Le Roux, Lappies finally rewarded

Willie le Roux and Lappies Labuschagne have finally been rewarded with spots in the Springbok training group. They are two of eight that are first timers in Springbok training groups this year.

The others are Gio Aplon, Trevor Nyakane, JJ Engelbrecht, Lionel Mapoe, Wiehahn Herbst and Demetri Catrakilis.

The group of players will assemble in Durban for the second training camp of the year, before the final squad for the Incoming Tours is selected.

Players not considered due to injury include: JP Pietersen, Jaco Taute, Frans Steyn, Johan Goosen, Duane Vermeulen, Pat Cilliers and Frans Malherbe.

The camp will commence this Sunday, following the involvement of all five South African franchises this weekend.

Forwards (19):
Tendai Mtawarira, Trevor Nyakane, Jannie du Plessis, Coenie Oosthuizen, Wiehahn Herbst, Adriaan Strauss, Bismarck du Plessis, Chiliboy Ralepelle, Eben Etzebeth, Flip van der Merwe, Juandré Kruger, Pieter-Steph du Toit, Siya Kolisi, Marcell Coetzee, Willem Alberts, Arno Botha, Lappies Labuschagne, Pierre Spies, Ryan Kankowski

Backs (19):
Jano Vermaak, Francois Hougaard, Pat Lambie, Morné Steyn, Elton Jantjies, Demetri Catrakilis, Jean de Villiers, Juan de Jongh, Jan Serfontein, Robert Ebersohn, JJ Engelbrecht, Bryan Habana, Lwazi Mvovo, Raymond Rhule, Lionel Mapoe, Bjorn Basson, Gio Aplon, Zane Kirchner, Willie le Roux

By Richard Ferguson