Fourie’s the Bok bolter

Heyneke Meyer has picked Fourie du Preez for the Rugby Championship.

Meyer has added just three new faces to the Boks squad that won the quadrangular series against Scotland, Samoa and Italy.

They are Du Preez, No 8 Duane Vermeulen and Toulouse based prop Gurthro Steenkamp.

Du Preez’s club in Japan, Suntory Sungoliath, have released him for international duty only for the three Tests in South Africa.

Piet van Zyl will replace Du Preez for the away matches.

‘We’ve managed to keep a lot of continuity between this squad of 30 players and the squad that did duty during the Incoming Series.

‘As I’ve said before, it’s vitally important for the younger players in the set-up to get more experience and increase their Test caps, but this will be a very tough championship and we will have to be at our very best,’ said Meyer.

‘Argentina showed last year what they can do and while we are mindful of the threat they pose, our focus will be on building on the good things we achieved in June and improving in areas where we were not satisfied.’

The Boks will open their campaign against Argentina at the FNB Stadium in Soweto as part of the Nelson Mandela Sport & Culture Day celebrations on 17 August.

The following day they fly to South America where they will face the Pumas in Mendoza on 24 August.

Players not considered because of injury are: Frans Malherbe, Pieter-Steph du Toit, Arno Botha, Pierre Spies, Francois Hougaard, Johan Goosen, Jaco Taute and Frans Steyn.

Bok squad
Forwards: Willem Alberts, Marcell Coetzee, Bismarck du Plessis, Jannie du Plessis, Eben Etzebeth, Francois Louw, Siya Kolisi, Juandré Kruger, Tendai Mtawarira, Trevor Nyakane, Coenie Oosthuizen, Chiliboy Ralepelle, Adriaan Strauss, Gurthrö Steenkamp, Flip van der Merwe, Franco van der Merwe, Duane Vermeulen.

Backs: Bjorn Basson, Juan de Jongh, Jean de Villiers (c), Fourie du Preez, JJ Engelbrecht, Bryan Habana, Zane Kirchner, Pat Lambie, Willie le Roux, Ruan Pienaar, Jan Serfontein, Morné Steyn, Jano Vermaak,