Willie’s a Bok

Willie le Roux is among Heyneke Meyer’s newly capped Springboks.

Ruan Pienaar and Francois Louw are the only two overseas-based players selected.

Meyer has selected several uncapped players, among them props Lourens Adriaanse and Trevor Nyankane.

Jan Serfontein, of the newbies, was the predictable choice in the backs, and Sharks lock Pieter-Steph du Toit and Cheetahs flank Lappies Labuschagne are rewarded for consistent Super Rugby form.

Meyer picked the core of the players I had in my Bok 23, with Heinrich Brussow and Bakkies Botha two that did not make the squad.

Forwards: Lourens Adriaanse, Willem Alberts, Arno Botha, Marcell Coetzee, Bismarck du Plessis, Jannie du Plessis, Pieter-Steph du Toit, Eben Etzebeth, Siya Kolisi, Juandre Kruger, Lappies Labuschange, Francois Louw, Tendai Mtawarara, Trevor Nyankane, Coenie Oosthuizen, Chilbioy Ralepelle, Pierre Spies, Adriaan Strauss, Flip van der Merwe.

Backs: Gio Aplon, Bjorn Basson, Juan de Jongh, Jean de Villiers, JJ Engelbrecht, Bryan Habana, Francois Hougaard, Zane Kirchener, Pat Lambie, Willie le Roux, Lwazi Mvovo, Ruan Pienaar, Jan Serfontein, Morne Steyn, Jano Vermaak.