Shuffled backline for Stormers

Gary van Aswegen has been called upon to take the reins against the Sharks.

With Elton Jantjies injured, van Aswegen will start his first Super Rugby match of the season in a backline hit by injuries. Jaco Taute’s season ending knee injury sees Joe Pietersen move back to fullback and Damian de Allende coming onto the wing.

There is also a return for Dewaldt Duvenhage as Nic Groom falls out of the match 22 altogether. New backline faces on the bench are Kurt Coleman, who will cover for van Aswegen while Cheslin Kolbe is set to make his Super Rugby debut off the bench.

The forward pack remains unchanged while another potential debutant in Gerbrandt Grobler sits on the bench as second row cover.

Stormers: 15. Joe Pietersen, 14. Damian de Allende, 13. Juan de Jongh, 12. Jean de Villiers (Capt), 11. Gio Aplon, 10. Gary van Aswegen, 9. Dewaldt Duvenhage, 8. Duane Vermeulen, 7. Michael Rhodes, 6. Siya Kolisi, 5. Andries Bekker, 4. De Kock Steenkamp, 3. Frans Malherbe, 2. Deon Fourie, 1. Steven Kitshoff. Substitutes: 16. Martin Bezuidenhout, 17. Pat Cilliers, 18. Gerbrandt Grobler, 19. Nizaam Carr, 20. Louis Schreuder, 21. Kurt Coleman, 22. Cheslin Kolbe

By Richard Ferguson