their performance.

SARU hasn’t thanked them for adding a dimension to the game in South Africa but those who double as the custodians have demanded a report as to why the Kings fielded three foreigners in their match 22 against the Chiefs, when the SARU regulation limits all South African franchises to just two players.

The Kings, in their debut match, started with 15 South Africans and injury to captain Darron Nell in the warm-up of the Chiefs match forced a last minute call-up to a third foreigner.

SARU wants a report about it and were very quick to make public that they wanted this report.

They weren’t as quick to wish the Kings well prior to their first game and they weren’t rushing to congratulate the Kings on becoming the first tournament newcomer to ever win on debut.

The Kings represent the future of the game in this country. SARU is the relic that represents everything despicable about the past.

854 Comments

Pages: « 1 2 [3] 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 1118 » Show All

• 101.Dilligafrican: Reply to this comment

@skopdiekan-85: what’s Groom have to do with the EC?

• 102.grant10: Reply to this comment

SARU palookas…..

They doing all they can to derail the Kings…

Farkem……

• 103.grant10: Reply to this comment

kings showed more character , commitment and never say die than Bulls and Sharks combined this weekend.

Soies and M Steyn showing their true cowardly colors again….

Lambie on current form not in top 5 of SA 10 s…..

What the hell is up man!

• 104.grant10: Reply to this comment

spies

• 105.grant10: Reply to this comment

Jannie Dup has done a knee as well……hope he recovers soon or Sharks and Boks up a creek sans a paddle

• 106.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@Dilligafrican-101: he was born in King Williams Town, which by Skop’s reasoning means that he must be forced to play for the Kings and not ply his trade where he himself chooses.

Yes I know…….don’t even go there… ;)

• 107.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

more on the Jerry Collins story:

Former All Black carried knife for ‘protection’

LATEST: Former All Black Jerry Collins could be in custody for more than three weeks as Japanese police investigate the incident in which he was arrested for carrying a knife.

Collins, 32, was arrested at the weekend in the central Japan industrial city of Hamamatsu on charges of illegally carrying a kitchen knife in a department store, police said yesterday.

He told Japanese police he kept a kitchen knife for ”self-defence”.
    His agent, Wellington lawyer Tim Castle, said Collins had requested that the New Zealand embassy contact him and a lawyer had been appointed, with the help of the embassy and the Yamaha Jubilo rugby club.

“He’s still in custody and the procedure initially allows to hold him for three days,” Castle said.
    “That can be extended for a further 10 days if they wish to do so while further investigations continue, which has to be done through a court application.”

“They can then request another 10 days, again through a court application, which means the whole procedure can be up to 23 days.”
    “There are restrictions on who he can communicate with but these don’t extend to the embassy or his Japanese lawyer.”

Castle said he was unsure whether Collins was arrested without a charge or arrested on a specific charge.
    “But I don’t understand there to have been any sinister attempt attached to his possession of the knife,” he said.

Collins’ Porirua family is in contact with Mr Castle, who may fly to Japan. “I’m ready to go if I’m needed to.”

for the rest:
    http://www.stuff.co.nz/sport/rugby/8438382/Former-All-Black-carried-knife-for-protection

• 108.Transformation: Reply to this comment

this is where your booze money goes :D

SABMiller ups ANC donations as booze bans
    loom

BREWER SABMiller plans to hike its donations
    to the governing ANC drastically to more
    than R5m — as government moves to ban
    liquor sales on Sundays gather pace.

On Friday, the Gauteng legislature introduced
    the controversial liquor bill that aims to
    block alcohol sales in the province on
    Sundays and tighten up on permits.

New bylaws are also due to take effect in
    Cape Town next month, reducing the hours
    in which alcohol may be sold.

Liquor companies such as SABMiller are also
    being squeezed on other fronts. In December
    the ANC reaffirmed its plan to ban alcohol
    adverts.

On Friday, the global brewing giant confirmed
    that it would donate R9m to political parties,
    to be split between the ANC, Democratic
    Alliance, Congress of the People, Inkatha
    Freedom Party, United Democratic Movement
    and the Freedom Front Plus.

The funding, which is for next year’s general
    election, will be allocated to the parties in
    proportion to their seats in the National
    Assembly. This means the ANC will get nearly
    two-thirds of the R9m.

• 109.TimSquillo: Reply to this comment

@bokrugby RT @keocoza: Just why SARU sucks: No one from the SARU executive attended the Kings Super Rugby debut. http://t.co/ZbYZ9Br4Q4

• 110.Dilligafrican: Reply to this comment

@stormersboy-106:

Goeie bliksem but that is tenuous. He is aangenaaide familie but has lived in CT for a bloody long time.

