Gutsy Province give Bulls a beating

Western Province played 55 minutes with 14 men and still battered the Bulls at Loftus.

Province won 29-18 to remain unbeaten in this year’s Currie Cup.

Province lost Michael Rhodes to a red card in the 35th minute for stomping, but the Bulls could not make the one man advantage count.

They lost a player to a yellow card and their discipline was simply not good enough.

Province goalkickers Kurt Coleman and Gary van Aswegen converted five of the kicks to punish the Bulls, who in the last minute of the match were denied a losing bonus point try through a TMO decision.

Blue Bulls – Tries: Jono Ross, David Bulbring. Conversion: Handré Pollard. Penalty: Pollard. Drop goal: Pollard.
Western Province – Tries: Gio Aplon, Damian de Allende. Conversions: Kurt Coleman (2). Penalties: Coleman (3), Gary van Aswegen (2).

Blue Bulls – 15 Jürgen Visser, 14 Sampie Mastriet, 13 Ulrich Beyers, 12 Francois Venter, 11 Akona Ndungane, 10 Handré Pollard, 9 Rudy Paige, 8 Jono Ross (c), 7 Jacques du Plessis, 6 Wiaan Liebenberg, 5 Grant Hattingh, 4 Paul Willemse, 3 Frik Kirsten, 2 Mbongeni Mbonambi, 1 Marcel van der Merwe.
Subs: 16 Bandise Maku, 17 Dean Greyling, 18 David Bulbring, 19 Jacques Engelbrecht, 20 Lohan Jacobs, 21 Waylon Murray, 22 Clayton Blommetjies.

Western Province – 15 Gio Aplon, 14 Gerhard van den Heever, 13 Juan de Jongh, 12 Damian de Allende, 11 Cheslin Kolbe, 10 Kurt Coleman, 9 Louis Schreuder, 8 Nizaam Carr, 7 Michael Rhodes, 6 Rynhardt Elstadt, 5 De Kock Steenkamp (c), 4 Taz Fuzani, 3 Pat Cilliers, 2 Scarra Ntubeni, 1 Steven Kitshoff.
Subs: 16 Michael Willemse, 17 Brok Harris, 18 Gerbrandt Grobler, 19 Rohan Kitshoff, 20 Nic Groom, 21 Gary van Aswegen, 22 Michael van der Spuy.