Deysel captain as Keegan is dropped

Keegan Daniel has been relieved of his captaincy duties, being replaced by Jean Deysel as the third leader of the year.

Sharks coach John Plumtree has put together a match 22 from what he has available, but at the same time, has made some bold calls in naming the starting fifteen.

Starting at the front, Wiehahn Herbst replaces the Beast Tendai Mtawarira, starting with Craig Burden and Jannie du Plessis. Kyle Cooper can count himself unlucky for being dropped after some stand out performances over the last few weeks. Franco van der Merwe gets the axe from the second row, allowing Anton Bresler and Pieter-Steph du Toit to start together.

The loose trio is completely changed with the coach dropping captain Keegan, dropping Marcell Coetzee and opting to start with Lions recruit Derick Minnie, the newly appointed captain Deysel and Lubabalo Mthembu. Daniel and Coetzee are both on the bench, which is a five / two split.

Charl McLeod starts the match ahead of Cobus Reinach, linking up with Pat Lambie in the halfbacks. The midfield sees Meyer Bosman continue outside Lambie and Frans Steyn selected to replace the injured Paul Jordaan outside him. The back three see one change with Piet Lindeque starting in the place of Andries Coetzee, joining Odwa Ndungane and Riaan Viljoen.

On the bench we see Danie Mienie as the front row cover, after he was called up late in the week, while S’bura Sithole joins him straight off the plane.

The Sharks: 15. Riaan Viljoen, 14. Odwa Ndungane, 13. Francois Steyn, 12. Meyer Bosman, 11. Piet Lindeque, 10. Patrick Lambie, 9. Charl McLeod, 8. Lubabalo Mtembu, 7. Jean Deysel (C), 6. Derick Minnie, 5. Pieter-Steph du Toit, 4. Anton Bresler, 3. Jannie du Plessis , 2. Craig Burden, 1. Wiehahn Herbst. Substitutes: 16. Kyle Cooper, 17. Danie Mienie, 18. Franco van der Merwe, 19. Keegan Daniel, 20. Marcell Coetzee, 21. Cobus Reinach, 22. S’bura Sithole

By Richard Ferguson