Skop should pissof back to Isreal according to his own logic.

• 111.Dilligafrican: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-107: Self defence? Eish, he is in the same league as a 9mm but with a shorter range ;)

What would he want a knife for – can’t be too many **** he should be afraid of.

• 112.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@Dilligafrican-109: Not sure where he was born to be honest, but ja you get the point.

Schalk Burger was born in the Eastern Cape too.

He grew up here, attended school here and represented his province at junior level here, and nothing would make Skop happier than if he went back to play in the Eastern Cape lol.

• 113.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@Dilligafrican-110:
    my thinking too.
    it makes no sense and i can only assume there is more to the story but we’ll probably never hear about it.
    its a shame it had to happen to such a decent seeming bloke.

• 114.Sharks_are_gonna_get_you: Reply to this comment

@stormersboy-111: Here is a fact. Skop is one very dilussional kumquat,

• 115.grant10: Reply to this comment

@Sharks_are_gonna_get_you-113: what the hell happened on Saturday my man? That was appalling man….any news on Jannie and Bissy meeting with the French?

• 116.Dilligafrican: Reply to this comment

@stormersboy-111: Nic was born that side – his dad’s a teacher and taught there for some time. When the family connection came to be he was still a tjokker but in CT and that is a long time ago.

• 117.Dilligafrican: Reply to this comment

@grant10-114: shhhhh….it shall be referred to as the game that shall not be named.

Turned the TV off after 10mins else I would be at Game this morning having to buy a new one.

• 118.Transformation: Reply to this comment

jerry was scared of thr yakuza, with all the money being shoved at rugby players on japan they are soon to be targets of organised crime like footballers are in brazil.

• 119.grant10: Reply to this comment

@Dilligafrican-116: Fark….I ended up throwing a peak cap at the tv about 30 minutes in…..almost took out my fish tank which is next to tv…..I had a few Windhoeks so aim was a bit wobbly…..

Bloody terrible though…..have not seen such a rudderless display by Sharks in a very long time…..

• 120.skopdiekan: Reply to this comment

Nic Groom is about equivalent Capie as I am born elsewhere spent most his life in WC

• 121.Dilligafrican: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-117: Difference is that Jerry is a gang in his own.

• 122.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@Dilligafrican-115: Ja i know, besides, it doesn’t matter where you are born, it only matters where you are now from a playing perspective.

• 123.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-117: Sounds plausible.

Those guys will take down anyone, it doesn’t matter what size they are.

• 124.John Galt: Reply to this comment

@grant10-118:
    Boet, if a side plays like the Brumbies did on Sat, they will make everyone look rudderless.

Theres been a lot of negativity thrown at the Sharks and their heirachy but those people are not focussing on the only true fact here.
    Those Brumbies were unstopable. Yes they caught us napping but they would have beaten any side on that day.
    Brilliant Brumbies, even more brilliant Jake White.

• 125.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

I have always advocated a “State of Origin” equivalent tournament in SA, as they have had in Aus over the years, it would be great to see guys running out for their province of birth.

Great entertainment and good for sport.

I know we play a lot of rugby already so it’s never going to happen but i think that the Rugby watching community would love it.

Free State, EP and the Cape will most likely be strong contenders.

• 126.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@John Galt-123: Agreed, that first half would have beaten any side.

• 127.grant10: Reply to this comment

@John Galt-123: It was a fantastic first 40…..agreed.

But the body language and lack lustre effort is a concern.

WTH has happened to Lambie? I cannot believe the player has regressed so much…..

• 128.Angostura: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-80: & so says bakkies, the Guy Fawkes of all SA bridges to & from NZ

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-93:

yes, they did, on a losers’ ticket – in breach of their fiduciary duties.

but not worry, bakkies – the Kings will survive despite the cabal’s best efforts to the contrary

@Bigbok-98: @i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-99: The Kings will prevail – true grit, blood & guts, & purpose will prevail

• 129.John Galt: Reply to this comment

@grant10-126:
    Lambie was the only Shark on the field actually tackling. He put his body on the line and did as much as he possible could with the k ak ball he was getting.

Whats more concerning, and what led to Lambie being under pressure, is how our front row got monstered. Jannie got eaten by a 20 year old!
    Only when Herbst came on did we start holding our own.

Should never happen to what is basically a Bok front row.

• 130.skopdiekan: Reply to this comment

Lambie always been overrated … not by me but by mostly others I never been a Lambie punter I always thought Lambie don’t have what it takes at the crucial cutting edge. He’s no Johan Goosen and I reckon even dodgy Jantjies is better suited to crunch time rugby than him.

