Horwill returns as Gill misses out

RICHARD FERGUSON updates keo.co.za followers of the latest Super Rugby news from Australia.

Horwill returns as Gill misses out

James Horwill has returned from a ten month injury layoff to captain the Reds against the Bulls this weekend. Horwill tore his hamstring during last year’s Super Rugby season before hurting his ankle in preseason.

The Reds have been boosted in recent weeks by the return of Will Genia as well, even though the disruption of having to play him for only 40 minutes might have been their downfall against the Force. Horwill is set for the same return as Genia, playing only 50 minutes.

The return of Horwill is offset by the loss of the best loose forward in Australia at the moment, Liam Gill. Gill has a minor knee injury and is replaced by Jarrad Butler in the starting line-up. Digby Ioane returns to the starting lineup after his suspension, while forwards Curtis Browning and Nigel Ah Wong are set to make their debuts from the bench.

Reds: Jono Lance, Chris Feauai-Sautia, Anthony Faingaa, Ben Tapuai, Digby Ioane, Quade Cooper, Will Genia; Jake Schatz, Jarrad Butler, Ed Quirk, James Horwill (capt), Ed O’Donoghue, James Slipper, James Hanson, Greg Holmes. Substitutes: Saia Faingaa, Albert Anae, Rob Simmons, Curtis Browning, Nigel Ah Wong, Nick Frisby, Mike Harris

Delve and Vuna back for Rebels

The Rebels have their captain back for their first tour match against the Sharks this Saturday. Delve has recovered from the shoulder injury that kept him out of action two weeks ago.

The bye has also helped winger Cooper Vuna back to fitness, who returns to the starting line-up to face up to speedsters JP Pietersen and Lwazi Mvovo. There is also a return for Jason Woodward, the winger who was so impressive during the ITM Cup last year.

Rebels: 15 Angus Roberts, 14 Jason Woodward, 13 Mitch Inman, 12 Lachlan Mitchell, 11 Cooper Vuna, 10 James O’Connor, 9 Nick Phipps, 8 Gareth Delve (c), 7 Scott Fuglistaller, 6 Scott Higginbotham, 5 Luke Jones, 4 Hugh Pyle, 3 Laurie Weeks, 2 Ged Robinson, 1 Nic Henderson. Substitutes: 16 Shota Horie, 17 Paul Alo-Emile, 18 Cadeyrn Neville, 19 Jordy Reid, 20 Nic Stirzaker, 21 Rory Sidey, 22 Richard Kingi.