Meyer rewards form

Heyneke Meyer has picked Super Rugby’s form players, including a first start for Willie le Roux.

Le Roux will play as fullback and there is also a first start for Jano Vermaak at scrumhalf.

I had Le Roux as my pick to start at No 15. Check out my Bok 23 and see how it compares with Meyer’s.

The Bok coach has picked six forwards from the starting pack that beat England at Twickenham, but Jean de Villiers is the only familiar face in the backline.

Pat Lambie and 2012 IRB World Under 20 player of the year Jan Serfontein are among the substitutes and Morne Steyn, rightly, has earned a recall to the No 10 jumper.

Francois Louw and Ruan Pienaar, despite completing a northern hemisphere season, are both in the match squad.

Several players were not considered because of injury, among them Pieter-Stef du Toit, who has been ruled out for three months because of a sternum injury.

Springboks – 15 Willie le Roux, 14 Bryan Habana, 13 JJ Engelbrecht, 12 Jean de Villiers (c), 11 Bjorn Basson, 10 Morné Steyn, 9 Jano Vermaak, 8 Pierre Spies, 7 Willem Alberts, 6 Francois Louw, 5 Juandré Kruger, 4 Eben Etzebeth, 3 Jannie du Plessis, 2 Adriaan Strauss, 1 Beast Mtawarira.
Subs: 16 Chiliboy Ralepelle, 17 Trevor Nyakane, 18 Coenie Oosthuizen, 19 Flip van der Merwe, 20 Arno Botha, 21 Ruan Pienaar, 22 Pat Lambie, 23 Jan Serfontein.