• 131.Angostura: Reply to this comment

@grant10-105: Jannie Doep was very poor on Saturday – Herbst was an improvement

• 132.Sharks_are_gonna_get_you: Reply to this comment

@John Galt-123: Correct John, That’s why I am just ignoring most of the negativity, Lambie actually did not have a bad game, he was at last attacking the gain line again etc, HIs kicks were very good, in fact he had some huge touch finders, Steyn sadly did not have a good game? nor Odwa.

I do question many of Kaplans decisions? specially at scrum time where the Brumbies were scrumming up and leaving the scrum early.

Other then that Brumbies were fantastic.

• 133.John Galt: Reply to this comment

Plum is going to read these okes the riot act today.
    Fark me they are in for something.

Frans, Keegan, Beast, Jannie, all of them are going to be told in no uncertain terms that Sat was unacceptable.
    Expect to see a slightly different side run out against the Rebels.

• 134.skopdiekan: Reply to this comment

Brumbies blown sky high into credence of incredible immaculate incantation. People blowing smoke up Jakes arse when all you saw on Saturday was the real level of overrated uselessness that is representation of the booming boom shaky Sharkishits franchise

• 135.John Galt: Reply to this comment

@Sharks_are_gonna_get_you-131:
    I definitely noticed the Brumbies breaking off the scrum early. But he only ever pinged keegan for it.
    I dont think Kaplan had a bad game though, we were just asleep at the wheel.

• 136.grant10: Reply to this comment

@John Galt-128: @Angostura-130: That Brumbies debutant at loosehead was very impressive……my concern with Lambie is he is still too deep in the pocket and seems instinctively to want to kick ……as opposed to looking for options….

Watching the Goose it is exactly the opposite….he reluctantly goes to the boot….

I wonder if HM never got to Lambie….he is not the same player I enthused over last 2 years…..

early days and he can get his mojo back….but right now I am relieved the Goose is back.

• 137.grant10: Reply to this comment

seems Jannie may have knee issues as well…hope not serious

• 138.Sharks_are_gonna_get_you: Reply to this comment

@skopdiekan-129: Only thing actually and truthfully overrated in here is you.

A kenner you sure as hell ain’t, IN BEING A FOOL?? in that you are a professional.

• 139.Te Rangatira: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-117:
    The Yakuza have some part in Sumo and Baseball, why not rugby and illegal sports betting.

• 140.gunther: Reply to this comment

@grant10-136:

You mean Heineken for inside Lambies head but not inside any of the other 10′s?

Ja well no fine.

Maybe he’s been probed by aliens?

• 141.Sharks_are_gonna_get_you: Reply to this comment

@grant10-136: The same Goose that is missing so many tackles??? hell Grant do you guys actually watch the games??? seriously boet. from you I expect better, I can understand the stupidity from Skop, he is just being his honest self.

Go watch both games again and watch only the 2 flyhalves, and see what both do.

• 142.skopdiekan: Reply to this comment

Sharkishits big bok breekgatte were the ones fckd up by their own sense of big bok entrenched entitlement.

JdP Steyn Lambie Kankowski Daniel all nowhere

Plumber should have plugged all his leaking holes much earlier like starting with proper commitment from the youngsters who did what the big bok breekgatte couldn’t

Herbst Psdt Cooper should have started before Daniel JdP Burden and might have made a game of it.

• 143.WP-Forever: Reply to this comment

What’s with the anti-Semitism on display here by some?

• 144.grant10: Reply to this comment

@gunther-140: well the Lambie of 2010, 2011 and 2012 farken abducted.

This impostor has become a cheap imitation of M Steyn, except Lambie has got balls and not so cowardly.

Now go wash the Picanto.

• 145.gunther: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-118:

Do you think FdP, Fourie and Sunni Bill also have to carry around shivs?

• 146.John Galt: Reply to this comment

@grant10-136:
    Yeah I thought as much initially. But then I remembered that there is no way in hell that Plum would allow his FH to play in any way other than his own.

Plum would never let another coach dictate how his FH is to play.

• 147.grant10: Reply to this comment

@Sharks_are_gonna_get_you-141: Goose is by far the best 10 in the country at the moment….
    and getting better….

• 148.Sharks_are_gonna_get_you: Reply to this comment

@grant10-144: :lol: at go wash the Picanto :lol:

• 149.grant10: Reply to this comment

@John Galt-146: it may be sub concious

• 150.Sharks_are_gonna_get_you: Reply to this comment

@John Galt-146: Lambie was more his old self last weekend, the first few games yes Lambie was standing to deep and not his normal way of play.

Pages: « 1 2 [3] 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 1118 » Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.