Baabaas Boks bash Fiji

Bismarck du Plessis, Schalk Burger and Willie le Roux starred in the Barbarians 43-19 win against Fiji at Twickenham.

The Barbarians led 17-7 at halftime.

Video highlights of the tries

Nearly 70 000 paid to celebrate Fiji’s centenary and while Fiji were brave, they were outclassed.

Sadly, Fiji had to play without several of their frontline players, with their respective French clubs refusing to release them for a match that was to showcase their 100 years.

Du Plessis was one of eight Springboks in the Barbarians, who were led by Springboks captain Jean de Vlliers and coached by All Blacks Steve Hansen.

Du Plessis was a monster in everything he did. He scored two tries and was imposing. He only played 55 minutes but was named named Man of the Match.

It was also great to see Burger so impressive, and he looked as good as he has done at any stage of his international career.

Burger was physical at the breakdown, aggressive in the tackle and showed some wonderful touches on attack.

It will be a matter of when, not if, he plays for the Springboks in 2014.

De Villiers scored two popular tries and Le Roux ignited the magic in the Barbarians second half effort.

South Africans dominated the try-scoring.

All Black Steven Luatua was the pick of the New Zealanders.

If there was a disappointment it was in Pat Lambie’s indifferent performance at flyhalf.

Barbarians – Tries: Bismarck du Plessis (2), Duane Vermeulen, Charles Piutau, Jean de Villiers (2), Tom Taylor. Conversions: Pat Lambie (4).
Fiji – Tries: Asaeli Tikoirotuma, Henry Seniloli, Alex Rokobaro. Conversions: Seremaia Bai, Waisea Luveniyali.

Barbarians – 15 Santiago Cordero, 14 Frank Halai, 13 Gavin Williams, 12 Jean de Villiers (c), 11 Charles Piutau, 10 Patrick Lambie, 9 TJ Perenara, 8 Duane Vermeulen, 7 Schalk Burger, 6 Steven Luatua, 5 Dominic Bird, 4 Mick O’Driscoll, 3 Matias Diaz, 2 Bismarck du Plessis, 1 Tendai Mtawarira.
Subs: 16 Keven Mealamu, 17 Guillermo Roan, 18 Coenie Oosthuizen, 19 Manuel Carizza, 20 Luke Whitelock, 21 Martin Landajo, 22 Tom Taylor, 23 Willie le Roux.

Fiji – 15 Nikola Matawalu, 14 Adriu Delai, 13 Asaeli Tikoirotuma, 12 Levani Botia, 11 Sam Speight, 10 Seremaia Bai, 9 Nemia Kenatale, 8 Netani Talei, 7 Mala Ravulo, 6 Nemani Nagusa, 5 Api Naikatini, 4 Leone Nakarawa, 3 Manasa Saulo, 2 Peni Ravai, 1 Campese Ma’afu.
Subs: 16 Jerry Naureure, 17 Jerry Yanuyanutawa, 18 Sete Somoca, 19 Maku Koroiyadi, 20 Sam Matavesi, 21 Henry Seniloli, 22 Waisea Luveniyali, 23 Alex Rokobaro.