Phillips fronts Boks

Disgraced Bayonne scrumhalf Mike Phillips will start against the Springboks in a side similar to that which lost to the Boks in the 2011 World Cup.

Phillips was last week fired as a Bayonne player because of disciplinary issues relating to drunk and disorderly behaviour.

However, it has not influenced his national selection.

Jamie Roberts and Alex Cuthbert are injured but Wales have still managed to pick 10 of the starting XV involved in the 30-3 hammering of England in last season’s Six Nations finale.

The side also includes nine players who lost 17-16 to the Boks in the 2011 World Cup Pool match.

Wales – 15 Leigh Halfpenny, 14 George North, 13 Jonathan Davies, 12 Scott Williams, 11 Eli Walker, 10 Rhys Priestland, 9 Mike Phillips, 8 Toby Faletau, 7 Sam Warburton (c), 6 Dan Lydiate, 5 Alun Wyn Jones, 4 Bradley Davies, 3 Adam Jones, 2 Richard Hibbard, 1 Gethin Jenkins.
Subs: 16 Ken Owens, 17 Paul James, 18 Scott Andrews, 19 Luke Charteris, 20 Justin Tipuric, 21 Lloyd Williams, 22 James Hook, 23 Liam Williams.