Upon return from New Zealand, the Springboks have released eight players locally and two international squad members, to return to their Currie Cup and club sides respectively for the weekend.

International players Willie Le Roux (fullback) and Francois Louw (loose forward) have been released back to Wasps and Bath respectively (both in England) and will be available for weekend selection.

The eight local players released are as follows (break down by Sport24):

Golden Lions

Ross Cronje

Blue Bulls

Marco van Staden

Embrose Papier


Thomas du Toit

Western Province

Wilco Louw

Bongi Mbonambi

Sikhumbuzo Notshe

Damian Willemse

Related Posts

Francois Louw’s future at Bath uncertain
White’s appraisal of Rassie and Springboks thus far
Sam Cane allowed to leave South Africa