KEO News Wire

Auckland edge Canterbury in extra-time thriller to win Mitre 10 Cup Premiership

Auckland claimed their first Mitre 10 Cup title since 2007 after a thrilling 40-33 extra-time win over Canterbury in an incredible Premiership final on Saturday.

Leon Fukofuka proved to be the hero at Eden Park, crossing for the match-winning try to see Auckland end their long wait for a title.

Canterbury were denied a fourth straight crown after giving up a 26-12 lead, and then another advantage in extra time.

Brett Cameron had kicked 14 points to put Canterbury in control and they were on track to claim the trophy until the final 20 minutes.

Jordan Trainor and Caleb Clarke crossed for Auckland to force extra time, only for Tom Sanders’ try to put the defending champions ahead again.

But Mike Sosene-Feagai drew Auckland level and Fukofuka went over in the 93rd minute to secure an amazing win. News wire is powered by opta

Related Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *