Sharks call on Lions trio

The Shark touring squad sees some familiar faces thrown in with a few surprises.

We are well aware that Ryan Kankowski will not tour but nobody saw the inclusion of Derick Minnie as the reason that Plumtree can risk going to New Zealand and Australia without the experienced Kankowski. After speculation about JP Pietersen’s injury, he has been included in the squad.

Derick Minnie is one of three Lions recruits in the touring squad, joining team mates Franco van der Merwe and Andries Coetzee.

Another surprise inclusion is that of Piet Lindeque, who was with the Sharks for three years before leaving to play Varsity Cup for Tuks. He had since been recalled straight into the touring party, after being seen as surplus to requirements.

Another youngster amongst the party is Alan Dell, who will cover the front row in case of Tendai Mtawarira going down. After some speculation, Frans Steyn has been included after all.

Sharks Touring Squad:


1. Anton Bresler
2. Craig Burden
3. Marcell Coetzee
4. Kyle Cooper
5. Keegan Daniel
6. Allan Dell
7. Jean Deysel
8. Jannie du Plessis
9. Pieter-Steph du Toit
10. Derick Minnie
11. Wiehahn Herbst
12. Tendai Mtawarira
13. Lubabalo Mtembu
14. Franco van der Merwe


1. Meyer Bosman
2. Andries Coetzee
3. Paul Jordaan
4. Patrick Lambie
5. Piet Lindeque
6. Charl McLeod
7. Odwa Ndungane
8. JP Pietersen
9. Cobus Reinach
10. Sean Robinson
11. Francois Steyn
12. Riaan Viljoen

By Richard Ferguson