7's, International Rugby

Blitzboks remain sevens champions with English win

The Blitzboks retained their Sevens World Series crown with a 24-14 victory over England in the final of the Paris Sevens.

South Africa took an early 7-0 lead with a converted try from Werner Kok, however England responded as speedster Dan Norton evaded the defence and put Oliver Lindsay-Hague away for a converted try.

Just before half time Norton crossed over for a try of his own, to be converted, seeing England take a 14-0 lead one minute before the break. But South Africa refused to go into half time 7 points down and held onto the ball to score a try through Dylan Oosthuizen two minutes after the hooter, levelling the scores for the second half.

Dewald Human then struck early for the Blitzboks taking them to a 21-14 lead at start the second half. South Africa then capitalised on a penalty from the English in their own 22, opting for a kick at goal which took their lead to 24-14.

England were unable to strike back over the next three minutes and South Africa hung on to claim the Paris Sevens victory and World Series title.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *