Province on fire

Western Province were explosive in dismantling the Sharks at Newlands.

Province won 25-19 to sustain their challenge on a successful Currie Cup defence.

They lead the league from the Sharks at the halfway stage.

Province, as in Johannesburg against the Lions a week ago, started brilliantly and lead 15-0 within 20 minutes. The Sharks didn’t have the capacity to recover from the early jolt and were never in the contest.

A converted try two minutes after the hooter ensured them a losing bonus point.

Province remain unbeaten with three wins and two draws.

Western Province – Tries: Juan de Jongh, Cheslin Kolbe, Gio Aplon. Conversions: Kurt Coleman, Gary van Aswegen. Penalties: Coleman (2).
Sharks – Tries: Lwazi Movo, Jacques Botes, Kyle Cooper. Conversions: Fred Zeilinga (2).

Western Province – 15 Gio Aplon, 14 Gerhard van den Heever, 13 Juan de Jongh, 12 Damian de Allende, 11 Cheslin Kolbe, 10 Kurt Coleman, 9 Louis Schreuder, 8 Nizaam Carr, 7 Rynhardt Elstadt, 6 Deon Fourie (c), 5 De Kock Steenkamp, 4 Michael Rhodes, 3 Pat Cilliers, 2 Scarra Ntubeni, 1 Steven Kitshoff.
Subs: 16 Michael Willemse, 17 Brok Harris, 18 Gerbrandt Grobler, 19 Rohan Kitshoff, 20 Nic Groom, 21 Gary van Aswegen, 22 Michael van der Spuy.

Sharks – 15 SP Marais, 14 Sizo Maseko, 13 Louis Ludik, 12 Tim Whitehead, 11 Lwazi Mvovo, 10 Butch James, 9 Cobus Reinach, 8 Jacques Botes (c), 7 Jean Deysel, 6 Keegan Daniel, 5 Marco Wentzel, 4 Peet Marais, 3 Rayno Gerber, 2 Craig Burden, 1 Danie Mienie.
Subs: 16 Kyle Cooper, 17 Wiehahn Herbst, 18 Edwin Hewitt, 19 Justin Downey, 20 Charl McLeod, 21 Fred Zeilinga, 22 Jaco van Tonder.